free webspace  






AstaHost

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
   
# Votes: 13 3 2 4 0 3 1 3 2 60
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.78 / 10

Total Votes: 91




89 User Testimonials/Reviews of AstaHost

Reviewed on: 2007-06-14   -   (IP: 61.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
AstaHost is the best free web space host you will ever find. The fact that you have to post in forums is not a problem because the forums are also a great place. Their servers are reliable and offer great features for absolutely nothing but your time forum-posting!

Reviewed on: 2007-06-07   -   (IP: 84.249.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This post-to-host hosting offers lots of nice features, but does not accept non-English webpages. :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-05-22   -   (IP: 59.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very professional hosting. The forums are strict and very helpful. If you ever want a good learning experience, join Astahost. If they find you spamming the forums, they request you to join Trap17.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-06   -   (IP: 196.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Thank you astahost for being so honest and so professional. This is definitely the best free web hosting website ever. They hosted my site 2 days after I joined the asta forum. There is no filesize limit and no ads put on free webpages. They do not even force you to link to them.
The freewebhosting uptime is wonderful. The webhosts has a support online forum, and you can use an IRC channel as if you are in a paid host.


Reviewed on: 2007-04-21   -   (IP: 203.81.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been hosted at astahost for almost 3 years now, and only twice in those 3 years have I noted web hosting downtime. That is better than 99% uptime. I noticed it is not getting very high ratings here, but it really is the best free host I have found so far, and before I signed up there, I came to this freewebhosts site and picked out 5 or 6 that had gotten the better reviews, but there was always something that soured it for me. Astahost may sometimes take a bit to get back on web hosting requests, but if you are patient, and your posts are quality posts, you will get your hosting free. For the 2nd hosting package, you actually get 500 MB space, not 150 MB. If you are willing to avoid spamming, and you can post several quality posts per week, you will have no trouble keeping your credits up.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-09   -   (IP: 154.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Astahost is that absolute best free web hosting. Nobody can compare to their amazing service. I can not imagine ever paying ridiculous prices for a host again. My problems are solved, thanks to astahost.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-12   -   (IP: 172.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Astahost is the best free web-hosting site I have found. You have to post in the forums on mostly technical topics to get hosted and stay hosted. So if you do not want to continually post on message boards, do not even come here. But posting is worth it! You get great FREE help from the best community around. Astahost offers some great features that have already been listed in other web hosting reviews. As for the admins and moderators, I have never had any problems, and I have been there over 9 months now. When I have had a problem, I have gone to them and it has been fixed. There has only been two incidents of downtime while I have been there: one for a web server upgrade, and one... well, it happens. Overall this is a GREAT host!

Reviewed on: 2007-02-17   -   (IP: 200.121.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Astahost is simply the best free web hosting website with enough webspace, great tech support, and a lot of functions not present in other free web hosting servers.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-09   -   (IP: 125.234.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is the worst free web hosting ever. I made an application on June or so, but did not get any reply from them.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-19   -   (IP: 221.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I experienced maybe a few hours worth of webhosting downtime over a year. There is no limit on file size, type of file, etc. Download managers supported. Posting or active discussion of warez, cracks, hacking is not allowed outside of the approved threads. No plagarizing and no junk posts permitted. All of those will get you banned. It is easy to get credits for maintaining your free web site hosting service. Basically, if you reply to a few topics every week you can maintain your webspace free. You end up posting a lot more than that because there are so many different topics. Mods are helpful and quick to respond, and much of the community as well helps out in one way or another. AstaHost is a solid host, and the only better hosting alternative is paid, if you can not be bothered to post. Definitely my number 1 choice for freewebhosting.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-14   -   (IP: 59.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Best among the best because:
1. Forum posting required. Brilliant credit system does not depend on number but on quality of posting. a quality post will definitely reward you with anything between 5 to 10 credits. I've no problem in keeping my account running for this unique credit system. Rather it is pretty enjoyable.
2. Great support from Active Forum Members : Codes, Scripts Technicalities - OS - FTPs - whatever it may be, just make a forum posting, and you will earn credit as well as you'll get the best solution.
3. Control panel is excellent - anyone should consider hosting here just to see the wonderful control panel for once.
4. Admins are pretty co-operative if you continue to make quality posting.
5. If you are not so much technical-minded, consider hosting in http://www.trap17.com


Reviewed on: 2006-03-24   -   (IP: 218.111.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
look no more, look no where else. you will love this place!

Reviewed on: 2005-11-26   -   (IP: 195.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Astashost is the best. The staff are very friendly and although many people have been saying bad stuff about the credit system, it's not bad. I have received numerous times more than 2 or 3 credits per post.

