free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  NetFirms


Visit: NetFirms
http://www.netfirms.com/netfirms/web-hosting/basic.bml?
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)

Note: Their freehosting plan is somewhat hidden now if you go to their homepage (it may look like they only have paid webhosting). Clicking the link above will go to their free hosting plan, or you can go to their home page and click on the "Netfirms BASIC Hosting" link at the bottom of the web page. Also you must deselect a couple items from the shopping cart (listed under "Website Essentials") on step 3.
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 5 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP.
Editor: -
Scripting: CGI, SSI, FrontPage Extensions, Perl.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail.
Your URL: Top-level domain name.
Other Features:
  • Web-based Email or Forwarding (Domains only).
  • Flash.
  • File size limit 256 KB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • Multiple accounts allowed.
  • Bandwidth limit 1,000 MB/month.
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 65   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 6 2 3 2 3 2 4 5 5 32
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.61 / 10

Total Votes: 64

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  NetFirms



64 User Testimonials/Reviews of NetFirms

Reviewed on: 2003-10-10   -   (IP: 213.48.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great Host. Great Help when you need it. Netfirms is the best free host ever. And you can cover up the banner if you are good at making sites. Look at http://www.toxicclan2004.netfirms.com and see how i have covered up the banner.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-05   -   (IP: 212.118.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very good, i always start with their free plan and then upgrade, CGI is limited but you should note that they don't have a choice, CGI is heavy so they limit the usage in a very fair way, their servers are very fast and they use a very fast connection to the internet, they even have professional support for free users, what is also important is that they have good plans to upgrade to. Thay also have catch all Email and a pop address for a free website, and you could ad domain names ! come on people be fair.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-27   -   (IP: 62.248.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a very good service. The best thing on this service is 24/7 support they really answer your questions and solve your problems. The worst thing on this service is banner ads of course.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-19   -   (IP: 217.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
it was good host long time ago but now script such as perl not works well for free users.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-01   -   (IP: 203.106.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-06-10   -   (IP: 203.106.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Many site rated netfirms highly and as a result I registered with netfirms and used it for the last 4 months. I can see netfirms was a great free host once but they had switch gear to concentrate more on pay user.

Basically they are a very basic host the CGI and SSI is only good for occasional testing. If you use cgi or ssi frequently it can make your website look ugly because it keep showing a page that ask your visitor to return 5 minutes later and telling them you are a cheap skate and did not pay them any money :D

However, netfirms is not all bad, their FTP is very fast and dependable, their website never down and your website is always reachable. Their support FAQ is first class. I never need to contact them because of their FAQ. Netfirms control panel is simple and easy to use and it get the job done.

Supported file type are limited, only the basic one are allow. You can't hotlink from netfirms but you can hotlink to them from other web host!

If you are looking for a basic web hosts with 25MB space and you don't need php, cgi, perl or ssi netfirms is highly recommened.

I will rate netfirms as;
cgi and perl 3
ssi 3
Dependable 8 (will be 10 if not for cgi and ssi)
FTP 10
Help and FAQ 10
control panel 8
files support 5
Speed 9

average 7


Reviewed on: 2003-05-23   -   (IP: 144.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
One in the top 10.
Easy to use, reliable.
Perfect for beginner and modest size sites.
banner at top of page is not bandwidth hungry.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-19   -   (IP: 67.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Up until recently, they were very good. However, over the past couple months, they seem to be putting the squeeze on free customers to upgrade to a paid service. They do this by severely limiting cgi usage for free site. I have a message board on my site which has been rendered basically unusable now. That's why I'm searching for a new site.

Reviewed on: 2003-05-10   -   (IP: 198.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I registered with them about two months ago. The one time I needed help, the response was quick. I will definitely recommend this free host to anyone! Great host...Keep up the good work!

Reviewed on: 2003-04-07   -   (IP: 202.201.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]



64 Customer Comments/Reviews of NetFirms

Page:  6 of 7

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
FrontPage Server Extensions
Free CGI Hosting

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 19, 2017 -