free webspace  






Brinkster

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
   
# Votes: 8 5 2 1 0 3 2 2 8 25
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.11 / 10

Total Votes: 56




56 User Testimonials/Reviews of Brinkster

Reviewed on: 2004-05-19   -   (IP: 220.240.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
brinkster.com would have to be the worst host on the net. they took my money 6 weeks ago and still i have no account they keep saying its a billing problem, but the money is gone from my credit card. don't trust them. they are thieves.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-19   -   (IP: 81.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-07   -   (IP: 213.42.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-04-20   -   (IP: 81.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-04-12   -   (IP: 217.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
does not offer free hosting anymore.

[
The Free plan is listed as "Educational Plan" at
http://www.brinkster.com/AboutSolutionComparison.asp

However, I tried to sign up again.  After a lengthy signup, the last page was blank.  Maybe the name I chose was in use???

Brinkster does not permit the following file types:
ā?¢Files larger than one (1) MB (with the exception of MS Access Databases -.MDBs)
ā?¢.exe, .cmd, .bat, .mov, .avi, .mp3, .wav, .rm, .ram, .rmx, .asf, .wmf, .wmp, .wma files of any size and audio files

General Users are limited in bandwidth to 16.7 MB a day and 500 MB per month. Once the daily limit of 16.7 MB a day is reached the web site and contents will no longer be served for the remainder of that day.
]


Reviewed on: 2004-03-01   -   (IP: 200.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-14   -   (IP: 147.8.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Many unhappy experience happened on me and my netfriends and my company. Most of us use the free service and my company and some netfriends even use the paid service. But they always claim on we have violated the TOS, but actually we have used it for several years without any violation. The final result would be account suddenly deleted without any notice NOR reason!! And no way to get back the data that not yet backup. So STRONGLY dis-recommended for business user, my company is an example!

Terrible service, would suddenly delete member's account without any notice NOR reason. no chance to get back the data stored. Strongly NOT recommended for business users;
Really rubbish support, very seldom to get response while ask for help;
Unreliable service, server would down for more than 2 days each month.


Reviewed on: 2003-12-10   -   (IP: 213.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Brinkster used to be good. Now they show an ugly banner that slows down your site and causes errors. For that reason, I moved to www.webhostingpal.com.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-07   -   (IP: 213.193.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I used this site when it was add-free but now it isn't any more, it's slow to visit and to upload. better try another(i'm afraid there are no good free webhosts anymore)
I'm still searching...


Reviewed on: 2003-11-03   -   (IP: 81.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
it used to be great but the uptime isn't as good as it was and the ads stink!
i'll be moving my site as soon as i find another good host.


Reviewed on: 2003-11-01   -   (IP: 24.168.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I used this host for over a year- until they recently decided to force ads onto your page.  These are the ugliest ads I've ever seen.  They're unblockable (at least by my pop-up blocker, the Google Toolbar), pastel blue, and OVERLAID on top of your site's content!  On my screen at 1024x768, the ads are about an inch and a half wide and as long as my screen is tall.  The user must scroll down to the X at the very bottom of the ad and click it, or else the right side of your page is covered by advertising.

Brinkster also has a slow, annoying, and buggy interface.  Oftentimes, clicking a navigation link while trying to work on your site will take you to a blank page, and you must backtrack and click it again.  File size is limited to 1 meg, and bandwidth to 17 meg per day and 500 meg per month.  I was willing to deal with the limitations and the poor interface because they were ad-free and relatively fast, but they are no longer of any use to me.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-30   -   (IP: 200.36.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I just started to use brinkster. It seemed pretty reliable at first, but now it really stinks!. It's been down several times, slow and now they place this stupid banners that don't let your visitors read the information you have posted there. For me, it has become useless. Now, I find myself looking for a better one. I do not recommend you to sign up. Let's spread the word, perhaps, that will help them to give their bannering a second thought.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-30   -   (IP: 161.57.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Brinkster is a very convenient free host; but they deleted my site with no warning, telling me I had violated some rule (note: there were no p0rn, music, or other objectionable files there) So use them if you like, but beware!  Backup all your files and images---they refused to explain why they had deleted my site...

Reviewed on: 2003-10-18   -   (IP: 24.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Brinkster has hosted my friend's site for a few months, and we find it to be pretty reliable. The file manager is very easy to use, and uploads etc. are very fast. There are only a few things that are drawbacks. First, the 1MB uploading thing stinks, and lately there's been a lot of times when Brinkster is down. I didn't notice many of the other reviews say this, so maybe its just happening nowadays. Like right now, for instance, my friend's site is down and we haven't been able to view it for all of today and yesterday. Other than that problem, Brinkster is quite reliable and easy to use.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-11   -   (IP: 138.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
What are the host's positive and negative aspects?
Well, there's no ads, and the service is reliable, and fast. However, there's not much bandwidth, and although its nice to see that they offer a web upload, which is convenient for people like me who can't access ftp, it would be better if you could upload files bigger than 1 MB.