Reviewed on: 2005-11-15   -   (IP: 24.236.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I have been with AstaHost for almost a year now and I have had little complaint about them. I suspose the greatest testimony is that I have stuck with then for a year as I am very picky. All the services I need, and very little server downtime.

Reviewed on: 2005-10-20   -   (IP: 81.234.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-10-18   -   (IP: 82.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-10-14   -   (IP: 203.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
What are the free webhost's positive and negative aspects?
Positive : Better than my previous PAID Host. They give EVERYTHING!

Negative : Well, not actually for me. But if you don't know much about Computers or your brains don't work much in technical topics, They will send you to http://www.trap17.com.  They want to maintain a quality standard for forums and people who come to forums and spam are kicked (well, not exactly, but they are requested to go to trap17.com - Partner site )

Would you recommend this free hosting?
YES! For hosting and as well as forums! I found it the best after webmasterworld.

How long have you used this free webspace host?
Not much. Just been there for around 2 months and I decided to shift to Trap. I was more interested in gaming. ;-)

Has this free web hosting been reliable (approximate % downtime if known)?
100% reliable. Uptime is superb, more than 99.9% uptime. I can bet. And they are a part of Xisto Corporation, so they won't go down easily ;-)

Is the free web host fast or slow?
FAST!

Is the free webhost's support/features good or bad? Why?
Exteremely nice and friendly management. I like their unity. Even though I am not hosting with them, I still hangout at their forums. Its a good place to be.


Reviewed on: 2005-09-28   -   (IP: 64.201.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Site is worthless, staff are not polite and never active, very poor design and updates. do not go here. posting credit system makes it even worse. this site is not good, do not get hosted here.

Reviewed on: 2005-08-19   -   (IP: 203.199.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is one of the best web hosting services i came across. No raw deals and no nonsense. They actually give you everything they claim. All you have to do is post in their forums... no nonsense, but tech related. You are given free hosting just for communicating with different people. I would suggest anyone to give it a try first and then form their opinion. That's what I did and I must say... i'm not disappointed at all.

Reviewed on: 2005-08-06   -   (IP: 172.196.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I really like this host! It took me approximately 37 minutes to accumulate over 30 credits. This might just be because I have an extensive knowledge of computers which made it easy to post on, or that just because they accept a lot of posts and give out very good points. I gave it a 10/10 also because my website is doing great, no downtime whatsoever, and support replies quickly.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-29   -   (IP: 80.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Astahost is a very good host, excellant speed and uptime. It seems to be getting a bad name here, but it isnt bad, in any shape or form. its very advanced hosting. There are simple rules to follow, and thats it. once you have got your free web hosting, all you need to do is keep active, and trust me its not hard. the community gets you addicted too fast to actually believe it. Most of the bad reports will be from people looking for a file dump and asta doesnt work like that. The Admins are the friendliest bunch on the net. Well done asta!

Reviewed on: 2005-07-03   -   (IP: 82.47.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
terrible host. well, not exacly bad. its just stupid. i joined- it didnt tell me how to sign up (bad already, i havnt even got to the bad bit...) but then after that, i was posting for my 10 credits; whenever you do a post, in order to apply for credits, your msg has to be more than 125char/25words. so, like it said, i did a 300char post(more than double) i only got 1.67 credits, so in order to get my 30 credits (the standard package) i would have to do 15 posts in a week. my advice is to stay away from these hosts (affiliated with Trap17). another bad point (well 2) they are always making spelling mistakes and also they suspended me for spamming, they said i posted 650 "hi..!" posts, but i only did 1 post. DONT GO WITH TRAP17/ASTAHOST

Reviewed on: 2005-07-01   -   (IP: 203.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent Service. Absolutely not a single AD on my webspace and much more advanced than the paid hosting I used to have before. Forums are technical oriented..You are expected to have some good background of computers or computer related fields. The forums are great (much better than the web hosting itself). The best part is, all the webhosting is automated. So unlike my previous host, I am assured, I wont be kicked out of here. And as for RELIBILITY, this site has been here for more than a year now! :-) And they are a part of Xisto Corporation. (http://www.xisto.com).

Reviewed on: 2005-06-06   -   (IP: 82.209.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-06-05   -   (IP: 83.17.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-05-03   -   (IP: 213.224.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been hosted on astahost for some time now, within a few days after posting I was approached by Nils to be a moderator of a few subfora, and soon there after I applied for hosting, received it and became forum moderator. I am now also a moderator of their affliate. :)

So far my only issue has been that my ISP's DNS servers are faulty, thus leaving me unable to reach astahost as often as I'd like. I found the community very welcoming when I first arrived, even as a moderator you can ask questions and they will be answered.

