free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  FreeWebs

( "Free Webs Hosting" )


Visit: FreeWebs
http://www.webs.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 40 MB.
Forced Ads: Banners Top+Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic, WYSIWYG.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Chat, Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum.
Your URL: /you.
Other Features:
  • Note: Limit of 100 files.
  • Bandwidth limit 500+ MB/month.
  • Password-protected files.
  • File size limit 1 MB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • FreeWebs.com is the same free webshosting company as Webs.com.
Date Added: November 10, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 28   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 50 15 9 8 21 15 23 22 34 161
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.23 / 10

Total Votes: 358

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  FreeWebs



357 User Testimonials/Reviews of FreeWebs

Reviewed on: 2006-12-04   -   (IP: 196.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
For a web hosting service that is totally free, I think FreeWebs is an excellent option. If one wants a more multi-leveled or fancy website, one should be prepared to pay more. I have not had a reply from questions I e-mailed to their support team, but found that changes and updates I made were reflected soon enough, and that the web site is searchable via search engines, so the questions were answered in an indirect way. Millions of customers would not be wrong. It serves my needs with regards to flexibility, self-done updates, and having a free website that is not used for full-time professional purposes or something that would generate interest within a very small market.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-08   -   (IP: 208.40.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I have tried several other free web hosting sites to get a free (or even cheap) site, and this does not even compare. I have used googlepages, geocities, and some others, and I love the ease of this site. It was easy to put things together for a beginner webmaster like me. I love the options that you have: counter, shoutbox, forms, and they are all EASY as pie to install. I found out about this on Yahoo Answers, and I would recommend this to anyone who wants a fun website but does not want to spend a lot of time and money! THANK YOU!

Reviewed on: 2006-10-30   -   (IP: 66.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-10-22   -   (IP: 201.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It is true, Freewebs do have a limitation of 100 files. However the filesize limit is NOT 1 MB now. How could this be true if I had uploaded music file MUCH larger than this? Therefore that fact is untrue. Freewebs now does support hosting top level domains after a vote a few months ago, but it does not work for all. For those who know HTML coding, it is best for them to use Freewebs, as the only necessary thing that shows it is part of Freewebs hosting is your URL and/or the bottom banner saying "This site is hosted for free at Freewebs.com". This host has a customizable shoutbox, chat room, blogs, counters, guestbooks and ways to become friends or message other freeweb users. Easy Builder users can add some html as well. This is a very good host, and you only need to log in after an upload if it is more than 40 Kb. But if you are going to use many files as your own and, say, not linking them from Photobucket, you may wish to go Premium for unlimited web space.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-12   -   (IP: 80.119.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
There are no ads, really. do not trust the liars. Once they wanted to add a banner, but after a while (and users' complaints) they removed it, and you are free to add it or not. You can even customize the bar. You do not need to log in after every upload. Seriously, do you think they will be so many freewebs users if it was the case? People can "access" your file (.jpg); they are not redirected like with multimania.com. The Free Webs staff really cares about what the users want. The only bad point is the file limitation to 100. And they warn you when you reach about 50 uploaded files. In my case, I upload my numerous images in another account which is like a store file account. Oh and I find the bandwith slower than other free web sites hosts. And if you do not believe, try. Make up your own mind.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-30   -   (IP: 24.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is probably the worst free web host out there. Not only are they loaded with ads, but if someone reports you, they ban you without even checking. You have to contact them and have them check through your web site (which takes about a week), and then they will unban you. They limit you with a lousy 512MB of monthly bandwidth and 40MB free web space, and do not even let you have a yourdomain.freewebs.com subdomain. Instead they make you use freewebs.com/your-folder, and have this bar right above the ads which says "Freewebs" (another one, as there is another bar underneath your free web pages). They also put ads in-between text. They are so bad they do not even let you use FTP uploading files. instead you must use their website builder to make your web site or the browser to upload your web page files.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-27   -   (IP: 72.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
It has great formatting, is easy to use, and has GREAT free website templates, but not good for much more than a personal webpage. It does not support many pre-scripts, and there are severe limits on what you can do with just HTML and such :-(

Reviewed on: 2006-08-31   -   (IP: 71.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I tried to get a clarification in their Free Webs forum about what level of service I needed to do certain things. Their response was to delete the post AND my forum account. If this is how they do business, I do not want to have anything to do with them, free or not.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-22   -   (IP: 68.60.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I am not a computer "guru", but can work my way around things. I was so lost on how to get a website up and running without having to spend hundreds of dollars to do so. I used Freewebs free hosting service, and it was so easy. If I can do it, anyone can! My free web site became "live" the beginning of August, and I have had so many hits already (almost 200!). I am very excited and would recommend Freewebs to everyone! If you are looking to have a website, check out Freewebs or check out any of the websites hosted by Freewebs! You cannot go wrong!

Reviewed on: 2006-08-14   -   (IP: 71.52.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]



357 Customer Comments/Reviews of FreeWebs

Page:  4 of 36

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 25, 2017 -