free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  FreeWebs

( "Free Webs Hosting" )


Visit: FreeWebs
http://www.webs.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 40 MB.
Forced Ads: Banners Top+Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic, WYSIWYG.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Chat, Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum.
Your URL: /you.
Other Features:
  • Note: Limit of 100 files.
  • Bandwidth limit 500+ MB/month.
  • Password-protected files.
  • File size limit 1 MB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • FreeWebs.com is the same free webshosting company as Webs.com.
Date Added: November 10, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 28   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 50 15 9 8 21 15 23 22 34 161
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.23 / 10

Total Votes: 358

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  FreeWebs



357 User Testimonials/Reviews of FreeWebs

Reviewed on: 2007-10-08   -   (IP: 74.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-09-28   -   (IP: 156.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Two days ago I discovered that my freewebs hosted website was unavailable - even though I have been paying each year for almost four years for premium services and to have it available! Baffled, I continued to try for the next day to access my website, finally doing so, to learn that its url was changed, and now includes a "1" embedded in the "www" portion. Not only that, but many of the numerous photos are missing! I logged on to learn that the fee for staying with freewebs, in order to maintain the same services, has doubled! When I tried to engage a customer service rep, I quickly got a message saying one was not available! Over time, I have been very unhappy with the amount of downtime with my site, the number of times my photos, counters or other parts of my web site have simply gone missing, and the inaccessibility of the company (no toll-free line for paying customers, poorly trained staff, etc.). I'VE HAD IT WITH FREEWEBS! They spend time installing cute gadgets and writing cute messages, and no time on where they should be spending it. I would love to see their customer retention rate - I bet it is low.

Reviewed on: 2007-09-25   -   (IP: 41.204.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This free web page hosting service is only for beginners in web sites building because of its lack of functionalities.

Reviewed on: 2007-09-16   -   (IP: 76.21.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Freewebs is by far the one of the best hosting sites out there. It is great for people new to the internet. Ignore any negative reviews, because they do not know what they are talking about. The only problems I have encountered is with my own errors, and freewebs makes it really hard to make an error, because they show you how everything is done. I recommend freewebs webhosting to everyone, pros and people who are on the internet for the first time. Freewebs is just great! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-09-15   -   (IP: 86.154.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Freewebs is an average free host. They are more for beginners who have no idea how to code webpages. More experienced webmasters will not find freewebs any use. On my past experience with them I would have given them a 3 rating but since visiting again I found that the banners and popups had been replaced by a text link. For beginners there is a very clean looking and easy to use site builder with plenty of free website templates. Their servers are ok but not brilliant. They offer around 40MB of file space, which compared with many other freehosts is puny, and 500mb of monthly bandwidth allowed. Overall, if you are looking for a beginners free host then freewebs hosting will do for you, but if you are more serious about hosting then freewebs would not be suitable.

Reviewed on: 2007-09-08   -   (IP: 86.29.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I used the "upload your own site" option on freewebs because I did not like the page limit and the templates available for the other option and wanted to write my own page in HTML. Later I found out that none of my friends could see my site. I uploaded my site on another host and ran it on my computer with different browsers to make sure that there was nothing wrong with the code, and it worked fine. My conclusion is that the freewebs service provided for people who upload their own sites is terrible compared to the template option. I will not go back to that website until I get an explanation as to why nobody can see my website.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-26   -   (IP: 71.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Freewebs is average. They have text links, and the url of your free home page contains their name unless you use the pay service. They actually have nice templates, which surprised me. They are good if you are a beginner or if you do not plan on keeping your website forever. I have made multiple websites but never kept them. They are good for beginners but not for businesses or serious, professional websites.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-09   -   (IP: 208.180.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I think it is an average site, though not the best if you are looking for a place to start a big website, but if you are like me, who has a forum of 400 members and is just looking for a small place to start a website free, it is great, although the lack of MySQL and PHP5 kind of bothers me, and it makes me want to not go there. Also the lack of service makes me mad. But on the flip side, they do offer good webmaster tools to use and free web site templates (although they are slow) and pre-made codes sometimes. If you know how to use it, it is great, but if you do not, it is bad - simple as that.

Reviewed on: 2007-07-01   -   (IP: 99.245.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Freewebs has nifty, easy-to-use widgets such as blogs, guestbooks, shout boxes, and more. It is easy to use, but has some bad points. For example, Free Webs does not support PHP and mySQL databases. It has pretty bad support, and there are a number of complaints to them. I would not recommend this to experienced webmasters, but instead to beginners who want personal, easy-to-build websites. The templates are slow-loading and annoying. Most freewebs users put plenty of images, thus making the templates/site load even slower. I am not sure about the downtime.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-28   -   (IP: 80.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This is, in my opinion, below average web host. Freewebs is slow and encourages users to use their free web site templates which do not produce nice sites. Although very recommendable for beginners who are learning about building web sites, it limits scripting and other advanced features. It is popular, yes, because there are many beginning website makers who find this host handy. There is however much more better and more professional free web hosts. If I did not make myself clear: it is worth giving a try, at least if you are a newbie.



357 Customer Comments/Reviews of FreeWebs

Page:  2 of 36

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 21, 2017 -