free webspace  






1AspHost

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 9 7 8 4 10 4 5 3 8 33
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.57 / 10

Total Votes: 91




60 User Testimonials/Reviews of 1AspHost


31 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-05-15   -   (IP: 194.176.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
The free hosting registration appears to be dead, though maybe the problem is that they have just banned sign-ups from my country (Lithuania). I registered five times with different emails and never received an activation email, and I could find no helpful information about the problem on their website.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-23   -   (IP: 196.204.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This free ASP host was one of the best hosting sites for me. My accounts there never expire. Forget about the 60 days limit -- they never remove your account for years. :-) The last few months it has had a lot of problems. The worst one is that you can not register a new account. I tried a lot to have a new account, but I could not. It is not about limits. It is that the free web hosting page is gone for ever -- 404 not found error. The other huge problem is that I use 1 meg only of my 100 meg free storage spaces, and I try to upload files, but then I receive a server efrror that it is full (no space) message, especially when uploading zip files. That was one of the great things in this site. You can upload your whole site as a zip file, and they extract it to you on the server. :-) Now it works sometimes, but a lot of times it never works. :-( I am really sad for the site being that bad now. It was one of the greatest free hosts, especially with it allowing shockwave content. Anyway, better luck for them. Now I am using hostvivid, and it is great so far. :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-10-04   -   (IP: 60.52.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
After I registered, I could not upload files at first. It said not enough disk space. After a while, it allowed uploading files. It worked fine for few days, but then it went down. I can not go to my web page, and I can not login to my account at the moment.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-23   -   (IP: 167.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
It is often down. I am using a T1 connection, and I can not login. it seldom works.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-22   -   (IP: 216.11.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I find this free hosting company to be very poor. I would be working on an ASP script, and the web site would go down. :-( Then the next day, the web server can not even find the web page I linked to even though it is clearly shown in the file manager and it could find the web page the previouse day. :-( The only thing this free hosting company has going for it is the quick response of the tech support. But not even good tech support can cure a webserver that has too much web traffic on it, unless of course, they move some of the web sites to a different web server. But I do not see that happening. :-(

Reviewed on: 2006-06-17   -   (IP: 72.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I use this site to upload images. It would be a GREAT site if the server uptime was good, but almost every day, the images turn up as X's, and this could last for hours and hours. I absolutely hate that. If it weren't for that, this would be the best free image hosting website I know.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-26   -   (IP: 212.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This is a great host. The only complaints that I have about it are that I can't use ftp or php scripts. Still, it's a pretty good deal considering that the only ad that they force is a little text link that you can get rid of with some CSS.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-06   -   (IP: 202.150.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
all good, until they deleted my free web hosting account for no reason, so I had to find someone else.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-05   -   (IP: 67.70.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host was great until recently. It had very little downtime, but according to my website monitoring service internetseer, last week my 1asphost site was down 115 hours over 7 days! It's uptime was only 31%. It was down completely for 24 hours on Wed. Fri. and Sat. The shortest period of time it was down last week was 5 hours and 9 minutes last Monday. No response from their support, and no mention of problems on the main page. I can't login to my account. Smells like a dying freehost to me. Time to bail.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-15   -   (IP: 217.9.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Cannot upload files. Reason: There is not enough space on the disk.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-30   -   (IP: 198.45.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I don't know what to think anymore. I began using this web site a few months ago and all was great! They have plenty of free web space and bandwidth for beginners and those who are trying to learn how to script asp, such as me. Though recently the website went down. I contacted support twice for an explination and was never acknowledged. Then the web site came back online after about two weeks of outage only to come back offline two days later. It is still down as of this moment and I have never been given an explaination as to why. They could at least post an announcement on the main page, but there is nothing. As i said. It was working great, but now I don't know what to think.
[Their webserver is up again now.]


Reviewed on: 2006-01-28   -   (IP: 70.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
This host has been down for a week now! I think it's done for good! It all started when I tried to upload some files i got an error that said the server had no more discspace but I had 30 mg left. yeah, junk, unfortunately it has a lot of spinoffs.

[Their server is working now.]


