free webspace  






Gigacities

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
         
# Votes: 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 4 8 19
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  8.97 / 10

Total Votes: 35




35 User Testimonials/Reviews of Gigacities

Reviewed on: 2008-05-04   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It seems that the gigacities.net domain name was sold, and now the freewebhosting offer is gone, and the web site is only a collection of affiliate links to other paid hosting websites - sad.

Reviewed on: 2007-11-25   -   (IP: 82.16.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
THIS IS UTTERLY THE BEST HOSTING SERVER EVER. I have used many free hosts before but this one is simply the best. They offer an amazingly 20GB of free web space and an superb 300GB of bandwidth, and best of all, your hosted web pages have no ads forced on them whatsoever. The support staff are fast and friendly too. If you are looking for a free host, why not try Gigacities?

Reviewed on: 2007-11-21   -   (IP: 74.232.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I signed up, and three minutes later I was uploading files into my website. Gigacities gets straight to the point - free web hosting. No ads are required. FTP is very easy to use. Now the good part is that you get almost 20 GB of storage and 30 GB of traffic. Some hosts give far less. The site is simple and easy to move with. I simply recommend all to switch to Gigacities.

Reviewed on: 2007-11-07   -   (IP: 201.212.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Really great hosting....up to 300GB monthly bandwidth, just awesome!

Reviewed on: 2007-11-06   -   (IP: 125.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-11-06   -   (IP: 24.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This site is the best. With a whopping 20 gigs of space and 300 gigs of bandwidth, there is just nothing else to say about this webhost. Compared to freeweb7, which uses the same layered panel to give its users a user-friendly environment, gigacities does the same but its domain transferring actually works. I was struggling with multiple hosts, whether it was for file space, bandwith, or domains, and this is by far the best yet. I even love their clean and sleek web site, not to mention their helpful support. They even have webmaster guides on their website and live support. who can beat that? I've had this webhost for a week, and had no problems. I am really satisfied considering that the hosting is even free. My site loads within milliseconds. Plus just for 6 dollars a month, they give you unbelievable more space and speed plus cpanel, of which I was considering actually signing up under, depending on the popularity of my site (which is still under construction and being experimented on constantly). The only thing I must say is that sometimes phpmyadmin gives me some trouble of where it does not load, but I must say that is not a big problem, and I believe I have only encountered it twice, probably because of their server's uber traffic.

Reviewed on: 2007-11-02   -   (IP: 67.183.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
A bit of a retraction on my previous high score rating/review. Since then they have imposed a limit that only 50 people can be logged on to ftp at a time rule, and their "help" forum is not very helpful. Issues are resolved by a mod saying "you can not do that" and locking the thread. Lag has been awful all of today, and there is no posted reason for this that I was able to find. If you have an ftp client that you can set to retry infinitely, you can get a spot in the 50 allowed to connect, but that may take some time. Also their SQL editing is slow and sometimes does not load (which they blame on the user's browser or ISP connection), and at times your website will not load at all due to so much activity on the site. They could improve greatly by getting more servers, and maybe hiring on some tech support folks who try to help instead of saying "no" all the time (and also maybe some who speak better English; they never really answer my questions - it is more like a canned response that addresses a similar but different issue).

Reviewed on: 2007-11-02   -   (IP: 68.209.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Awesome host with good forum support. I am hosting 2 domains there, and they are better than the web hostings I have paid for in the past.

Reviewed on: 2007-11-02   -   (IP: 202.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Review for free web hosting users - in short:

Gigacities offers the most bandwidth and webspace without a single ads on your web site. It is very reliable server. The uptime is as stated, 99.9%. Most of the time, I never had any problems accessing my sites, nor do I have any problem accessing the FTP server, even though the limit is actually 50 FTP users max.

Bandwidth:
I hardly ever use a lot of bandwidth, but still it really would take me ages to use up that much bandwidth provided, with 300 GB per month limitation, and seriously, the most file extensions ever available. 300 GB is definitely enough.

WebSpace:
Reasonable for a free web host, especially when you have 20 GBs! It is unbelievable! The maximum filesize limit is 10 mb, but 10mb is good enough for most of the files.

Server speed:
The speed of this server is amazing! It is far better than most of the hosts that I had ever been on. However sometimes it does go slow, but I think that is because of my internet ISP maybe.

