free webspace  






Fairmount

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
   
# Votes: 23 4 4 0 8 5 2 6 3 79
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.40 / 10

Total Votes: 134




45 User Testimonials/Reviews of Fairmount


89 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2003-12-17   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Has been down for at least 2 or 3 days.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-16   -   (IP: 81.152.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent host, it isn't a scam as I am hosted with them and they have excellent service.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-31   -   (IP: 68.116.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Absolutely the worse web host I have ever encountered.

First it takes 3 days to recieve a support email back from them.  Second I call them and a KID answers the phone!  Totally unprofessional! 

Speed of this site is too slow to even comment on.  I have cable, and for the first time I felt as if I was on a connection slower than dialup! 

GRRRR...  STAY AWAY!


Reviewed on: 2003-10-16   -   (IP: 61.6.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
urg!!!!! wasting time

Reviewed on: 2003-10-15   -   (IP: 66.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Don't be fooled by other people's reviews, yes the application process is rigorous.  But how else will you keep the porn and the warez sites out.  I have been hosted by this company since they started and I will tell you that they ARE the best in town!  Hardly any downtime, GREAT service from the owner and the staff.  All the goodies are included and IT IS FREE. try to find a free web hosting with this type of service. you wont find it anywhere else on the web!

Reviewed on: 2003-09-23   -   (IP: 200.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
THIS SERVER STINKS!

Reviewed on: 2003-08-30   -   (IP: 80.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
ONLY English! They deleted my whole account! I'm German. Where's the problem with german pages?

[Added by webmaster: Their TOS states English sites only.  I doubt this is any bias, but they are legally responsible for the content, and therefore need to be able to read it.  Same is true of other free web hosts with this policy.]


Reviewed on: 2003-07-23   -   (IP: 172.141.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Being picky about who to host for free is good, but I wish I knew the odds of being accepted.

From their message board, you could tell that alot of people looking for a free host are young, and the more mature people, if any, don't post there much.

Though I'm not yet hosted there, I know that they only have one server, and it's been down for most of today due to someone's CGI script. There should be better controls against that, especially with only one server.

Hard to judge customer service, but based on the posts I've read from the "staff," it seems slightly below average. Their one year anniversary is coming up and there is supposed to be some surprise, but they have a long way to go before I'd consider them a "good" host. Possibly among the best of the free hosts, but that's not saying much.


Reviewed on: 2003-07-18   -   (IP: 218.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
is very very very good hosting.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-05   -   (IP: 202.67.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
What a shame
English Only


Reviewed on: 2003-06-18   -   (IP: 142.177.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
BEST!!! GREAT I have hosting with them! FAIRMOUNT is the BEST as far as cheap or free hosting!

Reviewed on: 2003-06-18   -   (IP: 66.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Fairmount is the best free host I have ever come across. They are fast, freindly and their service is awesome. I have never found a better free host out there.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-16   -   (IP: 213.40.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Fairmount review process for free websites is very strict and like some other people agree that this is a very good thing it stop mass sign-up's with porn or warez etc.

I originally signed up for paid hosting had had this for about three months before my circumstances changed and my funds became more limited, I applied to switch to free hosting and was pleased to get accepted.

The only down side is that sign-up's are manually processed so it can take 24-48 hours to sign up to paid hosting and a couple of weeks for free hosting, but this negative is small compared to the vast amount of positive features and best of all even free accounts are ad-free and have full cgi and php enabled.

Good on Fairmount, keep up the good work, I will always keep my site hosted with you.

Simon Widdop


Reviewed on: 2003-06-15   -   (IP: 24.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Fairmount is the best web host ever! They host me for $1.74 with 250MB, and 8.75GB with unlimited databases and everything else! they rock! Nothing is better I mean nothing! out of 10, they get 20!

Reviewed on: 2003-06-15   -   (IP: 24.45.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Everyone is upset because their site didn't get accepted!
While the review process is rigorous, this is a very good host, maybe the best on the net!


Reviewed on: 2003-06-15   -   (IP: 12.222.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Evidently those that say negative things about Fairmount are those denied free hosting. I question the validity of some of the comments & votes.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-14   -   (IP: 63.229.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is the best on the net. Tons of features, lots of space, all for free. And all you people complaining about how your site wasn't accepted... Well, if they want to maintain their high standard of hosting, they can't just allow everyone. They'd be out of business in no time. And besides... If you do get accepted, it's proven that you actually have a well designed site. I've used their free service for almost half a year with no troubles.

