free webspace  






MyJSpace

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 8 6 2 3 5 4 9 2 2 20
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.30 / 10

Total Votes: 61




61 User Testimonials/Reviews of MyJSpace

Reviewed on: 2003-08-27   -   (IP: 61.150.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-08-26   -   (IP: 216.207.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Great features, but reliability is shoddy. I have had my site here for 3 days, and it has averaged a site outtage every day, plus a MySQL Server crash every day. It seems like this site should be a little more robust by now. Plus, FTP speeds are usually pretty slow.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-25   -   (IP: 24.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-07-27   -   (IP: 172.136.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
They allow Perl, but SSI is disabled.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-24   -   (IP: 12.150.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-06-22   -   (IP: 172.164.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
sooooooooooo good.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-21   -   (IP: 216.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I have used dozens of web hosts, and this one ranks near the top. Everyone gets PHP, CGI, SSI and Perl. I have the Pro Free plan, which also provides FTP, MySQL and phpmyadmin. I have set up an installation of PHPBB with no problems, and have added the banner code to the top. PHP works fine, as long as you know how to work with register globals off. But as LiquidHands said, this is more secure. There has been some downtime, but that can be expected in a new host, and they fixed the problems ASAP. All things said, I hightly recommend this host.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-20   -   (IP: 62.32.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
The free plans has a big banner at top of the pages & a popup advertisment page but its ftp works properly.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-20   -   (IP: 80.134.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-06-10   -   (IP: 205.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
It's an okay host, but two pretty large problems.
1) It is a fairly slow site.
2) I can't seem to complete the sign up process! (Much like what some others said)!
- But good things: It appears to promise excellent features, hefty space and no ads. However, i never did get to make a website.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-10   -   (IP: 68.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This host temporarily shut down FTP access because of users abusing the system. They have had some down time recently, but it should all be cleared up soon. Great host.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-08   -   (IP: 208.40.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
The site doesn't even load to view the place. Now how can it be any good if it doesn't even load?

Reviewed on: 2003-06-06   -   (IP: 66.2.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-05-26   -   (IP: 219.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
very nice, very nice .... i like MyJSpace so much ...... really ....

Reviewed on: 2003-05-24   -   (IP: 202.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
hehe,it's good

Reviewed on: 2003-05-13   -   (IP: 65.24.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It only has ads when you signup for Pro Free or Domain Free. It is cool because you get to place the ad wherever you want. It isn't at the top like a lot of hosts do. It's great because it has SSI, PHP, CGI/Perl, and you get 1 free mysql database when you signup for pro free or domain free. With domain free you must already have a registered domain.

Reviewed on: 2003-05-13   -   (IP: 207.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This as i said before is the best web host that I hae ever used. Here there are so many people that can help you get your problems fixed. You can either post in the forums or send me or nemesis or hands an email and we are very fast about responding.

Reviewed on: 2003-05-11   -   (IP: 66.119.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-05-10   -   (IP: 144.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Has ads, banner and multi popups

Very user unfriendly uploading. If you can log on at all.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-09   -   (IP: 218.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-05-05   -   (IP: 203.195.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-05-04   -   (IP: 203.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This mob don't answer emails and if they do they're petulant answers.
Cannot upload anything and can't get an answer from them!


Reviewed on: 2003-04-25   -   (IP: 68.35.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Ummmm,
the whole main site is php driven it seems to work just fine
and im pretty sure inculde works on every php enabled server
Byw My J Space is safe and secure
certain scripts cannot be instaled because they purpose security risks, if you can find a permanent host that provides instant access to ftp mysql and all the other stuff, that happends to be in 6 different languages so users all over the world can use it. Please let me know

but what sets My J Space apart is
>Instant access
>ftp and mysql
>all payments excepted through the mail
>users love my j space
>the only bad reviews seem to come from people who cant get there free scipts to work right
I say take your free scripts else were
My J Spaces purpose is for the learning and developing
We encourage a community atmospher
I have thousands of users that seem to be quite happy
FREE SERVICE
why complain
tell that to the 300 new users i get every day

good luck trying to get them working some place else lolz

====================
added 2003-05-12:
====================

phpsupport is secured not horrific.

your scripts must work with register globals off.
sorry its just a security measure
and multiple popups should be reported to us so we can report that back to the ad company.

we have adjusted our ad standards but......
multiple popups violates the ad company own terms of use.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-24   -   (IP: 142.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This site does sound good, but it really isn't that great, the php support is horrific but the mysql is great. I wouldn't recomend people useing the includes function unless they can get it to work.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-19   -   (IP: 198.175.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is the best out there. They offer FREE PHP MYSQL SSI PERL FTP TRANSFERS and anything that u can think of. From Free to Pay they have all of your needs. I can't stress this enough if you want good hosting come here. They have friendly people. You are treated like a community. Questions are answered 24/7 in the forum.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-19   -   (IP: 68.35.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
We [MyJSpace] will be adding a few more features by the end of today.
MyphpAdmin will now be accessable by every one with a mysql databse.
Also we will open our 3rd free plan that is exactly like the pro free except provides domain hosting IE you can sign up with you own domain (don't have to buy it from us).