9/10 rating... Reason:
I rate this a 9 because I still do not find this host giving something really perfect, which I believe no free hosts could obtain 10/10 rating. The most they can get is 9. I think that is really what all freehosts deserve. Hopefully this host is everlasting. Good luck, gigacities!


Reviewed on: 2007-11-02   -   (IP: 87.5.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Despite being free hosting, it offers a lot of webspace and traffic. The webhosting server is not fast, but acceptable.

Reviewed on: 2007-11-02   -   (IP: 67.183.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Gigacities is one of the best web hosts I have had so far. FTP is lightning fast, and I have yet to have downtime on my homepage. They allow for all sorts of forum types, and some photo-album stuff too that I have not looked at yet. It gives plenty of web space and data transfer limit!

Reviewed on: 2007-11-02   -   (IP: 202.125.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is probably one of the best free hosts I have ever used. Registration was quick and fast, with no trouble at all. It gives 20 gigabytes of space, 300 gigs of monthly bandwidth quota, and 5 sql databases - all at absolutely no cost! I surely recommend it to everyone. Try it and you will never leave it. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-11-01   -   (IP: 87.17.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best free web hosting hoster. You can have five mysql databases, and a lot of applications like wordpress or gallery2 are easy to install (just preinstalled) --  very good!

Reviewed on: 2007-10-30   -   (IP: 202.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-10-30   -   (IP: 218.172.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This webserver is really fast.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-29   -   (IP: 82.16.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
THIS IS UTTERLY THE BEST HOSTING SERVER EVER. I have used many free hosts before, but this one is simply the best. They offer an amazing 20GB of files space and an superb 300GB of bandwidth, and best of all is it forces no ads whatsoever. The support staff are fast and friendly too. If you are looking for a freehosting site, why not try Gigacities.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-29   -   (IP: 203.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very fast server. :-) The freehost allows ftp uploads, and gives members a short URL :-) It allows you 1000 times more web space than Netscape's "mywebpage". :-) The file-manager is rudimentary, comparable to the one that Netscape uses (uploaded files are not automatically replaced; one must first delete a file before it can be uploaded; also the file listing is not sorted).

Reviewed on: 2007-10-29   -   (IP: 4.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Gigacities has a large amount of disk space/bandwidth available to you, and they do not force ads on user webpages. I have had a pretty good experience. The main problem is how slow the host is. Sometimes my browser will timeout. When I try to ftp, I often have to click log in multiple times. Also I was only able to register with a gmail account.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-29   -   (IP: 211.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It is a good webhosting, and the allowed disk space on-line is very large, but Chinese can not visit the websites in gigacities.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-28   -   (IP: 74.195.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
At first I thought this webhost would be perfect, with loads of bandwidth and space offered, but after finally getting a confirmation email after several tries, and the admin panel logging out whenever you try to do anything, and support forums that do the same, I became very frustrated at it.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-28   -   (IP: 219.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Except for that PHP safemode is on, everything is very good for me here.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-28   -   (IP: 67.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I was having a hard time finding a free hosting service that offered what I was looking for. I found it in gigacities. At 200 GB of space, and 300 GB of data transfer, this not only met my needs, but gave me room to grow. I had some questions that I posted to the forum, and much to my surprise, the Super Moderator answered it in about 3 or 4 minutes. I have not gotten service like that from web hosting providers that I was paying for! This is well worth it so far. I completely recommend them.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-27   -   (IP: 81.111.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This is a quickly improving free hosting server. It is efficient, and the support is pretty good service as well. You will not find a better freehost that offers as much as Gigacities do. The freehosting is so good, I do wonder if premium can get much better!