I have seen numerous bad reviews, but in all honesty, yes, there has been downtime. A server, be that shared space or dedicated space, is only a computer and not perfect. OpaQue is a young student, I see no reason to hide that, but you know what? He tries to give good service to good people. And as far as using shared servers, who cares? The service is excellent. Now, you try starting a business online, would you immediately buy dedicated servers? Most don't, because their name is not Bill Gates.

I want to add one last thing, moderators and admins do not get paid for what they do on the forums, they give/donate their free time to do this. And for most of us, we spend almost as much time there than we would (or do) on our jobs. I hear people moan about the strict rules, they exist for one reason : to keep it civilized. Without rules there will be chaos.


Reviewed on: 2005-04-29   -   (IP: 212.175.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-02   -   (IP: 203.170.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-19   -   (IP: 65.24.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Post a few posts every week and you will get hosted. Good services (web space and bandwidth) and support. You will get your questions answered, because the forum has a good community of people with many different skills. Sign up and get webhosted free!

Reviewed on: 2005-03-14   -   (IP: 83.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-13   -   (IP: 80.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Asta isnt just the best free webhost, its the best community you could ever be on, help is given to common computer problems, although its technically minded you wont find a better bunch of admins/mods or anyone. The hosting is second to none and has the RVSkin, downtime is a lot less than most paid hosts. I HIGHLY recomend Astahost.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-12   -   (IP: 195.18.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-03   -   (IP: 203.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-02-15   -   (IP: 202.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
* What are the free webhost's positive and negative aspects?
Professional
Quick
High Uptime
Huge list of Features
Read this for members review : http://www.astahost.com/Not-A-Hosting-Request-t2462.html

  * Would you recommend this free hosting?
DEFINATELY ! 100%
Being such a good host, ther is no reason for me to not recommend it.. ;-)

  * How long have you used this free webspace host?
4 Months

  * Has this free web hosting been reliable (approximate % downtime if known)?
2-3 times, SQL downtime for 5-6 mins. Thats it. I havent experienced anything else. I was alerted before the downtime!

  * Is the free web host fast or slow?
Extremely FAST!

  * Is the free webhost's support/features good or bad? Why?
This is very very very GOOD! The Support is by the forum. And IF you are not intersted in Hosting, I would stil like you to visit the Forum. Its is one of the BEST Community I have ever experienced.

NOTE: Their Forum posting is suited only for those members who have knowlegde related to topics related to Computer. They are dedicated for making a forum.

This is the message on the FORUM:
ASTAHOST is more interested in building a forum with quality members and finest posts rather than to make money by showing Advertisements. Making Dumb posts to get hosting will not help. We respect talented members who have the ability to impress people by their wonderful ideas. If you think you have this in you, you are at the right place! Else, you are requested to go to Trap17.com (Our Partner site) with similar features

As you can SEE! They are dedicated to Provide hosting and if you got Brains, No one can stop you from getting a CooL Hosting here! Just a bit of computer knowlede is required.. I must Admit, The members ther are Top Scholars from the web. Their posts are better than Google Answers! Don't believe me, Check out yourself!


Reviewed on: 2005-02-06   -   (IP: 203.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is one of the BEST Sites Ive ever been. The forum is filled with EXTREMMELY TALENTED guys! If you got brains. This is a place to be. Else they tell you to go to Trap17.com (looks like their affiliated site). And I think, the people who gave them rating below have gone INSANE! Check out their uptime on their site. I dont know what they did not like. Close your eyes and go there. You will experience the company of the finest talented people on the web!

Reviewed on: 2005-02-01   -   (IP: 203.200.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They seem to be the best in their field. Super quality and highly professional. They got 2 companies and they own trap17 too. Both have more than 500 hosted members. Now this is what I call reliablity. And you are free to read the stupid reviews at the bottom. They got a terrific uptime. I expereinced a Total uptime of 99.45% APPROXIMATELY. Which is far better compared to others and also considering them to be Free host.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-29   -   (IP: 81.168.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-01-24   -   (IP: 24.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Not Recommended. A lot of downtimes and very slow speed.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-24   -   (IP: 12.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I've a dozen other accounts with different free hosts. And this host is the worst one in my list. In my two weeks here, I experienced more downtime than the combined one year downtime of all the other free hosts. NOT RECOMMENDED.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-09   -   (IP: 202.142.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-01-06   -   (IP: 218.58.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Good. Very good. nice design. high quality.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-06   -   (IP: 203.200.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They really give all the following facilites... Simply Awesome! They got a bit strict forum rules. I rate it 10.:-)
Sub-Domain or Domain Hosting
Cpanel 9 [9.4.1-RELEASE 64]
Fantastico 2
Ip Address [ Shared ]
Unlimited Sub-Domains
Unlimited Parked-Domains
Unlimited Addon-Domains
Unlimited MySQL Databases
Unlimited Email Accounts
Unlimited Email Forwarders
Unlimited Mailing Lists
Unlimited Email filters
Unlimited Ftp Accounts
PERL version 5.8.X
TCL
TOMCAT
JSP
PHP version 4.3.X [Safe Mode OFF with FULL GD Support]
MySQL version 4.0.18-standard
File Manager
FTP Manager
and MORE!


