free webspace  






FlatFace

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 36 3 1 1 7 3 5 15 15 85
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.26 / 10

Total Votes: 171




63 User Testimonials/Reviews of FlatFace


108 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2003-09-25   -   (IP: 213.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Well, I've been with this host for just over one year, I have to say it's the best free host I've managed to find out there although it's nowhere near perfect.

Firstly the bad. The main qualm I have with this host is its recent downtime history. In July/August it was down for a good 2 weeks. The guy behind it said he would do all he could to prevent it happening again. It's now in its 2nd day of another run of downtime. There's been a number of incidents like this dotted throughout the year.

The second bad thing I have to say about this is the way they slowly take features away from the free package users. I was recently learning PHP, and all was going very well until they turned on safe mode for the free users, preventing me from doing File I/O and uploads on my site. MySQL had only just been taken from the free users at the time too.

However, I have to sing praises of this host too. 100mb is more than enough for those with a small personal site. And with up to 1GB of hosting for only $20 (~£13) per year, it's probably one of the best value paid services around (minus the downtime issues). The technicians on the IRC channel are often helpful and friendly too when they're around.

Overall, I have to give this host a thumbs-up, although I'm very concerned with the frequency and length of downtime.


Reviewed on: 2003-09-14   -   (IP: 24.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
good hosting but down more than would like.

Reviewed on: 2003-09-09   -   (IP: 24.205.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Hah. Also 'a kick in the teeth', as someone said before. I was so scared by the reviews on this site ("IT'S THE WORST HOST EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!") that I nearly didn't sign up. But then I did, and I got accepted within 24 hours of submitting the application. Which is strange, since I could've sworn I didn't even notice the extra directions until afterwards...

Reviewed on: 2003-09-04   -   (IP: 67.31.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I applied for F Face hosting (one doesn't just sign-up), and my application was accepted after about a week; however, upon further research, I've declined and have passed over having my clean smelling website associated with F Face---you know--who wants to stink-up a quality website with stench...

Reviewed on: 2003-08-25   -   (IP: 62.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
haha ! fill a stupid form and hope they'll respond after a week..
pathetic..


Reviewed on: 2003-08-20   -   (IP: 65.31.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Worst Free Web Host Ever.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-16   -   (IP: 65.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I did have trouble at first registering but that is because i didn't follow instructions. If you have a decent site that warrants them hosting it, they will accept it. Good free host. Fast and excellent support. Definitely recommended.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-12   -   (IP: 24.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I'm not signed up with these guys, because I have already chosen another server, but after reading the reviews I had to check it out... Totally hilarious! Gotta love people with a sense of humour :-)
My only suggestion would be to include the REASON for not accepting the application in the email, so that people realize it's their own fault... although a "necessary" field marked only "IQ" should prompt ANYONE to read further...
Gave it an 8 because I don't know enough about the ACTUAL service to comment, but it looks professional enough (if slightly sarcastic).


Reviewed on: 2003-08-06   -   (IP: 219.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have just finished applying to be hosted by flatface.net
Not sure whether they will accept it, fingers are crossed :-)

For all those who gave a low ranking to this wonderful host provider, go back and see where you went wrong in the signup. Read everything carefully before giving your opinion on others!

kudos to flatface for this excellent method of checking out people signing up blindly.


Reviewed on: 2003-07-25   -   (IP: 24.33.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Speaking as a member, I love this place. I am so glad I found it. I am constantly in the IRC support channel (I rarely have need for support, only for DNS stuff and vhosts, i.e. stuff they have to do)so I know how hard they are working to keep this place up and running smoothly. To people who have internet ADD and don't bother to follow instructions, don't even try to apply. FlatFace.net is for people with common sense. I am proud to say I am a premium member. Thumbs up.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-18   -   (IP: 24.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is an extravagant host to use! It's just a privilage to be hosted by them if you're accepted! It's actually humorous how tricky the fill-out process is. It's clever and smart! I think any host as good as this one should follow the same proceedure, but with a few modifications. FlatFase is definitely one of the best free hosts there is. I give it a 10 of 10!

Reviewed on: 2003-06-30   -   (IP: 194.199.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Yes, it's a best signup process !!! It's a good idea and I think need to be more present... ;)))

Reviewed on: 2003-06-21   -   (IP: 24.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I'm rating them a high score just for their cruelness of how to signup. Can't really say cruel. Half of you probably didn't pay attention when signing up to begin with. I won't tell you how to do it, but I will tell you this much, it's actually very easy to do.