On another note I have had many requests for full paid accounts these will become available to the public by tuesday (hopefuly).


Reviewed on: 2003-04-19   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Ok, this host does have a few issues, BUT its brand new.
Stuff happens, when it does they are on the ball and get it resolved ASAP. The pro free plan does have ads, but for $2 a month you can remove the adds, and they DON'T require a credit card (how many other sites do that?) Considering the features you get and the features that are in the works, this is a GREAT host. Servers are fast and downtime has been minimal. If you are looking for a free host that has all the features you need, and can can live with the growing pains you should check them out.

As for the php boards, they do support them, my site uses one. There are patches for your header files in the downloads section of the main page for placing the required adds on your site.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-19   -   (IP: 129.8.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Nemisis siad, "example: can't run a forum cause of an ad? rofl thank you"

Yes, the forum can't be install because of a script that they put on to add an ad on every page. Some Forums do not let their scripts to be edited and thus it won't install. It is a definitely huge problem for me. They told me to do it, but they didn't tell me how. They could have come up with a better system to help walk us through this. For example, they should let us install the forum and we can add the code to the AD later on in our Forum control panel. But for this to be even possible it means taking out that script that prevents us to even install the forum.

If not please just give me an answer to how I even add the Ad code on.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-18   -   (IP: 68.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
in response to rhys172, try checking your file types. files like .htaccess aren't allowed and cause your connection to be reset, and no one says you can not use any ftp program. he just offered a very nice newer one in response to requests of "how do i ftp" . told them to go dl it and use. I read these reports and to be honest 1 was accurate with its interpretation of sign up bugs ect. the rest is just anger out of ignorance. it's on you to know or learn certain things, or to at least ask. Blantantly flaming a server because of your own ignorance is not the way to go , and only shows a certain lack of maturity.

BTW rhys , the smart ftp was recommended for its easy user interface for those who are new. instead of the "550 error action aborted" you get with your current ws_ftp. you would have seen "550 "filename": Forbidden filename not allowed , server reset, AND would not be here flaming server and making a fool out of yourself. next time follow suggestions.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-17   -   (IP: 68.35.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
OK
I must insist our new pro free account has no ads over PG rated and the new pro system is solid as a rock
server has performed better than ever except for the fact we have one minor secrity issue a user seems it funny to shut mysql down every morning until i get notified.

Also users seem to be very easily confused they think their account doesn't work because they didn't read their e-mail. Your user name is your full subdomain. (takes large IQ I sorry). also they can't read english and think that the pro account has an online file manger, wrong again the pro account assumes your are an advanced user and give you ftp and mysql. Now the ftp issue is a security matter we have to keep the host as secure as possible . i like cute ftp too. it's my fav however our file filter won't work with it there for you cannot upload any files with it, just directories.
sorry but to keep the host secure you can use many many other ftp clients, just not cuteftp.
Now to the users that like the service and have active accounts(all 3000 of them and growing daily).

Thanks
Jaorn Bouton


Reviewed on: 2003-04-17   -   (IP: 68.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I use this service and in all fairness bcause it is new and had had some small sign up issues i dropped points.

This service does what it can cater to people . and the gentleman's post that you cannot load a forum is ridiculous. in fact in working with myjspace i have assisted their team in making the patch files necessary to get a banner to load on a forum page just so these users can continue ot get FREE space and all the perks of the free-pro plan ( this one does ask you to have one banner but gives ftp mysql ect). in fact every php script just about has a fix already made. and easily incorporated into a forum. i have even offered to assist users in doing this. so basically he full of bologna and is disgruntled after lieing saying it wasn't possible to place a banner at top of page and being proven wrong. so he flames myjpsace here.

as far as customer service and uptime ect. i can contact someone for support 24-7. and the server issues like sign up bug ect. hey guys it's a free server and it's brand new. of course little incidences are gonna happen. but server hasn't gone down except once for an hour. not many can say that.

i will say this , before listening to mine or anyone else review look at the motivation behind it and the honesty. example: can't run a forum cause of an ad? rofl thank you


Reviewed on: 2003-04-16   -   (IP: 211.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Real bad host. It does have ads - pornographt ads if you want the pro package. I got a 'File type not supported' message when I tried to upload a php file, Account manager says the bandwidth limit is 3 gigs, they don't provide up to 100megs space, but they actually give a subdomain now on a different domain. Highly unrecommended.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-16   -   (IP: 129.8.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
If you try to install a Forum on this host using mySQL it is almost impossible. The database will deny you due to the fact that you need to edit the Forum script itself to add their ad space script for it to even work. Which is very complicated. At least make it more user friendly in my book. They also haven't reply to me how to do it when they told me to do it.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-13   -   (IP: 217.155.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Really quite useless. Insist you use smartftp. Can't use CuteFTP which has never failed me. So fine, I install Smartftp which proceeds to load a few MB, reset the connection, delete the files and re-upload them all. Silly, annoying, pointless and a waste of an hour. :-(