Reviewed on: 2005-01-02   -   (IP: 82.164.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-12-21   -   (IP: 81.198.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-12-12   -   (IP: 217.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-12-02   -   (IP: 141.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
As a whole this host stinks... NEVER CHOSE THIS HOST

1. they dont have their server
2. they are just having a reseller account and paying meagre $6.5  /month for Gazzin.com
3. i dunno when my account is gonna LOOSE.. The server will be down anytime coz they have exceeded the PLAN 1 in gazzin
4. They are the least relieble server i had ever seen.

[ They are down now... ]


Reviewed on: 2004-11-30   -   (IP: 82.79.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-11-21   -   (IP: 202.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best host i have ever used thier forums are so friendly. And they offer 150mb with 50 good posts. I love that host. This host rocks.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-16   -   (IP: 148.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
As good as it gets really. Very fast and reliable and the Cpanel is absolutely incredible. Good work guys, keep it up.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-03   -   (IP: 64.228.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I will not recommend this host to anybody, specially to any GIRL. I had the worst experience at this forum in just under a week.

This host has a bunch of Mods and Admins but only the root admin aka "OpaQue" has most of the control of the forum. This guy is full of lies and has no manners whatsoever. I joined the forum a couple of weeks ago and before I could've posted I got suspicious at their setup. I asked admins for some explanation for the new reviews I found here (at free-webhosts.com), As "OpaQue" is the only who has main access, he responded back and tried to cover it up by calling everything a lie and that telnet does not work. Few other users kicked in the discussion and one of them provided telnet access to his hosted site at astahost. I (and other users) used this telnet access and verified that telnet does work and that "OpaQue' is simply lying. Then "OpaQue" came up with some new lies, we proved them wrong again and so he came up with few more lies. Finally when we proved all of his claims as lies, this guy got out of control and called me GAY. Could you believe it, the main admin of this forum has no ethics or manners whatsoever. He cursed me and other users publically at his forum and called me GAY (even though I'm a girl). He even published my login profile at his forum without even warning me. That included my IP, my email addr and my full name. At that point other Mods and admins of the forum asked this guy "OpaQue' to "keep his mouth shut or face a total disaster". I was never so humiliated at any forum. This guy "OpaQue' called me all the bad names just because I was looking for the truth. I WILL NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOST TO ANYONE, as long as "OpaQue' is there. When I asked "OpaQue' to mind his language, he replied "ha ha ha, it's my forum". There still is at least one good Mod there, but unfortunately, he doesn't have much of a control. "OpaQue" keeps most of the control of forum to himself.

The thread where he cursed me and called me gay has been deleted from their forum. But a lot of users followed that thread and witnessed all of that humiliation. In short, join the forum, if you can live with being humiliated by the admin "OpaQue". I on the other hand, can not withstand being called gay and being cursed. I'll never ever go back to this forum.


Reviewed on: 2004-11-01   -   (IP: 203.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
astahost is great! the admin is really friendly and they get your account set up really quickly! The only downtime i experienced was when they were just starting out, and they had to upgrade server due to the number of signups they received (they received much more than they thought they would).

And to the person who said SiteUptime.com uses pings:
SiteUptime uses Pings AS WELL AS WWW, FTP and POP3 REQUESTS.


Reviewed on: 2004-10-31   -   (IP: 203.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-10-27   -   (IP: 218.108.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It's totally free, and with professional service. This site requires knowledge sharing between memebers, but I think most people surfing on the web will like it.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-22   -   (IP: 203.115.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-10-20   -   (IP: 53.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
great host. indeed, you have to make 50 posts first before you get a decent account (although 20 posts will do for a mini account which is good enough to get you sarted), but you get a lot in return.
only thing is that the forum needs some moderation because a lot of people just spam the forum in order to get free hosting, even though it won't work. only quality posts count.

it's quite fast, has a great uptime: http://www.siteuptime.com/statistics.php?Id=16019&&UserId=13641

it offers full functionality php and quite some other stuff. really good for experimenting.

for a free host: 10/10


Reviewed on: 2004-10-18   -   (IP: 140.113.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I am hosted at astahost.com. Before joining the astahost, I did google search for astahost. And found quite a few intresting links. So I finally decided to get an account at astahost and investigate it myself. I did some 10+ post and got their starter package. Then installed CGI telnet scripts (Gamma Web Shell 1.3) on my astshost site. For all the users who would like to verfiy it for themself. CGI telenet script that I installed is available at
[URL removed]. You can install CGI telnet on your hosted site at astahost and do it for yourself. You'd find CGI telnet at,
http://www.rohitab.com/cgiscripts/cgitelnet.html
http://legacy.gammacenter.com/gamma.py/products/WebShell

Now the Proofs. Log-on to CGI telnet (either on my site or on your own).

