free webspace  






NeoPages

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
         
# Votes: 7 1 1 0 1 0 0 2 0 24
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.58 / 10

Total Votes: 36




14 User Testimonials/Reviews of NeoPages


22 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2003-09-30   -   (IP: 200.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They are not accepting applications anymore. Even if they were, I'd probably wouldn't get the hosting. They are extremely picky. The funny thing is, most of the sites they approve are full of stupidity. Yes they do have great designs, but the content is just garbage.

"Neopets", "blogs" with "I'm just sitting watching how the wind blows" posts... I guess you have to be good at Photoshop 9.0, but brainless enough, to get their free hosting services.


Reviewed on: 2003-09-01   -   (IP: 66.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Is this webhost some kind of bad joke? I was willing to give them the benefit of the doubt even after reading what appeared to be very horrid but honest reviews.

Afer attemting to access their site I received a barrage of some twelve pop-up ads. I was never able to actually reach their webpage to obtain any information. The furtherest I got was to some kind of bizarre meaningless graphic. When I pressed on what I had to guess was the main page a new page popped up with this notice:

"this site requires pop-ups. reload the page if you closed the pop window
THANK YOU FOR VISITING NEOPAGES.COM//NP XI LAUNCHED JUNE 30, 2001//

Re-load a pop-up for the privilege of visiting their obnoxious site? I don't think so. I had to close down my browser just to get out of their trap. What garbage!

It is certainly clear to me that whomever is running this hosting business has a serious ego problem. They certainly know nothing about the basis of a good website.


Reviewed on: 2003-08-29   -   (IP: 151.197.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
In spite of the previous comment, it really is a good host if you can get hosted. It takes more effort than usual to get hosted here compared to other free web hosts, so keep that in mind before trying.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-29   -   (IP: 210.49.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Firstly, to say that I've been hosted since April, or thereabouts, and this is definately the best free web host i've come across - and i've tried many.

Secondly, i'd like to respond to this comment:
>> "People who are hosted by them usually say it is the best host. It is actually pretty bad." <<

This very statement is ironic, in my opinion - because the fact is that almost everyone who is hosted *does* believe it to be the best free host. What's ironic is that this statement was obviously written by someone who has *not* received hosting, and is therefore bitter. S/he talks of losing hosting if you don't "kiss up" - but this statement is not true anyway, and in any case, this person has obviously not been hosted, and, thus, has not had the opportunity to lose hosting, as they seem to claim.

Also, contrary to what the above person said, script execution is remarkably fast, as is the loading of pages, and so forth.

A note about 1 site being accepted a week - every so often more sites are accepted. This doesn't happen overly often, but if there are several good sites applying, it's a possibility.

***
In terms of the community, i have to say that this is the best community i've been on - ever. Members are very helpful when reviewing sites, and give detailed and useful comments. I can say that i've learnt more about design from this community in 6 months than i managed to learn out of various design books over 2-3 years.

So - my reccomendation?
-- If you're good at design, and have a nice webpage, apply for hosting, and you'll stand a good chance of being accepted quickly.

-- If you're not so good at design, and want to improve, this is a great place to start. You'll be given support in, not only html, but various coding languages. And i think that with help from this community, you'll certainly learn more quickly than when learning by yourself. And note that once you learn enough, your site will be good enough to get hosting ;)


Reviewed on: 2003-08-24   -   (IP: 69.14.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
People who are hosted by them usually say it is the best host. It is actually pretty bad. It requires joining a "community" of complete bumbling idiots who know little about reality, and claim to be "pro web designers." If you disagree with them on anything, you are outcasted. They do not like sites with *any* images or that are r4eadable (images are okay if the text is not readable). They extremely dislike frames, but excessively use iframes. They seem to think that the W3C means nothing. They over-use CSS, as per W3C recomendation.

If you want to be hosted by them, you may want to go through currently hosted sites and make your site similar to these. You will soon find that your site is extremely ugly and not worth the hosting if you have to sink that low.

The scripting support is bad at best. Script execution takes a long time and it is an oft occurence that your connections will be refused or ignored by the server. Sometimes, plain HTML pages approx. 50 bytes will take several minutes to load.