Reviewed on: 2006-01-19   -   (IP: 203.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
As of a few days ago 1asphost.com went down. I requested support from their web site and got a reply about their system being down. This was several days ago and the problem is still not fixed. If you don't mind unreliable service, then by all means this is perfect for you.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-12   -   (IP: 70.191.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I've been on this host for about 3 or 4 months now; it was introduced to me by a friend and at first, it worked out really well for me. I was running just a basic webpage, no scripting (I'm too lazy to learn it; I just use html and css), and I didn't have any problems at all except for two or three times when I got the "you have exceeded your daily bandwidth" message. Annoying, yes, but it was free and the text ad was rather inobtrusive so I didn't complain. However, a few weeks ago I started noticing problems when trying to create a new file, and the entire thing just malfunctioned and I couldn't access any of my files to edit or view, and logging out and relogging in didn't work, so I had to copy what I could of my web site and open another free hosting account. Now, though, I can't access my website or any other 1asphost web site, and I can't log into my account either; it just gives me "page cannot be displayed". I've emailed them once today, but from reading the other reviews I don't think I am going to get a response. Luckily I had recently backed up my website, but I still lost some stuff. I'm currently in the market for a new host, and I don't recommend this host to anyone if you're looking for long-term hosting.

Reviewed on: 2005-12-07   -   (IP: 210.18.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is an excellent Free Hosting Site. I am using it for few months and never got any defect till now.

Reviewed on: 2005-08-08   -   (IP: 24.9.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host is a joke. There is little to no allowable filetypes, and it is a sad expression of user friendly. I submitted an asp related question to their support dept. The response was that I was in violation of their terms of service. (Warez or mp3 related). The only related item is a simple html page pointing to ZD-Net's security site, and says that you need to protect yourself from warez. This was in response to a request for support? They are a poor host, I recommend them to everyone who becomes my enemy.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-09   -   (IP: 24.191.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This is a great host. The only complaints that I have about it are that I can't use ftp, or php. Still, it's a pretty good deal considering that the only ad that they force is a little text link that you can get rid of with some css.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-23   -   (IP: 128.195.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This web hosting is WONDERFUL. I don't know what the other people are complaining about. I have been using this free web host for over 1 year, and there has been NO downtime during my logging on time. The webhost is great, no pop-up ads or banners. The file manager is easy to use, and organized. The pictures are great! They give you way more bandwith than you need, and a lot more free web space than you need. the site URL isn't very confusing, or one of those weird ones that takes you forever to remember, or type down, for that matter. This site deserves a ten definately.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-06   -   (IP: 192.118.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been using them for a couple of months now and I have absolutely no complaints.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-11   -   (IP: 80.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I wish I could say I enjoyed this host more than I did. I tried them out several months ago, and at first, things went pretty well. However, the lack of an FTP system was certainly a downside, since it made it slower to upload the files, and then later, there seemed to have been some kind of an invisible frameset that was installed, and with it came an "address cloaking effect", meaning, in other words, that the site URL stayed the same no matter where I clicked on my site's navigation menu. They've probably restored things to normal by now, but since I've closed my account with them and left since then, I can't be sure. They do have some good assets, but the lack of an FTP, and even the bandwidth level, are both troubling drawbacks. I'd say it's good for a site that doesn't have too many complicated features in it, but other than that, it's just not the server I was looking for, and may not be the best for sites with really sophisticated features included.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-13   -   (IP: 218.250.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Highly recommended. No Ad-text, no banner and no popup! Stable connection and instant account opening! On the other hand, Although it provides "Auto UnZip files" for uploading plently of files, it is not as convenient as the absenced FTP function.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-20   -   (IP: 206.116.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
1asphost is the first asp host I have ever been with, and the first few days were good. The file manager is nothing to complain about it's basic, and gets the job done, and it's simple to use. What makes me mad about 1asphost is the bandwidth limit... 11 our of 12 hours my site will be down because I have exceeded my bandwidth... I read somewhere the give you around 17 or 34 MB a day limit... Wow! About 20 people visit my site, and it's gone through the bandwidth limit. I'm not sure if this is for the first month only, or it is indefinately, but this is getting rediculous. I post links to a few guides/tutorials, and 99.9% of the people can't view them because of the ultra low capped bandwidth.