Would you reccommend this free host?
YEAH!

How long have you used this free webhost?
Since the beginning of this year.

Has this host been reliable?
Yeah. No downtimes yet.

Is the host fast or slow?
Very fast.


Reviewed on: 2003-09-29   -   (IP: 218.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-09-17   -   (IP: 62.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-09-09   -   (IP: 166.121.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Brinkster rocks!

Reviewed on: 2003-08-25   -   (IP: 213.193.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Good free web hosting for who's starting a new website. For advanced users 500Mb bandwith is too small.(1 Mb max. filesize stinks too).

Reviewed on: 2003-08-15   -   (IP: 208.40.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The main reason I love Brinkster is because of their size (30 megs), setup, and especially, no ads at all! Their file manager is easy to use, and their server is very reliable. I've never had a problem with file types/sizes, bandwidth, etc, since the site I have there is not popular. If I had any complaint, it would be that they only allow one site per unique IP number.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-15   -   (IP: 200.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Brinkster hosted my site for about 2 years. Everything worked fine until my site grew and got more visitors. 500 MB per month aren't just enough. That and the nasty www??.brinkster.com/... URL you get, really decrease the merit of this host. So, if you're a beginner and expect few visitors, give it a try. Otherwise, keep looking for a better host.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-12   -   (IP: 218.28.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-07-26   -   (IP: 217.237.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Brinkster and anyone that works for them Rocks.  I can't believe how well it works. I was up and running in one sitting.  Thanks be to Brinkster. They makes me so happy I am a drinkster. JC Hosting, Distant Host and others stunk because I couldn't even successfully register. Freewebs worked but you had to use one of their limited online browser builder tools.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-21   -   (IP: 61.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-07-11   -   (IP: 24.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
The bandwidth, in my personal opinion, is terrible.

You get like 16 Megs per day - 500 for the month and that gets eaten up so fast! I just started with them, designed my site and advertsied it for the first time yesterday and I've already received an "excelled bandwidth" notice. The reason I'm on this site in the first place is to find a new host to relocate to.


Reviewed on: 2003-07-09   -   (IP: 132.207.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-07-09   -   (IP: 62.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-06-07   -   (IP: 61.232.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-06-02   -   (IP: 24.247.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I "thought" Brinkster would be good. I've noticed 2 things. There are pop ups sometimes and I know for a fact my site isn't being visited by anyone than me, but after viewing my page 2-3 times, it says "The daily bandwidth limit for this member has been exceeded Try again after midnight, EST"...my site is about 90k total. Very bad host!

Reviewed on: 2003-06-01   -   (IP: 202.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
What are the host's positive and negative aspects?
Positive - Without Ads, allows ASP, 30mb space, very stable
Negative - Upload at most 5 files at a time, not very user-friendly navigation, no FTP, random url(wwwXX.brinkster.com/yourname), file size limit of 1mb

Would you recommend this free host?
Yes. It's stable & ad-free.

How long have you used this free webhost?
More than 2 months.

Has this host been reliable (approximate % downtime if known)?
Very reliable. I have yet to get complaints from my visitors.

Is the host fast or slow?
Fast.

Is the host's support/features good or bad?  Why?
Not sure.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-23   -   (IP: 144.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Superb freebie site. In the top 5 in my books.
Easy to use, no adds, bandwidth friendly.

This is beginners must and great for modest sized sites.

Browser load only sadly otherwise excellent.

Other wannabe free hosts, pay attention here.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-20   -   (IP: 203.27.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-05-20   -   (IP: 202.100.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-05-14   -   (IP: 67.118.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The free account at Brinkster is a great beginner's host.  It has a very simple-to-use file managing/uploading system, gives a nice 30MB of storage space, supports ASP and ASP.NET with Microsoft Access database, places no ads whatsoever on any pages, and quite a few other features.

Brinkster is also an average-speed and reliable host: in the many months that I have hosted with them, I have never experienced slowness or any downtime.

The major drawback to hosting with the free Brinkster account is the 500MB of data transfer per month limit.  That comes down to a little over 16MB per day, which is hardly enough if the site gets much traffic.

The second drawback is the file manager.  Though it is great for the beginner, it can quickly become a hindrance.  Only five files can be uploaded at a time (entire folders are not allowed for upload), only one file can be deleted at one time, and moving of files is not possible: the file has to be deleted and then re-uploaded into the desired location.