To see if astahost has its own servers, or if its using shared reseller account by someone else. Type the following in CGI telnet command prompt and press Execute.
hostname

It will report "panda.unixbsd.info". It means that the astahost web site is running on the server known as "panda.unixbsd.info". Now the question is, who owns this server.
Easy, just go to, unixbsd.info, check the last line of on the page. It says "Reseller Services Provided By Gazzin Networks - http://www.gazzin.com"

So you know astahost.com is hosted at panda.unixbsd.info, And panda.unixbsd.info is owned by gazzin.com. Now just visit gazzin.com and see who they are. You'll find that Gazzin provides shared reseller accounts. And probably they are the cheapest in the market.  You'll find that gazzin only offers shared reseller plan. And that astahost.com is also using shared hosting by Gazzin. When you check Gazzin's website, you'll see Gazzin offers different packages. They call them, Plan 1, Plan 2, Plan 3 and Plan 4.  Wonder which package astahost is using? Just do the following (again type it in the command line and press execute)

cat /var/cpanel/users/astahost
You'll find that astahost is using Plan 1. Still not satisfied, Want more proofs, Fine. Do the following (again in command line):
ls /var/cpanel/users
It will give you a list of 1302 users. Which means this server has 1302 user accounts.
Now do:
grep "OWNER=astahost" /var/cpanel/users/*
It will give you a list of 61 users. These are the users hosted by astahost.com. IF you are already hosted there, you'd see your name too.  So astahost is hosting 61 users out of 1302 users hosted by this server.

Another thing you might like to do is,
/sbin/ifconfig
It will give a list of all the IP addresses handled by this server. You'll find 78 unique IPs and astahost.com's IP is just one of them.

By now you should be fully satisfied that Astahost does not own ANY server. They are hosted by gazzin.com and are using gazzin's "Reseller Plan 1". If you are curious, visit gazzin.com and see what is their Plan 1. Its the cheapest plan they offer and costs $6.95 a month. The reason astahost admins chose gazzin becasue gazzin provides cheapest reseller accounts. So astahost.com is spending US $6.95 a month. Surprised! On their web site they give you impression that they are very big company with lot of resources and their own servers.

Ok now about the overselling,
To see which plan astahost is using, do (same as you did above)
cat /var/cpanel/users/astahost
You'll see a line like,
"PLAN=Plan 1"
That means astahost.com is using Gazzin's Plan 1. Now go to the gazzin.com and get details for their Plan 1. You will find that Plan 1 comes with 3500MB of hard drive space and 55000 MB of bandwidth. Ok, now as you already know astahost has two packages, called starter (for 10 posts) and default (for 50 posts). To see how many of starter packages they have offered, do

grep "PLAN=astahost_starter" /var/cpanel/users/*
And it will give you a list of 34 accounts that are using "astahost_starter' package. Now to see how many of default packages they have offered, do,
grep "PLAN=astahost_Default" /var/cpanel/users/*
It will show you the list of 28 accounts that are using 'astahost_Default" package. Now time to do some calulations,
As you already know "starter" package (for 10 posts) offers 20MB space and 500 MB bandwidth. While "Default" package (50 posts) offers 150MB space and 2000MB bandwidth.
As Astahost is already hosting 34 "starter" accounts and 25 "Default" accounts. All of these accounts will require,
Space    = 34 * 20 MB + 28 * 150 MB
          = 4880 MB
Bandwidth = 34 * 500 MB + 28 * 2000 MB
          = 73000 MB
And if you check Gazzin's plan 1 again, it offers 3,500 MB of space and 55,000 MB of bandwitdh. While Astahost is execeeding these values by offering 4,880 MB of space and 73,000 MB of bandwidth to its users. Now you'd ask how is it possible. Well, this is what is known as "OVERSELLING". Yes Astahost is overselling. They are providing more than what they have.

BTW, this calculation doesn't factor in the space and bandwitdth that astahost.com web site is using. Niether it factors in the fact that astahost is still providing more accounts and keep exceeding their limits.

There are few more of their lies that you can catch using CGI telnet. Like their lie about the connectivity blah blah blah. But I'm not gonna get into the details about those lies. Maybe someone else would.

So the bottom line is, astahost STINKS.
1) They do not own any server, they only spend $6.95 a month for gazzin.com Plan 1.
2) They are overselling, means what they offer is nothing but a lie.
3) They are using the cheapest service available on the web. Usually cheap service means, least reliable/most downtime.