Also the tech support doesn't exist... They will never ever answer an email. When I was putting my website on the server I was wondering why nothing worked, so I emailed them. Got no response... After asking on html/css forums about the problem it turned out I needed to put the name I had used to signup in the path for all my includes, and css files. What a pain in the behind (2 hours of going through a small site, and changing all the paths to include the directory name... (oh and the server doesn't accept relative pathing: ex ../../)

The only thing this provider has going for it, is it's retardedly simple file manager, no ads, and file space. But what's the point giving out so much file space, when they give you only a trickle of bandwidth??? I seriously would rather have ads on my site if I had known about the bandwidth.

Stay away from this host. I gave it 3 because it only has 3 things going for it...


Reviewed on: 2004-09-16   -   (IP: 217.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is the WORST WEBHOST EVER! They got lots of downtime, a messed-up thing to look like a filemanager, and they cant take the swedish letters ?¥ ?€ ?¶! My community is RUINED because of 1asphost.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-13   -   (IP: 213.208.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Technical support is ZERO.  They NEVER answer e-mails.  Downtime is is also bad.  When operating speed is not bad, and the zip facility to upload whole directory structures is good. Their banner is quite unobtrusive as well. However I have now moved since the bandwidth limit per 12 hours was meaning my site was down half the time (not including their downtimes).

Reviewed on: 2004-08-30   -   (IP: 68.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
This is a terrible host. The downtime for their servers are pathetic. My website is down a lot. WHEN it actually works they are a great host. They never ever answer my tech mail either. I do run a lot of database code through ASP and I know what I am talking about. They are ok for a simple free homepage but not reccomended for anyone wanting to create a real web site with a community.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-29   -   (IP: 82.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I don't really know what to think of this. 1asphost is exactly the same as domaindlx. I've been with that one before, and suddenly and without warning, i was thrown off the server. Domaindlx was down for a reasonable period of time and asp didn't work. Domaindlx has the same IP as 1asphost.com, so I guess I'm fooled into the same server. Anyway, the server has become a lot faster and asp works a lot faster too. I hope this time they won't kick me off without any reason, then not answer any of my mails to techsupport. If it works, I guarantee this is one of the better webhosts available, with the only disadvantage that my asp functions don't work, so I'll still need my home server.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-22   -   (IP: 24.42.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
for all those who gave this free host a lower score than 10, they are wrong. THSI IS THE BEST FREE HOST EVER! NO FORCED ADS AND A GREAT BANDWIDTH! EVERYONE SHOULD USE IT!

Reviewed on: 2004-08-08   -   (IP: 68.94.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very good host; only problems resulted from downtimes. Even then, however, my site was only down for about 3 minutes. Overall, I would highly recommend to people who don't understand Cpanel...that's me...it was just too complicated.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-28   -   (IP: 84.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Bearable but loses data when "bad data detected", but this problem no longer happens. Over good.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-27   -   (IP: 217.42.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
This is a pathetic site which has gone down down down since i joined. I had a popular neopets webstie with backgrounds etc., and now none of it displays like it did before. The only explanation is that i ran out of bandwidth, but there is nothing to indicate this. My website completely failed because of them.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-24   -   (IP: 62.141.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
BIG benefit for me is UNZIP function. I can not use FTP and transfer each file separately via HTTP would be horrible. This is only one webhosting which allows such function which I know.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-28   -   (IP: 24.103.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
other than the fact it is /you it's not bad.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-27   -   (IP: 218.80.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The positives: I can show myself through the website and it makes more convenient to make intercommunion with others.

The negatives: nowadays, freehosting supports are hard for us to find and submit. It limits the expand of the internet service transfer from business to individual.

Yes I would recommend this free host.
A life-long time if possible.
So far as I know it works well.
Compared with other hosts the speed is fast enough for all users.
For personal website the support is good, because what we need all offered.


Reviewed on: 2004-05-23   -   (IP: 65.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This Free Web Site Hosting is MOST AWESOME!