If you don't get accepted, you can always get the pay hosting. VERY reasonable. Same and more features as the free account for some of the cheapest rates out there.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-14   -   (IP: 66.183.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Their pay and free hosting is excellent. I know of quite a few people that have gotten accepted for the free hosting. I went for the paid hosting and for $21/year I got 250mb of space, and 8950mb bandwith. Tech support for free and pay hosting is also very quick. Now, who would not want to wait the little bit of time to get the application for free hosting filled in, and wait for them to read it and check it, I dont understand. I think that is worth the time because unlike other hosts, you will get no ads, php support, emails  etc.
I will be a customer for a long time!


Reviewed on: 2003-06-14   -   (IP: 68.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is AWSOME!!! they only accept some sites so the quality of sites are high and so that they are running great. They have alot of features and a ton of cool stuff. I have been there for a while and I have never seen so much stuff from a webhost for free.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-09   -   (IP: 210.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I had seen "Note: All sites not accepted" for a long time on Fairmount.nu. If so they should be classifield as pay host and not free-webhost. Also we had to be careful with web hosting company using free-web hosts service as a way to free advertisment!!

[
added by webmaster:
I believe they host many sites free.  They just require you to have a good website.  They host one of my sites free, and it is better than most of my paid hosting.
]


Reviewed on: 2003-05-24   -   (IP: 195.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
only english pages!

Reviewed on: 2003-05-14   -   (IP: 193.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Rejected my website and asking to pay.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-21   -   (IP: 24.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Terrible, My site and a massive amount of stuff on it and a great site design. I was not accepted. i believe this hosts is a scam . DONT GO.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-14   -   (IP: 216.152.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Rejected for reasons that I didn't understand, but said they would host it if I paid for it...like some of the other reviewers, I believe it's a scam.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-05   -   (IP: 65.24.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This place stinks. I don't like free hosting that your have to wait to see if you are accepted or rejected.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-19   -   (IP: 12.239.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Go figure...  turned me down for a site but said they would host it if I wanted to PAY for it.... nothing more than a scam !

Reviewed on: 2003-03-06   -   (IP: 218.73.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Is down, maybe for good?

Reviewed on: 2003-03-04   -   (IP: 195.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
What a sad company, my advice...Keep well away from these pirates!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed on: 2003-02-05   -   (IP: 195.10.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Worst host i've ever seen!

Reviewed on: 2003-01-27   -   (IP: 24.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
My site was rejected, "not enough content".

Reviewed on: 2002-12-30   -   (IP: 66.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
On the positive side, sounded like a GREAT thing.  Read the reviews and said WOW!
On the negative side, they denied my site for reason(s) I'm unsure about.  The possibilites included things like swear words, chat room (this was to be a Scouting site so let's be real, we encourage swearing and chats are not allowed) possible non-English, well, I don't know what to say about that, I don't speak or write anything but English.  But I did find a non-English site under their membership list.
They asked for a site that I owned (not the site I wanted hosted by them) so I gave them the URL of a Scout Troop that I run.  They told me that one of the reasons for being denied was that they could not check-out the site and the amount of content.  If the site was already launched, I probably wouldn't have been looking for a host.
They did offer to host the site if I wanted to sign up for their PAY plan.  I'm sorry it sounds to me as if like many others they are now using the free thing as bait to hook you into their pay plans.


Reviewed on: 2002-12-17   -   (IP: 65.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I haven't gotten the host yet but i applied. From what i see it looks great!!!!I cant wait!

Reviewed on: 2002-12-02   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I think the rating speaks for itself, full 10 to this host.
All sites are not accepted and i think that's a good thing, maybe it helps to keep the server more speedy and warez free. Though have to admit that the server has been a bit slow recently. Other than that, awesome host, everything works and i havent seen any downtimes yet.


Reviewed on: 2002-11-23   -   (IP: 213.240.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
this is cool place.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-20   -   (IP: 67.84.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is the greatest!
They sell space for only $.02 per megabyte.
And bandwidth is cheaper! only $.002 per megabyte!


Reviewed on: 2002-11-19   -   (IP: 210.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've been trying quite a few web hostng services ...esp free ones. Fairmount is absolutely great. The features and the speed is remarkable. It seems this guys use a commercial software to let us users manage our web host. Neat!

Even though there was a delay in my webhosting application, it's worth it!!!


Reviewed on: 2002-11-10   -   (IP: 62.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This Site is excellent - The best i've seen for ages.