If you are still interested in joining them, I'd suggest you atleast ask their admins to explain all of this publically. Quite a few reviews here are complaining that whoever asked for explaination from astahost's admin got banned right away.

You might get confused by some good reviews about astahost.com here. I believe all of those reviews are done by Admins/Moderators of astahost.com. Apparently astahost.com has a huge team of moderators. If you help them in hiding their lies, they will make you moderator (if you request). And BTW none of these good reviews (here) explained anything about the rumors (that's going on for about a month). In the reviews, all they say is service is that all matters. What service they are refering to? Service that they run on their fake servers?

Regarding dowtime, I've seen a max downtime of 2 days straight. ftp login problems every now and then, very slow access of their site every now and then.

I see some other reviewer are mentioning siteuptime.com statistics as a proof for good uptime. Well, in case you don't know siteuptime.com uses PING to check the presense of the site. And PING DOES NOT catch three of the most common issues which this host as,
1) Max ftp user count reached.
2) Max SQL user count reached.
3) Account suspended for non payment (this is what caused two day downtime straight)
Only thing ping catches is the complete server shutdown. Which does not happen very often. Gazzin has a good reputation about their servers, its just that cheap accounts (like astahost) are allowed to use least no of resources at a time.


Reviewed on: 2004-10-18   -   (IP: 24.2.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Go for this if you can live with the worst quality, and if speed is not an issue. I finally got logged on to their forum after trying for two days. And on the forums I was supposed to do POST, well, there is nothing going on at the forums. What am I supposed to do there?

Reviewed on: 2004-10-18   -   (IP: 202.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
NOT RECOMMENDED. Slowest server with the worst downtime I've seen.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-16   -   (IP: 24.232.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
A fast and generous host who are quick to react to hosting requests and have a friendly base of staff and admin, who make the habit of keeping active in the forums enjoyable.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-14   -   (IP: 211.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Astahost.com is the best free hosting I have ever expereinced. They are so transparent. These people want to build up a community and hence are looking out for people who can contribute at thier forums about the things regarding computers and stuff. I was approved hosting at 27 posts while the normal package asks for 50. The point is if they even see that your intrested in their forums and are contributing well, they dont even wait for your post counts to reach 50.. and you will propably get webhosting before that. As for the service, it is fantastic. The hosting uptime is good ( more than 99.5 ).

Posting at the forums may be a bit frustrating as the forums are usually related to computers and some people with other interest might not like it. They forward such people to trap17.com which they claim is their partner site. I give it 10 since, I am happily hosted with them without any problems!


Reviewed on: 2004-10-14   -   (IP: 200.112.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Just great, I'm user for almost a month and astahost works perfectly, no downtimes, no delays, great speed .... simply just try it, make 10 post (not anything, useful posts if not your web hosting will be denied, the rules are no spam) and you can ask for minipackage (an small part of their service) and try it, if you like the server, keep posting and you will have a real freewebhost.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-14   -   (IP: 206.123.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I first thought this server rocks, but after spending few weeks there, now I think this server STINKS. Don't go by what they say, its not true. Only thing these guys are good at is making others fool. Admins there (specially) Eric don't know about anything. He thinks exe file can be run on Linux -;)
Downtime is worst I've experienced on any other server. Appeartenly they have a max ftp limit of 50 for all the account hosted by their host (Gazzin.com. Most of the time ftp don't let me login, and once it does, it takes over a min to respond to simple ls command. As far as web downtime is concerned, my home PC is online more often than their server. And btw, once I got a msg saying "astahost.com account is suspended, please contact billing dept" And it took them 2-3 days to fix it. For those 2-3 days, everything was down. So much for 99% uptime -;)
In case you are member there, don't even think about questioning admin, you'll be kicked right away.


Reviewed on: 2004-10-13   -   (IP: 217.17.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-10-13   -   (IP: 153.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Lots of functionality and support alot of technology including jsp... best of all, its for free! very active forum and very well maintained by admins... request are very fast been proccess too... great services! excellent customer support... its really cool... the one and only webhosting u should choose... i'm really enjoying the hosting provided by them now... :)

Reviewed on: 2004-10-12   -   (IP: 210.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
good 'looking' hosting, but be aware that the admin is overselling and doesn't have his own server. There was a post a while ago about this so read that and checkout the links in it before starting on this host.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-03   -   (IP: 198.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Hey! Readers this one is really good.. Initially I was doubtfull but then I got hosted within 2 days. Just a few posts and BINGO! Join them if you want no headache for rest of your life. Getting starters pack is a peice of cake. This is why I love them. Most host keep you waiting for many days and keep you to make posts and finally give out their opinions. This one gives you hosting at a very small no. of posts to get you assured .. 10 points!

