free webspace  






gHostShark

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
   
# Votes: 6 1 1 1 3 0 1 4 2 23
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.55 / 10

Total Votes: 42




8 User Testimonials/Reviews of gHostShark


34 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2005-07-03   -   (IP: 66.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is no longer a free service [it was removed from the free web hosting list over a week ago]:

We regret to inform you that our upstream provider has suddenly without prior notice discontinued allowing us to offer any free hosting plans. We understand their decision, because we have had several free hosting signups that have tried to host "adult" material and also exploit our system to use up bandwidth by hosting improper files.

Because of this, we have had to suspend your free hosting account. We have created a hosting plan that is for only $1 per month that our hosting company will allow us to switch our free clients to if you so wish to. This is the lowest we could go, and this will allow you to have almost free service.

This is all well and good, and I actually believed them and paid their fee, and got this:
We are glad to inform you of resuming your account:
Plan: Windows 300 MB FREE

Site was back up for about 12 hours then went back down. No FTP access, emails to their help and tech support come back "unknown", their web site is completely down, and absolutely no way to contact them. I have a feeling that they milked as many dollars from unsuspecting people like myself and shut everything down. Stay far, far, away from this one :-(


Reviewed on: 2005-06-22   -   (IP: 210.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
So far, so good. I signed up yesterday easy, and had NO problems except the one option confused me.After trying to enable PHP and ASP, neither actually enabed, all I recieved was an error saying it would cost more than I have in credit! Today, PHP is enabled without me doing anything and ASP (not asp.net) can be enabled in about 5 seconds. The best featre is ASP AND PHP on the same host, although a
slightly easier control panel would be nice.

One huge down is that it promises anonymous FTP and a dedicated IP in the features list. However, I didn't expect a free IP but anonymous FTP would be very nice (most paid hosts don't have it enabled!)

NOTE: Widndows NT host on IIS 6. Just for those who might want to know.


Reviewed on: 2005-06-20   -   (IP: 201.255.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
You cannot see your php files. I have been uploaded Php Nuke and I cannot see it because Php files are restricted in the free plan.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-20   -   (IP: 62.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This free web host has its strong and bad points. On the one hand it has good features and no ads, but on the other hand it is a terribly slow signup proces that takes 12+ minutes to load at peak times. I signed up 1st time with this hosting, clicked 'Get money back' as pure curiosity and I got my account suspended. Support are okay, but it does take lengthy times to get them to respond. Since I first signed up (about 3 weeks ago, uptimes has been roughly 90%. All in all a good host, but servers could be slightly faster.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-20   -   (IP: 60.48.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
The Service is very slow, although the website loads fast. I have downloaded the tools to update it from my website and it continually times out in a manner similar to signing up. I will provide another review if matters improve. perhaps its my inexperience with a new tool.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-19   -   (IP: 69.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Now, it may seem that I am just overexaggerating their service, but gHostShark does, indeed, deserve the 10 I have given it. Despite some problems signing up as alluded to by an earlier reviewer, I was able to sign up with this great provider. No ads, no ad banners, no popups, PGP, ASP, MySQL, FrontPage extensions, etc...etc... all for free. The only negative thing I can say is that hosts this great never stick around too long.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-18   -   (IP: 24.11.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
"INCIDENTAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES OF ANY CHARACTER INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, DAMAGES FOR LOSS OF GOODWILL, WORK STOPPAGE, COMPUTER FAILURE OR MALFUNCTION, OR ANY AND ALL OTFER COMMERCIAL DAMAGES OR LOSSES, OR FOR ANY DAMAGES IN EXCESS OF GhostShark Hosting'S LIST PRICE FOR A LICENSE TO THE SOFTWARE AND DOCUMENTATION, EYEN IF GhostShark Hosting SHALL HAVE BEEN INFORMED OF TFE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES, OR FOR ANY CLAIM BY ANY OTFER PARTY. THIS LIMITATION OF LIABILITY SHALL "

This came from their policy. Notice the bad spelling of words like "EYEN, TFE, OTFER"..etc
It also seems like everything is in caps besides their name. Hmmm...Find/Replace maybe?

They do have a decent little goody on registration and the site where a yellow - turns to a green + when you have completed a box.

testimony from their main site :
" I've had a few web hosting companies in the past and gHostShark Free Hosting beats them all hands down, no contest for price, reliability, and tech support. They can't be beat!!!"
Judging by the professional picture and the way she is quoted "gHostShark" I would assume it was a fabricated testimony.


Reviewed on: 2005-06-15   -   (IP: 212.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Though the site loads pretty fast and the offer is great, the hsphere signup system doesn't even load. I checked twice with both my ISPs and the result is one and the same - error loading the page. And it was added today, I believe? [yes, it loaded earlier today.]

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 24, 2017 -