I am not a member however, but I did sign up. I have no clue yet as to if I'll even be approved or not. I'm just simply stating that you all should pay more attention to what you're doing instead of scrolling down and hitting the submit button.

To FlatFace and Cyan683, brilliant job on the cruel but great way to see if anyone was actually paying attention. That was great.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-20   -   (IP: 66.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
the note on this host should say (Note: Does not any applications) Not (Note: Does not accept all applications) I don't know how many times I have tryed to join this server and they neaver acept me and I have lots of friends who say the same thing.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-17   -   (IP: 131.123.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
stinks...
i can't register!!


Reviewed on: 2003-06-13   -   (IP: 67.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I don't really see why all the reviews here are so negative about Flatface.net. I've been hosted on Flatface for maybe six months now and I've had zero problems, except for a little downtime and that was quickly fixed.

They have a very attractive hosting package and no ads! The only bad thing is that they have some downtime but that's usually resolved in no time. So yes, I would recommend this site. I don't know why all these people got rejected but my application was accepted and I didn't do anything in particular O.o


Reviewed on: 2003-06-11   -   (IP: 168.253.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I like this host quite a lot. It's free, no pop-ups, webmail, and it's plenty quick. I think anyone who dislikes them probably just happened to run into a few kinks, but i had no trouble at all.

And I think for anyone who's had trouble applying, the main problem is not reading the application. I applied three times before I got it right, and they still allowed me.

I think they are quite cool. All who gave them a poor rating ought to try again, and see what you think.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-09   -   (IP: 216.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
To tell you the trouth, they stink!
I put in the number code and pressed the button like they said, and all they did was send me an e-mail saying that I am a mental case and I shouldn't be allowed to be on the internet! (just like they did to somebody else (I can't remember the username)
Don't use this service. Ever.
I don't know who would ever rate this host a 10, or say it's great.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-15   -   (IP: 64.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
First off, I set the score to 1 because this shouldn't count, I just don't see an option to respond to the reviews, so I have to do it this way. THIS IS NOT AN ACTUAL REVIEW, THIS IS A RESPONSE.

Anyway...

I just felt I needed to say hi to DrBoris who doesn't seem to realise that showing up once in awhile to complain about the same thing and getting the same answer every time will get techs annoyed with you. Plus I know he doesn't like me, so I'm drawing a logical conclusion, here...

We generally try to be as pleasant as possible, though I believe this says it best, "At FlatFace.net, we treat you with the respect you deserve." So acting like an idiot won't get you much respect. And how many hosts have support people available at 02:00 local time? How many free hosts even have live support PERIOD? {I don't know, but I'd hazard a guess of not many.}

BTW, the "God" thing was a joke invented by FlatFace. I am very non-religious in actuality.

As a note, our only uptime problems are caused by the ISP, and we can't exactly deal with that unless people become members. It's not like we claimed to have our own T3, is it?

Further, in the response to the complaint about me reviewing the service, I do happen to use the server for hosting too, you know. I don't care if you don't like the fact, that's your opinion.

In closing, I'll note the only ones that seem to give us low scores are the ones who got rejected for whatever reason.

We're doing this as a favour to people out there who want decent hosting for free. Most people who have it says we beat Geocities and etc. It's not like we're getting anything out of this, so if you hate us that much, we could always kill the server and send all the people who liked it after those of you who don't.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-24   -   (IP: 216.209.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
a great host... but, it's way too hard to get in for "free!", 20 USD a year tho...

Reviewed on: 2003-04-23   -   (IP: 12.239.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Personally, I don't see what's so bad about this host. Sure, it's probably not as good ad some payable hosts, but it's the best free host I've come across yet.

If you could only SEE some of the applications that these guys get, you would understand why so many of them are rejected. Even though this was stated before, if you use "AOLspeak" or tell them that you're using the space for storage rather than a website (I've seen one application that said "book" for what they were using it for. I'm not kidding.), then you'll probably end up getting rejected.

As for downtime, there's been a few problems with it lately, but it is usually fixed promptly. And yes, the forum is very useful if you need support -- you won't have much luck asking Flat or Cyan for help.

All in all, I think that this is a pretty good host. Maybe I'm just biased, but oh well ;D


Reviewed on: 2003-04-23   -   (IP: 207.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Flatface.net is good and bad by degrees.

The hosting package is excellent, especially for a free service. The small pay above that rockets it to superb levels.

