free webspace  






TheFreeServer

( "The FreeServer Free Server" )

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 26 2 6 2 6 2 3 7 9 55
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.83 / 10

Total Votes: 118




118 User Testimonials/Reviews of TheFreeServer

Reviewed on: 2004-05-22   -   (IP: 200.193.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-22   -   (IP: 65.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
the ftp never worked, the site was always down, and my mail was up maybe 50% of the time.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-22   -   (IP: 210.212.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
TOTAL waste of time. Create accounts and then keeps on denying login in their control panel, denying in ftp. After so many tries over a day created another account and same results. There are lot of posts in their forum for 'Can't login'. For posting in forum, I created a forum user name and it said validation email is sent to given email account. It never arrived. Are they just collecting email accounts or what ? Why waste people's time ? Why don't correct your login problems ? Even their main URL (thefreeserver.com) is down a LOT. You can understand what will happen to subdomains if they cant keep their own site up. FIND SOMEBODY ELSE. See their forums if you don't agree with what I said.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-21   -   (IP: 62.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-20   -   (IP: 151.38.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
bad speed and often down.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-19   -   (IP: 24.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I created an account and got the email. I clicked the link to verify and it told me my account was not created properly and i needed to create a new one. So I did and the same thing happened.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-18   -   (IP: 67.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
ugh... too many errors. this web host stinks and messes up my request every time.  don't waste your time.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-18   -   (IP: 61.149.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
When i tried signing up, it said: TheFreeServer.com is a overloaded now. Try creating a *.thefreeserver.net account instead.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-18   -   (IP: 212.38.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Very poor host! Now down! Very slow.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-17   -   (IP: 200.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-17   -   (IP: 200.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-17   -   (IP: 203.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-16   -   (IP: 212.119.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Just a great hosting place! You must get one!

Reviewed on: 2004-05-15   -   (IP: 159.134.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is a terrible host. I went on to it and i clicked sign up, it said you have been directed here by error. then, i went back on the next day, and it said "TheFreeServer.com is a bit crowded now. Try creating a *.togetherhost.com or a *.thefreeserver.net account instead." that is exactly what the other reviwers said. it isnt that good at all :-(

Reviewed on: 2004-05-15   -   (IP: 202.29.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-14   -   (IP: 62.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Wasn't able to sign up.  Tried three times to get past the user creation screen and three times was forced back to an empty form where I had to fill out the fields again. The third time it said "the freehost server is a bit busy, try freehost.net instead. I gave up!

Reviewed on: 2004-05-14   -   (IP: 151.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
this host is pretty good.  Sure there is some down times, and the forced ads are pretty annoying...but its ok.  I would say to best host is they take out the forced ads and the amount of visitors a day thing.  One best thing about this is the space they give you and the bandwidth!

Reviewed on: 2004-05-13   -   (IP: 209.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
the site is good, and it also allows you to host mp3, if people would go on the forum and read the other people posts, they would find some of their questions answered; don't complain about this service, since it tells you that it will be down due to upgrades, don't post here telling everyone "oh its down for half of the day" well daa it is because of the server uprades, they tell you everything in the forum, and if you complain because your website is down explain, because some dumb people overload mysql so everyone gets the problem, and also this host is working on its development, so if you use its service don't complain about it, like I lent you something to borrow and you would complain of it is bad, you don't pay a cent for it so why do people just compain about it, it gives you oppertuninity to test out something that cost like at the minimus of $20 a month and even if you are paying for it the paid host gives you like 500 meg space and 500 meg bandwith but they gurantee 100% uptime. In average this site is pretty good, and it not that slow, and you can control the banner add in your site.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-12   -   (IP: 200.151.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-12   -   (IP: 203.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-12   -   (IP: 203.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-11   -   (IP: 80.212.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-10   -   (IP: 68.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great deal! Don't need to post on forums on anything like the other free hosts.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-10   -   (IP: 67.71.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Well ok 2Gig of space but, LONG downtimes, site is down half of the day. So it's just hard to work on it not just telling it's slow and that Ensim isn't the best CP you can get.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-10   -   (IP: 82.80.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-09   -   (IP: 218.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
It just wonderful when you install the prescript, but as you know we will install some extra things such as upgrading the php, so... it always has the problem: error, error, and error. For example, 403 permission error.
Anyway, attractive 2000 MB


Reviewed on: 2004-05-09   -   (IP: 82.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-07   -   (IP: 213.233.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-06   -   (IP: 24.46.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-05   -   (IP: 193.251.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-02   -   (IP: 81.196.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-01   -   (IP: 65.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Asked for an account... it took like, 4 days for the confirmation e-mail to arrive. By the time it arrived, the account was already facing deletion problems, because you must have their google ad up and working. Then, I get the login info, and the Username/Password doesn't even work. I tried e-mailing the admin, but their mails take like, 2000 days to arrive. And I tried signing up at the forums, but the activation code never arrives.

