free webspace  






1MajorHost

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
       
# Votes: 1 0 2 1 1 0 1 0 4 4
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.07 / 10

Total Votes: 14




12 User Testimonials/Reviews of 1MajorHost


2 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-05-09   -   (IP: 82.253.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Do not use this webhost, or you will only be disapointed. If you read the faq for the free hosting, you will see that you are allowed lots of space and the possibility of uploading files up to 5MB in size. But just try. FTP is very touchy, and will not let you upload files bigger than 750 kb. The forum only has 72 members, and help requests go unanswered for days. I think that it is meant to drive you mad enough to opt for the subscription service (affiliate link to another web hosting company). What the administrators do not seem to realize is that a lousy freehosting service is not good advertising for a paid one. :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-04-11   -   (IP: 69.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
First it looked good. Then I see it is often down, and FTP almost never works. So I take forever to load the site just to lose everything a few days later following another server crash. And again, impossible to use FTP to load the site back. It is also advertised as banner free, but suddenly banners appear without notice. Finally the max file size went from 5 MB (which their FAQ claims) to a tiny 750 kb max (not a typo; it is 750k maximum filesize!). Again, no notice of the change. They do not answer emails, as well as never answer posts on the support forum. Also they claim to give 10 GB storage space, but the file manager shows your account is only set to 20 MB. Also their home page says there is 65 Gb monthly data transfer, but again, the file manager shows the real value is a lowly 1000 MB per month bandwidth limit. What a joke! They are just telling lies to to try to get you to "upgrade" using their affiliate links to get commissions. Sorry, I will go somewhere else.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-05   -   (IP: 216.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I liked it first I got there. Actually I loved it. But then a few days later (and I was just testing the site - I was hoping to stay) bad things started happening. First the website went off and on, then voila - there were forced google ads on top of the webpage (I thought it was supposed to be no ads). I also could not get authoritative nameserver details. So I think I am giving up. :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-03-24   -   (IP: 70.83.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
AT FIRST: Great interface, easy to get started, and nice tools... BUT: lately it is down 8 times out of 10. The only time my web page works is at hours where there is no web traffic. I inquired about it to the web master and never got any answer. Too bad; this could be one of the best free hostings.

[Comment added by same reviewer on April 5:]

1Majorhost seem to be doing better in the last few days, but it is not bannerless anymore. There is now a big Google Adsense banner at the top of the webpages.


Reviewed on: 2007-03-19   -   (IP: 142.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
It looked great at first, but after a couple of days it really disappointed me. It was down a lot and really slow. If these problems get fixed, they would be a good host, but with this stuff, and their limited filetype uploading, it is not what I want in a freehoster site.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-17   -   (IP: 194.150.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have spent the whole day searching for a good host for my photo albums, and I have finally found one that suits my needs. 1MajorHost offers a reasonable amount of bandwidth allowance, which is the main factor for me. All the web pages load fast, which is another plus, and users get instant activation and 1 GB of webspace - PURE OWNAGE!

Reviewed on: 2007-03-16   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
PHP5 (PHP 5.1.6) works, and the free home pages have no ads or banners on them (at least yet). "1 Major Host" gives you a subdomain of 1majorhost.com, and you can add on a domain name in the Layered Panel control panel (by LayeredPanel.com) under "Account settings" section. Note that in the web panel file manager, if uploading a filename already online, you must delete the old file with the same name first (it does not overwrite or warn you of file upload errors). The WYSIWYG did not seem to work, or is very buggy and clunky at best (your webpage is displayed in a very tiny frame). These are the scripts it will auto-install for you:
- Mambo
- Joomla
- phpBB2 forum
- UseBB
- MyBB
- MyLittleForum
- ZenCart shopping cart
- osCommerce
- SMF
- tikiwiki
- wordpress blog
- sBlog
- bBlog
- coppermine
- gallery
- 4images
- wikiwig
- Xoops
- cutenews
- Nucleus


Reviewed on: 2007-03-16   -   (IP: 212.38.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It has been the best free hosting service until now, but sometimes the speed is not good, and pictures that are stored on it cannot load if you put them in forums and other web sites (no hotlinking images).

Reviewed on: 2007-03-14   -   (IP: 24.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This is great! I love 1Major Host, but you cannot upload ZIP or other unknown files. I just use my wikispace for that though.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-14   -   (IP: 67.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This free web hosting has extremely easy registration. They give loads of bandwidth and space. I loved their 5mb upload limit giving me much ease on uploading files. So far, so good! I would recomend it to anyone with moderate to high needs for a good free host.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-13   -   (IP: 72.142.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It has a very good control panel that is easy to use. The webpage loading speeds are decent. It is good, completely free webhosting, and the MySQL is a plus. Users receive a free subdomain automatically (like user-name.1majorhost.com). They have installers for the following scripts: 4images, wikiwig, Joomla, Xoops, cutenews, Nucleus, bBlog, Mambo, UseBB, MyLittleForum, osCommerce, SMF, MyBB, coppermine, gallery, tikiwiki, wordpress, phpBB2, ZenCart, and sBlog. Overall this webhost allows you a lot of freedom with little drawbacks. Amazing. I would recommend it to friends.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-13   -   (IP: 210.172.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This free bannerless host is very fast, but I cannot upload zip files to my web site. :-(

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 23, 2017 -