The complaints of limited acceptability are unfounded, Flatface.net runs as well as it does by limiting the acceptance of users. It would spend all of everybodies time to accept all the users and weed out old accounts.

It does lose some points for the frequent downtime. Flatface is USUALLY on top of this, limiting them to only a few minutes, but I have seen it go all day before.

Also the complaint I've seen here several times was right, the sysadmin, Cyan683, seems to belive he is GOD HIMSELF. If you challange his decisions about the server or any of the programs he shouts at you, You have to pander to him to make him listen, etc. It makes for a very unpleasent experiance if you want to complain about something not working. Fortunately there are lower techs to go through, or Flatface who is more even tempered may hear you out.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-23   -   (IP: 24.224.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
blame sympatico for the downtime.
the server does not crash often.

oh, and give flatface a break. he has school and most likely other things to do...


Reviewed on: 2003-04-21   -   (IP: 68.39.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've read some of the lower reviews and saw what's meant by "ignorance at best". Although a little weird, the FlatFace crew tries to make sure their systems run at its peek. That's why there's so much downtime: they're beginning. And if you were rejected or never replied to, make sure EVERYTHING meets their standards-don't talk about their services in the signup (for example-I'd like to use your 100MB space for storage of my pictures and MP3's...3 problems->mentioned services, storage of files, and copywritten music that isn't yours). Ya gotta watch what is said. All in all, it's the best I've ever seen/used.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-21   -   (IP: 202.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
i love this host!

Reviewed on: 2003-04-16   -   (IP: 81.212.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Super websiteeeeee

Reviewed on: 2003-04-15   -   (IP: 62.234.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Very bad host !

One of the worst..

Why ?

- Support stinks
- Huge downtime
- Unable to sign-up most of the time
- Not clear what to do on the website
- Service is ran by people who think they are god..

I think that sums it all up !


Reviewed on: 2003-04-13   -   (IP: 66.203.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Okay, I don't see what's so horrible about this host. I use this host just to test stuff, so the wide range of features (PHP, CGI) make it the best I've seen so far. However, this host isn't for everyone. If you don't have the ability to form your application nicely, and respond to a rejection email with something like "wtf u r teh sux I h8 j00", you're unlikely to get hosted. I've used this host for maybe 6 months now, and I've been happy with it. The strict sign up policy allows for lower numbers of users, so speed isn't a problem. There has only been occasional downtime, which is usually solved quickly (unless FlatFace is drugged out due to Tylenol3s lol), and downtime hasn't been too frequent recently. If you aren't rude or stupid and can type correctly, you'll likely get good support from the high number of informed people who also use Flatface.net on the forums. However, trying to contact FlatFace or Cyan (the system admin) will, as far as I know, get you nowhere fast.
So, to summarize, if you're stupid, don't even try. If you want a good host and can bear parting with the AOLr speak you know you grew up, you should probably try to get an account. Applications have sped up recently due to a shift in staff, but it's a little messed now. Hope they fix it.

(Kick in the teeth: my application was read and accepted in 2 days)


Reviewed on: 2003-03-27   -   (IP: 166.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Um... this would sound sweet if only they were actually on top of their applications. The requirements involve pratically an essay about what you plan to do with the space, which they NEVER accept. Sorry, the sweet deal needs to be backed up by responsible admins.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-26   -   (IP: 194.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
simply, it's great!!

Reviewed on: 2003-03-16   -   (IP: 24.45.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I used to have an account with them, but they are down nearly 60% of the time. This obviously got annoying so I switched. I would not recommend them if you like your site to be reachable most of the time. By the way, Cyan683 (see bottom of page) is the system administrator posing as a user. Not cool.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-14   -   (IP: 210.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I've just got to say this host stinks. Not that I've tried it. After 6 months of application, I still have not recieved ANYTHING. They don't care about anything. They probably won't even provide you with hosting for the $20 a year plan.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-12   -   (IP: 206.148.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Applied for a site back in November- almost 6 months ago. The signup form didn't work, so I e-mailed the info to the guy, along with a link to my site (on my school's server). A while later, I saw in the forums that they had a problem with the form and that it was fixed, so I applied again via the signup form. About a week later, I saw a post by another guy asking about the status of his site; he was told that if he sent more than one request, he would automatically be denied. (Niiiiiiiiiice..... the online form doesn't work right, so people send another request and therefore get denied.) After waiting almost a month, I sent another e-mail, asking about the status. Sending a comatose gerbil into a black hole would've been as productive; never got any form of response.