Reviewed on: 2004-10-02   -   (IP: 202.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
*  What are the free webhost's positive and negative aspects?
postitive : THEY GIVE ALL THAT YOU WILL EVER NEED!
NEGATIVE : Posting at the forums..
* Would you recommend this free hosting? YES! More than any other host!
* How long have you used this free webspace host? A week.
* Has this free web hosting been reliable (approximate % downtime if known)? So far, I haven't experienced any.
* Is the free web host fast or slow? VERY FAST!
* Is the free web hosting's support/features good or bad? 
Why? THE BEST SUPPORT YOU WILL EVER FIND! Directly CHAT with the Admin. The forums has good members and are always ready to help you out.
Check out this page and you will get a good reason to join them http://www.free-web-hosting-service.com/ I guess, its a guide made by them or someone related to them. And I guess they are partners of http://www.trap17.com/


Reviewed on: 2004-10-01   -   (IP: 62.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I will rate this site as 3. I'm an average user (probably below average) and am hosted here for about a month. Since this scandal/rumor started, I got confused. I know nothing about linux, so I have no idea who is lying. But I noticed three things since this started,
1) I kept waiting for our Admin to deny these claims and prove this guy worng. But that never happened, As a fact of matter, our (astahost's) admin never even acknowledged this rumor/scandal on his forums. That made me suspicous first.
2) Since this scandal, I see a lot of users leaving. I'd like to ask admin about these claims, but I'm  scared. If I ask, he probably will suspend my account. That has happened to a friend of mine.
3) A few days back, when I visited forums, I got a message something like "panada.linux.com, this account has been suspended, please contact billing dept".  If astahost is running on their own server, I don't think this message will ever show up.
I'll stay with them for now, but will also open another account somewhere else. In case, astahost disappears.


Reviewed on: 2004-10-01   -   (IP: 221.8.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
OK! A lot of things going on here.. I have been hosted at this place since it had started and I have had absolutely no problems .. except for a day of downtime due to some technical difficutly or something! The service is awesome and I don't know what the posts below are babbling about.. but It seems pretty clear that these guys are giving out what they are saying! After all its service that matters! Besides when I tried to look at the devhost.org, they were down giving out some MysQL errors... Can't trust it though.
You can get a Starters pack with them with a small amount of post too, but the main package is too cool. The Cpanel is simple awesome with huge loads of facilites that one may ever require.
Getting hosting is easy especially the starters pack! This one deserves 10. Even though this host does not provide unlimited BW or Space as many other's are providing, they still ROCK. 2 GB BW is more than enough! Belive me, if you can contribute to the forums, then you cannot get better than this! They actually give out and don't make fake promises. I have seen some user's getting hosting before they even reached the desired amount of posts.


Reviewed on: 2004-09-30   -   (IP: 130.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I'm (or was) an hosted member at astahost and also happen to be a Linux expert. I myself verified all the accusations pointed out in http://www.devhost.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=309
And they all are correct. For a resller account, there is no way anybody can offer this much true space and bandwidth. It has to be fake and has to be a lie. But I must admire whoever designed their packages. His/Her main concern was to get maximum points according to free-webhosts rating system. Although the package is fake, but it gave them highest marks possible for a site offering free hosting in return of forum posts.
Whoever designed their website should also be admired. If you take a look at their site, you'd be impressed with the choice of words when they described their (fake) servers. Although it is nothing more than lie. But it attracts a huge user base. After verifying all the accusations, I decided to leave astahost.


Reviewed on: 2004-09-30   -   (IP: 212.58.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-30   -   (IP: 24.103.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The Service ROCKS! Check out the Demo Cpanel and you will know what I mean!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-30   -   (IP: 194.141.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Well, Frankly this is one of the best Free Webhosts that I have seen. The post counts are only counted at the Contribute section of the forums .. Therefore one with some technical knowlegde about computers wont have any difficulty in getting hosting. The DEMO Cpanel ROCKS! And Many member's have been hosted there. Not only this, They are giving an option to get hosted at www.trap17.com if the forum topics do not suit the members. Rest all is fine. As for the rumors below, I can't say much. Sounds like a nice publicity trick or a cheap way to pull away members. Whatever, it is, This seems to be the best Free Web Host with huge fixed plans. I rate it 10. Seems to be worth it!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-28   -   (IP: 81.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-27   -   (IP: 24.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
The hosting is not bad, but Admin lies a lot. Check their website, all over the place they give you the impression that they are some big company with their own server, running in well air conditioned rooms, with dedicated 24 hour security. blah blah blah. And that their mutliple servers are connected to multiple fibre optic backbones.  The simple fact it, they are hosted at gazzin.com using one of their reseller plan. And Admin of astahost himself is an 19 year old student. And his is the only one working for _his_ company. For me, its hard to trust someone like that. Yesterday, someone named 'Jhonny' posted a nice detailed report about astahost.com on his forum. And as Jhonny predicted, his account, thread and ip got blocked as soon as admin got up in the morning.  I am not sure what happened then, but their host gazzin.com suspended astahost's account [It is back up now].

