free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  FreeWebs

( "Free Webs Hosting" )


Visit: FreeWebs
http://www.webs.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 40 MB.
Forced Ads: Banners Top+Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic, WYSIWYG.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Chat, Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum.
Your URL: /you.
Other Features:
  • Note: Limit of 100 files.
  • Bandwidth limit 500+ MB/month.
  • Password-protected files.
  • File size limit 1 MB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • FreeWebs.com is the same free webshosting company as Webs.com.
Date Added: November 10, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 28   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 50 15 9 8 21 15 23 22 34 161
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.23 / 10

Total Votes: 358

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  FreeWebs



357 User Testimonials/Reviews of FreeWebs

Reviewed on: 2004-08-19   -   (IP: 68.4.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I was touring europe for a month and it turned out to be three. There was nothing better than calling home and hearing them rave about the pictures I was able to post on my site. It took me about 30 minutes while having coffee every few days, and I was able to share my experience with everyone...for free...and they say I don't know how to use a computer:-)

Reviewed on: 2004-08-18   -   (IP: 208.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It took me about five minutes to make a site, but the site builder they offer and the templates probably saved me weeks. I had another site with another hosting company. They gave me a site, but I thought I needed a users manual to figure out how to do it.

I am making a professional site, so I hope to be making money on my site soon. They don't charge me to do this. I can have it for free for as long as I want, or until I have enough traffic to pay for it. Even then, it costs like a buck a month. I lose that much change a month. This site is really great.


Reviewed on: 2004-08-18   -   (IP: 68.228.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
At first I was annoyed by some of the limits like the amount of pages I could have. So I went looking for other hosts. WOW! The others hosts stink compared to freewebs.

Freewebs offer templates that most think they do, but probably don't know much about making a site look good. The file size limits of other hosts really stink, while freewebs allowed me at least 1Mb (I wouldn't mind more, but hey, its free).

I also noticed that many hosts have the worst, most confusing site builders. I don't think I have come across an easier site builder than freewebs.

And I also wasn't sure if I would get good support from freewebs since they don't have phone service, but they actually helped add things on my site I didn't understand at first.

GO FREEWEBS!


Reviewed on: 2004-08-16   -   (IP: 24.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Despite some limitations, I really like freewebs.  Before I created a site I had absolutely no knowledge of web design.  The limits are irksome, but the premium services are really cheap!  I'm planning on getting the Webs Unlimited thing.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-14   -   (IP: 203.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I like this site, it's really easy to edit pages and stuff.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-13   -   (IP: 219.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-08-10   -   (IP: 12.151.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-08-03   -   (IP: 68.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-07-29   -   (IP: 203.134.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Ok, i started using freewebs in about august of '03 for a community project, not for profit etc etc.

Positives: free, advanced web available (i can upload what i want and how i want not WYSIWYG premade template junk) and it has a short member subdomain url (www.freewebs.com/username).

Negatives: yeah the 50 file limit was a bit annoying, as its a tad difficult to appeciate just how many files go into making a nice looking site. In the end i did what another reviewer did, signed up for two accounts and crosslinked them, (its not mentioned as a no-no in their fair use agreement, not that i exploit things like this ;oP)

Up until about 5 minutes ago i "believed" it to have been running fairly well, last time i looked at the site was back in May as i no longer make updates. But for no reason my index.htm on my second site no longer "works" all the code is there but it displays it as a blank...not good seeing as its a main page. it also contains all the frame information for the entire site! grrr.
I then tried to upload another version of the index.htm file it just bugged out and did nothing...zippo...i tried a few other links on their main site and member area and nothing works...including the help area. So now i don't want to delete the files because i can't upload a new version.
I haven't had any need to contact support before now, and now the links aren't working on their site.
I have given it a rating of 4/10 as it was ok, and i put up with the single file upload (it took me nearly three hours to upload 100 files over two sites), but this latest debarkle is very frustrating and thus its lost about 3 points. Also i have found that google won't accept freewebs sites into their database which is a pain for community information sites like the one i created.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-27   -   (IP: 68.127.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
i have been on this hosting for a little while now (6+ months) and it is REALLY bad in my opinion.

good: they have a WYSIWYG mode for people without prior knowledge. *tires to think of anything more*

bad: lets start with the BIGGEST PROBLEM: a 7-page limit. all free hosters i've been to NEVER have this, and it is ANNOYING! also, they have a file limit and a size limit. and costimer service? lemme give you some perspective: i sent in a question when i first started, and i NEVER got a reply. i've sent in questions many times before and have never gotten replies.

overall: i would NEVER suggest this site to ANYONE, and if you are thinking of it, RECONSIDER.




357 Customer Comments/Reviews of FreeWebs

Page:  26 of 36

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 21, 2017 -