I think that these guys are just as portrayed here- immature kids who think they're better than everyone else. I'm a software engineer myself and have more than one box with Linux on, but also realize that since I know more about computers than most people, I'm not necessarily better than they are. (Ask me something about keeping plants alive for instance... ;) I had every intention of signing up for premium service, but when I read the part of their web site that stated something like "if you're denied, you can re-apply for premium service. After receiving payment, he *may* decide to accept you", I decided it wasn't worth the bother.

Being rude and not even informing people when they're rejected is unprofessional at best. Coming here to bump your ratings is just plain assinine. If you want good ratings, grow up a little and treat people with respect until they prove they aren't worthy of it.

*IF* you can get accepted here, it may or may not be good; I have no idea as I never got that far.


Reviewed on: 2003-02-27   -   (IP: 68.32.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I would actually give them a 8.

Now hear me out, I don't work for them or anything. Yes, they're terms are wierd, but that's only because they don't want people just signing up for things, never using them, and wasting all that webspace. And also, to make sure people follow the terms they do that.

But, just by reading the reviews (I dunno if they were real) but I don't think its good to be rude when you turn down a subscription.

Otherwise, I havn't been able to find such a good free host with no ads and so many features. Also, their premium hosting is excelent...only $20 a year!

I dunno about others, but I would definitely stick with them.


Reviewed on: 2003-02-22   -   (IP: 61.177.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
CGI, PHP, ASP, SSI, Java
yes
for ever
yes
fast
good,because the host is fast
[answering the suggested questions I assume]


Reviewed on: 2003-02-16   -   (IP: 216.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
features or not, you cannot go around insulting people, and I don't care how much you people know about linux. Also, just coming here to give yourselves 10's isn't the smartest thing to do.

Now, I understand everything is free, I understand everything is volunteer, but please, do me a favor and find all the other places that are the same- I know of tons, and I'm sorry, but not only are they very nice and very polite about things, they are also professional, businesslike, and a number of other things. I can overlook almost anything, but one thing I cannot overlook is attitude towards customers. If you are going to tell me I have to have at least an IQ of 80, you are now the worst web host-wannabes I have ever heard of. And making up extravagent instructions is also not the best thing to do unless you have the best features in the world (and even then, you are going about it wrong) which you yourselves said you don't. Oh, and, sorry to be blunt but, btw, I happen to be a girl- are you going to insult me on that as well as the other things you insult about? There happen to be actual people who have IQ's of 80 and below who can't help it that they were born that way.


Reviewed on: 2003-01-17   -   (IP: 67.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
The features that FlatFace provides are very good, but they never got back to me when i applied. I would probably not recommend them.

Reviewed on: 2003-01-07   -   (IP: 209.46.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I read on this hosting service's Website how they came to exist and after trying their service I decided that it equates to this: Sometimes when a group of people try to come up with a great idea for a Website hosting service, they instead decide to give up and take a tired idea and make it stupider.

The only thing positive/remarkable about this hosting service is that they actually have a Website. Everything about their service is terrible including signing up for an account. They seem to flip a coin as to who will and will not get a site and they don't even bother notifying people they reject. I could only gather from looking around that you can only get a Website with this host if you want to publish a featureless site on Japanese anime or Atari E.T. fan sites. None of the sites I looked at even used the applications this hosting service offers.

From what I read on their site and postings in a forum they run, it sounds like the whole operation is that of a bunch of male Canadian social misfits with the mental and emotional capacity of a 15 to 17 year old.

I wouldn't recommend this host to anyone and as for speed; this host could only get faster if you dropped it from an airplane.

In closing, I'm sure that the host's support/features are better if you sign up for what they call premium service, which is nothing more than a Papal membership of $20. Yes, this feels like a reputable host, so reputable I can't even believe I'm writing this opinion and that I actually found it linked and recommended on this Website. Visit my Paypal site, for only $10 I'll ship you two cups of lake water.

Do yourself a favor, stick to the real hosting services, they have their limitations but at least they are operated by the all mighty dollar and not by a bunch of dorks that think they are cool and refer to themselves as the "Friendly Neighbourhood Evil Systems Administrators." They should at least learn to spell if they're going to call themselves a hosting service and actually publish garbage on the Net!


Reviewed on: 2003-01-04   -   (IP: 65.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
You get what you see, and that's what it's all about. It's love!