Reviewed on: 2002-10-29   -   (IP: 63.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Free web hosting for domain names here is the ultimate (although maybe it is harder to get accepted now than at first).  To see my domain name hosted free there, see 100 Best Free Webspace.  (This site has reviews and ratings of the 100 most recommended free web hosting companies, with searchable database).  They gave me custom name servers (named after my domain name).  FTP and server is fast.  In the control panel is all kinds of info such as web space and bandwidth usage, and Webalizer version 2.01 stats (cool).  You can also create up to 5 MySQL database names and the user info - names and passwords - and use PHPmyAdmin.  They are adding an affiliate program to be able to add more web space and bandwidth to your account, which will be nice.  Support by email is fast and friendly, and there is also a forum.  For free domain webhosting, this can't be beat.

Reviewed on: 2002-10-26   -   (IP: 64.12.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host seems to be excellent ... the best I've come across!  They offer everything I'm looking for ... and more.  I just wonder how they can do it.  At this point, I've rated them 10, but I have yet to experience just how everything will work.  It would not accept my registration for my own domain, so I have e-mailed it.  I have read the reviews, and it seems that some others have had the same problem.  I do not understand why they need my password on my existing account elsewhere ... that puzzles me.  Perhaps they should stated why it's required.
However ... I have rated them 10 on what they are offering only.  It all seems too good to be true ... I am hoping they prove me wrong.
LadyBird

[Added by webmaster:
They shouldn't need any password elsewhere - I would highly recommend not giving it.  I got a subdomain and domain accounts without giving any, and they are still working fine.
]


Reviewed on: 2002-10-18   -   (IP: 12.150.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
No one has to worry about the problems mentioned in earlier reviews, since I have already contacted the system administrator and offered to fix them.  Also, I had no problems signing up.  My only complaint is that I had to give my real name during the sign up (they rate their submissions manually, in order to filter the bad things like warez before it even reaches the server, which I consider to be an added bonus).

Reviewed on: 2002-10-18   -   (IP: 210.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Well, what can I say. If it worked it might be ok. They seem like average people with not very much knowledge of web hosting. They say you can have free domains which you can't, and when I signed up it said your computer isn't sending something. Keep looking folks.

Reviewed on: 2002-10-17   -   (IP: 209.13.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The service seems to be ok, also fast. They support domain name which is important too, but they only accept english written pages, that stinks.
Also i don't want to tell them why i want their space, too legal, too dumb IMO.
It is still good place to build up an english webpage.


Reviewed on: 2002-10-13   -   (IP: 159.134.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I filled out their form and when i clicked the done button it told me that I was coming from an unauthorised domain .. i.e. I could not even apply!!

Reviewed on: 2002-10-06   -   (IP: 216.148.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This site is the best it allows like everything it would be better though if it has unlimited space but pretty much it's the best i found.

Reviewed on: 2002-10-01   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
WOW!!!  Features rating is off the chart, and the rating doesn't count all the advanced features.  This is better than my paid hosting in many ways.  I got a subdomain as well as a domain name (haven't tested the domain yet; will soon).  Info below is based on the subdomain account I tested yesterday.

You request account by email, and seemingly the reply is manual.  I'm sure they will be swamped soon, so get an account now while you can.  I got a very quick reply and setup for my 2 accounts.

No ads!  Plesk Control Panel is great.  PHP is version 4.1.2, MySQL is 3.23.46 (add up to 5 in the control panel), and SSI and FTP tested fine.  Server is fast.  There is FrontPage 2002 support (didn't test).  There is supposed to be ASP, but my test ASP file caused an "Internal Server Error".  Maybe they will fix that.

There isn't much docs online yet outside of the Plesk Control Panel, but they have added some info since yesterday (kind of FAQ, mostly questions I asked).  When you FTP, there are several directories in your account.  Put your pages (except CGI) in folder: httpdocs.  I was surprised after leaving FTP idle for several minutes it hadn't timed-out like my commercial hosting does.

You get 100 megabytes space, and they sell extra space at $1 per 75mb (monthly).
You get 2000 megabytes bandwidth, and they sell extra bandwidth $3 per gigabyte (monthly).

For domain accounts, you register your domain name elsewhere and point it at their servers (no need to transfer or buy from them; they don't sell domains anyway).  You get your own name servers.

Domain accounts can have web users - you can host other sites within your space; a web user gets their own address and ftp login.

I asked what the catch was, and the reply was, "It's very cheap for me to run this server; also I have some paying customers to lighten the load."

I'm very impressed so far, but how long can such a good offer last?  I hope to see some comments of how it goes for others.


 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 20, 2017 -