free webspace  






NetFirms

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 6 2 3 2 3 2 4 5 5 32
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.61 / 10

Total Votes: 64




42 User Testimonials/Reviews of NetFirms


22 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-11-19   -   (IP: 24.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
NetFirms has a policy of suspending the websites based on unverified complaints. For example, I can send them an email saying that some web site is using my copyrighted logo, and they are going nuke the site without either verifying the claim or talking to the owner of the website. Their unsuspension procedure is even more bizarre -- they actually DELETE the website content (including databases and logs) and request that you'd recreate it without "offending content". You are guilty by default and get no chance to rebuttal the accusations. This is absolutely ridiculous.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-05   -   (IP: 64.60.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
This hosting company is the worst that I have ever used. Honestly their customer service is awful. They have very rigid rules on what you can and can not do to help your site do better. Any technical questions to their customer service are answered with "check google" or I have never heard of that. Now that I have dropped them I find that my e-mail address is still on the account and I have no way to get it off without contacting the company the website was done for.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-04   -   (IP: 220.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Netfirms has been an excellent free host for my basic book publishing site for several years now. The ads are unobtrusive and relevant to my site content. I created my web pages on an old Mac using Visual Page and Fetch to upload the files. FTP has been trouble-free. The registration is tricky to get the free site -- make sure you uncheck the two checked boxes for "product options" before going to the next page or it will add those piad features to your shopping cart and will not remove them unless you go back two steps again to re-choose your subdomain name.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-03   -   (IP: 24.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I had problems with their setup crashing and my files kept getting deleted, which in turn my webpages all messed up. I spent too much time and money fixing their mistakes. I agree with a previous poster: a couple years ago they WERE good. Now they are way over their heads. And ignore the 30 day money back guarentee. Do not believe it. They do not refund under any circumstances.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-05   -   (IP: 209.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I am facing same problems with Netfirms. They used to be good 4 years ago, but it seems that happened to them what happens to some companies when they grow too fast. Now they have a horrible service. I have been using Netfirms for years. I used to recommend it to my customers (what a shame). I hope they forgive me now. Netfirms says you have 10 GB of bandwidth, and with 5 users visiting my web portal, their MySQL server goes down. It is horrible, and the worst thing is to contact their technical support; it is terrible. They do not give follow-up. They send you an email asking you to reply to confirm your request, but guess what? they never answer your email. My site was down for a while and they apparently tried to fix it, but they never did. Their MySQL server is unreliable. I will not use or recommend their service ever again.
[Your domain name's website hosted by Netfirms loaded okay for me.]


Reviewed on: 2006-12-28   -   (IP: 67.142.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Netfirms is a great web-hosting site. They have excellent support -- it is not 24 hours; they had me an answer in 20 minutes! I used my own domain name (point NameServers). My ratings on NetFirms:

Support: 10/10.
Features: 6/10 (no online website builder, and not much you can do online without HTML code.)
Fast Server: yes.
Downtime: Well, my web site never went down, but their Control Panel (https://controlpanel.netfirms.com) is down a lot and loads really slow.
Banner: Better than most free hosters.
Notes: Netfirms is a great free web space host. I would recommend to anyone (and have). I used them for 3 months, and they were GREAT! Now, I am using a person's server.
So try them out free with a subdomain. What do you have to lose?


Reviewed on: 2006-08-02   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I got my Netfirms free web site about 4 years ago, and even though I almost never visit it, and have not edited the hosted web page since, it still loads fine. So seemingly they do not enforce the inactivity limit. It is one of the most reliable free web page hosting sites. There are some ads at the top of the page, but no popups, and it is not near as bad as most of the older free hosting servers, such as 0Catch. Recomended for small websites if you do not mind the few ads that keep the free web hosting reliable.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-08   -   (IP: 172.175.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Unfortunately I have to agree with the poster below who mentioned about having his free hosted website cut off after going over his daily bandwidth limit. All of a sudden I exceeded their daily usage for allowed bandwidth one time (on a golf shoe review site???). I wrote and asked that if I had ever exceeded the monthly bandwidth limit, could they show me the stats? Nope -- pay or go. I would not be doing business with this kind of site.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-25   -   (IP: 88.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
i think this is the best free webhosting site because i have been with them for a while and never had any problems.