Reviewed on: 2004-05-22   -   (IP: 61.172.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It's fantastic with 100M space. But the speed of the host seems to be a little bit slow.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-07   -   (IP: 134.6.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Up until the network upgrade on 3/24, this host had been getting better with less intrusive ad placement. I only had to write to tech support once (before 3/24) and response was quick. Since 3/24 tech support has been non-existent. I have written to them many times about removing the bandwidth limit with no response and no action taken. Plus, I can't access my site from home (or any site hosted on 1asphost) but I can from work (when it isn't "over bandwidth"). Given the amoount of uptime since 3/24, it is inconceivable that my site is really over bandwidth.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-02   -   (IP: 81.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Absolutely appaling customer service.  I'd been happy with them for a year - never requiring customer service - until they changed their servers and suddenly restricted my bandwidth.  The message would pop up saying I could request unlimited bandwidth by emailing them - not only did I receive no response - but I could no longer log in!  VERY disgusted with them.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-26   -   (IP: 203.49.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Seems like the upgrades are finished. I could actually get on for a while. Unfortunately WebBlocker is now picking up my site. Not sure why as there is no wierd content on it as far as I know. Seems to be blocking all aa.1asphost.com/mysite sites. This is a problem since 1asphost delegated the prefix aa to me automatically.

Also, haven't had much success getting support. Not that much is needed. It's all pretty straight forward if you know a bit about how ASP works.  I have has successusing CDOSYS for mail with an external SMTP provider, so mail is actually usable, just not through CDONTS.


Reviewed on: 2004-04-16   -   (IP: 208.38.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
They have been down since march 23rd... and counting.  Pretty soon it will be a month of downtime, and I cannot find a replacement host for my website.  Thanks 1asphost... its putting me out of business.

"Network Upgrade 3/23/2004
We are currently performing a network upgrade as a result some sites might be inaccessible.  We are moving our servers to a different data center connected to multiple OC48 backbones. This would make our network significantly faster, because we will be connected directly to the backbone of the Internet.  We appreciate your patience during this network upgrade."


Reviewed on: 2004-03-26   -   (IP: 12.23.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I rate this Host 50/50 overall they would be the best, BUT
DOWNTIME TOO HIGH ! Same for DomainDLX.com. I paste here:

"Network Upgrade 3/23/2004:
We are currently performing a network upgrade as a result some sites might be inaccessible.  We are moving our servers to a different data center connected to multiple OC48 backbones. This would make our network significantly faster, because we will be connected directly to the backbone of the Internet.  We appreciate your patience during this network upgrade."

Well we will see if they DO get any better. And if they do then I will use them. However, if they put more ads like POPUPs etc, I would rather have it as before. POPUPs like java can really slow down the sites. So I will wait to see
how they progress.


Reviewed on: 2004-03-20   -   (IP: 193.249.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
No Pops, no ads, no bandwith limit, far enough space... fine! Quite good as long as it runs. Down times are frequent though (actually I'm waiting since 20h by now for the server to run again). Problems with the upload sometimes when the upload page does not load... all in all I could imagine better, but there's no real alternative (brinkster smashes the whole design with the ads).

Reviewed on: 2004-03-19   -   (IP: 210.180.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This is almost the best. just only down sometimes (in the midnight). I like it very much. 100M!

Reviewed on: 2004-03-19   -   (IP: 68.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
The server is slow and goes down frequently.  Today it has been down 5 hours and counting.  Makes it hard to refer folks to this site.  Oh well, I'll drop it soon for a paid .NET site because of these server problems.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-14   -   (IP: 12.4.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
1asphost.com is bad.  I've had my site on there ready to go for about 3 days and I have not been able to preview it.  My site never loads.  I always get time-out errors and I am running on a T1!
Brinkster is still tops even since the recent addition of banner ads.


Reviewed on: 2004-01-03   -   (IP: 203.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I have tried it recently.  They say they have disabled the "Scripting.FileSystemObject".  I started thinking myself: So where is the power of ASP if ASP can't even control the previledged webspace on the server?  ASP is rubbish without FSO control.  The usability of ASP on this hosting is a critical issue.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-06   -   (IP: 63.159.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This site is good, no ads, however the one downside is the server goes down occasionally, FYI Brinkster now has ads similer to geocities on their free hosting. Speed wise, 1asphost is great.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-14   -   (IP: 218.64.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I think it is not good! It is so bad.

Reviewed on: 2003-09-29   -   (IP: 213.208.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Good host, no problems. recently speeded up considerably and popups seem to have disappeared.

Reviewed on: 2003-09-12   -   (IP: 203.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is THE BEST Host with ASP support that I have ever seen! Keep up the good work!

