free webspace  






Bobos.ca

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 15 3 6 2 6 2 4 6 8 25
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.32 / 10

Total Votes: 77




77 User Testimonials/Reviews of Bobos.ca

Reviewed on: 2005-08-25   -   (IP: 4.155.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
This host does not impress me. It doers support PHP, which is what I wanted. It took 3 hours until it let me finish registration. Now I try to log in and it won't let me do that. This server must have alot of downtime. I wonder if it will let me log in at all.

Pros: It actually let me sign up. If it let me log in I would have 150MB of disk space to work with. The bandwidth is awesome too.

Cons: Slow server, and disappointing! It took me 3 hours until it let me through, now I can't log in. I am not impressed at all. I don't recommend this, but some people may get lucky and get through. I give it a 3!


Reviewed on: 2005-08-24   -   (IP: 222.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-08-23   -   (IP: 222.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It doesnt let me register, saying I am a malicous machine. Something is stuffed up.
[Are you sure you typed the "Secure Code" captcha correctly?  It is probably case-sensitive.]


Reviewed on: 2005-08-23   -   (IP: 65.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Could not create an account. The Error message said, "You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 's name?"
Good Luck with that!


Reviewed on: 2005-08-22   -   (IP: 222.91.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-08-19   -   (IP: 200.216.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I was loving very much this webhost site. But I'm right now in another pc and my website isn't openning. From my pc my website was ok (yesterday). Maybe is an error for just now. But the Bobos's services are excelents! 10!

Reviewed on: 2005-08-18   -   (IP: 151.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Very good, fully functional, but only TOO slow.

Reviewed on: 2005-08-18   -   (IP: 82.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-08-18   -   (IP: 81.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-08-16   -   (IP: 85.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-08-16   -   (IP: 85.96.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-08-16   -   (IP: 219.84.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
It's going well when I was using about a month or so ago, but recently they deleted my web page with no signal, which made me some embarrasement between my friends. And after I wants to recall my password, I typed in my own secret answer and it says "No such answers"! I wonder what's going on with their database.

Reviewed on: 2005-08-13   -   (IP: 221.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-08-11   -   (IP: 84.73.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-08-09   -   (IP: 62.119.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Just registered (smooth) and checked ftp functionality (works). PHP works too.
Issues: images show somewhat reluctantly, seem to work eventually though. There is a problem when you access your site without explicit page adress (eg /index.php). (Full adress to an _image_ (/hello.jpg) does _not_ work and is not supposed to.) In short, www.you.bobos.ca might not show the images of the index.php page. Can't judge speed, support, availibility yet.


Reviewed on: 2005-08-09   -   (IP: 213.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Can't register. Something is wrong with their SQL code.  Also they have placed a Google ad on top of the signup form which prevents required fields to be filled.

Reviewed on: 2005-08-09   -   (IP: 203.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-08-05   -   (IP: 172.212.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Good first impression but signup was my downfall. It kept saying I can't see your name!

Reviewed on: 2005-08-02   -   (IP: 141.154.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Good first impression, you try to sign up----BAD, the malicious machine page annoys SO MUCH.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-27   -   (IP: 70.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I cannot even register for an account, although I have attempted more than 10 times! I keep on getting the "malicious machine" page, which leads me back to the sign-up page again!

Reviewed on: 2005-07-27   -   (IP: 218.102.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-07-26   -   (IP: 83.24.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-07-24   -   (IP: 201.38.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-07-18   -   (IP: 202.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-07-17   -   (IP: 200.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Well, they put banners in the top of my page, so i erased all my site. So then now it says:
"This site was deactivated due to its content...
hosted by BOBOS.ca - Free Web Hosting !!!"
and well, there is no content.


Reviewed on: 2005-07-16   -   (IP: 62.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-07-15   -   (IP: 84.157.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-07-14   -   (IP: 80.100.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
The (ftp) server is way too much down.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-14   -   (IP: 83.151.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best ever. superb, Cant find any better!

