free webspace  






Gig4Free

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
     
# Votes: 4 0 2 2 3 1 4 1 0 7
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.04 / 10

Total Votes: 24




24 User Testimonials/Reviews of Gig4Free

Reviewed on: 2007-06-27   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It is only a blog now -- no more free hosting offers.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-31   -   (IP: 86.213.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
The offer seemed great, however it seems whoever was in charge went missing. It has been more than a month since any new account was validated. I know mine has been "waiting for imminent processing" for a good ten days now. The support forums are half-filled with unmoderated spam, with "account pending" complaints making up the remainder.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-26   -   (IP: 68.148.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The free home page service has been very useful, and the limits are hardly noticeable, but the stability is not that great. The domain seems to be down very often.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-17   -   (IP: 203.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-10-08   -   (IP: 82.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It has frequent downtime, and I am very disapointed.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-27   -   (IP: 68.250.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I was excited when I first saw this gig4free, but I hated the webhosting downtime. The control panel was a bit confusing and the server lagged a lot. I gave it a well deserved 3 out of 10 rating.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-18   -   (IP: 80.33.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Beautiful at the beginning, but lately I started to receive email about my deleted account without specifying a clear reason. I replied asking about the problem and how to fix it, but I did not receive any answer. It continued for less than a month and sometimes it was not possible to see my free web page due to unknown reasons. The bitter end is that they accused me of not respecting the terms of service and even put me in ISP black list threatening to terminate permanently my internet connection! I just put my picture on it, and I still do not why!

Reviewed on: 2006-09-14   -   (IP: 202.83.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-08-23   -   (IP: 85.100.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-08-22   -   (IP: 222.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-08-11   -   (IP: 222.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I just joined gig4free free hosting service 2 days ago, and I admit this free webhosting dissapoints me because of:

Negative Points:
- Lots of server downtime, including today just before I wrote this review (but now it is back to normal).
- My free web hosting account suspended within just 1 days after registration because of daily bandwidth limit (their daily bandwidth limit is just 13MB). I thought at first they aren't using a daily bandwidth limit, which is unacceptable!

Positive Point:
- You can do anything you want just like on pay webhosting services, including playing around with the .htacess file.


Reviewed on: 2006-07-29   -   (IP: 66.57.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
great free webpage hosting offers, but slow help, and 20% of time the webserver is down.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-14   -   (IP: 210.192.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-07-12   -   (IP: 71.96.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been with them since a week after their grand opening, and I got to admit they struggled for a couple of weeks after the opening, but they were in BETA stage, and this is the only reason I can come up with that they rated poorly here then. Because this is by far one of the best free hosts ever. now that they have got it together, the site is great, ads are small - only about 80 pixels of the web page from the top (I don't understand how some people are complaining about this), and features and webservers are running great. I also looked into upgrading to paid web hosting service, and it seems to be easy as cake, and affordable as they let you pay per MB. I beleive it is $0.01/MB. I highly recommend them, and they seem to get it.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-01   -   (IP: 202.83.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Good free hosting site. The banner ad at the top of free web pages has changed again, and is now in a frame, so is always visible, even when you try to scroll down the webpage. PHP scripts work fine.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-30   -   (IP: 218.208.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
When I first saw this free web page hosting website, I thought this web site was great. However, although it said that the FP extensions were enabled, I couldn't get my web site on Microsoft FrontPage to work on it at all. The free web server was down for a week or so, until now. I have given up hope. I don't think anybody can be patient enough to wait for the webserver to be up again. The sign-up was fast, and it offered many features (I am not sure whether it works), but it does look very impressive. Unfortunately, I found it very disappointing.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-20   -   (IP: 80.191.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
it does not work with php files (proxy php). if this could work, I would use it forever. Besides the adverts, now there is also a couple invisible javascript statistical counters, one hosted on gig4free.com and a statcounter.com counter, which slows the free web pages from loading as fast.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-19   -   (IP: 64.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Very poor service. Free PHP did not support mail function... paid for upgrade. Downtown horiffic, >25% down. Slow reply to problems. Dispite paying for upgrade, after 3 weeks they closed my web hosting account stating:

"Sorry but your account upgrade application was rejected from the Gig4Free.com free hosting program. Reasons for rejections could be that you have not used up your current resources or your site being of low quality, but don't worry you can apply again when you feel an upgrade is necessary."

