free webspace  






4000Webs

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
     
# Votes: 0 1 0 3 4 2 5 7 2 33
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  8.51 / 10

Total Votes: 57




57 User Testimonials/Reviews of 4000Webs

Reviewed on: 2007-08-19   -   (IP: 129.94.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Everything was fine at the beginning and lasted for few months. Now my website is down and there is no support at all! I can still login, and I can upload files, but I can not see them! Awkward!

Reviewed on: 2007-08-11   -   (IP: 24.241.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I think this host is something of a joke. They do not allow any files over 400 kb, which is just sad since most of my scripts and several images/flash programs take up a lot more than that. At this size, it would take thousands of tiny files to use up their 4 GB storage space. Also their server is frequently down for long periods of time.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-27   -   (IP: 190.16.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I had an account with this host. Their webhosting server is down quite often. While it used to be ad-free webspace (and still is), they had this really convenient "hd failure" (sarcasm intended) during which all accounts were lost, and you had to sign up again (when the service was back on, which took ages). They now add a banner to your site, and the database they offer for mysql... guess what... it does not exist anymore (the link to "Create DB" in the control panel only shows ads now). You simply can not create one. Keep away from this one.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-20   -   (IP: 193.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
At the beginning it was great! Everything worked good, I could upload with FTP, free web pages have no ADS, and it has easy access. Now my website is down or takes too long to load! There seems to be NO support at all! I have to change again!
[They had a brief downtime, but their webhosting server is working again.]


Reviewed on: 2007-03-30   -   (IP: 217.16.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-03-28   -   (IP: 202.70.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I think 4000webs is the best you can get, if you want a free web hosting service with good bunch of features. I know there are some hiccups, as the others pointed out, such as the ftp problem and some problems logging in and to speak of myself having to log in again and again. But I think the 4Gb web space and no forced ads more than makes up for the down side. The webserver is quite good, and I am more than satisfied with the webhosting speed. At last I want to say a big thank you to the 4000webs.com owner for providing such a good free webhosting package, and join in too if you want.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-14   -   (IP: 201.35.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
They offer much, but all the times I tried to create an account, the Xpanel registration system gave me an error message (Internal Server Error 500), with both types of registrations: domain or subdomain. They did not reply to my e-mail contact, and just now they are offline. I really would like to try their services, but I just can not get there.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-13   -   (IP: 124.7.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The site is too good to offer so much free web space and no down time (as I have experienced), but the system has now failed to log me in -- it is showing some internal server error on the website, and authentication failed on ftp. After reading the reviews, I now get that this is a normal problem with the server and would be resolved soon, but I would also like to comment on the support system. I sent mails to the administrator but have not recieved a reply. The service is good if it resumes in time, else it is no use having a web space to which I can not update or even delete my site.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-07   -   (IP: 221.228.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-02-28   -   (IP: 212.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
The file manager has not worked for the last 4 days. You can still FTP files though. The owner, who also owns some other free web space hosting sites, does not monitor them closely, and sometimes does not notice such problems for a long time. The server is fast, and there are no banners, but not good for beginners who need a file manager instead of FTP.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-17   -   (IP: 131.111.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Yes it has 4 GB free web space, and large bandwidth and speed, but the killer is, both FTP and the website login is down for the past week or so (still not working now). I sent them 3 emails regarding this, but got no replies at all. What is a host worth if you can not update anything on it? I think it is worthless until it gets fixed (which hopefully will be soon). FTP says "Login authentication failed", and the webpanel login gives an error 500 (Internal Server Error).

[
I emailed the 4000Webs owner, and within 5 minutes he had fixed the problem ("a small issue with the mysql table") and emailed me back. I tested FTP and control panel again, and both are working now.
]


Reviewed on: 2007-02-12   -   (IP: 85.103.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-02-08   -   (IP: 202.147.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-01-27   -   (IP: 58.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
How can you say there are no ads when their TOS states (once you have signed up) that every page will have banner ads and that you must not tamper or remove them in anyway?

[Because their own home page says free websites have "no ads", and the hosted free web pages indeed have no ads or banners of any kind (at least yet). Seemingly (as is common) the freehost TOS came from an un-edited template supplied by the freehosting script they use, and either therefore is incorrect or has that for legal protection in case someday they change their mind.]