Great hosting plan.. but garbage support.


Reviewed on: 2004-04-29   -   (IP: 203.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-04-29   -   (IP: 80.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I want to come directly to the point:
THIS HOST DOES NOT LET YOU HOST MP3 FILES.
I find this terrible. What do you want to host on 2 GB Space if not MP3's? :-)

The service is good. My account was opened within a few hours.


Reviewed on: 2004-04-26   -   (IP: 203.113.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-04-26   -   (IP: 200.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
complete worst service. if i write anything, the system says this:
"Account was not created succesfully. Domain or username already taken. Click back and choose another username and/or domain."


Reviewed on: 2004-04-26   -   (IP: 195.142.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-04-24   -   (IP: 218.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-04-22   -   (IP: 65.19.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
TheFreeServer.com is probably the best free host out there. it is even better than some paid hosting companies. Under the current plan you get 2000 megs of space, 1000 mysql databases, plus a goodly amount of bandwith. You get Ensim Pro, over 1000 subdomains, users, and e-mail accounts, and a great help forum. If you have a personal page out there that needs a host (or a very small budget business) this is where to go!

Reviewed on: 2004-04-22   -   (IP: 4.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I don't like the requirement of having a certain amount of add clickthroughs, and when I tried to register, all the domains were taken, even a bunch of random letters and numbers.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-21   -   (IP: 24.57.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
My site disappeared.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-20   -   (IP: 4.7.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I rarely am able to connect to my mysql database. All the effort to get it set up and now all I see is "Error establishing a database connection!". Too many people sign up maybe. I need a free webhosting with reliable mysql database for content management system.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-17   -   (IP: 207.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
*beating head on wall*  It doesn't work!

Reviewed on: 2004-04-17   -   (IP: 80.96.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-04-16   -   (IP: 216.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-04-16   -   (IP: 68.114.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This is the best free host I have ever used, the only downside is that it does have a little bit of down time (more than most), but otherwise, it is great.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-16   -   (IP: 24.202.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
i search all internet for months but all hosts are very complicated. this free webhosting TheFreeServer is the BEST of all!

Reviewed on: 2004-03-18   -   (IP: 24.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
i was loking for a host that had php and POP3. this host was great!!

Reviewed on: 2004-03-15   -   (IP: 217.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
You cannot get a worst host than this.  Nothing works.  FTP does not work.  Control panel does not work.  Terrible.  I would rate this -10 if I could.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-14   -   (IP: 80.198.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-03-13   -   (IP: 203.115.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host stinks.  2/3rd of the time it is down. I was posting a complaint on thier new forum board and after i completed typing and pressed enter, you know what...the server was down again. my advise - leave this non-working server & look in the next section.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-10   -   (IP: 196.29.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Please DON'T TRUST this host, they may seem to be good with the features they offer, but they REALLY AREN'T good. First, they have lots of downtimes, and i don't know what kind of insane money they want to do asking for 2 views of your page everyday. It may seem to be easy on the first days, but come to think of it, will you visit your site everyday? Are you sure nothing can happen that prevents you from accessing the internet? Do you really think you'll get people everyday to view your site? And believe, 9 March was the day i didn't received any page view, and i received an email on 10 March warning me about that, and after reading the email i tryied to access my site and know what? It was completely removed!  It was already boring, their server is allways down, MySql doesn't seem to work, and THEY ARE USING POP-UPS NOW! There are many hosts, please search well, don't give away clicks and page views just to make money for these guys, they seem to have obssessions for money with their pathetic ad policy.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-09   -   (IP: 68.52.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-03-09   -   (IP: 213.224.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-03-07   -   (IP: 142.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The hosting is very good, very easy to use and I have never had trouble with the hosting itself.  But it is constantly down.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-07   -   (IP: 155.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I have been building 2 websites on this host and experienced very bad services. Server was down on regular basis, usually in midnight, my site information was corrupted 2 times within one month and they abruptly removed them without any reason or warning. One time they were down for 48 hours and every bit of my two accounts were lost. If you plan to do any serious work, NEVER turn to this host. Their lousy services outweighs anything they promise.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-07   -   (IP: 62.11.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-03-06   -   (IP: 62.143.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-03-04   -   (IP: 80.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-03-02   -   (IP: 195.202.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-03-02   -   (IP: 203.113.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-28   -   (IP: 61.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-28   -   (IP: 202.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-28   -   (IP: 61.234.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-26   -   (IP: 66.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-25   -   (IP: 203.220.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
seemed like a good deal at first, and quite a generous one at that. but when i signed up, i noticed excessive amounts of downtime, constant mysql outages, inability to log in to ensim, etc etc.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-24   -   (IP: 207.173.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
2 ad hits a day is the only thing that lowers the rating, everything else is GREAT!!