If you want the truth about astahost.com, read the thread on their forums at http://www.astahost.com/index.php?showtopic=851

And in case the thread is deleted again. Read,
http://www.devhost.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=309

[
Free-Webhosts.com is NOT affiliated in any way with AstaHost.
]


Reviewed on: 2004-09-26   -   (IP: 80.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I love this host although today i just get some billing message when trying to visit there main page. 50 is a lot to ask but they are giving you great stuff in return so its well worth the wait.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-21   -   (IP: 64.228.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
What they offer is good. But what they demand is high. First you have to make 50 posts in few of their forums. And usually there is not much going on at those forums. I found the best way is just to start a new thread there and ask for something, even if you know it already -;)  In case you don't want to fool them by asking in forums about what you already know, you are pretty much out of luck. Admin disqualifies a lot of posts.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-20   -   (IP: 152.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I am not really sure about this site. It may seem easy at first to make 50 posts, but the catch is: even though they have about 30 boards, posts only count on about 6 of them. Posts anywhere elsed don't count at all, and you have to stay active even after you make the 50 posts. The company has even admitted that they only make you post so it'll seem like an active forum. I am still going to keep checking it out, but it seems as though if you help them, only THEN will they help you. Oh, and their forum isn't even working now. They are having difficulties.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-16   -   (IP: 80.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-13   -   (IP: 217.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-10   -   (IP: 203.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the BEST host ever. So many features man! I am already hosted on this and you only need 50 posts to get quality hosting. The Admin, whose name is OpaQue on the forums, offers a mini-hosting package to those who have reached 10 posts to encourage them to get 50 post and get real 'professional' hosting. His choice of moderators is very picky, and only picks those who are really worthy, and admins too. In return for all the great features like SSH/Telnet access, JSP, Tomcat, etc. he only asks us to be active on the forums after receiving the hosting, thats all. I think its justified because paid hosting like that of Yahoo surely gives you decent space and bandwidth, but what about scripting support and full access?? Do they give you SSH, Perl, PHP, MySQL or ANY of the astounding features of Astahost??? NO, they don't, which makes Astahost tons better than paid hosts. Their servers are really fast too and I've never experienced downtime, and I'm active on my site and their forums EVERYDAY, and I should know. I highly recommend Astahost to everyone, I'm sorry if this seems biased, but its not. The only negative point is that you have to post in the 'contribute' category of the forums in order for your post count to rise. Those posts must not be copied from elsewhere nor should there be any spam posts in those forums. I think this a good point though because as a result of this, only those who deserve free web hosting will get it.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-09   -   (IP: 219.237.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-08   -   (IP: 82.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-05   -   (IP: 62.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They are the best hosting providers i had ever seen Professional web hosting provided there for free and a nice Community in the web that provides you All the support you need at it also gives you UNLIMITED email,mysql,ftp accounts ... etc

Reviewed on: 2004-09-05   -   (IP: 203.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
magnificent host and great admin! I had a problem with the cPanel not working and the admin fixed it within 10 minutes! Very fast servers and i will recommend this host to everyone! You only need 10 posts to get an account with 20mb of space and 500mb b/w

it includes:
Unlimited Sub-Domains
Unlimited Parked-Domains (request)
Unlimited Addon-Domains (request)
Unlimited MySQL Databases
Unlimited Email Accounts
Unlimited Email Forwarders
Unlimited Mailing Lists
Unlimited Email filters
Unlimited Ftp Accounts


Reviewed on: 2004-09-03   -   (IP: 62.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
they are realy cool free web hosting providers Groups Can Get 1 GB of Deticated Space And 1 Domain .com .. it Really Rocks and you Can Get all The Help you Need AT thier Amazing Forum Full of Kind Helpful People And A REALY cool ADMIN.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-03   -   (IP: 200.70.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-02   -   (IP: 80.98.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-02   -   (IP: 64.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Their service really ROCKS! Try the DEMO Cpanel, and you will know what do I mean. Amazing set of features and services. Too good to be true. They also give out 1GB dedicated space and 15GB BW with DOMAIN NAME (registered .com address) for groups. You got to be active at the forums and they ignore spam messages. There is also a starters package where you can get hosting just by 10 posts. If you don't mind staying active at the forums and can sincerly post, then this host is a MUST. 100 times better than other's who have tons of limited or hidden things.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 22, 2017 -