Reviewed on: 2007-01-22   -   (IP: 219.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
4000webs is not too bad because it is fast and supports most file types, but there are some issues. FTP has stopped working; why I do not know. It was working this morning; maybe it is down. It stopped working completely the other day - even 4000webs.com would not work. Their mail support is awful - they NEVER respond to more than 15 emails. I would recommend it because it works most of the time, but you are on your own. I would rate it a 8/10 mainly because of support. It says "Connections max reach (2)", so I think that means only 2 people on the one IP address can connect. At least it is better than the free hosting company I was with before - even if poor server speeds and support - but at least they reply and fix it for you. Their website is not loading now.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-20   -   (IP: 201.79.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-01-17   -   (IP: 87.116.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-01-15   -   (IP: 203.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-01-10   -   (IP: 217.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-01-09   -   (IP: 61.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-01-03   -   (IP: 81.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-12-31   -   (IP: 85.108.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-12-25   -   (IP: 69.157.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-12-23   -   (IP: 88.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
4000Webs is the best free webs host site, and there are no forced advertsing banners or links! The phpinfo() php function has been disabled recently, but it still has PHP4 (currently PHP version 4.3.9). I can upload web site files quick with FTP, and my site is hosted on a fast, reliable web hosting server.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-22   -   (IP: 84.94.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-12-15   -   (IP: 64.112.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This free web hosting space site is pretty good and gives lots of space, but I have one complaint: it has had some downtime.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-14   -   (IP: 85.104.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-12-09   -   (IP: 85.154.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-12-05   -   (IP: 85.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-12-04   -   (IP: 86.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I found the freeweb hosting control panel very easy to use. I was looking for a new free host, and this one is great with so much storage space for my files. :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-11-27   -   (IP: 202.28.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-11-24   -   (IP: 189.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-11-22   -   (IP: 221.14.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-11-21   -   (IP: 80.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I did not want to rate lower than 7 because 4000Mb gives lot of free online space for web site files. However, I could not install joomla because global settings are not optimal (not good for joomla). Nobody answered my mail if joomla installation is possible.

Comment for one review for this site I saw below: The MySQL server name is simply "localhost" (the same as for most mysql hosts).


Reviewed on: 2006-11-18   -   (IP: 201.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-11-17   -   (IP: 60.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I think this site is the best free php web hosting site.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-10   -   (IP: 68.183.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Flaky. The FTP service was recently changed to allow 600 FTP users at once, and it says you will be disconnected after 5 minutes of inactivity, but either the FTP does not accept username-passwords, or it locks up and never gives a directory on the server, so FTP does not work again.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-09   -   (IP: 83.8.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-11-05   -   (IP: 84.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I have been using this free web space hosting service for about 1 month. There are several bad things I have come across in this server. It does not accept all filename extensions, it has maximum 300 users simultaneous ftp users (not enough), very basic cpanel with functions that do not work (such as forum installation), logging into 4000webs site fails most of the times, as well as logging into the ftp account, there is no answer to my e-mails, and it has a maximum filesize of 500KB. Good things: 3.91 GB (4000mb, or almost 4gb), your free homepage has no forced banners or ads, and the site uptime is good.

[
The file manager works now, and the owner just raised the max FTP users online to 700, and lowered the FTP timeout limit, so it should accomodate more users now.
]


Reviewed on: 2006-11-05   -   (IP: 75.28.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Although their frontpage says there are No ADs for free hosting accounts, the sign-up email I received has this:
"Please notice that your free web site have banners on it. Feel free to upgrade to our ad-free hosting plans, for just $ per month. Enjoy your web site, without any pop-ups or banner ads. Not only do your pages appear more professional to your visitors, but they also serve faster." My free home page has no ads (the html is unmodified). So either they might start putting banners later, or they forgot to change the default email template.

There was a big hassle when signing up for the service: it did not work very well in Mozilla Firefox browser (the verification code may not be visible at all unless you have a recent shockwave-flash plugin installed). I had to switch to IE browser.

It is extremely slow free server. The MySQL database takes minutes to process simple queries, and often just sits there waiting.  It is definitely not useful for a forum based on PHP and MySQL, since each query can take so much time that viewing multiple threads can be a real pain. It is slow even to load html files. The control panel on the website is also slow! And if that is not enough, from time to time it happens that comes an 500 error ("server misconfigured or internal error"). The free space is huge, and so is the bandwidth, but what do you do with a Ferrari if you can not drive it?

