free webspace  






As-Hosting

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 29 5 6 3 5 10 6 12 17 188
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  8.27 / 10

Total Votes: 281




69 User Testimonials/Reviews of As-Hosting


212 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2004-03-26   -   (IP: 216.193.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They've changed free hosting to a 30-day trial. This is really getting pathetic and should be removed from the database. Illusion FX Net was removed for some reason but their hosting is great and their signup is open now.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-24   -   (IP: 81.242.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Yes, you can sign up on friday ay 8.00 am, for a free webhosting. But generally the next wednesday they delete
all those accounts. Because those new websites are suspended. (Because there hard disc is full!)  They throw all your work in the garbage can, whitout any notice or email. Such companies are not worth to host your site even if you pay for it. They also do not host ASP. Forget it. That is there way to attract people for hosting.


Reviewed on: 2004-03-23   -   (IP: 137.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
So much downtime! and now mySQL errors. I'm moving.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-22   -   (IP: 24.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I have been with AS Hosting since December, and although there have been some headaches, the hosting is otherwise very good -- high (95-97%) uptime, great support, and a nice, fast connection. I do not know where this rumor that the administrators are 11 came from, but they are very competent nonetheless.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-21   -   (IP: 80.46.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It's always online, it's always fast, the features are amazing. I love the way they say 8pm GMT only signups, which is so convenient for us Britons and the mainland europeans but leaves the rest of the world in the shade, which i think is very clever indeed.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-20   -   (IP: 213.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Nice free web hosting really, but the weekly registration is annoying.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-16   -   (IP: 67.112.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They have been very patient with me when I had problems.  They kept me in the loop when there were problems.  If problems lasted a long time and there were too many they rewarded me with extra features.  The first month with them was kind of rough because they were having a lot of server problems.  They were in the middle of a big server upgrade.  But the last two months have been great!

Reviewed on: 2004-03-16   -   (IP: 67.161.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I'm not surprised to find out that the owners of AS-Hosting are 11. They recently had a huge feud with another webhosting company, Olddh, owned by 15-year-old Mike Walczak. They reportedly made a deal with Olddh asking Olddh's owners to develop a basic signup script for them (yes, for a _webhosting_ company) and in exchange Ashst would award Olddh with free reseller hosting. How can self-reported PHP experts not know how to develop a simple signup script, let alone the code that someone mentioned earlier? Regardless, the deal didn't work out properly, and Olddh obtained another server without the knowledge of Ashst. AA2004 considered it as "betrayal" and demanded payment from Olddh. How that constituted betrayal, I have no idea. Whatever happened, AA2004's methods of handling tbe situation were surprisingly childish. I once asked the Olddh owners how old the Ashst owners are, and they said that they were not allowed to discuss it. How does this relate to my personal experience with this webhost? The customer service I received was also surprisingly childish. I was hosted on Olddh in mid-January, which was, at the time, hosted on Ashst's reseller account. Some idiot whom I banned from my website submitted complaints to Ashst that I had 'bad child pics' hosted on my webspace, and Ashst shut down my account without a simple look into it. To whoever revealed that AA2004 was 11, I believe you, though I would be very pleased to investigate regarding this matter. Do you have any direct sources of information that supports this?

Reviewed on: 2004-03-14   -   (IP: 65.58.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Terrible, just terrible. I am so sick of my site being down everyday. They either need to get a more reliable server or they need to learn how to work the thing. I really wish anyone who chooses to be hosted by them the best of luck. Don't expect any longterm free hosting with this company.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-14   -   (IP: 24.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
hey to the person who clicked under - clear your cookies; it will work.  otherwise, it is great.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-13   -   (IP: 219.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
remember jc-hosting.co.uk? This one is just as good as jc-hosting.co.uk. If you are hosted by them make contigency plan guys, and enjoy it while it lasts. haha!

Reviewed on: 2004-03-13   -   (IP: 217.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I cannot sign up because I accidently pressed the link that says that I am under 13 years old, and now I have to go through a load of complications.  They are so stupid, no other host has this, only them.  They should make the sign up process easier.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-13   -   (IP: 217.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I don't know where people get off badly rating this host.  Now to sensible people it's common sense that the admins cannot be 11, how would they manage the financing with bank accounts and credit cards?  My belief is that recently there's been a lot of hostility between AS Hosting and a rival company and I think the childishness of those users is apparent in the way they're badly rating this host.  To those who have wrote a review and a bad one at that it might be an idea to quote the name of the website you had with AS Hosting. Or even the URL to such claims that the admins are 11 years of age and understand very little scripting would be nice because it's all well saying it but please prove it.

