free webspace  






Tripod

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 11 2 3 4 4 4 1 4 4 10
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  5.51 / 10

Total Votes: 47




47 User Testimonials/Reviews of Tripod

Reviewed on: 2007-10-10   -   (IP: 216.159.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I have had a free website with them for 10 years or so now. They mysteriously just decided to remove my website all of a sudden. This was a hobby of mine. I have tried to e-mail them and tried to get any kind of response from them but their customer service is horrible. Eventually I got my web site back, but now all of my files are gone, and all of the hard work I put into it are gone. I have gotten a new PC so I do not have all of the website stuff. I will never get my hard work back again. And I tried to contact them about that, but clearly they do not care about freehosting users.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-11   -   (IP: 24.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
One of my first web sites is located with Tripod, one of the oldest free web page hosts still working (founded in 1992, and bought out by Lycos in 1998). I am still keep it active for the benefit of my visitors, but would not recommend anyone starting a new free site with them. They have gone from a one banner/popup pages to a site that now puts four banners, 2 on top and 2 on bottom, as well as multiple popups. Any visitor with dial up or cable light service will stop visiting. I do not even like to go there to edit because of the huge amount of ads. Go elsewhere, but DON'T deal with tripod.lycos.com

Reviewed on: 2006-10-13   -   (IP: 190.47.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Tripod is a good free web pages hosting website, but they have very big ads over the web page for 15 seconds.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-08   -   (IP: 202.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I had used Tripod since between March 1999 to August 2001. Earlier I was with the now-defunct XOOM.com but since XOOM implemented the forced frame ads, I switched to Tripod free hosting service, as it only displayed 1 popup window per page then. However, since 2001, Tripod became popup crazy, and the popups just got bigger and annoying, causing me to move to a paid hosting service after that. Not recommended anymore today.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-02   -   (IP: 12.146.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
The techsupport is terrible. I keep getting automatic answers. The freehost puts ads all over my hosted webpage and tells me to pay to get them off.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-17   -   (IP: 68.171.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
See the previous 1-rating review below of the user whose free web hosting acount was terminated without any notice. This is exactly what happened to me (and what do you know, I uploaded Soldat to transfer too; how ironic), and the ads are just too much. I understand a banner or a popup, but while surfing a site (just 4 pages), my popup blocker reported 8 popups! Now they are using frames for thier ads, which is a problem for phpbb forums (I had a friend that hosted his phpbb forum, and the frames consumed the entire screen). Stay away from this host at all costs. there are much better free hosts out there!

Reviewed on: 2006-02-15   -   (IP: 71.104.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
As far as I know, with the departure of iVillage.com's free site hosting, Tripod is now the only free host left that uses Trellix SiteBuilder as its page editor (other paid ISPs like Verizon and Earthlink use it). Some people dislike SiteBuilder editor, but when I discovered it at Tripod, I found it was the only relatively advanced website editor I could understand and use. There have been comments about text only being able to be placed in certain area; but there are several page layouts and multi-column formats to choose from. There have also been complaints about the small 20 Mb space limit; well somehow I managed to squeeze two web sites with a combined size of around 300 pages and even more photos into that limit, with 3 Mb left over. It might do well for some of the complainers to resize their jpg photos before uploading, and not at a quality greater than 50% unless necessary. The only reason I'm not rating Tripod a complete 10 is that there are certain irregularities in the SiteBuilder webpage editor, and individual global changes can't be made easily (only whole page global changes can be done at one time). And depending on which web page design you choose, your background image may or may not automatically tile. Overall, though, once I discovered the ins and outs of SiteBuilder, I found it quite friendly to use. There are several Web gems (site add-ons) available to add some finish to your web site, and once you get used to the SiteBuilder editor, you will find building large, multi-page Web sites a snap.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-24   -   (IP: 4.253.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have a little script that you can put on your pages (if you know html) that will get rid of those POPUPS and the BANNER that is placed onto your site.

Reviewed on: 2005-12-29   -   (IP: 195.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Great host - you get to choose your type of ads. they give you a good subdomain etc. HOWEVER - the one thing that stops them getting a perfect 10/10 is their site builder. although good, it is quite annoying because there is only certain places you can put text. having said that, Tripod is a good free host, and fully deserves the 9/10 i gave it.

Reviewed on: 2005-11-12   -   (IP: 172.128.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Sure, they have 20 MB, which looks quite good compared to hosts such as Geocities (15 MB). But it takes forever to load - even on their home page. It is completely immersed in ad-land, especially their HTML Gear. All ads. This is NOT a good web host. Yahoo Geocities is a lot better.

Reviewed on: 2005-11-07   -   (IP: 69.173.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host is junk. I had an account for a few months and it worked fine. However, I just uploaded a 11 meg ZIP file to transfer to another computer (and it was a freeware game Soldat) and they terminated my account without any notice, or even an email! Unless you are just doing pictures or something, stay away!

