free webspace  






5gigs

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 14 5 8 5 5 4 2 1 8 54
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.08 / 10

Total Votes: 106




78 User Testimonials/Reviews of 5gigs


28 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2005-07-07   -   (IP: 69.8.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is horrible. I tried to setup my account twice and it never worked. The login at the bottom of the home page took me to an "adult" website and I have never activated my account. This was too good to be true. Simple as that.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-07   -   (IP: 217.197.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
broken signup link (the one at the bottom), but can be found anyways (a little higher on the page). activation hangs, no chance to get my storage.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-05   -   (IP: 84.67.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
RUBBISH worked on the first day but on the second this page can not be displayed and i cant loggon. it says the same.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-04   -   (IP: 218.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This site is slow and the signup is glitchy. i left it loading and even after 30 mins it didnt load, i dont recommend it.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-03   -   (IP: 71.115.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I love this free hosting. i've been tryin to find free hosting with Cpanal cuz you know all the scripts and stuff i like.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-01   -   (IP: 62.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I have never seen such a bad host! Everything seemed to work fine the first day, but the second day nothing was working!

Reviewed on: 2005-07-01   -   (IP: 203.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I thought Wow, this offers alot and all for free. I signed up and got the verification email. Anyway, i clicked on the link, and then on the link on that page to submit. Nothing happened after that. All i see is an avertisement on the top of the page. I went back to the home page, and tried to log in. Would not work. PAGE CANNOT BE DISPLAYED. Im not happy with it at all.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-30   -   (IP: 61.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
my site was in php + mysql (phpbb2), the host worked very very smoothly like my paid hosting for the first day, when I installed the board and posted all the intro posts and made the forum categories etc. However, the second day onwards, neither I can open my site nor I can access my FTP. IE and Firefox keep on loading the page, but the page does not open even after an hours. veeeeeeeeeeeeeeery veeeeeeeeeeeeeery sloooooooooooooooooooow.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-30   -   (IP: 209.103.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Not the worst but pretty bad. MySQL is good for 1 day and then it dies. TOO much down time.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-30   -   (IP: 138.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
too much downtime.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-30   -   (IP: 68.126.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Pretty good. At first everything was GREAT. And the activation mail came a day after signing up. But then, today I've noticed that the control panel started loading really slow. But at least everything else works. *thumbs up*

Reviewed on: 2005-06-29   -   (IP: 66.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Plus: Easy to register, 5 Gb Bandwidth, fast ftp uploads, & contrary to comments by another "rater" there are no files size limits, I uploaded a 11.6 Mb MP3 without a problem & you can upload multiple files via ftp. Website seems to very fast. Haven't had it long enough to comment on downtime. Control panel is easy to navigate, pop 3 email (haven't attempted to use it as I have no use for it, so can't comment). No ads, no popups, 80 Mb storage.
Negative: Nothing that I've found so far. Highly recommended (provided the uptime is satisfactory).


Reviewed on: 2005-06-29   -   (IP: 80.200.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This free webhost is sooo great that I wish that I had found it earlier.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-27   -   (IP: 64.19.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
There seems to be a Mysql server problem in that they are having problems staying up.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-27   -   (IP: 216.174.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This free host is awsome. i could not find any problems at all. it is great and i definetaly recomend it!

Reviewed on: 2005-06-27   -   (IP: 83.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
i like this free host. i set up my website in 10 minutes and no had problem. it works fine :-)

Reviewed on: 2005-06-26   -   (IP: 67.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
The good side is -
1) they have very good how-to videos to explain the very comprehensible control panel.
2) they have very prompt, but basically clueless, tech support. A great experience getting nothing resolved.

The bad side is -
1) at least currently, the site only allows ftp-ing of ONE FILE AT A TIME. As I am testing open-source Content management systems (with as many as 5000 files in a basic install) this is a disaster.
2) they do not allow files over 500K at the present time. The eBook sales and free template downloads won't go (Oddly, the files appear to be uploading and then at the end of the upload, the server checks the file size and dumps the file) more time wasted.
3) they do not allow SMTP from the webmail interface.
4) the pages load in the browser VERRRRY SLOWWWWWWLY.

[
5gigs replied:
"#1 & #2 are false, #4 is a problem with the users site, not our servers. The claim that our support is clueless borders on slander, as we have fully qualified support staff."
]


Reviewed on: 2005-06-25   -   (IP: 67.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a awesome web host. you get 80 megs of web space and php/mysql and high bandwidth and no ads so I can have Valid html on my pages and Discussion Forums. 2k works very good on the servers.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-25   -   (IP: 217.22.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
When I installed phpbb (from the cpanel) all was working and I
set the forum but the day after then there was a problem in the mysql I reinstalled phpbb and then happend the same.