Reviewed on: 2003-01-02   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Temporarily down.
The link to flatface isn't working anymore.
Actually the whole service has been down for awhile including FTP etc. They promises to fix things tho.


Reviewed on: 2002-12-29   -   (IP: 193.114.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Come on guys, don't knock them so much when they are trying to do people a favor by giving away free web space!

I agree with their restrictions, there are far too many idiots out there who only want to full other people's servers full of junk. I've had mine on FlatFace for a few months now and with the exception of only a couple of days downtime, it has generally been excellent. As for them being rude, I would agree that they can sometimes be blunt in their responses, but they probably get shedloads of emails every day to deal with. Give them a break!


Reviewed on: 2002-12-27   -   (IP: 211.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Thank you Free Space !!

Reviewed on: 2002-12-23   -   (IP: 202.180.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This webhost rox it is the best in the world.

Reviewed on: 2002-12-23   -   (IP: 62.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It's too hard to get hosted on flatface - weird terms of service. If you know how to get hosted on flatface please tell me how to get hosted
skullomaster@hotmail.com


Reviewed on: 2002-12-20   -   (IP: 68.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great host if you aren't an idiot.

Reviewed on: 2002-12-17   -   (IP: 65.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I HATE IT. THATS ALL I GOTTA SAY! I went to apply for being support and they were total jerks to me. They said only if i could make an operating system could i be a support person. well forget them. i'm not doing that.

Reviewed on: 2002-12-16   -   (IP: 67.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
There's a prima-donna behind this one !!
Be careful when you apply. There are some very arbitrary requirements buried in the user agreement regarding how you fill out the application. If you don't follow these instructions, your application is rejected AND you are blacklisted for a period of time!
His requirements include putting a special number into the 'IQ' box, and clicking on a button other than the submit button to submit your application.
If you click on the submit button you will be rejected!
I've seen enough. I can only imagine the special hoops that you must jump through for sevice.
JMD


Reviewed on: 2002-12-12   -   (IP: 209.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Stay so far away from this provider. They are just a bunch of kids getting their kicks by rejecting people and trying to make them feel like an idiot. I don't care what they say, even if they were not such unfriendly jerks their service is lacking big time in the area of Service, communication and speed. I tried to sign up after reading all of the stories I read here and got the same email even though I know I followed the instructions to the letter.

Reviewed on: 2002-12-12   -   (IP: 68.82.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Now who gave them 10's anyway? What did that guy do, come here to vote himself? I didn't even get a rejection letter...I didn't get anything, and it's been months later...

Reviewed on: 2002-12-10   -   (IP: 202.37.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I went to this place in search of a friendly host with good fast servers aswell as scripting, messageboards etc. While these guys may have a very good range of services and perks, space, bandwith, extras etc they are unfriendly and unpleasent to deal with PERIOD.

First things first. I tried to signup to these guys and I followed ALL instructions and hit the number 16 button like it tells you to do. My Browser crashed immediately and I know it's not my fault because it has never done that before. However my details did get sent and a little later I received an email saying that I didn't read the instructions. This was utter bologna because I can ensure these guys that I have an IQ over 80 which they say is required to be able to complete the form.

I next sent them an email saying that there was something terribly wrong with their service and I got a reply saying I quote "Am a retard" and "Shouldn't be allowed to use the Internet". I don't think people like this should be able to use the Internet at all, let alone run webservers!


Reviewed on: 2002-12-08   -   (IP: 142.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
What are the host's positive and negative aspects? YOU MUST BE SPECIFIC AND READ ALL DIRECTIONS which is understandable
Would you recommend this free host? no
How long have you used this free webhost? 2 weeks
Has this host been reliable (approximate % downtime if known)? no
Is the host fast or slow? medium
Is the host's support/features good or bad? Why?
support not good because they are never there.


Reviewed on: 2002-12-07   -   (IP: 64.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Ok, I've gotten quite a few people asking some questions about the service, so I'll try to give some detailed answers.

We are run by 3 Linux gurus, which is more than enough to keep together a service like this. Our tech support, because it isn't paid, is run by volunteers in their own spare time.

We have multiple connections, but they aren't terribly fast. Because our free service is the most popular of them all, people are less inclined to pay for it.

Forums are definately welcome on FlatFace.net. Although, we do not allow people who run forums and nothing else.

We will be up for a long time, and will not be shut down easily at all. We have fallback ISPs, and with a non-profit user-help-user base, we will not go bankrupt. We have been up since March of 2002, and we will keep on improving the service.