Reviewed on: 2005-09-21   -   (IP: 210.195.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
don't you have pity on tripod.com after all what have been said here about their free hosting service? okay then, up to you. well, i agree to most of you who complained about the tripod.com banner ads and sometimes pop-ups. i said sometimes because since i used some web browsers which have pop-ups integrated, i can't seem to realize if there's a pop-up or pop-ups within a particular site. while i agree with that, i actually have been playing around with tripod for sometime now. at the very first time, i used just html - yeah, when i was still a newbie :) then i went advanced with cgi/perl and also ssi (.shtml). people said that we can't host custom cgi/perl scripts on tripod - yes, that's true and nothing to argue about it, but you have another option - get a tutorial of creating your own and make your own from that, or just modify the original (provided that it's ALLOWED by the original author). then just upload it to your CGI-BIN folder - if your config. is okay, then they'll work. guess yourself if otherwise. i have made these most popular cgi/perl scripts ==> counter, guestbook, bbs, and also poll - and they worked just the way i wanted it to be. though, for some other cgi/perl scripts like banners rotator which requires mysql database, you can't host it with tripod. but, you can do it with javascript - nothing to say no with that OOP - unless your scripts are configured incorrectly, then you should be able to see your dynamic html-javascript pages up and running on tripod. i have tried it, and everything went okay and just great.

however, i really wish if tripod.com could reduce the size of the "default" top banner - the one with a form. for new computers with good graphics/screen resolution, it wouldn't be a matter at all - i have seen one. but as for mine - with that old pc and a "not-so-good" screen resolution with just a small size of screen, it would be just annoying to see my free web pages which normally and originally centered going to have some additional space just because of that long long banner!

as with the above, tripod is good for a "just-testing" free web site - like i did.


Reviewed on: 2005-07-02   -   (IP: 84.178.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-10   -   (IP: 81.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-04   -   (IP: 68.73.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I have had an account with Tripod for over 5 years now. I was using the free webpage setup. However I designed my own webpage using Dreamweaver, since Tripods build is lame. I used the account so that fans of my music could get info on my CD(s) and me. I decided to post a few samples of my own music on my free page. They booted me and page the next day. No explanation given. So I filed a complaint with their site. They responded after five days and told me that the MP3's I listed were in violation of their policies for piracy of software, music, etc. The music was mine, I own the copyrights to the CD(s). I read their policies before I put the MP3's up and it said "Can not list material that you have no rights to, or no ownership of", Something to that extent. So after being a member for 5 years I was dropped, just like that. And for a bogus reason. Luckly some of my music is still available on www.download.com.

So becareful if you post any materials: pics, mp3's, vid clips, etc., THAT YOU OWN. They will most likely boot you like they did me, even though you have the rights to post your own materials. I think I am going to Yahoo owned GeoCities now. They have a paid plan available I might take advantage of.


Reviewed on: 2005-03-27   -   (IP: 85.96.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-26   -   (IP: 156.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-01-19   -   (IP: 82.174.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
PRO: advanced & easy to use online website builder with many highly customizable templates and many addon's.

CON: slow response, ugly & huge banner

Recommended to newbies that want to learn about web design.


Reviewed on: 2005-01-06   -   (IP: 217.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-01-02   -   (IP: 65.40.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
"Tripod does alot of things right that the others do wrong"
George Leavnas- Wall Street Journal

"This web host is magnificent"
Paul Rivers- The Inqiurer

"You will never have to switch hosts again"
Catherine Meys- CNNFN

"Tripod IS simplicity"
Greg Wells- Las Vegas Review Journal

"I have never had a better looking site"
Rob(me)- Vandread Syndicate

If these quotes don't convince you, than you are crazy, becuase Tripod is THE way to go!


Reviewed on: 2004-12-14   -   (IP: 139.223.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-12-09   -   (IP: 208.60.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I had a website, designed in Microsoft FrontPage, which I hosted on Tripod for a year, and everything was fine up until a few months ago. For several months, they begin to place their banner ads untop of my web content. Words cannot describe how very awful this made my website look. You could neither make out what was in the banners nor the things they were covering up. Perhaps, this is a tactic Tripod uses to get you to upgrade to their premium services.

I tried to complain but there seemed to be no way to do so. In frustration, I removed my website before finally finding a link on Tripod to complain to them. Mysteriously, they claimed they removed my website because of a Terms of Service violation! I told them I removed it myself! I do not recommend Tripod to anyone! They do not appear to be concerned about the well being of their customers. They will, apparently, smear banner ads all over your "free" website to try to get you to upgrade to one of their paid services. Why would any do that when they are treated like this?


Reviewed on: 2004-09-08   -   (IP: 213.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Better then angelfire.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-17   -   (IP: 199.224.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
DAILY bandwidth limits and RESTRICTED CGI (example, cannot set file permissions on your cgi/data files). No matter how great your site may be, the excessive popup ads WILL drive away your visitors.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-18   -   (IP: 151.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Loading times are long, you are allowed to have a free business plan but they will put ads from the competition to get you to go "Pro". (their pro plans cost $7.95 a month plus a $15 setup fee. A "pro" has just 50 Mb and 10 Mb of bandwidth (you can get 1000 Mb for that kind of money). The free plan is O.K., but if mean business go elsewhere.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-11   -   (IP: 67.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I was with Tripod from 1998 to 2004. Pop up ads I could live with. Then you had to choose pop up or embedded. Fine. Then it had to be embedded. Then it had to be BOTH. Now they have this sidebar thing that takes up to 1/2 the page. No thank you. Too bad really because I never had a problem with them otherwise (though I wasn't happy when they downsized free accounts from 50 to 20 MB). FTP access, reasonably short URL, it was great. But not now. They've gone ad crazy and it's intolerable!

