free webspace  






SpacePorts

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
   
# Votes: 8 4 1 4 3 0 2 2 2 5
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  4.77 / 10

Total Votes: 31




31 User Testimonials/Reviews of SpacePorts

Reviewed on: 2003-12-05   -   (IP: 204.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
To quote what they sent to me, they are no longer free:

-----------------------------------------------------------

Due to the massive changes in the online advertising marketplace it is with a heavy heart that we have been forced to stop offering free web hosting with Spaceports.  We do understand that many of you have spent countless long hours assisting us in helping make the Spaceports
community grow to what it is today, and as such we do not intend on throwing out your hard work.

From this point forward, Spaceports will continue
to operate as an ad free, shared hosting venue for a small charge as follows:

Up to 20 MB space: $19.95/year
21 MB - 100 MB space: $29.95/year
101 MB - 500 MB space: $39.95/year

As of January 1, 2004, all unpaid accounts will be removed and only paid accounts will continue to operate.  To ensure that your account is not removed, please visit the following URL to order our paid service:

http://www.spaceports.com/noads.html

-----------------------------------------------------------

They were pretty reliable. But the name is pretty long. I would have given them an 8 but I'm giving them a 4 now (We had some good times but you let me down with less than a month to recover. Now I'm here stranded seeking a new good free web host).


Reviewed on: 2003-11-18   -   (IP: 61.51.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-29   -   (IP: 66.81.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Super bad site. Horrible user interface and theme. Mediocre to lousy capability. Waste of time.
Isn't free at all.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-17   -   (IP: 217.84.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I am with spaceports for more than a year now. And the normal servers are pretty fast and i noticed no downtime up to now.
Registration is easy and fast. FTP-Upload allways worked fine for me.
As good as the normal webservers are, the CGI/PHP/MySql service stinks. MySql has more down than uptime.
There is a Popup advertise, but hey, its for free.

I recommend this host for plain websites but not for those sites with server-scripting parts.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-05   -   (IP: 213.173.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-02   -   (IP: 172.197.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Let me first start out by saying STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOST
I knew when I signed up, I was basicly getting what I paid for. But come on now! When I created the account, it asks if you would like a mySQL account, and I did. I setup my account, and the ftp would never let me in, it was always down. When I did finally get in the next day, I quickly uploaded my webpages with joy, only to find that I had to upload each file one by one. The site was setup with all the pretty pop up ads nicely spaming my site, with errors stating the mySQL Denied my pw. They have a URL you can use to check the status of your dB. I checked it, and it said, "No Such User" I wrote the support, they replyed "Your mySQL is setup correctly and is working fine!! and gave a link to that same weblink to check the dB" a week later the site had a nice 404 error page. They deleted my site for no reason.

A) Ftp worked 20% of the time..
B) mySQL Never Worked..
C) No Support to speak of..just cut and paste response

All that trouble I went thru for nothing. Save yourself the hassle, and stay far away from this place.


Reviewed on: 2003-09-28   -   (IP: 217.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-09-20   -   (IP: 205.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
had great promise, but the mySQL is slow if it works at all!!

Reviewed on: 2003-08-28   -   (IP: 64.108.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-08-12   -   (IP: 65.116.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It's garbage now...

Reviewed on: 2003-08-06   -   (IP: 66.242.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I uploaded phpBB, had it running for about 1 day, and then 404 error.  It was gone forever.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-28   -   (IP: 218.62.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-07-04   -   (IP: 204.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I have been with Spaceports since November 1999. I was upset when they switched to frame ads, but that was a short-lived error on their part. The current pop-up ad they are using is not a problem.

My site has alot of small pages, so I never exceeded my alotted bandwidth at 5000+ hits per month.

My only problem with Spaceports was that they were unable to help me when I had a harddrive failure and lost my password. They email you a new password to the email address you had when you signed up. Three years later, I no longer had that address, and the company I had it with was no longer in business. So a website I had spent 3 years building and promoting can no longer be updated.

There is a lesson here -- make sure you have backups of all your passwords.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-28   -   (IP: 170.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I am surprised this web host has managed to stay in business for so long. They have the worst customer support and when you can actually speak with one of their reps they are rude, sarcastic and utterly useless with their "we're better than you" attitude. Particularly the administrator's dementor & noc.

DO NOT set up a website here that will receive more than 100 visitors a day. You will find your site deleted without notice for some obscure reason usually under their: "Spaceports reserves the right to discontinue service to anyone at our sole discretion" clause in their TOS: http://www.spaceports.com/faq/policies.htm

Their free hosting package has an abundance of popups and forced downloads including ads which are not suitable for younger audiences.

They offer a paid service for ad removal for $19.95 USD promising 20 MB of space and 5 gigabytes of monthly transfer, and CGI/PHP/MySQL support. WARNING: you'll NEVER get to use it and your site will be deleted and you won't be refunded a single cent.