My web site never got launched because I spent so much time waiting for the website to come back up to test the PHP code. Low cost yes, but better pay more for a web hosting company that delivers.

BTW, at the top of free homepages now is a white background div block with 728x15 Google-adlinks and 728x90 google text-ad, the latter of which can be closed via JavaScript by clicking the X (clicking it a second time brings it back).


Reviewed on: 2006-06-12   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
There is a frame on the right side of hosted webpages filled with large Google tower ads. I just uploaded my website about a month ago, but was just notified by email that my free web site will be deleted for inactivity.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-05   -   (IP: 24.45.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It even comes with a shopping cart, but the bad side is you cannot use yahoo email to signup.
[I signed up 3 days ago with Yahoo email; did you check your email bulk folder?]


Reviewed on: 2006-06-04   -   (IP: 24.253.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Easy and fast signup. I liked the cron jobs feature that I will be using to schedule some daily tasks for my other web sites.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-29   -   (IP: 69.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This free host looks great, but has a LOT of server downtime. I have been unable to get to my web site to work on it at all.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-29   -   (IP: 69.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This free host looks great, but has a LOT of server downtime. I have been unable to get to my web site to work on it at all.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-04   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Account activation is really instant; you do not even have to check your email. This free hosting service is sure to be abused though. There is a frame on the right side with their logo, a Google search box, and tower. SSI and PHP Version 4.4.1 tested okay, and the server is really fast so far. POP3 email seems to be by request only (also more free web space and bandwidth). Note if your account is based on a domain name (not a subdomain) then you will need to go to your domain registrar account and change the name servers to the following:
Name Server 1: ns1.gig4free.com
Name Server 2: ns2.gig4free.com

You are allowed to put your own advetisements as long as they are not pop-ups or contextual (such as Google AdSense and Yahoo Publishers Network). Your free web site can only be in the following languages: English, Chinese (simplified), Japanese, Danish, Korean, Dutch, Norwegian, Polish, Finnish, Portuguese, French, Russian, German, Spanish, Hungarian, Swedish, Italian, Turkish.
Allowed file extensions: JS, CGI, PL, HTML, HTM, JPG, PHP, PNG, HTACCESS, ROLES, CNF, BTR, GRP, LCK, PWD, TXT, TPL, CFG, INC, SWF, FLA, SHTML, PHP3, XD, XML, LOG, GIF, BMP, CSS.
The Cpanel control panel has Fantastico DeLuxe which installs numerous ready-to-run scripts at a click

Features:
Security: VeriSign, CyberCash support.
Certificate Signing Requests.
Free shared SSL secure server.
Free installation of certificates.
SSH2 (Secure Shell Access).
Password protected directories.
Secure APOP e-mail on demand.
Manage GPG Keys  File Transfer Protocol.
Create unique FTP accounts.
Anonymous FTP Controls.
FTP login message editing.
Ability to kill FTP sessions.
Web-based FTP file manager
Streaming Media, Macromedia Flash support.

Scripting supported:
Front Page 98/2000/2002 Server Extensions.
Perl5 + PHP4 with Zend Optimizer.
Server Side Includes (SSI).
CronTab Support.
C++, Python, TCL.
htaccess.
MySQL + phpMyAdmin.
Sendmail.
ODBC Connections.
JDBC Connections.
PERL DBI support

Website Utilities:
Web Protect (htaccess editor).
Custom ErrorPages.
Website forwarding/redirects.
Ability to Edit Mime Types.
Ability to Edit Apache Handlers.
Install FrontPage Server Extensions.
Uninstall FrontPage Server Extensions

Graphical Website Statistics:.
AWStats.
Latest Visitors Stats.
Bandwidth Statistics.
Error Logs.
Raw log file.


 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 23, 2017 -