They provide FTP access, but all I got is this FTP connection error message: "421 300 users (the maximum) are already logged in, sorry", and their xpanel web interface File Manager does not work (showing only a blank page), both in Firefox 2 and IE 7.

It seems their free server is overloaded now, or poorly configured.


Reviewed on: 2006-10-30   -   (IP: 81.79.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Please note that the DOM XML module is not enabled in php on this free php host. See php.net/domxml for info about DOM XML functions.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-28   -   (IP: 81.213.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-10-27   -   (IP: 68.4.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-10-27   -   (IP: 218.15.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-10-26   -   (IP: 59.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Everything about this host is good, except for the cpanel is rather limited, and although they provide you with mySQL db, creating a database leads and keeps going back to the login page. plus, they haven't mentioned about the mysql database server name which is neccessary for installing WP blog (to fill out details in the wp-config.php).

Reviewed on: 2006-10-24   -   (IP: 87.6.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-10-23   -   (IP: 83.85.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have being searching for such a free host for years. it is perfect!
:-) NO ADS AT ALL!
:-) 8000MB transfer (8 GB Bandwidth)!
:-) 4000MB disk space (4 GB Storage Space)!
IT IS JUST PERFECT FREE HOSTING SERVER!


Reviewed on: 2006-10-23   -   (IP: 195.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I have signed up for an account and tried to install the forum onto my free web site, but just keep getting told to log in. It seems a bit sluggish at times when trying to upload files, and the FTP does not work now (It used to work, but for example, when I just tried to FTP connect, it said "You are user number 103 of 300 allowed... You will be disconnected after 5 minutes of inactivity", but never made FTP connection.). On the plus side, the huge bandwidth allowed is brill.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-14   -   (IP: 71.204.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
4000 MB free web space is a GREAT deal! Considering there are not any ads or popups on your hosted free webpages, it is a great deal. However, it has not been easy to work with. It is always slow logging in, and FTP hardly ever works. They also have not returned any of my e-mails asking for support. And there are not any apparent help files or forums to ask questions! Great deal, but hard to use and little support.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-04   -   (IP: 62.45.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The filesize limit is too low, and it took a very long to get my activation mail [it is sent instantly, so is a problem with your email service]. But 4Gb is very much free space!

Reviewed on: 2006-09-22   -   (IP: 84.192.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
It seems to be very exciting hosting, but to be honest, the limitation of 500 kb means that your database (max 1024) and even small size files, you will get problems. hey, we are in 2006 -- some scripts can be up to 600-700 kb or even more. if they increase it to at least 1 mb, I can say it will be a unique free hosting service in the world.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-22   -   (IP: 85.114.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-09-21   -   (IP: 82.201.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Since the maximum filesize limit is 500kb, you cannot upload scripts with large files such as vbulletin forums.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-09   -   (IP: 88.229.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-09-09   -   (IP: 211.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-09-06   -   (IP: 61.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-09-04   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The registration form was fairly long, and asks for your phone number, but has instant free hosting activation of accounts. Their TOS looks like that of many other free hosting sites (probably from a template that has not even been edited to be accurate). The TOS says your free web page should be in English, Italian, French, or German languages. The free hosting activation email was sent instantly (claimed to be from TekDot Software, Inc., and has a 0Moola email address, which is another free web hosting site). It says, "You have 3 hours to activate your account. If after one hour we still have not received confirmation, your registration will be cancelled. If this happens, please return to the TekDot Software, Inc. website and sign up again." So is it 1 hour or 3 hours? Another email sent the ftp server name and freehosting account details, such as filename limitations. FTP worked fine, PHP version 4.3.9 works, and there are no ads on your free web site pages (the uploaded HTML was unmodified). Their second email said there are banners on your free web pages, but again that seems to be from an un-edited template (either sloppy, or they plan to add banners soon). The free web server speed was fairly average (not super speedy, but not real slow either). The control panel has an instant forum installer, and says there is a 500 MB daily traffic limit, as well as the 8 GB/month limit. The web file manager lets you upload 5 files at once. The wysiwyg editor was the same as the html editor, and displays the html code in a narrow frame (not very usable). Other than that, the free website control panel was fairly nice. Overall, 4000 Webs provides good bannerless free PHP hosting service.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 23, 2017 -