They hide behind the corporate giant terrabyte.com as their shield and scam legitimate Webmaster's with false promises and invalid contracts.

On the positive side; they do offer ample storage and ok uptime. If you're just looking for a host to show pictures of your cat fluffy to your family then this host is properly good for you. But, don't try to run a professional website here even though they clearly claim: "We now allow commercial sites" -  http://www.spaceports.com/faq/policies.htm

There are many better free hosts on the Internet. Take the time and look for one and don't fall pray to scamports.com


Reviewed on: 2003-06-10   -   (IP: 68.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
The host seemed great at first, offering CGI, FTP, and a load of space for free.  But after seeing the awful ad place on my pages, I began to reconsider.  Then I learned that I had to complete another registration if I wanted to use my own CGI scripts.  About a month into my hosting experience, my site was shut down without warning.  An email arrived the same day telling me that my site had exceeded the bandwidth limits for that month.  I thought this was sort of strange, since Spaceports promises 5 gigs/month on their main page to anyone who signs up with them.  However, if you read the FAQ, you will learn that the free costomers only receive 1 gig/month.  If I would have known this, I would have used a different host.  My whole experience with Spaceports was sort of terrible.  It's true that there are worst hosts out there, but there are a lot of excellent ones that can do a much better job.  If you have a high-bandwidth site, don't rely on Spaceports.

Reviewed on: 2003-05-31   -   (IP: 65.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host is terrible. That huge ad makes me want to scream every time it shows its ugly face. And the attitude of the guy that's supposed to be answering your questions is totally unacceptable. Ever see those SNl skits featuring "Your Company's Computer Guy"? Yes, those. That's what his replies put me in mind of. The perfect host for masochistic webmasters.

Reviewed on: 2003-05-23   -   (IP: 144.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Not too bad.
The popups i hate anyway but this one is not too bandwidth hungry.

I cannot log into my account via main page but can still FTP account.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-20   -   (IP: 202.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-05-01   -   (IP: 61.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-04-16   -   (IP: 170.224.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I've been using this host for almost a year now. It is swwweeeettt... I has not ever been down, and it fast compared to some other hosts *cough*tripod*cough* The only thing that I did hate about Spaceports was that banner and how you had to get another account for the cgi-bin. Thankfully now, they have switched to popups intead of that banner, much better in my opinion. There are probably better hosts, but I haven't found them yet!

Reviewed on: 2003-04-12   -   (IP: 210.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Much much better than before. Popup ads is so much better than that HUGE bulking frame ads...

Reviewed on: 2003-04-03   -   (IP: 212.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-03-18   -   (IP: 24.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
run for the hills... the ad they place on your site is monster size, so big, it makes you think just how greedy they are... click the back botton now!!!

[added by webmaster:
hmm, my site there only has a normal 468x60 at the bottom, better than most free hosts.
]


Reviewed on: 2003-03-16   -   (IP: 213.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
When i first found spaceports it seemed to have so much promise. Unfortunately a few minutes after you register the cracks begin to appear in their silky smooth exterior. Resonable disk space and top notch FTP, however, the huge banner add, the fact that you can't be linked to outside spaceports and the need to register again for a cgi account after you have your regular account makes an irritating registration for people wanting to use the scripting support. I also had trouble with working anything perl related on their server, which i found odd. Find somewhere else for your site.

Reviewed on: 2003-01-18   -   (IP: 24.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I really did not like this host. I got all exited when i saw it...then it turns out to be horrible. I had an ad on every page and a HUGE frame ad. It wasn't worth it for its limited features.

Reviewed on: 2002-12-01   -   (IP: 207.172.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
The worst customer service imaginable; every question elicited a sardonic, "we're smarter than you" response. They're every bit as bad as their parent company, Tera-Byte. Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-30   -   (IP: 217.10.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2002-09-17   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The ad frame is really too big and annoying, but still i have to give some credit to this host because at least for me the server is very very fast and FTP is working great.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-14   -   (IP: 194.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
This host provides good service, alot of disk space and data transfer, but the problem is that you have to put any cgi/php/ssi scripts/pages on a seperate server with a different username and password, and this makes site management VERY difficult. Also, their banner ad (frame) is very big.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-12   -   (IP: 203.97.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
No offense, I realise ads pay for the free services these guys offer us, and they do offer a lot of programs etc, but the style of advertising banner they use just takes up too much space. It's about an inch thick and stretches right across the bottom of the browser, unlike typical banners that are about
----------------------------------------------------------
that long. Seriously, I would go check out a spaceports member page before signing up with them as the offer is really too good to be true. Shame really.


Reviewed on: 2002-09-09   -   (IP: 61.157.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 23, 2017 -