Reviewed on: 2005-12-30   -   (IP: 205.209.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've used Netfirms for 4 years - they don't enforce the inactivty limit. The first 3 years was for a rarely used how-to-build teaching Website (they never shut my free web site down - thank you). The past year has been for a Site of the Month review article (www.web-tech-monthly.netfirms.com) which is more active. Netfirms has been reliable and has very good speed. I've only used the email tech support once, but this was fine. Netfirms is a good place to put your small business site (for free) while you get started. When you grow and can pay for hosting, you can easily trade up - their pay rates are comparable to godaddy and other top pay-for sites.

Reviewed on: 2005-10-19   -   (IP: 169.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Wow, very bad tech support and slow downs. Recommended ONLY if you are using FrontPage or something that creates web pages for you without HTML!

Reviewed on: 2005-09-24   -   (IP: 67.191.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
don't do it! I don't know much about html, but I can follow directions. Netfirms promised an easy website, up in minutes! I purchased (paid for) my website with them and it's the end of Sept. and I still can't get a decent site on-line. Right now the site is on but the headers and photos are scrambled, which defeats the purpose of being online. They also promise 24/7 tech support, which is actually non-existent. They have lots of tutorials, but if it doesn't answer your specific question you are messed up. They don't answer e-mails and their phone number doesn't seem to work. I guess I'm just out the money I spent since I haven't found a way to contact them. Not recommended for complete newbies who don't know anything about HTML or web authoring.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-22   -   (IP: 128.237.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Cheap Hosting but lots of short downtimes and slow downs. Tech Support not helpful.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-14   -   (IP: 65.196.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Good and fast server also perfect uptime FTP. But the banner is SO UGLY. but You know What, I have found out a way to recover it, so it is great for me than!

Reviewed on: 2005-02-17   -   (IP: 66.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Netfirms is the worst! They suck you in and then hijack your site. If you go over your daily limit they cut you off. Funny...their user agreement doesn't say that. It say you have to upgrade or reduce your usage. I've got a register domain with them. I doubt I ever see it again. AVOID NETFIRMS!

Reviewed on: 2005-02-07   -   (IP: 81.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent uptime record. Well featured and a useful FAQ.
A bit iffy with SWF files at the moment though. (Could just be me).


