free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  FreeWebs

( "Free Webs Hosting" )


Visit: FreeWebs
http://www.webs.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 40 MB.
Forced Ads: Banners Top+Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic, WYSIWYG.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Chat, Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum.
Your URL: /you.
Other Features:
  • Note: Limit of 100 files.
  • Bandwidth limit 500+ MB/month.
  • Password-protected files.
  • File size limit 1 MB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • FreeWebs.com is the same free webshosting company as Webs.com.
Date Added: November 10, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 28   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 50 15 9 8 21 15 23 22 34 161
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.23 / 10

Total Votes: 358

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  FreeWebs



212 User Testimonials/Reviews of FreeWebs


146 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2004-11-28   -   (IP: 65.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
This is web hosting for begginers, lacks polish (PHP), and has a plathora of bugs, load times are the slowest I've ever seen, and you only get 500MB of traffic, but, if you are a begginer, this is pretty good for you... look elsewhere if you want a complex site. The learning curve is about 5 minutes, and this is the only reason I didn't give it a 1. It has horrible loading times, you are limited to 50 downloads, and it gets annoying at times when you are timed-out for no reason. I would not recommend this to experianced users. I have used this service for about 6 months, and I hate to use it, but I started something, so might as well finish it. this is the most ureliable web host I have ever used, everything is in slow motion, and even if you subscribe, you face horrible loading times, and you lose downloaded files. It is the slowest, you could take a nap, and something would still be loading, and Im using a super-fast Alienware Area-51, with an Intel Pentuim 4 processor at 3.6Ghz. Finnaly, I must say that for 2 years of their work, this is still missing just about everything (PHP) that is needed in web hosting.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-20   -   (IP: 128.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
*sigh* FreeWebs...*stares moodily at computer*

FreeWebs is a good web hosting service for small sites and beginners at HTML. I especially liked their instant website creation tools (for complete novices) and organized web pages (good navigation!). They also have no pop-ups or ads of any kind, which is pretty nice. However, uploading small images to their server often takes more than five minutes, and you can only upload files one at a time. That stinks. I spend about two hours uploading these files...where has my life gone???? *runs away and sobs* They also do not allow FTP, which is sort of stupid, and they require you to add a line of code linking to the FW home page in every HTML document.

After several months with FreeWebs, I suddenly realized that Freewebs only allows a maximum of fifty files. *flashback: I'm sitting at my desk hitting upload button, and suddenly the forces of darkness consumes my computer... NOOOOO!!!!* I finally decided to switch web hosts.

So remember: If you're looking for a free web host with FTP, more than 40MB storage, more than 50 files, and fast browser uploading...don't use FreeWebs.


Reviewed on: 2004-11-16   -   (IP: 212.113.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Some people love it - some people hate it.  It's true that is has several shortcomings, not the least important being it's infamous slow speed, particularly in downloading files. Add to that the fact that you can't use any download manager such as GetRight or Download Accelerator and you have yourself a big fat "Ouch".

But, it's very easy to use, so beginners will like to take it out for a test drive. I did, and now I host my page there. But I'd reccomend everyone not to upload there at all - not only uploading AND downloading is slow, if people download a lot from your site you'll soon run out of bandwidth. What you have to do is host the files SOMEWHERE ELSE - specifically for uploading and storing files, and very good at it. I'm quite satisfied with my website, despite this workaround that, were Freewebs better, wouldn't be necessary. All in all, I do reccomend it, as long as your expectations are not too high. This is for personal pages, small affairs, and such, not big stuff.


Reviewed on: 2004-11-10   -   (IP: 68.205.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I love freewebs.com, its very good! I have like a trick or something like that to make more than 7 pages, if you dont know it... you can delete a website, and then you memorize the address, or copy and paste it, and you put a hyperlink to the website you delete... but you only can create if you dont have pictures, or something, 50 websites, because then, it is saved like a file, and if you are not going to use it, delete it in the files seccion.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-07   -   (IP: 138.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I think that freewebs.com is the best hosting.....only if you use html and javascript. That's the only thing I hate about it. Freewebs.com would be the best host.. well.. even better host if it allowed PHP and MySQL. Freewebs.com is the best host I've ever seen so far. Go freewebs.com!

Reviewed on: 2004-11-01   -   (IP: 68.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I signed up today for the free site and extended space. Upon following the instructions I found that I had to go through "Paypal". Couldn't pay direct. That causesed confusion and then was directed to paypal as a commercial account. That wasn't my intent. After that confusion I started to proceed to set up my first page. Upon clicking on paragraph, My browser shut down. Tried it 3 or 4 times with the same result. Then I tried to get help without success online or telephone. So far, 2 emails and no answer. Tried cancelling and found another page that leads you in circles. Have spent about 4 hours and nothing. If you are an amateur to websites stay away from this one.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-16   -   (IP: 81.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
freewebs are not responding.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-15   -   (IP: 80.189.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I think Freewebs is good but it dosent give you much if you don't pay.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-11   -   (IP: 213.232.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I love free webs. its great. However they don't provide some services, such as visitors can not create accounts at your site, but its brilliant all round.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-05   -   (IP: 208.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
FreeWebs is EXCELLENT!  I know nothing about building a website and their services are so user friendly! When I can't find an answer on their site, their support staff have always answered my questions so quickly!



212 Customer Comments/Reviews of FreeWebs

Page:  13 of 22

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 19, 2017 -