free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  NetFirms


Visit: NetFirms
http://www.netfirms.com/netfirms/web-hosting/basic.bml?
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)

Note: Their freehosting plan is somewhat hidden now if you go to their homepage (it may look like they only have paid webhosting). Clicking the link above will go to their free hosting plan, or you can go to their home page and click on the "Netfirms BASIC Hosting" link at the bottom of the web page. Also you must deselect a couple items from the shopping cart (listed under "Website Essentials") on step 3.
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 5 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP.
Editor: -
Scripting: CGI, SSI, FrontPage Extensions, Perl.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail.
Your URL: Top-level domain name.
Other Features:
  • Web-based Email or Forwarding (Domains only).
  • Flash.
  • File size limit 256 KB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • Multiple accounts allowed.
  • Bandwidth limit 1,000 MB/month.
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 65   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 6 2 3 2 3 2 4 5 5 32
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.61 / 10

Total Votes: 64

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  NetFirms



42 User Testimonials/Reviews of NetFirms


22 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2005-10-19   -   (IP: 169.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Wow, very bad tech support and slow downs. Recommended ONLY if you are using FrontPage or something that creates web pages for you without HTML!

Reviewed on: 2005-09-24   -   (IP: 67.191.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
don't do it! I don't know much about html, but I can follow directions. Netfirms promised an easy website, up in minutes! I purchased (paid for) my website with them and it's the end of Sept. and I still can't get a decent site on-line. Right now the site is on but the headers and photos are scrambled, which defeats the purpose of being online. They also promise 24/7 tech support, which is actually non-existent. They have lots of tutorials, but if it doesn't answer your specific question you are messed up. They don't answer e-mails and their phone number doesn't seem to work. I guess I'm just out the money I spent since I haven't found a way to contact them. Not recommended for complete newbies who don't know anything about HTML or web authoring.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-22   -   (IP: 128.237.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Cheap Hosting but lots of short downtimes and slow downs. Tech Support not helpful.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-14   -   (IP: 65.196.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Good and fast server also perfect uptime FTP. But the banner is SO UGLY. but You know What, I have found out a way to recover it, so it is great for me than!

Reviewed on: 2005-02-17   -   (IP: 66.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Netfirms is the worst! They suck you in and then hijack your site. If you go over your daily limit they cut you off. Funny...their user agreement doesn't say that. It say you have to upgrade or reduce your usage. I've got a register domain with them. I doubt I ever see it again. AVOID NETFIRMS!

Reviewed on: 2005-02-07   -   (IP: 81.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent uptime record. Well featured and a useful FAQ.
A bit iffy with SWF files at the moment though. (Could just be me).


Reviewed on: 2004-12-27   -   (IP: 211.28.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
i found out that the file size is 256 kbs AFTER i got my site finnally working (from my computer nothing to do with netfirms). The banner at the top is really anoying. Service is good. if your one of those people who put large files on there site STAY AWAY! 25 mb is nothing really, 99.0 the sever is up no real downtime. for 6 months now its been good UNTILL THE FILE ISSUE! Easy to send through frontpage. Wouldnt recommend it. (maybe for starters). join for small stuff like pics or small flash videos but nothing else like large downloads.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-23   -   (IP: 192.206.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
file size is limite to 256K very very very small. This is only one drawback.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-05   -   (IP: 80.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I built a website on Netfirms, and they turned out to be very easy to use. It was on this server that I first learned how to use an FTP system to upload files, and it worked out very well. I'd recommend them, as they can make a good server on which to build both personal and business websites. It's good.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-31   -   (IP: 207.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
And yet another free web host to add to the growing list of those who either do not respond to your emails and/or fail to complete the sign-up process. In this situation, I was sent an invoice indicating that I had indeed opened a free account with NetFirms but I never received a username or password in order to actually USE my free web space. Repeated follow-up emails inquiring to this effect were not answered. And just for posterity, I would like to add that I used a 'real' email address to sign up with them and moreover I am the webmaster of a reputable site about web design. I don't understand why my account was apparently activated but no username or password was subsequently issued. Netfirms WASTED MY TIME. TWO THUMBS DOWN.



42 Customer Comments/Reviews of NetFirms

Page:  2 of 5

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
FrontPage Server Extensions
Free CGI Hosting

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 23, 2017 -