Reviewed on: 2005-06-24   -   (IP: 210.213.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Hey, it was a good host. It had everything that I wanted. but after just 6 days I lost everything that I had on my site. I had no warning, no reason, I just lost everything. Very very annoying, and I don't know if I can trust them again.

[
5gigs replied:
"We have never been notified of anyone ever losing all their files. We have periodically manually removed content that violates our TOS rather than terminating the whole account."
]


Reviewed on: 2005-06-23   -   (IP: 24.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Its ok except for the fact that it deleted my website. Mysql and php work fine.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-23   -   (IP: 64.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is simply the best webhost ever! They give you 5GB bandwidth with for free! And they give a decent amount of web space too. Another great feature is that they support PHP!

Reviewed on: 2005-06-22   -   (IP: 80.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This free hosting is brilliant! I have just signed up and have already created and uploaded my home page using FrontPage. It is the best web host I've ever been with!

Reviewed on: 2005-06-20   -   (IP: 202.161.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
one of the best free web hosts i have been with.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-20   -   (IP: 195.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I looked around there: looked like good, then tried to search for members (pages hosted there), but almost all ended with an "internal server error". This might tell a few things about uptime :-(

Reviewed on: 2005-06-19   -   (IP: 67.189.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I signed up as required and I received the Email Activation Request. I activated the account by clicking the link provided in the email to which it was promptly approved. I went to sign in my account, and a popup stated the account was not created. I checked their forum and seen this is a major problem.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-19   -   (IP: 202.84.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
A very good webhosting service. Instant signup and account activation. Very much recommended!

Reviewed on: 2005-06-19   -   (IP: 65.37.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
registered there 2 days ago. but i cant login to cpanel.
they looks no mind to run freehosting.


Reviewed on: 2005-06-19   -   (IP: 205.155.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
It's old freehosting. It start vibrahost and removed all accounts and begin 5gigs.com. vibrahost : 50mega/3giga i remember. after a month or so, delete all accounts again. start to paid hosting called shyper.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-17   -   (IP: 71.115.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Love the host. It is very good, with many features. I have tried a ton of free hosts, and this, by far, is the best one I have ever had.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-04   -   (IP: 69.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I put a rating of 5 because i've never tried, and as of June 4th, 2005, 5gigs is not accepting any new registrants. It said on the website that until they clear up some issues, they will not be accepting any new registrants.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-04   -   (IP: 81.174.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
"The Sign-Up Form is down June 3, 2005. We will re-open the signup form as soon as possible.Please check back later."

Reviewed on: 2005-06-02   -   (IP: 209.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Sign-up is very easy with instant activation. This free web host has server and bandwidth problems. Signed up 5/30 and the mysql server has been down for several hours every day. During peak times the webserver slows to a crawl with refused connection common. They advertize email including smtp, but it has been deactivated. You can create mail accounts, but they are inactive. Scripts which use sendmail don't work. There is no warning about this, so you find out the hard way when your incoming mail starts bouncing. This is a good playsite with full features, but I wouldn't recommend it for anything serious where uptime is important.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-02   -   (IP: 64.180.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Regarding the last review. 5gigs does not terminate sites without reason. If the site was terminated it was violating the terms of service, its that simple. The notion of suing a free service is ridiculous especially since all accounts have agreed to the terms of service which allow 5gigs to delete any accounts without notice.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-01   -   (IP: 201.8.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
First of all, I'm seriously considering sueing this free hosting company for deleting my site without warning or just cause. Not only does my site meet all their requirements, it contained nothing whatsoever which would warrant their unjust treatment. I also included several disclaimers at the bottom of my site which said I took full responsibility for any and all content on my site, and that 5gigs was in no way responsible for anything.

The material on my site was either game related or movie related which included lists of ORIGINAL GAMES and MOVIES that I own. There was nothing to download nor anything to share nor was anything mentioned about sharing or downloading. My thanks for this was having my site removed without so much as a warning or email. 

5gigs is obviously a controlled host run by people who feel the need to supress information and abuse authority. I'm seriously considering taking legal action against them. AVOID 5GIGS AT ALL COSTS!


Reviewed on: 2005-05-31   -   (IP: 85.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
The signup was quick and I did it in half an hour. The FTP access is limited to 50 people at a time, but you can upload with your browser. You should make your pages as small as posible, because this host is slow, at least when I tried today. It has lots of features. I recommend this host, even if it's slow.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-30   -   (IP: 217.36.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Signed Up Great but one problem, The members Login Area is comming up with a 404 message.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-29   -   (IP: 70.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great cpanel, awesome free host. ten is not high enough rating.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-29   -   (IP: 220.225.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Very good host. Initially cpanel login was a problem- now solved. Great features. Only one bad thing as mentioned in their terms of service is that "You may not use ANY redirect service (such as CJB.net) to send visitors to your website. You Must only use your http://username.5gigs.com address."