Reviewed on: 2004-02-21   -   (IP: 203.151.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-21   -   (IP: 24.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It's a fairly good host. There is some down time but you get loads of bandwidth.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-19   -   (IP: 65.94.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
TheFreeServer - What a nice name for a free host, sure having a thefreeserver.com domain is better than having 3x.ro... So shall we start the review and see what the free server has to offer!

1. The features
TheFreeServer offers excellent web hosting features such as: CGI, PHP, SSI, Perl and MySQL. It allows you to have 80MB of disk space and has a bandwith limit of 3 gigabytes each month. It also has an Ensim panel wich allows you a quick and easy access to administrate your website, install new components and maintain your website. To upload your site you can use FTP or upload it using the Ensim browser interface. Please note that sometimes I notice the downtime of the Ensim panel, your site is online but administration doesn't work...

2. Speed
Ah the technology! We've gone from 66mhz to super servers but it seems that TheFreeServer hosts mayby, oh, a hundred of websites on some, oh, slow server. To make a speed comparison, I am going to make my server versus TheFreeServer: PHP rendering of the SAME php page on my server takes 0,7 seconds and it takes almost 3 seconds on TheFreeServer... I'm starting to wonder that maybe it's not for nothing that they are called TheFreeServer and not TheFreeServers.

3. Reliability
Reliability seems very strange on the TheFreeServer... Sometimes my website runs a whole week without a downtime and sometimes I notice downtimes during the night. Reliability seems the weekness of TheFreeServer.

4. Conclusion
I'm giving it a 6 out of 10... Why? Reliability made the rating go down of two points and the lack of disk and bandwith also took away another 2 points out of my rating. In conclusion, if you want to have a nice personnal website with some CGI, PHP, SSI, Perl or MySQL features, then go for TheFreeServer.


Reviewed on: 2004-02-18   -   (IP: 80.58.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-18   -   (IP: 193.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-17   -   (IP: 81.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-17   -   (IP: 219.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-10   -   (IP: 66.189.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
You can't even register for this! Forced ads! Webhost provider! Don't even listen to the ones saying it's good because its all bad and not even working! Until the broken links are fixed, it is then the worst free webhoster!

Reviewed on: 2004-02-09   -   (IP: 211.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-05   -   (IP: 211.250.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
it's more faster than before. no down from thefreeserver migration until now. cool freehosting except just one google ad. but, users can put google ads anywhere in their mainpage body.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-05   -   (IP: 148.235.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
thefreeserver up and down frequently before.
yes it's true.

but, 2/7/2004 thefreeserver upgraded! no more down and fast!
full featured. 80M disk space and 3G bandwidth/month.
quick and easy restration.
i recommend this server.
it's the best server among Forced Ads freehosting I think.


Reviewed on: 2004-02-05   -   (IP: 195.29.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-04   -   (IP: 200.223.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-03   -   (IP: 200.181.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-02   -   (IP: 194.126.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
While this server is up, it's quite good. But it's down for at least half of the time!  And it's impossible to get to Cpanel with Internet Explorer. I had to install Netscape for it...

