free webspace  






XoomWebs

( "Xoom Webs Hosting" )

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
           
# Votes: 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 1 1 1
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.57 / 10

Total Votes: 7




7 User Testimonials/Reviews of XoomWebs

Reviewed on: 2007-10-20   -   (IP: 86.73.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I just signed up (to share family pics with my family), but .tif extension files are not allowed to be uploaded (via FTP). The signup process is fast, and the server is available to start uploading your website files in less than 5 minutes.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-11   -   (IP: 24.46.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This site is very, very slow. I have been able to pull up this site, find it on the list, and type this entire comment in the time it took to update 1 html file. Maybe the upload speed is better, but that is not how I make my websites. If I have to go at this pace, my web site will never be done. Also their homepage claims their service supports mysql databases and phpmyadmin, but they do not work (mysql is disabled on the server).

Reviewed on: 2007-08-08   -   (IP: 71.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The free website hosting site is alright for the most part. The somewhat long address is a disadvantage, but you can use DNS from other sites which offer shorter ones for free. So far, no downtime. In addition, 25GB is more than enough diskspace to work with. Excellent host! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-07-31   -   (IP: 60.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
First of all, their Xpanel web site control panel setup is awful - many of the functions are dysfunctional, not to mention the "auto-script installer" logs you out for no reason. My problem was the MySQL database. Since xoomwebs would not install my forums (phpBB2), I thought I should manually do it by uploading it via the FTP. So I did, and the quality of the FTP was surprisingly good. :-), but after I uploaded and tried to install it, a message popped up: "The PHP configuration on your server does not support the database type that you chose." So I decided to check out the phpmyadmin interface, and another message popped up: "phpMyAdmin - Error. Cannot load mysql extension. Please check your PHP configuration." Because the MySQL database has problems, the only good thing this can be used for is probably file hosting, or simple HTML websites, or maybe websites using a few simple PHP functions, in which case the freehosting with no ads should be fine.

Reviewed on: 2007-07-16   -   (IP: 203.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I guess this host would be alright if you were uploading files, but however the X-panel control panel is severely dysfunctional (often causing you to log out, and then back in again), and their sign-up email offers you to upgrade to a plan with NO ADS (implying that the free hosting plan in fact does have ads or will someday; there are no banners or ads at this time though). I would not recommend them, but their offers would entice a few users.

Reviewed on: 2007-07-09   -   (IP: 67.161.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
XoomWebs only has one downfall, and that is the fact that it has such a large address. Other then that, I recommend this! Users are provided with 25 gigs hard drive space FREE to host files! Also I will now be checking the FTP speeds to let all of you guys know how it is in there!

FTP speed: Fairly good.
Host speed: Good.
Reliable service: Yes.
Worked for me: Yes.


Reviewed on: 2007-07-08   -   (IP: 74.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
They give you lots of space and bandwidth (25 GB disk space and 35 GB monthly web traffic data transfer), but I can not seem to navigate the control panel. There seems to be some error in the control panel because it keeps logging me out and I can not seem to do anything in the control panel. I really hope they fix it fast. I tried many browsers, and still nothing worked. I don't know if it is just me.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 23, 2017 -