Reviewed on: 2005-05-28   -   (IP: 142.173.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Personally I believe this is quite an amazing site. it has all the items you need as a paid account and I have paid for webhosting before. The only thing that might had bugged me was the time waiting for the "2nd" email. I suppose the best I could say is to wait for at least ten minutes before reporting it in.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-27   -   (IP: 220.225.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
When I went 2 sign up, the sign up page was down. When it was ok, sign up was very easy & my account was setup within a hour. But today the cpanel login page is down. One disadvantage of this free hosting is that they wont allow to use any url redirect service. You must use the subdomain.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-26   -   (IP: 24.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is AMAZING! They have no ads and offer everything you get from a paid host. They fixed the logon problems, which took only one day to fix, and they have never gone down for how long I've been using them. The signup is very easy, and they have managment options other sites don't offer. Everything I've ever looked for in free web hosting, if you want a host, make it 5gigs.com!

Reviewed on: 2005-05-26   -   (IP: 65.38.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Just registered, and received all info about my account but
can't access cpanel. My subdomain doesn't work at all...
Sign up went fine but it looks like my domain doesn't exist :-( Very bad host.


Reviewed on: 2005-05-25   -   (IP: 62.247.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Very bad, server downtime seems to be more than 70%, nothing recommended.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-24   -   (IP: 24.197.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Dissappointing, the sign up form is not working properly. I get a tremendous delay when waiting for the page it tells me I MUST wait for to get instructions. My status bar says I am waiting for some googleads to load. When they never do, then I am kicked into a screen that tells me I have already signed up, and don't need to be at this screen. The usual poor free service... It is a challenge to find good ones, especially when the ratings seem to be artifically high on some of them. This one - NO WAY deserves its current rating.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-24   -   (IP: 24.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
LOL..I just tried to sign up and got this message:
"The Sign-Up Form is down for maintenance.
Please check back in a couple of hours." I guess I'll be looking elsewhere. [Their site is down now.]


Reviewed on: 2005-05-22   -   (IP: 66.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
5gigs is one of the best free hosts around. It supports many file extensions, like.php. There are 0 ads and 0 popups, so it looks like you are paying, when you really have a great free host. There are many things you can do, as you are given mysql, and ftp. The bandwidth is really large, 5 gigabytes. That is the largest I have seen yet. You are also given 80 whole megabytes of upload space. This is great for me, as I have alot of files to upload. The support is quite nice. They have friendly members on their support forum. The only downside of this free host is it is a little bit slow. It takes about a minute for the page to load. (Not all the time though, it loads very quickly sometimes).  Overall, this free web hosting service is recommended.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-21   -   (IP: 63.224.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
i can't even create an account because the verification code in the image is wrong!

Reviewed on: 2005-05-20   -   (IP: 64.180.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
5gigs.com is under new ownership and management and will provide a true alternative to paid hosting. Yes the sign-up form was closed for awhile, but there is a new sign-up form, improved hardware and lots of features coming. I am the new owner and give us a 9 for now as there is still room for improvement.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-20   -   (IP: 80.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Just got this message when tried to sign up:
"THE SIGN UP FORM IS CLOSED FOR TODAY, PLEASE COME BACK ANOTHER DAY." Isn't one of the internets main ideas that most of the services are running 24/7?


Reviewed on: 2004-07-20   -   (IP: 81.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This has to be one of the worst free hosts. They promise 99.9% uptime, they come nowhere near delivering this. Their server is up and down like a yoyo. FTP works, but only sometimes. SQL works, but only sometimes. Their forum is heavily edited to remove any posts that mention the fact that the server has been down. One to avoid.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-19   -   (IP: 64.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is by far the best free host so far offering MySQL databases. And there's plenty of support on the forums, you'll always be satisfied. Very good host. Highly recommended to everyone.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-19   -   (IP: 210.6.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
i've just signed up for around a week and the server is so down that just to check if my php's working i have to wait for a whole night. what's happening? why is the server so down?

Reviewed on: 2004-07-17   -   (IP: 24.100.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
5GIGS is the poor man's best friend, when it comes to free web hosting service and other hosting packages. It is bar none the very best in hosting solutions. You cannot get everything they offer for free and at such affordable prices. 5Gigs is brilliant a must see. Look now!

