free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  NetFirms


Visit: NetFirms
http://www.netfirms.com/netfirms/web-hosting/basic.bml?
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)

Note: Their freehosting plan is somewhat hidden now if you go to their homepage (it may look like they only have paid webhosting). Clicking the link above will go to their free hosting plan, or you can go to their home page and click on the "Netfirms BASIC Hosting" link at the bottom of the web page. Also you must deselect a couple items from the shopping cart (listed under "Website Essentials") on step 3.
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 5 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP.
Editor: -
Scripting: CGI, SSI, FrontPage Extensions, Perl.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail.
Your URL: Top-level domain name.
Other Features:
  • Web-based Email or Forwarding (Domains only).
  • Flash.
  • File size limit 256 KB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • Multiple accounts allowed.
  • Bandwidth limit 1,000 MB/month.
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 65   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 6 2 3 2 3 2 4 5 5 32
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.61 / 10

Total Votes: 64

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  NetFirms



42 User Testimonials/Reviews of NetFirms


22 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-30   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Beware... NetFirms will freeze your site!
  I hosted a site with NetFirms free hosting for 2 years.  They were reliable and the FTP always worked great.  However, the first time my site grew to over the daily bandwidth limit, they shut down my site.  There was an error screen that said that the site would return within 24 hours... but it never did.
  After several days I emailed NetFirms support, but they wrote back to say that my site was gone forever (unless I began paying them for hosting.)
  Geocities has the same bandwidth limitation that NetFirms does, but Geocities will take down your site for an hour (and it always comes back.)  This way you can reduce page weight and everything is cool.  There is no such opportunity with NetFirms... the first time you go over the limit your free hosting is over.  They hold your site hostage until you pay.  My site had top search engine placement... but NetFirms didn't care.
  Bottom line:  Use this free hosting only if you have an extremely low bandwidth site.  You may not think your site will ever become popular enough to exceed the bandwidth limitation, but you may be surprised (I didn't think my site would... but it did!)
  I recommend avoiding NetFirms and going with a free host that is more flexible in how it handles bandwidth (such as Geocities or fateback.)
  I appreciate what NetFirms offered to me for free... but I am very mad at their lack of flexibility.  I believe what they are doing borders on false promise.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-20   -   (IP: 207.70.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Wow!  Thank you netfirms for being good to me for 2 years.  I give a positive rating of 9 (10 if it wasn't for the banner).  But you know what?  For free hosting they are pretty good.  A few services have been cut back but overall netfirms continues to be a fine server for small web sites.  They are reliable in these troubled times of flaky, come and go servers.  GOOD WORK!
PS.  Thanks be to free-webhosts.com for this service.  An excellent reference that saves people a ton of time and effort.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-05   -   (IP: 212.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is great. If you are taking the free web hosting plan, then you may not like it because it has a banner on the top and it doesn't support php. Still this is an excellent recommendation because it is great for guys who are new to site making and also because of its great customer support. Also to note that is that the server rarely goes down.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-07   -   (IP: 193.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Great features for the price (I have Advantage Plan)
Very rarely the server is down.


Reviewed on: 2004-04-06   -   (IP: 12.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Netfirms is a very good free host. I have used others in the past. They start you out with a simple "Free hosting by netfirms ad" at the top. Then they switch it to a bigger ad and a Google websense ad. They do allow your own ads and business sites. If you use their "Submit site for our Site of the Month" feature you can rest assured you will have the google ads on your site very soon.

As for the picture hotlink thing, you can link to any picture from anywhere in your netfirms free website. no outside hotlinks allowed. so pictures you link to on your site open, even in a new window.

The frontpage extension make it easy for even a newbie to maintain a free website, they also have net Objects Fusion extensions available. FTP works on the free sites

All in all it's very reliable host.


Reviewed on: 2004-04-05   -   (IP: 68.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This was my first free webhost.  at first, I had no problems with it.  then, it adopted a geocities-like rule of no hotlinking.  also, you have to imbed an image in a webpage to link to it.  a 256kb file size limit and the fact that you cant choose your password right off the bat really stinks.  while I like the ftp access, I can't bring myself to give this a 5 for being a truly average free webhosting service.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-05   -   (IP: 219.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
"Starting December 12, 2003 the netfirms Basic (free) plan will no longer include Website Statistics. We apologize for any inconvenience.
To retain your statistics, we recommend you upgrade to any of our paid hosting plan where you will receive Advanced Stats." This announcement is on member webstats home.

I am thinking of upgrading to a netfirms paid plan, but the paid plan offer by netfirms when you do a comparision with what is offer on the markets it really had nothing much on offer other then Netfirm's name!!
Other webhosts are offering twice as much features for 80% lower in price!!
Back to the free plan and almost every free host are offering PHP but netfirms is offering cgi that only works 70% of the time and netfirms do not offer php for their free plan.
Netfirms is getting old in their pricing and feature, other than their solid uptime and their email support there isn't anything left!!


Reviewed on: 2003-12-03   -   (IP: 66.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This web host has great service and all but when it comes to files and sites it has way too many restrictions. You can only upload certain file sizes and can only have a certain quota of files. This is a definite NO if you want to go professional. Okay i'll give it.. 'sub-professional'

Reviewed on: 2003-11-10   -   (IP: 66.46.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Of all the free hosts I've ever tired, Netfirms is the most dependable and offers just the right amount of features, especially for being free.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-21   -   (IP: 194.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I have been using Netfirms for years, for both paid and free hosting. I can only agree with the negative comments many others have already made. Netfirms used to be by far the best free host. For practical purposes, free users can no longer use scripts, and their technical support has become uncaring, to say the least. I no longer have a paid site on Netfirms; the paid sites I have are hosted by a regular paid hosting company which gives many more bells and whistles, much better support, and costs even less.



42 Customer Comments/Reviews of NetFirms

Page:  3 of 5

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
FrontPage Server Extensions
Free CGI Hosting

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 17, 2017 -