The hosting side of things is great, i've yet to see another host that offers such rich pickings.  I have monitored this host with Watch Mouse over the last few weeks and they have had above 95% uptime!


Reviewed on: 2004-03-12   -   (IP: 61.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
that's ridiculous that only on 8pm GMT they give hosting. that's 1 am night in my location.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-12   -   (IP: 64.136.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I took a investigation about this host in the forums and found out lots of funny things, it will be funny for experienced users. The age is 11 of the admin, and he still makes webpages with Yahoo Site Builder :D.... so obviously he hardly knows HTML, so php, cgi perl are way too hard for him. I am 14 years old, i can host other sites since my new hosting provider edgenetwork.org gave me free reseller package due to my website's popularity with WHM and Cpanel access. So, i know how to work with these tools. I asked him to make 1 account with multiple domains. He knows only way to park it through cpanel, but not with WHM. I asked him is he good in PHP, he said yea i am expert well, since i know the basics i asked him how do you do the simple PHP include tag, he started making excuse he forgot, he said it's hard and that and that, but truly it's one line script :D.... about programming language he he C++ is a webscripting language isn't it funny :D.... according to this information they are just making money from google.com, that's all... it's not a long term business, it will go down, so don't go there, and one more thing the admin himself don't have any idea with Cpanel :D

Reviewed on: 2004-03-11   -   (IP: 218.208.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Any web host free or paid can't be online 24/7 should not be allow to run any web hosting company at all! This one is a big yoyo! Every one in the web hosting industry knows about As-hosting for their down time and bad services! I will not even want to look at their home page this time to waste any more of my precious time which is better use on other more reliable and dependable web host!!!

Reviewed on: 2004-03-11   -   (IP: 66.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The best service for hosting by far, for free and for paid!, i would reccomend these guys to any, and everyone, anyone one who posted a bad review for them here was probly just doing somethhing wrong cause they *forgot* to read the tos. again i say unmatched services.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-11   -   (IP: 211.28.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
hello yes it is free, and now you can sign up whenever you want but you will be answered on friday or in 2 business deys, and it is a great host and i don't work there, there aren't people who work there; its just kickback, and his server, and AA2004 who owns the AS-hosting in the hosting part...2 real owners who work hard.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-02   -   (IP: 81.174.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
ashst is a great hosting company, all others I've looked at are either shutdown or offer nothing.

for example my previous host gave me 30megs, can't remember my bandwidth but it was extremely limited, i couldn't upload my site in one day and it was only about 7megs, I had to have a floating ad on my page, there was nothing like php, asp, no databases, in fact no server side scripting or functionality. the only way i could have dynamic-like features on my site was to use javascript, they didn't even offer access to the access logs or a counter script.

ashst on the other hand do not force ads and are very generous with the features they offer. ashst have a very good support forum which is very active and questions are always answered quickly. the reason for sign-ups only on a friday is because all applications are manually reviewed, that is the admins sit down and read your application, so only people who have read the tos and have a good description of what their site is for will be granted an account. Doing this means the server remains fast and features such as fantastico (just installed) are available because people that will abuse the system aren't granted access.

This is far the best hosting company i've come accross, some of the features that are offered are much better than those who charge for their services.  Well Done AS-Hosting, keep up the excellent work.


Reviewed on: 2004-02-01   -   (IP: 82.2.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Terrible web hosting, worst i've ever seen. I can't believe its no.1 on this website. it's so complicating it doesn't make any sense whatsoever and the people who have written good reviews probably work for the company.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-01   -   (IP: 62.104.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
AS-Hosting is Rubbish, because it is NOT free any more !!!

Reviewed on: 2004-02-01   -   (IP: 205.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Do not use this service.
11 year olds are admins.
sign ups only on friday.
They don't help too well.
I do not reccommend.
this is not reliable.
The host is fast but its gay.
the support is bad because admins scratch their heads on questions and drink wine other than help you.
GRR!


