free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  NetFirms


Visit: NetFirms
http://www.netfirms.com/netfirms/web-hosting/basic.bml?
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)

Note: Their freehosting plan is somewhat hidden now if you go to their homepage (it may look like they only have paid webhosting). Clicking the link above will go to their free hosting plan, or you can go to their home page and click on the "Netfirms BASIC Hosting" link at the bottom of the web page. Also you must deselect a couple items from the shopping cart (listed under "Website Essentials") on step 3.
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 5 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP.
Editor: -
Scripting: CGI, SSI, FrontPage Extensions, Perl.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail.
Your URL: Top-level domain name.
Other Features:
  • Web-based Email or Forwarding (Domains only).
  • Flash.
  • File size limit 256 KB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • Multiple accounts allowed.
  • Bandwidth limit 1,000 MB/month.
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 65   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 6 2 3 2 3 2 4 5 5 32
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.61 / 10

Total Votes: 64

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  NetFirms



64 User Testimonials/Reviews of NetFirms

Reviewed on: 2004-12-23   -   (IP: 192.206.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
file size is limite to 256K very very very small. This is only one drawback.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-05   -   (IP: 80.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I built a website on Netfirms, and they turned out to be very easy to use. It was on this server that I first learned how to use an FTP system to upload files, and it worked out very well. I'd recommend them, as they can make a good server on which to build both personal and business websites. It's good.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-17   -   (IP: 221.133.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-08-31   -   (IP: 207.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
And yet another free web host to add to the growing list of those who either do not respond to your emails and/or fail to complete the sign-up process. In this situation, I was sent an invoice indicating that I had indeed opened a free account with NetFirms but I never received a username or password in order to actually USE my free web space. Repeated follow-up emails inquiring to this effect were not answered. And just for posterity, I would like to add that I used a 'real' email address to sign up with them and moreover I am the webmaster of a reputable site about web design. I don't understand why my account was apparently activated but no username or password was subsequently issued. Netfirms WASTED MY TIME. TWO THUMBS DOWN.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-30   -   (IP: 65.199.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-08-21   -   (IP: 24.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-07-30   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Beware... NetFirms will freeze your site!
  I hosted a site with NetFirms free hosting for 2 years.  They were reliable and the FTP always worked great.  However, the first time my site grew to over the daily bandwidth limit, they shut down my site.  There was an error screen that said that the site would return within 24 hours... but it never did.
  After several days I emailed NetFirms support, but they wrote back to say that my site was gone forever (unless I began paying them for hosting.)
  Geocities has the same bandwidth limitation that NetFirms does, but Geocities will take down your site for an hour (and it always comes back.)  This way you can reduce page weight and everything is cool.  There is no such opportunity with NetFirms... the first time you go over the limit your free hosting is over.  They hold your site hostage until you pay.  My site had top search engine placement... but NetFirms didn't care.
  Bottom line:  Use this free hosting only if you have an extremely low bandwidth site.  You may not think your site will ever become popular enough to exceed the bandwidth limitation, but you may be surprised (I didn't think my site would... but it did!)
  I recommend avoiding NetFirms and going with a free host that is more flexible in how it handles bandwidth (such as Geocities or fateback.)
  I appreciate what NetFirms offered to me for free... but I am very mad at their lack of flexibility.  I believe what they are doing borders on false promise.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-20   -   (IP: 207.70.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Wow!  Thank you netfirms for being good to me for 2 years.  I give a positive rating of 9 (10 if it wasn't for the banner).  But you know what?  For free hosting they are pretty good.  A few services have been cut back but overall netfirms continues to be a fine server for small web sites.  They are reliable in these troubled times of flaky, come and go servers.  GOOD WORK!
PS.  Thanks be to free-webhosts.com for this service.  An excellent reference that saves people a ton of time and effort.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-05   -   (IP: 212.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is great. If you are taking the free web hosting plan, then you may not like it because it has a banner on the top and it doesn't support php. Still this is an excellent recommendation because it is great for guys who are new to site making and also because of its great customer support. Also to note that is that the server rarely goes down.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-20   -   (IP: 212.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]



64 Customer Comments/Reviews of NetFirms

Page:  4 of 7

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
FrontPage Server Extensions
Free CGI Hosting

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 21, 2017 -