Reviewed on: 2005-07-14   -   (IP: 66.216.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
sign up was easy, once I figured out that the security code is case sensitive. - that wasn't very apparent.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-12   -   (IP: 203.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Just registered and uploaded a test page using WS_FTP. No probs so far. Registration was quick and easy. No stupid or personal questions. There was a default file called index.php on my site that I didn't understand. I deleted it and replaced it with my home page index.html and everything works. No ads (so far!) Time will tell.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-08   -   (IP: 81.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-07-04   -   (IP: 61.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is a joke, it won't let me sign up at all. I keep getting the "stupid machine" page. And if i dont get that page, i will get an error page.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-03   -   (IP: 66.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
1.Just signed up so have no knowledge of uptime, however server status on their site indicates both http server and ftp server uptime is about 9 days.
2. Unlimited bandwidth is a big plus.
3. No indication in their TOS of what type of files are prohibited (except for no mp3's), but when browsing through their forum, there are quite a few users who state they can't upload .zip files & various other popular formats, I didn't verify this.
4. Also, no indication in their TOS of file size limit (that I could find), it is 3Mb.
5. You can not imbed media stored on their site, I attempted to do so with a.wma file, but ended up having to store and link from another web provider.
6. 1 free pop 3 email (plus web mail), which is easy to set up and seems to work fine.
7. Ftp uploads multiple files and seems to be reasonably fast & the site seems to also be reasonably fast.
8. Their web site appears to be written by a 6 year old with a very poor sense of humor, though it is relatively easy to navigate, it appears downright childish as if English is not their native language (and that could be as they're based out of Quebec, Canada).
9. All in all I'm fairly well pleased with what I've experienced so far, and if the site stays up, it could rate a 10.

addd later:
I just noticed another reviewer stated he uploaded a 4 Mb mp3 file. Bobos's TOS indicates that mp3's are "forbidden". You can NOT upload a MP3. If you attempt to do so it will say "forbidden file" and not upload. (I tried) And you can NOT upload any file larger than 3 Mb. when the upload reaches 3Mb it will simply stop uploading.


Reviewed on: 2005-06-25   -   (IP: 62.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Just the best free web host!

Reviewed on: 2005-06-24   -   (IP: 172.155.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-06-18   -   (IP: 68.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
While this is the first site to actually let me join without writing a description (others have rejected me for some dumb reason, even though my site is perfectly legitimate), it does take forever to load. On average, I'd say it takes a minute to load a page, sometimes a minute or two longer. Until I find a better free web host to accept me though, I am stuck with this.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-05   -   (IP: 213.250.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-06-04   -   (IP: 203.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-06-04   -   (IP: 195.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-06-02   -   (IP: 198.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Fast ftp upload, short name and allows many file types. For instance my ftp just sent up a 4 meg mp3, a handfull of software etc. It was exactly what I was looking for, signup took a few seconds but follow the instructions and you'll be fine.
+ big file types
+ unlimited bandwith
+ fast ftp


Reviewed on: 2005-06-02   -   (IP: 24.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
"Are u agree with terms ? Click here and prove me that you are not a STUPID machine !!! Please right this on a paper, because this u will see only one time. :-)"

Who made this site, a third-grader? The unprofessional atmosphere is almost insulting. I will not be "right"-ing that activation code on a paper, because "this u will see" as far away from Bobos.ca as possible.


Reviewed on: 2005-06-02   -   (IP: 67.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
It was easy to sign up unlike some of the posts here, but the web host does seem to be slow for me right now. Other than that it seems to be pretty good. It's really not that bad at all.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-27   -   (IP: 59.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very great host. i had my site running in 10 minites! Dont know all these People Defaming this great site! You should go for it! All features of paid hosts! And no ads! Great webhost!

Reviewed on: 2005-05-24   -   (IP: 24.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
this web site stinks. when you try to make a site it keeps telling you you're using a fake email and when you try a different email, it still says that. its stupid, this is the worst site ever to go to for web hosting. trust me, dont waste your time.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-18   -   (IP: 218.111.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
i thought it really support php scripting, but after i signup, many php variable not working. they never give php info to member. it useless for me.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-15   -   (IP: 129.234.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
when i 1st signed up -way too cool! no banners, no pop-ups! lotsa free web space and ftp! now, i realise, this is kinda useless- the site is more than half the time down. This means that not only is MY site down, but the FTP server is down, as well as Bobos.ca! i think i need to find myself another more STABLE webhost!