Reviewed on: 2004-05-12   -   (IP: 208.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Even though there are banner adds and such, Tripod is a really good host; they have HTML help and cool add-ons. The support staff and community are great for getting help, and it's easy to use.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-15   -   (IP: 203.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I made a website and after 1 minute they deleted my web page because it had downloads and in the webgem section it has "file dowload manager" and i only put a song i made myself and i checked for any copyright and there was no copyright on the song which was a word doucument.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-08   -   (IP: 80.255.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-22   -   (IP: 65.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I have been using Tripod for about two years.  Overall, I gave it an "8", because I have had only about two problems with it.  These problems are A) they deleted there state-of-the-art form builder about a year ago.  B) They say their uptime is 99.9%, but it really is just about 90% of the time up.  Their sitebuilder is one of the best I've ever used.  Geocities sitebuilder doesn't come close.  Tripod's HTML editor is basic, but it does allow Java and CGI.  They do require either a large banner at the top of each page/frame (you can customize it), or you can choose to have no banner and get a pop-up on every page.  Most of the ads are kid-friendly, but I have seen a few ads before that feature "Body Enhancements".  I would recommend signing up for the $8.95 a month plan, because you get a free domain name, five email addresses (whatuwant@yourdomain.com), five pop-email addresses, and lots of MB and bandwith.  All in all, I thing this is the best hosting plan out there.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-16   -   (IP: 24.64.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Tripod was very good, never had any problems until they unilaterally eliminated the option for pop-up ads (which I never minded). Since I use frames, the advertisers got the money's worth multiple times with banners. If they recind their policy on ads, I'd go back; so far, goodbye...

Reviewed on: 2003-09-09   -   (IP: 66.157.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Tripod's become quite the ad-happy site recently--banner ads on all my frames *as well as* four popup ads per page view, one of which reloads when you "x" it out.  How the mighty have fallen.  I've moved on, of course.

Reviewed on: 2003-09-07   -   (IP: 200.175.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-08-16   -   (IP: 61.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-08-14   -   (IP: 152.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
It's OK but really their Site Builder is one of those "already full of text" things where you have to click the tiny little Edit Button delete each paragraph one by one and then add your own stuff - which is a PAIN!(Community Architect is the same way!) Lol. Also, the HTML Editor always works but it's very basic. Just a block for HTML and Text. Overall, good. Not bad at least.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-13   -   (IP: 62.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This host is alright, the uptime is 99.9% and it's a good all-around service offering frontpage extentions and php.
For those who want to upload from frontpage, use the following address:
http://frontpage.tripod.com/yourusername
That will work!


Reviewed on: 2003-07-24   -   (IP: 216.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
well i have been using this site for a while as my chat groups website i have had only minor problems in the whole time i have used it. i have only once not been able to get into my editor and i don't like that i can't really customize by adding a backgroud image the right way. oh and one more thing, when i change templates it made my hit counter go all the way back to zero but no big deal there just makes it look like i get no traffic but other than those minor things nothing else to report. that's why i gave it a 9.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-20   -   (IP: 63.161.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This host is OK. Been with them for a year. But have moved to distanthost recently.

Uptime has been pretty good in the last year.

Overall a 6 rating.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-08   -   (IP: 65.116.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It takes longer to upload 6KB of HTML to this place than three coats of black paint on 50ft square feet of fence! I only used this host for 2 days, and it was down for a quarter of time! Don't use this host seriously, but use it for a joke.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-03   -   (IP: 172.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
this host was great until about a year ago. the only complaint i had was i couldn't get their cgi search script to work.
then, they dropped my space from 50 megs to 20 megs. since i already had 31 megs posted i had to move my photos to another server......because of that i can't recommend them.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-19   -   (IP: 81.96.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Well what can I say........For ages I've been trying to get a free host for an educational site. Using Microsoft Front Page, I have been able to create a decent page! JUST CAN'T GET IT ON THE NET!!! I tried Tripod and after hours of torment and cursing the screen, I finally managed to get an upload. Unfortunatly, it only supported Text. I lost all images and had my complete page rearanged. For anyone trying to use this Host for anything other than a laugh, stay clear. My efforts continue. If anyone can help, drop me a line at hampshiresnowleopard@hotmail.com

Reviewed on: 2003-03-31   -   (IP: 211.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-02-28   -   (IP: 67.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
really went down hill

Reviewed on: 2003-02-26   -   (IP: 194.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-01-29   -   (IP: 62.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2002-12-13   -   (IP: 202.106.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2002-11-23   -   (IP: 61.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

 

Copyright © 2002-2019 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- June 24, 2019 -