We have had quite a few angry people talk about the rejection e-mail. This script is used to weed out people who will not spend their time trying to get accepted. If they do not spend time trying to get hosted, chances are they are not in such desperate need as others.


Reviewed on: 2002-12-02   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
awful number of angry reviews i see here, well here's my point of view..
The signup can be a bit confusing but if u just spend some time with it u know how to do it.
Reply to my application took quite awhile and i thought that they don't even reply to denied persons, but the accepted email was nice surprise.
I got the impression that mysql don't come with free accounts and running forums isn't allowed either.
Server is good and pretty fast most of the time.
i had to put up with some downtimes awhile ago (about 3 days out of 5 it was down) but that might just be their normal update process. Lately the server has been up everytime i've accessed my site.
The people running this service might seem to be rude to ignorent people.

Q.
Is the server run by 1 person?
Is the server running in someones basement?

A.
Who cares, as long as its fully working and up.

Q.
Will this host be up next month?

A.
When it comes to totally free hosts that don't get any money from you, u really can't tell. It can be down tomorrow, or it can be up several years.
It's the common problem with free hosts.


Reviewed on: 2002-11-29   -   (IP: 209.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I've also receieved the rejection notice.

They are not serious at all about hosting (IMHO). Lamers having nothing better to do then making "too good to be true offers", threats or threat-like elements on the EULA and the email responses. Just avoid this host... the previous reviews are telling the truth.


Reviewed on: 2002-11-28   -   (IP: 66.108.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
there are massive restrictions... but have a lot of features for a free cost... i think it is ran by 1 person.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-23   -   (IP: 80.146.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Very suspicious register procedure. You're asked something by IQ, get some weird instructions in the EULA and 10 buttons to push...

Ok, im foreign but i think my english is quite ok. Well, didn't figure out what they wanted from me...

Here's the mail i got :

We're sorry, but your application to FlatFace.net was
not accepted. This can be for many reasons. We are
not required to give any reason for rejection. Please
do not sign up again, as all further applications will be
ignored. Thank you for considering FlatFace.net.
--FlatFace.net Staff

[
added by webmaster:
See previous reviews. You need to to read their TOS to know how to signup.
]


Reviewed on: 2002-11-23   -   (IP: 212.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They Don't Accept Anyone.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-19   -   (IP: 68.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Takes too long to approve and are VERY strict with what kind of websites are allowed. It seems that it is run by one guy.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-18   -   (IP: 62.195.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Don't get any reaction from them. tried several times.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-16   -   (IP: 206.229.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
These idiots rejected my request without (in my opinion) any good reason to. Maybe I put a link in my site's description and the webmaster was too lazy to copy and paste. Who knows.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-16   -   (IP: 66.81.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
These guys are a waste of time; it is run out of someone's basement for the pure joy of giving people a hard time-just read thier forums if you doubt me. Secondly, upload is telnet which is lame, and in order to use PHP forums you must become a "premium" user. However, they don't state this anywhere in thier Terms of Service or in thier faq (though it is on thier webpage if you search for it) therefore if you sign up stating you wish to run a forum before reading thier entire webpage- you will be declined. If you read their terms of service you will see a number code; put it in the box labeled "IQ" (REALLY WITTY AREN'T THEY). They decline applications for everything unless they get something out of it so be prepared to bribe and pay your way onto thier site, if you get accepted be prepared to have your stuff deleted at any moment. I highly recommend paying a little more for a host whose "tech support" isn't based around harassing its customers.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-11   -   (IP: 64.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This website provider seems to be run by an amateur, in his basement. Who knows if they will be around next month?

Reviewed on: 2002-11-05   -   (IP: 64.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Positive Aspect: If you ask nicely, they can and will setup almost anything server-side for you.

Negative: Well, none unless you include an unfriendliness to idiots. But then again, since ignorant people are not idiots (idiots are ignorant people who refuse to even try to learn), I think that's fine.

Recommendation: To anyone who's willing to at least try instead of always whining for help.

How long used: 6 months.

Downtime: Much less than 1%. My DNS server is less reliable than these guys.

Speed: Well, not stellar, but still more than fast enough for me. You don't need a T3 unless you're sharing files or something.

Support: The support is great, if a bit unfriendly at times. Looking at some of the idiots they have, I don't blame them for being a bit rude at times. Since you can always look for them on IRC, you can't get any more prompt service anywhere.


 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 19, 2017 -