Reviewed on: 2004-12-27   -   (IP: 211.28.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
i found out that the file size is 256 kbs AFTER i got my site finnally working (from my computer nothing to do with netfirms). The banner at the top is really anoying. Service is good. if your one of those people who put large files on there site STAY AWAY! 25 mb is nothing really, 99.0 the sever is up no real downtime. for 6 months now its been good UNTILL THE FILE ISSUE! Easy to send through frontpage. Wouldnt recommend it. (maybe for starters). join for small stuff like pics or small flash videos but nothing else like large downloads.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-23   -   (IP: 192.206.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
file size is limite to 256K very very very small. This is only one drawback.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-05   -   (IP: 80.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I built a website on Netfirms, and they turned out to be very easy to use. It was on this server that I first learned how to use an FTP system to upload files, and it worked out very well. I'd recommend them, as they can make a good server on which to build both personal and business websites. It's good.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-31   -   (IP: 207.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
And yet another free web host to add to the growing list of those who either do not respond to your emails and/or fail to complete the sign-up process. In this situation, I was sent an invoice indicating that I had indeed opened a free account with NetFirms but I never received a username or password in order to actually USE my free web space. Repeated follow-up emails inquiring to this effect were not answered. And just for posterity, I would like to add that I used a 'real' email address to sign up with them and moreover I am the webmaster of a reputable site about web design. I don't understand why my account was apparently activated but no username or password was subsequently issued. Netfirms WASTED MY TIME. TWO THUMBS DOWN.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-30   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Beware... NetFirms will freeze your site!
  I hosted a site with NetFirms free hosting for 2 years.  They were reliable and the FTP always worked great.  However, the first time my site grew to over the daily bandwidth limit, they shut down my site.  There was an error screen that said that the site would return within 24 hours... but it never did.
  After several days I emailed NetFirms support, but they wrote back to say that my site was gone forever (unless I began paying them for hosting.)
  Geocities has the same bandwidth limitation that NetFirms does, but Geocities will take down your site for an hour (and it always comes back.)  This way you can reduce page weight and everything is cool.  There is no such opportunity with NetFirms... the first time you go over the limit your free hosting is over.  They hold your site hostage until you pay.  My site had top search engine placement... but NetFirms didn't care.
  Bottom line:  Use this free hosting only if you have an extremely low bandwidth site.  You may not think your site will ever become popular enough to exceed the bandwidth limitation, but you may be surprised (I didn't think my site would... but it did!)
  I recommend avoiding NetFirms and going with a free host that is more flexible in how it handles bandwidth (such as Geocities or fateback.)
  I appreciate what NetFirms offered to me for free... but I am very mad at their lack of flexibility.  I believe what they are doing borders on false promise.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-20   -   (IP: 207.70.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Wow!  Thank you netfirms for being good to me for 2 years.  I give a positive rating of 9 (10 if it wasn't for the banner).  But you know what?  For free hosting they are pretty good.  A few services have been cut back but overall netfirms continues to be a fine server for small web sites.  They are reliable in these troubled times of flaky, come and go servers.  GOOD WORK!
PS.  Thanks be to free-webhosts.com for this service.  An excellent reference that saves people a ton of time and effort.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-05   -   (IP: 212.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is great. If you are taking the free web hosting plan, then you may not like it because it has a banner on the top and it doesn't support php. Still this is an excellent recommendation because it is great for guys who are new to site making and also because of its great customer support. Also to note that is that the server rarely goes down.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-07   -   (IP: 193.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Great features for the price (I have Advantage Plan)
Very rarely the server is down.


Reviewed on: 2004-04-06   -   (IP: 12.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Netfirms is a very good free host. I have used others in the past. They start you out with a simple "Free hosting by netfirms ad" at the top. Then they switch it to a bigger ad and a Google websense ad. They do allow your own ads and business sites. If you use their "Submit site for our Site of the Month" feature you can rest assured you will have the google ads on your site very soon.

As for the picture hotlink thing, you can link to any picture from anywhere in your netfirms free website. no outside hotlinks allowed. so pictures you link to on your site open, even in a new window.

The frontpage extension make it easy for even a newbie to maintain a free website, they also have net Objects Fusion extensions available. FTP works on the free sites

All in all it's very reliable host.


Reviewed on: 2004-04-05   -   (IP: 68.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This was my first free webhost.  at first, I had no problems with it.  then, it adopted a geocities-like rule of no hotlinking.  also, you have to imbed an image in a webpage to link to it.  a 256kb file size limit and the fact that you cant choose your password right off the bat really stinks.  while I like the ftp access, I can't bring myself to give this a 5 for being a truly average free webhosting service.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-05   -   (IP: 219.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
"Starting December 12, 2003 the netfirms Basic (free) plan will no longer include Website Statistics. We apologize for any inconvenience.
To retain your statistics, we recommend you upgrade to any of our paid hosting plan where you will receive Advanced Stats." This announcement is on member webstats home.

I am thinking of upgrading to a netfirms paid plan, but the paid plan offer by netfirms when you do a comparision with what is offer on the markets it really had nothing much on offer other then Netfirm's name!!
Other webhosts are offering twice as much features for 80% lower in price!!
Back to the free plan and almost every free host are offering PHP but netfirms is offering cgi that only works 70% of the time and netfirms do not offer php for their free plan.
Netfirms is getting old in their pricing and feature, other than their solid uptime and their email support there isn't anything left!!