Reviewed on: 2003-08-29   -   (IP: 24.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I tried 1asphost despite the bad reviews.  They are a horrible company.  I had my site on there server and in three days the server was down twice, in the middle of the day.  Also the web site on their server was incredibly slow.

So I moved to Brinkster and have had nothing but good services from them.  It is always up and it runs very fast for a free server.  For a free server without Banner ads and able to host asp pages it is great.  If you don't mind any banner ads and you don't need a server to host asp then netfirms.com is the best.  Check it out.


Reviewed on: 2003-07-21   -   (IP: 193.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It's cool free hosting, no ads, fast, no data transfer limits!  bad is what there aren't ftp and popup... 
Cool free web hosting!


Reviewed on: 2003-06-11   -   (IP: 198.164.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
i tried to subscribe several times using different email addresses and never got any confirmation email to activate my accounts. customer support dead. these guys stink.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-03   -   (IP: 172.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
wish they would answer my tech support questions.
here are the problems i have encountered....
transfer of files between subdirectories can only be done by renaming files manually.
server has the most bizarre way of reading links i've ever encountered. any links within the site will come up ashome.1asphost.com/filename.html. note that the user name does not appear so the links don't work....putting the entire url of the link doesn't work either. it comes up as home.1asphost.com/usernamehome.1asphost.com/username/filename.html
site shuts down and you get error message "/ is not set in reference to an object...." at random times and you have to relog-in to continue....
i have had trouble with popups taking over window before page has time to load, and no amount of reloading will stop this from happening.

would really love to review the features of this host, but i simply cannot get it to work.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-23   -   (IP: 144.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Popup happy, although they are not bandwidth hungry popups.

A little slow to load.

Better ones available for size offered.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-07   -   (IP: 221.115.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Firstly the apparent lack of technical support tees me off, esp. since the signup script stuffed up and i couldn't sign up with a particular username and email address.
I like the space, and the lack of a bandwidth limit, but it does have a tendancy to be slow (or 404s), esp. during the late nights/early mornings.
They have an online zipping facility, but since my site is rather large, the download lost connection early, rendering it somewhat pointless...
Whilst i'm willing to live with popups, there's more than one.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-10   -   (IP: 61.238.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I must say that it sounds really good, it has 100mb and only 5 mb file limitation. Although, it's uploading speed is slow, i don't mind at all. Recently, i find out that it does not work on 24 hours. It's always in traffic and i just can't use it for uploading my files as people can't download or use them.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-18   -   (IP: 202.166.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
very good!!  I like it!!

Reviewed on: 2002-10-06   -   (IP: 203.126.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This site is good anough for those free web site, but there is no file protection security those Ms-Access Database files, SSL files.  That mean any visitors can just download those file easily with their web browser.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-30   -   (IP: 63.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I haven't quite got my site up yet but I feel that I can jugde its service pretty well.  The file manager is quite primitive, but as of now no ads are appearing on my pages, so I'm not complaining.  Though because of the primitive file manager it seems to be quite fast, but I'm using a t1 conection so you are going to have to take that for what it's worth.  You can only upload 5 files at a time which kinda stinks but would make for fast uploading.  There isn't a move files button so you had better make sure you upload your stuff in the right folder.  The html editor seems to work fine and is fast, but there are no tools to help people that are not html literate and there is no preview button on that page.  It's primive so I would not recomend it for people just starting out with site and have no idea what they are doing.  But if you're moving a site or making a new one and need a lot of file space and don't care about extra little frills, then this is the site for you.  This would be a great site for people like me that write out their code in Notebook.  Also CSS documents work fine on this site.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-15   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
The confirmation email says "Pop-up advertisements are displayed automatically on your web site", but last I checked there were no popups or ads yet.  File manager lets you upload 5 files at once, and has auto unzip.  You can also zip your site for download backup.  SSI and ASP tested fine.
The following file extensions are allowed: asp, html, htm, shtml, shtm, wml, wmlc, wmls, wmlsc, wbmp, as, swf, fla, xml, xsl, xls, css, class, js, inc, gif, jpg, jpeg, bmp, ico, png, doc, mdb, txt, mid, wav.
TOS says, "Sites that do not have any activity for 2 months are removed from our network."


 

Copyright © 2002-2019 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- March 19, 2019 -