Reviewed on: 2007-10-27   -   (IP: 66.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This site is the best webhost I have come across so far. They offer the most webspace and bandwidth I have ever seen on ANY free host. The free hosting is great and gives you everything you need to run a professional website free. The free webhosting also gives you FTP access, 5 mySQL databases, and absolutely no ads forced on hosted webpages. They do allow you to put your own ads on your site if you want to. If you have a really popular website and require more that 20 GB space and 300 GB bandwidth a month, then their premium hosting is what you need. It also comes with more features like PHP safe mode off, webmail, Cpanel 11 webhosting control panel, online and phone support, and much more. The premium hosting also comes at a really good price, only $6.95 a month. Another great thing about the premium hosting is that there is ZERO downtime, which is really great for popular websites. You can view all the features of their premium hosting plans on their website. Enjoy this webhost because it is the best free hosting and the best paid hosting company out there.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-27   -   (IP: 72.81.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This webhost is by far the best I have used. 20 gigabytes of free space is more than enough to get anyone started. There are plenty of PHP applications available for you to use, such as phpbb2 forum and osCommerce shopping cart system, in addition to many others. The support forum is easy to use, and you receive responses quickly. Plus you get FTP access to your free website as well, which is a plus when you want to upload all of your website at once or back up everything. Making and deleting MySQL databases are a snap too since the editor is built right in the control panel. This is a great site, so sign up for it and you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-26   -   (IP: 60.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Nice! The site loads so fast, and the website layout looks so smooth too. I like it. They even have the option to upgrade your web hosting. They are just like newsit.es, but just better!

Reviewed on: 2007-10-26   -   (IP: 80.229.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a great host, with speedy load and upload times. I have seen no problems with it yet, and hope to have none in the future. If you are looking for a good free host, then this is the best to go for. Having FTP is excellent for quick uploads, especially when you need constant updates to test new things. The bandwidth and disk space is more than enough for most people. For those who need PHP and MySQL databases, look no further. Finally, and almost most importantly for those who like a professional and imposing website, gigacities.net has absolutely NO ADs put on your free web pages.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-26   -   (IP: 72.73.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Let me just say what a great host this is. Their service is 100% reliable, almost never down, very fast and very secure. A grade "A" support forum is available. The people are friendly and willing to help at any time. The bandwidth allowed is a ton, even with just the free webhosting service. The maximum file size is more than enough. It is easy to navigate, and the free service features 5 MySQL databases with a total of 5 users. PHP is, of course, supported. The free service never runs out (not a "trial", so you can keep it as long as you want. There is also a low cost pay service which allows for even MORE web space and bandwidth. Gigacities is the best host I have come across so far, and I have been at it for awhile.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-22   -   (IP: 76.22.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
It took me several tries to even set up an account. It seems their confirmation email system has trouble with some normal email accounts, forcing you to use one they choose. Ok, so I get the account and set up my site. Granted, the ease of use for doing that was good. However, today (after I had published my site and it was available) the website is not available. When I try to reach the website, I am redirected to the login page for setting up an account. When I try to login, gigacities reports that it is an invalid account. I can only assume that they have deleted the account, or for whatever reason, have denied access to their server, or maybe they had a server crash and lost websites that were not backed up. BTW, my website contained photos of a vacation that I was trying to share with my family. There was nothing illegal or immoral posted. I did not find any contact or help information on their website. Not very business-like, if you ask me.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-16   -   (IP: 74.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Great host. Just be aware that you will not get an activation email with a Hotmail e-mail address.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-12   -   (IP: 203.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Gigacities is a very straightforward site, with good support for My SQL. I have installed a CMS, which is working beautifully. It appears to have an issue with supporting open relay though, but otherwise, this is a great free webmaster hosting site.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-11   -   (IP: 194.24.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I only just signed up with them - the domain nameservers have not even switched yet, but it had a super quick sign up, and reliable and quick FTP. I was registered, and my websites were up and running within minutes.

I was with Newsites, but they are having real problems at the moment. I switched to these guys, as they had very similar specs and they are faster and more reliable than Newsit.es ever were!


Reviewed on: 2007-10-10   -   (IP: 116.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is really a great freehost. I found my free homepage loads faster than my previous host with lots of web space and high bandwidth. I am a satisfied user. Thanks a lot.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-08   -   (IP: 75.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This one works fine, but be forewarned that your "index" file (main home page) needs to be named "index.html" and not just "index.htm" for your visitors to access it by just typing "username.gigacities.net".

Reviewed on: 2007-10-05   -   (IP: 202.134.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It seems like they have good intentions so I am giving it a chance. It has fast speed and good features, and no ads so far on my free home pages. We will see how they cope with users and abusers as time goes on. I wish them luck, but they will have a hard time usurping 110mb in my opinion. They are offering free PHP5 MySQL hosting with 20 GB web space and 300 GB bandwidth per month. Their homepage mentions a premium hosting upgrade, but the links are Hostican affiliate links.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 21, 2017 -