Reviewed on: 2004-07-17   -   (IP: 24.222.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been with 5gigs since they changed and found they were a Great web hosting site, the best place i found yet. 80 megs of free web space is pretty good for the the price, with all the goodies. For me it seems to be a fast reliable server with a low downtime, (now that they are getting the bugs out). I would most definitely recomend 5GIGS to anyone who wants to start or even transfer a website to a good home. GREAT JOB 5GIGS.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-16   -   (IP: 61.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
the site's speed is quite fast and the support is fantastic!

Reviewed on: 2004-07-13   -   (IP: 61.131.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
30% uptime.
http://www.5gigs.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=1
It is down now.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-12   -   (IP: 172.134.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Server is slow. server is down right now. man when can i find a good free web hosting?

Reviewed on: 2004-07-12   -   (IP: 24.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Great package. Growing pains, but I have faith in the team.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-11   -   (IP: 138.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
its so so good, nice and fast servers, CPanel is easy to use, first free web host I have found with subdomains that is taking on users.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-11   -   (IP: 203.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great Free Web Hosting! The server is very very fast!

Reviewed on: 2004-07-11   -   (IP: 66.169.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
5gigs has more space than any free webhost I've seen that's worth using.  It's so easy to install things such as add-on scripts because they do the hard work.  I would recommend them to anyone needing plenty of space for free.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-11   -   (IP: 219.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Really one of the best around. Try them.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-11   -   (IP: 194.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
You just can't believe they give this for free! Check it out!

Reviewed on: 2004-07-11   -   (IP: 24.168.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This webhost is one of the best! 80 mb of space plus 5 gigs of bandwidth with lots of file types support, who would want more from a free web hosting.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-11   -   (IP: 172.161.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
its the best host i've encontereed so far.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-11   -   (IP: 132.199.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Well I would say they are quite good. 80 MB disk space and 5 Gigs of bandwidth are really attractive. They are having a few  problems now and then, but the admins seem to be working hard to iron out everything. Should blossom into a great free host soon (I really hope!). Also no filesize/type restrictions.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-10   -   (IP: 84.128.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Just registered a few days ago and the host is 90% down... FTP doesnt work, but the Webinterface is ok. But the bad Speed and 90% Downtime is BAD.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-09   -   (IP: 217.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
FTP is not working at the moment.  I had to use the File Manager instead, which was not easy to use.  Server is not exactly the fastest.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-09   -   (IP: 69.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Okay. First of all, it took them two days to give me my verification email, and even then I had to email them for a WORKING password. The Cpanel is very confusing, and when you try to save a file on there it shows the save page as "cannot be found," at least on my PC. I have been on there for a week and three times I went on, they were down. I would not host my site here at all, even though the list of things you can get on there is attractive.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-08   -   (IP: 210.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
unreliable. but, b/w is 5giga. so i give 3 point. too many mysql connect error occurs everyday and too many downtime.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-07   -   (IP: 80.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
5 gigs is the best free host i have seen on the internet. you can see it is a good web host because it gives you 5 gigs of bandwith with cpanel 9! I think this is the best free web hosting. the only bad thing I can think of is that when I signed up it said on the welcome e-mail that your web site may not be up for 2 hours but it was up straight away! this is a brilliant host.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-07   -   (IP: 216.148.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This IS the best hosting service. It was Vibrahost before, but now it's 5Gigs. I think they give you like 5 MyQsl databases! And they actually give you 5gigs of bandwidth each month! Bad thing is, since they just upgraded from Vibrahost, the server may be down sometimes. :-(

Reviewed on: 2004-07-07   -   (IP: 209.29.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
There doing some maintanace work right now so it's not up all the time, and cpanel is sometimes down. After a few days, after they're done. This will be one of the best free hosts around.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-06   -   (IP: 210.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I was acepted in about 15 minutes. The cpanel's been edited a bit to go with there design. I think its great, you get 3 myqsl databases and 80mb space and 5gig bandwidth. Go for it!

Reviewed on: 2004-07-06   -   (IP: 80.121.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
thank you very much for thist great service! 80 mb webspace, 5 gb traffic, ftp and much more! all you need!

Reviewed on: 2004-07-05   -   (IP: 140.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
The site/host is down right now.  This is beginning to show how dependable this host is.  I would not want to host my site here.

[5gigs replied:
"We were performing scheduled maintenance for an hour today. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. In the future, please check our forums for maintenance announcements."]


Reviewed on: 2004-07-05   -   (IP: 64.203.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
WOW! Cpanel! Yeah! NO BANNERS! YEAH! There is hardly a difference between a 5gigs free account and a paid account! Best free web hosting company I have EVER signed up to. THANKS.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 23, 2017 -