free webspace  






ProHosting

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
       
# Votes: 5 0 3 0 1 1 2 0 2 2
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  4.81 / 10

Total Votes: 16




16 User Testimonials/Reviews of ProHosting

Reviewed on: 2005-12-12   -   (IP: 130.149.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Effective December 9th, 2005, all new and existing free accounts will only be able to use the following file types:
.htm, .html, .gif, .jpg, .png, .js, .css, .jpeg, .txt, .shtm, .shtml, .pl, .cgi.


Reviewed on: 2005-08-16   -   (IP: 85.98.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-06-27   -   (IP: 24.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
First the FTP never functioned with the address they gave, but I could find a way to upload anyway. Then they started to put advertising on my website, so the original layout was damaged. Then the server was down every other day. Then they somehow lost my website, but after mailing them several times, they had my address again, without the files, however. The FTP failed to function at all. I had to upload the files one by one using the browser interface. And it often is slow.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-05   -   (IP: 216.114.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
When I first started my website on this site in mid december, I would have given it a 8.5. The only bad thing was the messy ads at the top and bottom of the page. But hey, they have to pay for the servers, right? Then 2 weeks ago (end of April) the trouble started. First the forums on my site wouldnt load, and I kept coming up with a CGI error. After emailing support and waiting fro 4 days, they finally sent me a email back saying they were aware of problems with certain CGI scripts, and my problem should be fixed now. And it was. Then less than a week later, I had another CGI error. I emailed support again and they told me CGI scripts are no longer supported on their server. Thats all fine and dandy, but let us know that you guys are going to discontinue this service a bit beforehand, and not find out about it when you have users complaining to you about not being able to logon! That makes no business sense at all.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-23   -   (IP: 80.178.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is The Worst web I have ever seen. It's very very slow. There isn't support - They don't reply to the 3 Emails (!!!) I sent them. The FTP is 30% working, rest of the time it's down.
Please, do a favour for yourself and keep searching better web site.


Reviewed on: 2004-11-14   -   (IP: 202.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
slow, wanted to host my band's mp3s but site doesn't allow direct linking (even from pages on prohosting).  uses some lame cookie stuff that doesn't allow 2/3 people to download mp3s.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-27   -   (IP: 24.241.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This would have been a 10 except recently they have gone from one banner add (which is bad enough for any non-solid backgroung) to very messy adds at the top *and* bottom *and* pop-ups, plus the GUI for webpage editing has not been working since.... um.... a long time. Never used (or was able to find) email support, so don't know about that.  the "help" section is very small too, so you're basically on your own if you have any problems. Maybe they should consider having a forum for helping newbies out? Other than that, it's good.  50MB, ftp (always works), loads fast, and never any (that I know of) downtime.  Good service if you know how to do everything yourself.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-06   -   (IP: 64.142.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
free.prohosting.com's free site is ok, but the banner ads are pretty busy.  Instead, I suggest paying the one-time $9.95 to get no banner ads.  FTP works about 80% of the time.  If it rejects your logon, try later.  I tend to work late at night, so this is not a problem for me.  The servers are fast and they support cgi-bin perl scripts etc.  Tech Support (by email) is very slow, given their million or so free sites.  But their automated setup works well, and if you know the basics of web site authoring and maintenance, this service is great.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-15   -   (IP: 68.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Paid their fee a few years ago and have been unable to get tech support to answer my emails ever since.  Seems I can only edit my site about once a year.  ftp has quit working although I've not changed any settings or passwords.  I'm also, once again, unable to log into their webpage editor to update. Who cares how fast the page loads and how much room you have when you can't update?  This has been going on for months, THIS time.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-16   -   (IP: 218.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This Site is good. You Get 50 MB and no file size limit
no file type limit. The only disadvantage is their ad is too messy.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-10   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Free web hosting signup seems up again.  Now has 50 MB.

Reviewed on: 2003-01-25   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Yeah, this host stops offering free hosting in start of the february 2003.
[added by webmaster:
Thanks for info - I had just deleted it a few minutes ago.
]


Reviewed on: 2003-01-16   -   (IP: 210.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Without any previous warning via email, today Pro Hosting has sent out "Invoices" to FREE customers. Not advice that they will in the future be charging a fee. An actual INVOICE with an invoice number and advising that payment can be made via Paypal.

VERY CHEEKY! (And poor business practice).

This was some of the stuff in the email.
ProHosting one time maintenance and support fee
- One time fee (no recurring annual or monthly fees)
- Includes removal of banner ads from customer web site
- Ongoing hosting services

The $9.95 charge is a one-time fee for the ongoing maintenance and support of free.prohosting.com web sites. You will not be charged a monthly ongoing fee in the future, unless you choose to upgrade your web site hosting package. As a customer of free.prohosting.com, you have 14 days to acknowledge receipt of the invoice, and 30 days from the date of this invoice to submit payment to ProHosting Corporation. All other ProHosting Corporation terms remain in force. Other ProHosting Corporation options and programs can be viewed at www.prohosting.com.

Remit via PayPal to: billing@free.prohosting.com


Reviewed on: 2002-12-14   -   (IP: 212.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
One of the great hosters - or the greatest one!
Everything works fine - ftp and cgi. Perfect!
Fast server and as I recognized everytime online!
But.... since these days they put banners everywhere.


Reviewed on: 2002-10-02   -   (IP: 194.238.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Only 2MB uploaded available.
Website editor available.
Only 25MB webspace available.
Easy to use.
Can't delete existing pages or uploaded files.


Reviewed on: 2002-09-07   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
FTP has never worked for me.

 

Copyright © 2002-2019 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- June 26, 2019 -