Reviewed on: 2004-01-31   -   (IP: 172.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
People, this is the BEST HOSTING I HAVE EVER SEEN.  I mean, 110 MB OF SPACE AND 8GB FOR FREE!!!!  Plus install all these great scripts PHPNUKE, PHPBB, Invision Board, without ANY KNOWLEDGE AT ALL!!!!!!  FREEE!! Forget Geocities, forget Tripod, THIS IS THE BEST!!!!

Reviewed on: 2004-01-30   -   (IP: 67.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
MMMM...  This is the best host I have ever come across.  I have been looking for that is like this.  I highly recommend this web host despite of all the bad reviews and I advise you to completely ignore them because most, I repeat most not all, of these people are bafoons.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-29   -   (IP: 210.220.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Extremely amateur outfit of teenagers. False promises, downtimes they've got the lot. Their obvious lack of server knowledge means that their support is a joke and it seams the whole business is reliant on checks from google adsense.
I'll be very surprised if they're still running in 6 months but then again daddy has probably got deep pockets.
In short a very unprofessional setup - stay away.


Reviewed on: 2004-01-28   -   (IP: 198.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I just had to post saying what I thought! I can't believe the bad reports that have been shown here; either people are not patient at all and head here after one minute of downtime, or...I don't know. But I've been with as-hosting for a few months now; I think since October? I can't remember exactly. But besides the few downtimes, it has been very great; and the forums are very helpful, the few times I've had to use it. The amount of space provided is wonderful, as well as the bandwidth and the web languages enabled.

The one time I did have to contact them was when the server had been down a few times; well no that is incorrect; I mean MySQL had been down a few times. They said it was because of people not closing their MySQL connections and so there was an overload. I totally understand this and you'll get downtime with any web host; especially free ones! And when they are down, they are back up in a few hours. Sometimes the site has been unavailable for just about five seconds, for whatever reason, and then was accessable again. But the site has received a fair amount of traffic and everything is still ok.

So, then, in conclusion, don't listen to the bad reports. Actually I just heard about how many members as-hosting is approaching. I can't remember the number but it was impressive.


Reviewed on: 2004-01-27   -   (IP: 63.200.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Absolutely the best host I have ever had.

1- RELIABLE
2- ACTUAL Features instead of this "Easy HTML editor" junk.

The forums are quite active, my site has only been down once (100% uptime is impossible.. remember kiddies).

The only time my website failed to load it was due to an error in my PHP script.


Reviewed on: 2004-01-27   -   (IP: 67.161.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Good, until my account was suspended for overloading the server. I did not exceed any webspace or bandwidth limits. They should make a note of that in their TOS so that accounts won't unexpectedly get suspended. They said that even on paid hosting, as long as you're sharing a server with others, you're subject to the same rule.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-25   -   (IP: 66.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Hey it looks good. But sadly when i joined the forums it's not sending me a confirmation email to hotmail. Only God knows why... so i can't even post asking for help on the forums which is making me mad beyond belief.... i go to madsims and they haven't responded to my submission in over 50 hours when they say they do in less then 24 or something. WHERE IS A GOOD HOSTING SERVICE WHEN YOU NEED ONE!!! I am planing to launch a huge community site.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-24   -   (IP: 217.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Was great until my account got suspended for no reason.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-23   -   (IP: 219.88.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
well, i'm sorry that you find the hosting like that but if as hosting are so bad why have they got 139 votes saying 10/10 and why do we have almost 3000 forum members and over 500 hosted sites? you may of had a bad experince with them but a lot of people haven't and if you don't like it then i suggest you leave as it as a great service considering it's FREE.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-22   -   (IP: 82.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Where to start??  Well on the face of it this seems like a great host, but scratch beneath the surface and you find an amateur set up run mostly by kids who really haven't got a clue.

The so-called administrators go on about how good they are when in fact that is not true, there has been so many down times.

The so called support offered by irc and msn chat may as well just not be there because the monitors of these channels of communications are never there and if they are they won't talk to you about any problems you may have.

People talk about how good the forums are and how you get an answer within minutes, well it's not the administrators who answer you but the members, who I might add know more than the people running this operation.

People are given jobs as administrators and moderators who have been there 5 mins and who know nothing and are just kids. someone gets made a moderator because one of the kiddy administrators wants to get in her pants.

I mean look at the excuse given here by one of the admins as to why the host was down, it goes to show that they haven't got a clue and what an amateur set up this is.