Reviewed on: 2003-12-03   -   (IP: 66.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This web host has great service and all but when it comes to files and sites it has way too many restrictions. You can only upload certain file sizes and can only have a certain quota of files. This is a definite NO if you want to go professional. Okay i'll give it.. 'sub-professional'

Reviewed on: 2003-11-10   -   (IP: 66.46.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Of all the free hosts I've ever tired, Netfirms is the most dependable and offers just the right amount of features, especially for being free.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-21   -   (IP: 194.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I have been using Netfirms for years, for both paid and free hosting. I can only agree with the negative comments many others have already made. Netfirms used to be by far the best free host. For practical purposes, free users can no longer use scripts, and their technical support has become uncaring, to say the least. I no longer have a paid site on Netfirms; the paid sites I have are hosted by a regular paid hosting company which gives many more bells and whistles, much better support, and costs even less.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-10   -   (IP: 213.48.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great Host. Great Help when you need it. Netfirms is the best free host ever. And you can cover up the banner if you are good at making sites. Look at http://www.toxicclan2004.netfirms.com and see how i have covered up the banner.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-05   -   (IP: 212.118.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very good, i always start with their free plan and then upgrade, CGI is limited but you should note that they don't have a choice, CGI is heavy so they limit the usage in a very fair way, their servers are very fast and they use a very fast connection to the internet, they even have professional support for free users, what is also important is that they have good plans to upgrade to. Thay also have catch all Email and a pop address for a free website, and you could ad domain names ! come on people be fair.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-27   -   (IP: 62.248.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a very good service. The best thing on this service is 24/7 support they really answer your questions and solve your problems. The worst thing on this service is banner ads of course.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-19   -   (IP: 217.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
it was good host long time ago but now script such as perl not works well for free users.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-10   -   (IP: 203.106.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Many site rated netfirms highly and as a result I registered with netfirms and used it for the last 4 months. I can see netfirms was a great free host once but they had switch gear to concentrate more on pay user.

Basically they are a very basic host the CGI and SSI is only good for occasional testing. If you use cgi or ssi frequently it can make your website look ugly because it keep showing a page that ask your visitor to return 5 minutes later and telling them you are a cheap skate and did not pay them any money :D

However, netfirms is not all bad, their FTP is very fast and dependable, their website never down and your website is always reachable. Their support FAQ is first class. I never need to contact them because of their FAQ. Netfirms control panel is simple and easy to use and it get the job done.

Supported file type are limited, only the basic one are allow. You can't hotlink from netfirms but you can hotlink to them from other web host!

If you are looking for a basic web hosts with 25MB space and you don't need php, cgi, perl or ssi netfirms is highly recommened.

I will rate netfirms as;
cgi and perl 3
ssi 3
Dependable 8 (will be 10 if not for cgi and ssi)
FTP 10
Help and FAQ 10
control panel 8
files support 5
Speed 9

average 7


Reviewed on: 2003-05-23   -   (IP: 144.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
One in the top 10.
Easy to use, reliable.
Perfect for beginner and modest size sites.
banner at top of page is not bandwidth hungry.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-19   -   (IP: 67.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Up until recently, they were very good. However, over the past couple months, they seem to be putting the squeeze on free customers to upgrade to a paid service. They do this by severely limiting cgi usage for free site. I have a message board on my site which has been rendered basically unusable now. That's why I'm searching for a new site.

Reviewed on: 2003-05-10   -   (IP: 198.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I registered with them about two months ago. The one time I needed help, the response was quick. I will definitely recommend this free host to anyone! Great host...Keep up the good work!

Reviewed on: 2003-01-26   -   (IP: 216.209.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I just signed on the other day and everything has gone as smooth as silk. For a free site, NetFirms is a 10 all the way; even better than some of the big name paid hosts I've had in the past. Way to go, folks. Keep up the great work and I'll be hanging around for a long time.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-25   -   (IP: 202.164.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very good site, especially the cgi part. Banner on top is fair enough since this is a free hosting. I've been using this for more than a year and also have several sites in it. Support is also good.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-16   -   (IP: 65.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I have had one other host and this one is easy to use, they have excellent support, email is good if you have your own domain. they solved my problems great.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-15   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The banner at top is actually a banner and a button with text link under those. A reliable webhost, and generally one of the most recommended. Probably the best for truly free hosting of domain names (other than the banner), as you can have your host at any registry - you just point your DNS.

 

Copyright © 2002-2021 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- August 4, 2021 -