free webspace  






Free fr

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 4 2 2 1 1 1 1 6 1 5
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  5.96 / 10

Total Votes: 24




24 User Testimonials/Reviews of Free fr

Reviewed on: 2007-01-05   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
The freewebhosting signup page of free.fr redirects to:
http://promotion.magix.net/free.fr/wss
which seems to be another freehost, offering only 25 MB free web space hosting.


Reviewed on: 2006-10-04   -   (IP: 62.45.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Very bad because you need to live in France to use its free web site hosting service (and I don't)!

Reviewed on: 2006-08-18   -   (IP: 82.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been using Free.fr for 7 years now, and I can say they are the best free home page hosting service I have ever tried.

Pros.
:-) Webspace is now 10GB.
:-) Unlimited number of 10GB secondary accounts.
:-) No significant downtime.
:-) Never had data loss/corruption - backups not needed!
:-) Good online documentation (French).
:-) They have been online for a long time, which means:
-> you can trust they are not going to start forcing ads, and
-> they will not suddenly disappear and cease free hosting services.
:-) You can run almost any PHP/MYSQL scripts with no problems.

Cons.
:-( THIS IS THE ONE BIG DRAWBACK: FTP connections are only allowed from France; this means they check your IP and it must be geographically located in France. If your free website hosting account was created before year 2005, when they implemented this rule, then your FTP connection remains unlimited.
:-( PHP is run in safe mode.
:-( You cannot host domain names free here.
:-( The free web server is slow sometimes, but still fully enjoyable :-)
:-( You are not allowed to use the free web space as file storage.
:-( FTP server is sometimes (very rarely) too busy - retry later.

Altogether, I repeat that this is the best FREE webhosting service I have ever used. I have tried freehosts that only run the freehosting offer for a limited time and then they put advertisement on your web pages, or close business because they don't get enough paying customers. I have used free.fr reliably in conjunction with MyDomain free web redirection for years. Now I found another hoster that gives me domain registration + 200MB webspace + PHP, Perl, MySql, etc... which is everything I need, for 10 Euros a year. It is faster than free.fr but it also gives me some problems that I never had before: occasional server downs and database corruptions. I had forgotten how to backup a database!


Reviewed on: 2006-07-13   -   (IP: 64.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Can anyone tell me a France phone number that works to signup with free.fr?

Reviewed on: 2006-06-19   -   (IP: 60.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
The free hosting service is great - 99.9% uptime - but it doesn't allow basic funtions such as CHMOD (changing file permissions), which makes the PHP/Mysql functionality almost useless. Nothing more than a free image storage space. Ridiculous.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-20   -   (IP: 82.232.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-02-11   -   (IP: 83.237.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I live in Russia, so I must lie that I am a french user. for me, it is not a good choice to select this host, because it is not very good at all things: connection speed, quality, help, etc. I rate it 4.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-06   -   (IP: 81.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-12-06   -   (IP: 212.174.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-07-10   -   (IP: 82.67.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Quite slow if you access their subdomains outside of there ip range. But if you access them from there 5.5mb/s offer they are real fast (like a big lan).

Reviewed on: 2003-09-17   -   (IP: 62.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-09-03   -   (IP: 81.249.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
To register you have to go to acc?šs gratuit (free access).
once registered, you will get the letter with account coordinates. this access is for e-mail at first.
you will have to activate your web hosting (wait for a few hours), then activate Mysql and Php. (takes 1 night).

Slow but reliable.  I got several accounts.

you sometimes have to read french because of some technical peculiarities.


Reviewed on: 2003-09-01   -   (IP: 212.27.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Pros : no ads, high size limit
Cons  : victim of its success, can be slow at times, php mail() unavailable.


Reviewed on: 2003-08-19   -   (IP: 203.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-07-30   -   (IP: 61.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
These are the pros.....
French. 100 MB. No Forced Ads. Your Ads Allowed. FTP.
PHP. FormMail. Subdomain. MySQL database. POP3 and Web-based Email.

The cons......
ARE ENDLESS
First you don't understand their language in spite of the fact that I learnt french....
And I don't know how people signup to this host.
DON'T RECOMMEND


Reviewed on: 2003-06-19   -   (IP: 129.44.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
no problem with getting an account from Holland!!! sometimes slow though but no real problems.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-26   -   (IP: 218.102.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-04-03   -   (IP: 80.81.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I live in germany and got an account, but host is too slow.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-07   -   (IP: 211.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
You DO need to live in France.

Reviewed on: 2003-02-04   -   (IP: 212.198.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
It's wrong that only French people can use free.fr.
I am in Spain and I have only to write my spanish adress to receive the registration card.


Reviewed on: 2003-01-31   -   (IP: 200.52.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This hosting is a little slow sometimes but there is not need for being in France. I live in Mexico Canallotas.

Reviewed on: 2003-01-27   -   (IP: 62.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-01-19   -   (IP: 61.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2002-12-07   -   (IP: 61.11.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 19, 2017 -