Someone said that maybe this is a trap to get you to pay for hosting with them; would you pay for an amateur service? because that's what this setup is.

I could go on and on with what a bad setup this host is. look elsewhere my friends and don't waste your time with as hosting.


Reviewed on: 2004-01-21   -   (IP: 82.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the greatest host I have ever found. Tons of space, bandwidth, email etc. Active forum with lots of support.

I am now a supermod on the support forums. We get a lot of questions and most are answered within a few minutes. There's also MSN Support and an IRC support channel for those emergency requests.

Lots of server side languages are supported (PHP, CGI etc) WITH NO RESTRICTIONS with ASP coming soon!

Everyone HAS to check out this host, if you don't you're missing out on so much!


Reviewed on: 2004-01-20   -   (IP: 24.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Unreliable.  I was happy when I signed up, the servers were fast, there were no ugly ads, but I've been back to my site twice and have discovered that it doesn't load.  The AS-Hosting main page and forums are down as well.  I'm wondering if it's a trap to get you to pay for hosting.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-17   -   (IP: 62.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
The host was good.  But they suddenly removed my site without any warning.  Bad style... i recommand OldDH. But never waste your time at this host :@

Reviewed on: 2004-01-16   -   (IP: 195.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
As hosting is amazing, I got my site available fifteen minutes after registering! It costs money to buy a domain but that's only £11, and it's free to transfer.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-15   -   (IP: 67.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
As Hosting is the Best web hoster in the world.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-13   -   (IP: 202.75.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It is great.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-13   -   (IP: 203.91.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Answers from top to bottom
1.I don't know
2.Yes
3.for long time
4.50%
5.I Not tried it before.
6.Good Coz it's free hosting.


Reviewed on: 2004-01-12   -   (IP: 210.55.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Hi, it's kickback here, the server admin of as hosting, and I can tell you why my sql wasn't working. we had to reboot the server and after the reboot my sql didn't want to startup but luckily it did and it was down for about 10 mins. This has been our first major downtime so please cut us a little slack. Otherwise this I think you will find we are a pretty good host and we have to be if 2200+ have joined our forum. So please don't be put of by these comments that people are saying you are always welcome at as hosting.
Thanks Daniel
Owner(50%),Server Admin


Reviewed on: 2004-01-10   -   (IP: 210.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
good for a while!! That is.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-08   -   (IP: 219.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is what you get on the screen;-

"Warning: mysql_connect(): Too many connections in /home/kxilrsjz/public_html/forum/admin/db_mysql.php on line 40

There seems to have been a slight problem with the database.
Please try again by pressing the refresh button in your browser.

An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staff, who you can also contact if the problem persists.

We apologise for any inconvenience."

You can refresh 10 times and that's is all you get!!

OVERSELL???
Under power MYSQL and web server??
Poor maintenance??
Sloppy site administration??

Pick one !!

My actual rating is -3 but The lowest I can rate is 1 here.


Reviewed on: 2004-01-06   -   (IP: 203.199.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This facility is very good.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-03   -   (IP: 217.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Good, very good, Best.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-29   -   (IP: 64.121.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best web hosting I ever had.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-26   -   (IP: 61.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This host is EXCELLENT!  But I'd rather have the bandwidth limit be Unlimited.  But it's a free host, so whatever.

According to some reviewers that think their sign up process is taking too long, is that the hosters ONLY set up the websites that interest them, unlike some other ones...


Reviewed on: 2003-12-24   -   (IP: 66.143.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
This host has been pretty horrible so far. I waited weeks until I could fit in during the specified signup time, and then got my site up working ok.

Then one day I found that my site had been completely SWAPPED with another account. I kindly requested that this be fixed, and it was -- for one day. The next day it was happening again. When I asked about it again, instead of getting it working they simply *deleted* my post.

So now I'm stuck with no working site right now because support refuses to support. Nice service, eh?


Reviewed on: 2003-12-22   -   (IP: 216.232.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
An excellent webhost. The signup periods are very inconvenient, but if you logon at the right time you'll get it. I personally had a relatively fast response for my hosting, so if you haven't recieved it after a day or two that either means you aren't accepted or misspelled your email address. The features here are great, support is nice, I highly recommend it!