Reviewed on: 2004-02-01   -   (IP: 81.89.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-29   -   (IP: 62.118.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-25   -   (IP: 213.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
is it ever up?!  good while it's running.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-25   -   (IP: 211.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-21   -   (IP: 80.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
very best and very fast.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-12   -   (IP: 66.167.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I guess it's pretty good... It does have good addons (Cpanel does it better), and an okay control panel, a LOT of downtime. (54 hours and counting today)... it can be slow at times.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-11   -   (IP: 203.220.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-05   -   (IP: 156.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Good Feature set, especially for free hosting. flexible web administration interface if you know how to use it (i.e. don't expect geocities "newbie" wizards).  Pretty reliable with decent speeds. Overall: Recommended!

Reviewed on: 2004-01-01   -   (IP: 217.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-12-31   -   (IP: 68.123.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great host. Fast and furious!

Reviewed on: 2003-12-29   -   (IP: 203.97.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
The site doesn't work!! I tried it and can't log in to the control panel. It stinks!! I don't even know y the mysql doesn't work. I HATE IT!!!!!

Reviewed on: 2003-12-27   -   (IP: 68.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Good free server.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-26   -   (IP: 218.103.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
When I sign up the host, I think it is good. But when I was using the mysql, it didn't work, so I just like some services of it.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-26   -   (IP: 69.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Well I have to say thefreeserver is the best free web host I've seen. you don't need to signup in forums and your get tons of features and preinstalled scrips.  aslo a conrol panel, You need to signup here!!!

Reviewed on: 2003-12-22   -   (IP: 68.125.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Good server, good support.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-21   -   (IP: 68.121.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Easy to use, plus they have ensim powertools, so you can instantly set up forums, php nuke, etc.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-19   -   (IP: 203.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-12-19   -   (IP: 68.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-12-18   -   (IP: 168.11.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
You don't sign up with two affliates; you have to place an ad script on your page that MAY or MAY NOT work which can result in them shutting down your site even if you surpass the traffic required for hosting.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-17   -   (IP: 68.123.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Good Service.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-09   -   (IP: 66.125.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great deal for free!

Reviewed on: 2003-10-24   -   (IP: 165.21.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
if you would to look at togetherhost, and then back to thefreeserver.com, you would be able to see that this two host are but a fact, managed the same. Togetherhrost has created free accounts, while thefreeserver starts it...

Anyway.. good speed, good features, all you want for a decent free web hosts....


Reviewed on: 2003-10-21   -   (IP: 67.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I signed up, and for the first two days, the host was exactly what I wanted...

now, they been down for almsot two days, without warning...or notification...its just, gone.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-20   -   (IP: 210.8.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I take my previous rating back..
The host has been down the whole day.. this con outweighs its pros.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-20   -   (IP: 206.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-20   -   (IP: 62.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-19   -   (IP: 142.173.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-19   -   (IP: 68.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great host. You gotta sign up for a few advertisments, but it only takes a few minutes and then you get awesome hosting services for free!

Reviewed on: 2003-10-19   -   (IP: 219.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Positive Aspects :
Lots of Features (80MB and 3 GB of Bandwith)
No ADS

Negative Aspects :
Lots of Downtimes
FTP is slow

Would you recommend this hosts?
Yes

How long have you used this free webhost?
1 week :>

Has this host been reliable?
5% downtime

Is fast or slow?
Very slow sometimes

Is the hosts support/features good or bad?
Features are good, suppord is very bad


Reviewed on: 2003-10-18   -   (IP: 203.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
i had tried, but i must sig 4 affi. and 1 in that i must use my money. i dont like. too difficult !

Reviewed on: 2003-10-18   -   (IP: 80.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-18   -   (IP: 80.212.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I cannot join, all the links are gone exept for one, and, I cannot guess the words.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-18   -   (IP: 80.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-17   -   (IP: 210.19.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Account was not created succesfully. Domain or username already taken. Click back and choose another username and/or domain.

I kept getting this message after a few times changing my username. It stinks. Its just a bait to make you signup with their affiliates.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-17   -   (IP: 211.29.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
You have to sign up for two affiliates and enter a word from a phase that is displayed when you do so.

The first one (winners.com) gives a different phrase from what TheFreeServers requests - but it's guessable.

Other than that it's instant access. Looks good so far.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-17   -   (IP: 81.10.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 21, 2017 -