Reviewed on: 2005-05-14   -   (IP: 24.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
The signup page is really poor with few indications on proper formatting. You have to enter the email in ______@_____.com format (only.com I think) and sometimes letters like O and o are hard to distinguish in the security code. The webhost is up about 60% of the time. When I logged in first time I got instant connnection, 24 hours later, none. What I really like is the unmetered bandwidth and the generous webspace which is good for download sites or sites that have background music, flash presentations, pictures, or videos. It is not good sites that require 90+% uptime, like webmail, business, advertising sites, personal (if you're the type of user that's frustrated with clicking Connect on your FTP for 48 hours straight to get a connection), or even other webhosts. Overall I would give this site perfect, but features aren't everything and the uptime is more important to me.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-13   -   (IP: 209.71.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This was one of the first free web hosts I tried to sign up with. The sign up page seems to be really poorly designed. Every time I would enter information it would get rejected for some mistake. Even my email address was rejected! The error message told me to enter a proper email address even though the one I entered is properly formatted and is used successfully everywhere else. I was starting to think this was a prank sign in page and that Bobos.ca was BoBo the clown! I live in Canada and wanted to try this out but couldn't get past the sign-in page. I gave up in frustration. Good luck if you try it. I ended up using atspace.com which is an excellent free web host with no banner ads.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-12   -   (IP: 69.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
they are down way too often.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-10   -   (IP: 61.6.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
FANTASTIC! A very good web hosting with huge (200 MB) disk space. Supports PHP, Mysql and FTP. You can test your bandwith from the front bobos page. I am far away from Canada, but my website loads extremely fast. I managed to register in less than 5 minutes. I am fully satisfied and it is fully recommended to those who need.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-09   -   (IP: 202.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-05-07   -   (IP: 69.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
this web hosting is very slow.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-24   -   (IP: 63.207.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Seems to be dead. I've tried for several days now, and still haven't been able to access it.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-19   -   (IP: 211.27.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
every time I clicked on the signup button there was something wrong with the form! "Click here and prove to me your not a stupid machine!" they could at least tell us if it's case sensitive or not.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-12   -   (IP: 80.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
1. This site deletes all AVI and MPEG files without any warn (this is NOT mentioned anywhere on the site's FAQ).
2. Extremely slow.
3. Many broken connections.
I don't recommend.


Reviewed on: 2005-04-10   -   (IP: 81.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-09   -   (IP: 68.125.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-09   -   (IP: 210.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
The admin is reasonable helpful, although his english isnt too good (probably a french canadian, the server is quite fast (12kb/s download on dialup!) when it is up, although that isn't more then 90% of the time. Realy, up is refering to PHP or MySQL, html-only sites work perfectly most of the time, maybe its running PHP5 or a beta version of MySQL. It takes about 24 hours before you can upload more then 1.3mb to the site, there is not a 3mb filesize limit imposed.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-07   -   (IP: 82.36.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I host my profesional domain name on this and it works great although you can't have two accounts (because it registers your ip address). it works almost 99% of the time and the FTP is ok. Its the best choice with no file size limit and unlimited bandwith!

Reviewed on: 2005-04-07   -   (IP: 85.100.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-04   -   (IP: 82.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Extremly slow host.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-04   -   (IP: 195.49.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It's very slow, but everything else is good.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-03   -   (IP: 213.159.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-03   -   (IP: 83.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-03   -   (IP: 84.5.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
very good, very fast to activate a free webspace.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-02   -   (IP: 70.179.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Service rejects many common file names during FTP upload. So you will be unable to use PHPNuke or XOOPS. The administrator speaks very broken english, so his responses in the support forums are brief and difficult to understand.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-02   -   (IP: 222.79.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-01   -   (IP: 145.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I am still trying to activate my account, the signup was tricky but it finaly worked. but now i have to activate my account but every time i try i get the message: Sorry, user *name* is activated. Click here and try again. I can't login either so i am not allready activated. is there anyone that knows what to do?

Reviewed on: 2005-03-31   -   (IP: 83.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-31   -   (IP: 210.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
How do you sign up for a free account?

[
The signup link is hard to read, white on a light background, in right coumn.  It says:
"» Register «
Do not have an account yet?
Click here to register."
"Here" links to http://www.bobos.ca/signup.php
]


Reviewed on: 2005-03-30   -   (IP: 62.46.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
slow connection.. sometimes timeout.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-29   -   (IP: 24.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Quote: "Click here and prove me that you are a human been not a stupid machine!" - I LOVED that page...took like 50 tries to sign up without timing out, and their english isn't too great, but the rest is fine.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-28   -   (IP: 70.57.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The signup is really tricky. It took me four tries to get through and then it was also tricky to actually access the site. This is not a cookie cutter clone of all the other free web sites. But once you get through, it really works great!

Reviewed on: 2005-03-27   -   (IP: 219.133.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-27   -   (IP: 213.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I have no account with this provider. This five out of ten rating is due to the right reserved by the provider (in the terms statement) to display advertisements on the account holder's site without his prior permission.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-26   -   (IP: 24.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Quick, easy and secure signup.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 17, 2017 -