Reviewed on: 2003-12-18   -   (IP: 63.206.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Takes too long to sign up. Bad support.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-13   -   (IP: 61.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I registered with them on Dec 5, 2003 and even after over a week No Response. The host may be good but the registring process may annoy many of the web masters.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-06   -   (IP: 63.119.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
You can only sign up on Fridays and @ some crazy time at that.  This the most stupid thing I have ever seen! Don't waste your time!!!

Reviewed on: 2003-12-06   -   (IP: 195.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have seen no post or had email telling us to click ads.  I have had nothing but good support and free stuff from AS.  Perhaps if whoever posted that about clicking will tell us all where it says that?

Reviewed on: 2003-12-05   -   (IP: 200.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
They only accept english sites...

[The rest of this comment below is not true:]

...and you have to clic three times a day on their sponsors (they tell you when) to keep your account alive.


Reviewed on: 2003-12-03   -   (IP: 203.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Best in the world... :-)

Reviewed on: 2003-12-03   -   (IP: 24.60.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Personally I think they are doing a great job with their hosting services.  I never had a problem with them only having hosting open one day a week, I mean this is a lot more than I have ever had with any other free host I have been with.  I am glad they are out there and glad they are managing to do what they do.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-29   -   (IP: 200.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
the best in world.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-29   -   (IP: 62.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is so amazing! They say the limit is 8000mb bandwidth however you can upgrade once you reach limit all for free. Simply the best host ever. MUCH BETTER THAN 50free.com!!

Reviewed on: 2003-11-29   -   (IP: 195.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Brilliant i greatly recommend this host signed up Friday 8pm GMT and got my package next day. Extremly fast and gives you loads of space, bandwidth etc. You can even request more once you've used it up!

Reviewed on: 2003-11-26   -   (IP: 202.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Outstanding features, stable server - simply the best. Great admins too.  Webspace is upgradable to 250 MB once you reach your limit.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-23   -   (IP: 202.7.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
OUTSTANDING. Loads of features. Lots of each feature too. (More subdomains/ more bandwidth, etc) The best free host. He said signup would take 2 mins - it took less time than this!

Reviewed on: 2003-11-23   -   (IP: 203.172.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
best free hosting service i've seen.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-22   -   (IP: 145.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great host! I applied at friday 8GMT and got an email about my account been set up immediately. Best you can get!

Reviewed on: 2003-11-22   -   (IP: 212.64.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
it is great. when u ask for hosting at friday at 8pm (GMT) and u wait 2 hours they have a site ready 4 u. it is really the best i've seen!!!!!
<(@_@)>


Reviewed on: 2003-11-17   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They'll allow you to upgrade your space from 120 MB to 250 MB when you've reached the limit

No file size limit noticed, they're a cPanel host, so they've .htaccess, password protected files, custom error pages, and cron jobs.

Fantastico is being activated (their main host has the fantastico x-controller, its a matter of time before its integrated), there are MANY fantastico scripts!

Portals: PHP-Nuke, Post-Nuke, phpWebsite, Xoops

Blogs: b2, pMachine Free, Customer Relationship, PHP Support Tickets, Support Services Manager

Discussion Boards: phpBB and Invision Board

Other Scripts: OS Commerce, 4images Gallery, PHPauction, PHProjekt, phpLinks, Moodle, Noahs Classifieds, PHPlist, WebCalendar


Reviewed on: 2003-11-17   -   (IP: 207.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
They only allow signups on Friday now.  Other than that, the service is great.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-16   -   (IP: 80.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent! I filled the form to request hosting, watched a movie, check'd my email and my account and sub-domain was set up.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-15   -   (IP: 195.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
In response to the other review, they do offer sites to everyone not just people who already have a website.  They just ask what will your site be about and a few details, some got activated in minutes!

Reviewed on: 2003-11-14   -   (IP: 68.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They don't accept any sites except for ones that that already have an existing site. If someone has a site already, that means the have a host, so why would they need a new one? Very unfair in their app checking.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-13   -   (IP: 67.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The Best Host Ever Sign Up
Is No Prob But You Need A
Good Reason To Get Hosted
No Problems Fast Server
INFO:
120MB Space
8GB Bandwith
10 MySQL
10 Subdomain
100 Email Accounts
5 FTP Accounts
CGI, MySQL, pSQL,Frontpage, Shopping Cart Supported


 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 17, 2017 -