Reviewed on: 2003-04-13   -   (IP: 199.183.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
The worst host I have ever dealt with. The account never did work. When I contacted the webmaster (Jaron Bouton), I was basically told it was no fault of the host that the account didn't work and had my intelligence insulted a few time. What a sorry excuse for a host. Stay far away.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-13   -   (IP: 194.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-04-12   -   (IP: 68.35.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
A free plan with domain hosting is in place scheduled to open somtime this week.
We are trying to find a way to provide our user with safe htaccess files any serious linux guys who are willing to help. please let me know your ideas.
thanks.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-12   -   (IP: 218.84.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-04-12   -   (IP: 68.35.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
OK
As soon as the bug was noticed we had it fixed once
but the bug reapeard and imediatly we had a new system set in place we configured it as fast as posible and opened it to the public this morning.

New features are ftp and mysql for every user.
The old system is still in place and users are using it. however for the time being we have stoped signups while we rebuild the validation system.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-11   -   (IP: 211.28.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
They have 2 options for signup
- standard free option (no banner)
- pro free option (top banner)

Not really sure of the difference in features besides the banner as they don't offer too much.

This site has been plagued by signup issues but when it works, it's instant activation. At time or review the standard was non-operation but the pro is up and running.

Pros: Looks promising. Instant activation. FTP.
Cons: No domain hosting, going through rough patch I think, extra features (ie. .htaccess, customer errors, etc.) would make this a 10.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-11   -   (IP: 218.57.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-04-09   -   (IP: 216.208.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
ssssssssssswwwwwwwwwwweet!

What are the host's positive and negative aspects? allows mp3 and cgi! no perl.
Would you recommend this free host? yes.
How long have you used this free webhost? 1 day...
Has this host been reliable (approximate % downtime if known)? 99.9.
Is the host fast or slow? fast.
Is the host's support/features good or bad? good.
Why? responds within 2 days.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-08   -   (IP: 67.193.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I can't seem to get throught the signup process. First it was that, they never mailed me the validation code. Now the code doesn't work. Here is what it says when I try using the code.
"Validate User

Enter your validation code below to activate your account.

The user attached to this validation code is no longer in our database "

Such a good host and I can't use it :-(


Reviewed on: 2003-04-05   -   (IP: 202.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-04-03   -   (IP: 81.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Not a bad host just not got the features i'm looking for.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-02   -   (IP: 61.178.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-03-31   -   (IP: 68.35.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Sorry for this bug.
It was a major bug in our validation system.
We called in the company who programed the system for us.
They were able to fix the bug and users have been validating fine.
no more errors have been reported.
We are planning on releasing a second free hosting plan that should be much more stable and provide all users with ftp and mysql; however these will be ad-sponsored.


Reviewed on: 2003-03-31   -   (IP: 200.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
My account became unreachable after a few days. I cannot log in, although I know the log-in info is correct. The "recover password" feature doesn't work, and an attempt to re-sign-up using the same user-name failed.
Don't waste your time.


Reviewed on: 2003-03-31   -   (IP: 61.236.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-03-30   -   (IP: 67.193.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I can't seem to be able to sign up for this host. When it says this: Finnished!!

You have successfully created an account.

You will recieve an email in order to validate your account and begin using the Online Manager.
Once you validate your e-mail address your account is active!
Please Check your e-mail now!!

I Check the email and its never there. Does this happen to everyone?


Reviewed on: 2003-03-30   -   (IP: 218.25.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-03-28   -   (IP: 217.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-03-28   -   (IP: 68.35.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
We changed Dns's, had no downtime, but you have to use www.myjspace.com; just myjspace.com will not work for the time being.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-28   -   (IP: 203.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-03-28   -   (IP: 213.89.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-03-27   -   (IP: 203.146.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-03-26   -   (IP: 67.38.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They put tons of mail scripts on your space and accuse you of spamming.

[added by webmaster:
One person uploaded the scripts to their account, but MyJSpace accidently emailed everyone with an account.
]


Reviewed on: 2003-03-26   -   (IP: 63.191.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
They answered pretty quick, but if you want FTP then you get add supported pages, if not then it costs you $2.oo a month.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-26   -   (IP: 203.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
can't sign up!

Reviewed on: 2003-03-25   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
webhost-man's excample site seems to be down, but the mainsite of theirs is working. weird.

[added by webmaster: the sample site still works for me.]


Reviewed on: 2003-03-25   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
SSI didn't work, but server has PHP Version 4.2.2. Email is planned. Database is either banner-supported, or you can pay $2/month. Other upgrades are available for $. File manager lets you upload 10 files at once.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 24, 2017 -