free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  BraveNet


Visit: BraveNet
http://www.bravenet.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 5 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top + Popup.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum, Script collection.
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Web Traffic Statistics.
  • 90-days Inactivity limit.
  • Bandwidth limit 1500 MB/month.
  • Maximum file size limit 150 KB.
  • Same freehost as BraveHost.com.
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 52   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 5 5 2 4 4 4 3 4 1 8
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  5.58 / 10

Total Votes: 40

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  BraveNet



40 User Testimonials/Reviews of BraveNet

Reviewed on: 2006-06-23   -   (IP: 71.203.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I love Bravenet! They give me ample web space free, everything works the way it is supposed to, and their "extras" are the best in the industry. I only have 2 small complaints. First, I use the website Wizard, and every time I add a web page it is automatically added to the navigation menu. That list is going to be outrageous! I wish they offered alternatives for menus (like Tripod does!). My other complaint is regarding their own navigation/redirecting system. It is hard to get to the web page(s) you want without going thru other levels. Not really a complaint, but their forums are becoming increasingly useless. There are so many self-appointed "leaders" offering stupid advice, honking their own horns, pretending to be experts. BN ought to organize the forums and have one or two administrators/moderators. It used to be a reliable source of help, but no more - and that is bad since Brave Net does not have many other alternatives for giving us support!

Reviewed on: 2006-04-13   -   (IP: 74.229.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-03-05   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They deleted my web hosting account for no seeming reason. My webpage is still active (uglified by forced banners at top of the web page, and annoying popups), but I cannot login to ever modify the web pages again. Not recommended.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-07   -   (IP: 64.12.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This ain't no bad host at all! They have many services and a resonable web page editor like Freewebs. You should use it if you can't find any other free host. Very very good!

Reviewed on: 2006-01-24   -   (IP: 200.126.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Bravenet in general offers a reasonable suite of services and features, but their customer service is ridiculously bad. They have no accountability, and give responses to questions which clearly reflect that the person: 1. doesn't know what they are talking about, and 2. hasn't read the question. You are virtually guaranteed to have your site down for at least a week due to some problem created by their apparently random decisions to change services and modify accounts without letting the owners know what they are doing. If you are looking for a service where you can actually get help for a problem - go elsewhere.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-11   -   (IP: 68.82.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Support is poor, and appears to be by interns or non IT personnel. Communication regarding issues is controlled through a flakey ticket system that relies on email. If you are having email problems, you get no info. They make configuration changes without telling site owners - including those who are paying for web space. The host is fairly reliable as far as uptime, but they have done things like move domain names, decouple DNS, drop email accounts, and other nasties that prompted me to threaten complaints to ICANN and BBB. You get what you pay for - bottom line. I'm not giving a URL because they have hosed all my sites at one time or another in the past 6 months, and do something to put one or more sites or email off line for weeks at least once a year. Yes, I am looking for a new provider.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-10   -   (IP: 80.42.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I had my website on Bravenet for roughly 2 years. Here's what I got from it anyway:

Pros:
- Scripts, sounds and clipart in one place
- Sitebuilder (easy for beginners)
- Lots of services to mess with
- Half-decent support

Cons:
- Tracking cookie on your PC as soon as you enter the site (Bravenet claims this is for "targeted advertising", but I for one don't want to see optitian and CEO adverts)
- Ads, ads...ads?
- IP Blocker doesn't seem to work in a range for services
- Ad-ridden services!

This is no good if you want a nice outlook on your site. Its ads seem to hinder a pleasant browsing experience. And I really wasn't happy about having to remove that tracking cookie every time I updated my site. It's ok for beginners, but a bit lame for veterans.


Reviewed on: 2005-07-20   -   (IP: 141.154.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I used this host already, if you don't like flashing ads, please don't you dare click on this one, even though it's all good and even recommended by lissaexplains.com the scripts are good, and like someone said, the ads make your site a total huge joke. I really think that if you rather have their good scripts or email that keeps asking about their service options and suggestions all month long, Stray away from this free web hosting site.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-29   -   (IP: 12.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This has been an excellent site for persons new to website building. Tools are great, plenty of easy to understand tutorials available, so many though that it's sometimes hard to find what you're looking for. We've used for 2 years now, very reliable, banner ads at top only, we have had absolutely no pop ups etc, if you're having a problem with that it's probably generated from spyware on the users computer. You can make a very professional looking site but they are easy to outgrow once you get going on it. We've been looking for something better and haven't found it yet. Very slow to use if you have dialup though. We've had little to no downtime. They let you know ahead of time when they have updates planned and how long it should be down for.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-23   -   (IP: 165.21.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Fantastic! Wide array of web tools!



40 Customer Comments/Reviews of BraveNet

Page:  2 of 4

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 20, 2017 -