You have to constantly kiss up to the owner of the server who in reality is (despite all the hosted people who claim he is really cool - the kissing up part) a complete loser and if you don't you will lose your hosting in the blink of an eye (surely faster than it takes to download a 20 byte file).

On the other hand, if you are hosted by them, you may have to be brainwashed enough that all of the negatives ammount to nothing in comparisson with the grace of the owner of the server who has decided that you are worthy enough to receive his server space.

Overall, the experience if you do not receive hosting is not even close to worth it (not to mention the time), and even if you do receive hosting, it still is not worth it.


Reviewed on: 2003-07-07   -   (IP: 203.167.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've been hosted for almost a year now, and I'm extremely happy with this host. No ads, all the features I need, very reliable, cool subdomains (neopages, neoartists, neominds, neosurge), wonderful support, and free, free, free! :D

The hard part is the application. One site is usually selected per week, voted on by the members of the community. Voting is usually based on the quality of the site, the application, and the willingness to be part of the community. This ensures that resources will be given to those that deserve it most, and keeps the host stable and free for us to use.

I would recommend this webhost to all those with a good website, who are willing to contribute what they can to the community.

Note: to those who mentioned pop-ups, there are a few on the main site (neopages.net) but NONE on your site.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-22   -   (IP: 202.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Ads, I dont see any ads... This is one of the best sites I ever come across. Nevermind if you don't get hosted now, if you are committed & willing to improve your site, you learned from them &.. you will get acceptable eventually. Obviously if you are only want to get a free host & not willing to spend time & contribute to the community. This is not a place for you.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-01   -   (IP: 66.159.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This site stinks!!!!!
when you click on the direct link to NeoPages, it pops up ads, ads, and ads..... i don't even have time to read and sign up without closing ads.... i won't visit it again.


Reviewed on: 2003-02-16   -   (IP: 216.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Some could be angered that only 1 per week- but that is very generous. And take another look at neopages- no evil company selects a single site per week- no, the forum does. This is a gigantic benefit. The forum is made up of a community of web designers, bloggers, artists, and anyone else that decides they would like to sign up to be in the forum. People new to web hosting, as I see above, could be angered at this, but obviously you don't understand everything, and especially not what neopages provides. They provide the works and a control panel, only leaving off asp and aspx simply because of their servers being hosted on extremely stable and speedy unix machines. What they provide tops so many paid web hosting, and it's completely free. From my aspect, there isn't a single negative aspect. You can't give all this to just anybody who just decided on the spur of the moment to create a site. If this were true, pretty soon you either wouldn't be able to get as much as you currently can, or it wouldn't be free anymore. And I haven't even mentioned the support, which is extraordinary! Not only can you get an attractive and creative subdomain (neopages have several to choose from besides neopages.net) but, if you already HAVE a domain, you will get everything you would with subdomain, but instead of the subdomain, your domain would be hosted for free! Neopages.net doesn't make any money at all doing this- it is simply for people who deserve it, who deserve to be able to stop looking through a sea of half promises.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-14   -   (IP: 213.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've been a member of neopages since october and I found this an ever growing community with lots of potentials.

The hosting in neopages is not easy ... you have to fill an application form and be active in the forum and state why you think you should be hosted there, not anyone else.

also the service and the support are great ... the forum gathers people from different countries and cultures and all the guys are helpful aiming to one goal ...acheiving knowledge in web application (programming, design,...)

You might consider being a member ... it "if it's what you like" feels great to be part of something you like.


Reviewed on: 2002-10-06   -   (IP: 35.12.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I think this hosting is the best. Why? Because it's reliable, it has excelent support not only for the hosting, but for html/css/php/mysql also.
If you have already a good site (graphics & content) you get accepted by a voting system. It's really cool!
I recomend this host for webmasters, and those who are a little about html.
I use this hosting about almost a year.


Reviewed on: 2002-09-30   -   (IP: 136.182.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
One site per week?? How can it be counted as host?

Reviewed on: 2002-09-15   -   (IP: 24.112.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I love it only if everyone got accepted.

Reviewed on: 2002-08-20   -   (IP: 218.31.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
DO NOT ACCEPT NEW USER???

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 22, 2017 -