free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  FreeWebs

( "Free Webs Hosting" )


Visit: FreeWebs
http://www.webs.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 40 MB.
Forced Ads: Banners Top+Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic, WYSIWYG.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Chat, Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum.
Your URL: /you.
Other Features:
  • Note: Limit of 100 files.
  • Bandwidth limit 500+ MB/month.
  • Password-protected files.
  • File size limit 1 MB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • FreeWebs.com is the same free webshosting company as Webs.com.
Date Added: November 10, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 28   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 50 15 9 8 21 15 23 22 34 161
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.23 / 10

Total Votes: 358

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  FreeWebs



357 User Testimonials/Reviews of FreeWebs

Reviewed on: 2003-08-24   -   (IP: 212.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-08-24   -   (IP: 213.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
hey, i know the host is bad and all but do u know any good ones? i've been searching 4 a long time now and still haven't found any good hosts, i really need 2 start my website. my aim is evanesc0pixie or email ivy_lux@yahoo.com.. plzplzplz

Reviewed on: 2003-08-22   -   (IP: 206.80.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I thought Freewebs was good when I signed up, it was the only semi-good one out there. Later I signed up for their premium services pack. $9 a month was ok until I tried to get the cgi/perl working like they promised, I even had my domain on their DNS. I emailed them 5 times asking for the perl path, which was never in their help files, and they ignored me. Thanks freeweb, now I'll check before I pay.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-22   -   (IP: 69.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Ok, this host seems all nice and all in the beginning but then you find out that it's awful. It got a really nice feature for beginner users to make your webpage look nice in like 20 mins. I was too lazy to write the code for a webpage that was of secondary importance to me, so I just used that.

But then I found out something very interesting. 7 page limit. What the hell is that??!! I mean, really, 7 pages? I needed 10 at least. If you are an advanced user, u got 50 files limit. The space limit is 100+ megs, yeah, but how r u gonna get such huge 50 files? I mean, you gotta have a page, too. And images for it. Bullshit.

Then another great thing is that their site is constantly down. Ur site is not, it shows up fine, but you can't go in and edit anything. So okay, whatever. Now I find out that their site doesn't even work half the time. I try to go edit my page, I click the "site manager" link and it says "error." Been doing that for 3 days straight now. No way to edit my site. When this is the only time I can do it.

I tried to get some support. What do you think I found out? THERE IS NONE. You click on the "tech support" link and you get this stupid FAQ saying what the hell the menubar does. Wow like I'm that stupid to figure that one out. No link to send comments/questions/anything to them.

Overall, if this worked it would've deserved 7 rating. But without any tech support and errors all over the place, this does not deserve anything higher than 1.

Thank you FreeWebs for your GREAT service. I will be moving to another host as soon as possible.


Reviewed on: 2003-08-10   -   (IP: 66.81.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Its Easy
Nice Templates
Great for a small website, but I want a great one, I want to upload my game on to it, I want to hotlink, I WANT MORE THAN 7 PAGES!!! You notice my rating is 7, it will never go higher until they give us more pages.


Reviewed on: 2003-08-08   -   (IP: 68.84.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
At first, Freewebs looks very promising. What could be better? 50 megabytes of storage space, and, oh look! Some cool forms you can have people fill out. Then you find out that any add-ons you put on don't work for a week after you sign up. Then afterwards, you are hit with the 25 form submission limit. Not per month, period. Also, no hotlinking. If for some strange reasoning (sarcasm) you would want to hotlink to a file on a different server to avoid the super-slow downloads they force for files over 1 megabyte, you can't becuase hotlinking to and from freewebs is forbidden. And then you come to their support section to try and report some awful bug you found in their site, and there is NO EMAIL SUPPORT WHATSOEVER. I am very disappointed with this site, and had I not created my site on this server, I definately would not be using it.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-06   -   (IP: 68.49.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It has everything a first time webmaster needs- but it isn't great for downloads! It takes close to 10 minites to download a file off my website- using a cable modem! What's with the 50 files limit and the 7 page and paragraph limit!?! It has great templates for beginners and they have an easy to understand page editor. For what I use my webpage for, it works great.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-30   -   (IP: 217.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-07-29   -   (IP: 69.22.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They are a really bad service. I recently went from their beginner mode to the advanced mode and I was unable to save changes to my website because I am a Mac user and it doesn't work with Mac. I can't switch back to the beginner mode either. So what am I supposed to do? I am waiting for  an email back from them about this but they aren't that good about emails either. They don't even answer you if you don't pay and I think they have raised their prices. The only email that I got from them after asking for help was the one that said that I couldn't save changes because it doesn't work with internet explorer on mac . I got one other email but it didn't help me at all. If you are thinking about getting your website hosted by freewebs just know that their service isn't that great and if you are a mac user forget it. I might change my opinion a little if their next email actually helps me but I am not counting on it.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-23   -   (IP: 213.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host is very bad...You have 50 files limit and 7 pages limit! I never saw so bad free web host.



357 Customer Comments/Reviews of FreeWebs

Page:  33 of 36

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 24, 2017 -