Overall, the free Brinkster account is great for those who run a personal site with low traffic and do not mind the lack of FTP, but for more serious webmasters, a more advanced webhost is probably needed.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-03   -   (IP: 210.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
What are the host's positive and negative aspects?

Postitive = No ads, ASP, Very reliable
Negative = Bandwidth Limit, No FTP, File Manager not too good

Would you recommend this free host? Yes, highly recommend it.

How long have you used this free webhost? 1 yr +

Has this host been reliable (approximate % downtime if known)? Very, very reliable. 99.9+% reliability.

Is the host fast or slow? Slowish-Medium

Is the host's support/features good or bad?  Why?

Features = OK - ASP, ASP.NET
Support  = Haven't tried


Reviewed on: 2003-04-28   -   (IP: 218.2.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-04-22   -   (IP: 218.106.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
It wasn't contactable today... first time I've tried to find it... maybe it's down forever...

Reviewed on: 2003-04-03   -   (IP: 202.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It's really get frustrating, the page cannot be loaded at all for pages on www31 to www33.brinkster.com.

Its support's reply is with some attitude of indifference. Though it maybe a good free site for the past, it definitely needs more improvement. The current inaccesibility is lasting for too long (a week as i started to notice this problem).


Reviewed on: 2003-04-02   -   (IP: 203.118.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
The recent service degradation is a nightmare! It starts to show sign of drop of Service quality shared by any free host.
The default html page takes a lot time to load and end up with emtpy page. What a pity, it ruins its own good track record.


Reviewed on: 2003-03-27   -   (IP: 198.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Brinkster, I love it. I absolutely love it here. It is the best free host, I've had, they're friendly they have a very good history of uptimes and their servers are fast.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-17   -   (IP: 194.177.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
excellent! I only miss a possibility for a FTP upload...
ASP scriptings are fine for creating the falsh guestbook!


Reviewed on: 2003-03-12   -   (IP: 24.121.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
There's no ads, it supports SSI to say the least. It's fast or slow depending on your modem. At first it was a little flaky but now I haven't seen it go down since. Brinkster is pretty reliable but it's annoying if you're trying to delete a lot of pages you can only delete one at a time and the fact you can only upload five files at a time.

Reviewed on: 2003-02-28   -   (IP: 67.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
isn't bad except for uploading and limited bw.

Reviewed on: 2003-02-21   -   (IP: 213.123.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've used Brinkster for about 1 year now, the ASP support is really useful and there are NO ADS at all, which is really good. The 30MB of space isn't restricting at all - my site has loads of downloads and I haven't used even 20% yet. The File manager is easy to use as well. The only downsides are the bandwidth limit and the file type restrictions.

Reviewed on: 2003-02-20   -   (IP: 200.80.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent!
Easy to sign up, friendly, great response time, never down. Really good.


Reviewed on: 2003-02-15   -   (IP: 212.171.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-01-27   -   (IP: 24.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
No ads, reliable servers.  One of the few free, no-ad hosts that hasn't closed down.

Reviewed on: 2003-01-20   -   (IP: 172.191.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This is the best free banner free hosting! I've been using it for about two years maybe? I can't ever remember it being down. It's only slow every now and then when I try to edit. I haven't had a reason to get support, but I hear it's fast. Brinkster is very good for a free host.

Reviewed on: 2003-01-19   -   (IP: 24.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-01-15   -   (IP: 61.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
very steady site, fast (a little slowly recently)
a have use this site for half a year, never down a time.


Reviewed on: 2003-01-01   -   (IP: 24.91.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Brinkster is a pretty good host. No ads, 30 MB, and ASP support. The only 2 drawbacks are it's browser-only uploads (Hate that, wish it had FTP...) and it's 500 MB/month bandwidth limit.

Reviewed on: 2002-12-25   -   (IP: 216.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It is very good for Free. It has fast servers no ads what so ever and a good code bank to get scripts from.  On the negative side there is a limited number of types of files supported(ex. CGI, php, mp3, mpg, etc. are not allowed).
I would recommend unless you use php or cgi.
Have used 1.5 years
Fast Servers
I don't know if the support is good or not have never had to use it :-)


Reviewed on: 2002-11-28   -   (IP: 203.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
One of the best ad-free host. 30MB space is a lot. Allows all types of files. Supports ASP (plus it has a bank of ASP codes for beginners to try). Downtime occasionally happens but quite infrequent. Perhaps the only drawback is 500MB/month limit.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-21   -   (IP: 212.178.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2002-11-12   -   (IP: 195.175.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2002-08-18   -   (IP: 61.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 21, 2017 -