free webspace  






250Free

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 8 1 2 1 3 1 1 2 6 16
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.78 / 10

Total Votes: 41




20 User Testimonials/Reviews of 250Free


21 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2006-09-01   -   (IP: 70.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I just wanted a place to put my pictures for my signature for forums. Excellent. they support FTP AND Hotlinking. :-) Of course, that is what they don't want you to do, so you have to make a cover up site. The free hosting registration form has instant account activation.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-23   -   (IP: 66.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
250free was a nightmare for a free web hosting account. the bandwidth limitation is applied as you upload files to get your pages started and count against you by deafault. the pop up ads are unavoidable while managing, uploading, deleting, and editing html code. Web pages are slow to load for people with dialups because of all the animated banners. The file size uploads size of 2mb max and 250mb bandwidth limitation are minimal tradeoffs for the inconveniences mentioned. you get what you pay for, as they say, and the only way to get rid of the annoyances is to shell out the money.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-09   -   (IP: 71.127.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
250Free would be ok, but when their webhosting server is down, there is no web page saying temporarily unavailable or similar. So forget about any kind of business going on this free website hosting. It always seems to go down on a weekday in the middle of the day, and you can't call anyone, and it takes forever or never to get a reply from help (email only). There are no numbers to call. Even upgrading to the paid 250free (sounds contradictory) hosting site offers no resolution when it is down. No explanations either when it is eventually back online. They just keep you in the dark, paid or free hosting service.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-19   -   (IP: 81.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
good free web page hosting service, and easy to use.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-23   -   (IP: 81.151.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I use 250free.com for image hosting; mainly my main site is hosted elsewhere. Although it started off well I found I soon needed to pay for the hosting due to the amount I needed. 250free is really simple to use. it's great that it has an internet based upload in it and I like the layout of the file manager. It's good because I can upload zip files and it will unzip and layout the files perfectly. The bad part of this site which has recently made me start to reconsider my hosting is the fact that it keeps having major crashes. It means that images I have on my web site fade into red squares. It is really annoying when it happens and i've found it's happening more frequently now. The site is good for people new to html and web hosting but other webhosting may be best advised.

Reviewed on: 2005-08-18   -   (IP: 202.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I have been with 250Free for a while, and I think they are great for newbies, but unfortunately the pop-ups and pop-unders (4 or 5 per page view) are starting to affect my site. I don't even like going there myself, let alone sending someone else there. I think it is wrongly advertised on WAY too many sites as banner only advertising, which is disappointing considering I chose 250Free for the reason of no pop-up advertising. The forums are great, and the webhost is active there so lots of help if you're not sure what your doing, just a shame about the advertising.

Reviewed on: 2005-08-13   -   (IP: 218.111.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Good bandwidth and storage. Almost all the time accesible, so no stability issue encountered. For the free account, I can't ask more. Just continue the good work!

Reviewed on: 2005-01-04   -   (IP: 202.133.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
there are two Google banners forced. otherwise it is best. Try it.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-08   -   (IP: 24.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I've had a free account on 250free since mid-2002.  I'm really happy about them.  It's 250 megabytes of storage, there's a reasonable bandwidth limit that no personal web site should ever have issues with, and it's free.  What could be better?

What I like:

- cost, price as described above
- no pop-up ads in Windows (however, they DO have pop-ups on Macintosh
- acceptably fast servers
- I'd have to say they've had at least 99% uptime
- Brian Salisbury is responsive to emailed inquiries

What I don't like:

- for free accounts, they only allow ftp uploads - no downloads - you CAN back your site up to a zip file on your hard disk, but you can't ftp anything down
- their ads introduce javascript errors in Internet Explorer
- Today is April 8, and their servers have been down for more than a week now.  Brian is providing updates every 48 hours or so and is clearly working round the clock to fix the problem... but still, it's been a week since they've been down.  I'd like it if he could provide updates every 12 hours instead of every 48.

If you're in the US or other country that 250free supports, and you're doing a personal web page intended for the eyes of mainly or exclusively people from those countries, I would definitely recommend 250free.


Reviewed on: 2004-04-03   -   (IP: 81.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This web host is good but currently down... You get access to php WITHOUT ADVERTS and a very fast help...

Reviewed on: 2004-04-01   -   (IP: 67.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I hadn't really researched this webhost much before signing up with it and here is what I have to say. I am one sixtieth of the way done with programming my first page, and now the site (not just my site, but the server site, visit their homepage for current info) has seriously crashed. Funny story,  I think I may have caused it, but then again I would hope not, Until now I had no experience with html so I was going back and forth from a tutorial to the website I was building, I got to the part about frames in the tutorial and made some, saved them, and have from that moment yet been able to access the site to see if my scripting even worked. I only just now read that they don't support frames, but I would hope that my attempt to use them may crash my site, but not the whole memory array, but then again it was following that save that the site crashed and has yet to return. As soon as it comes back up I think I'm going to sign out. I would rather have frames.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-13   -   (IP: 202.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is a horrible webhost...  Blocking countries like China and India...  They must be mad.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-26   -   (IP: 203.220.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
A great free hosting site, I don't find that those banned countries are a big deal cause most of them are either non english speaking, 3rd world or not very populated so not many of your visitors would come from there. I recommend 250free.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-23   -   (IP: 66.55.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Warning: You may not use FRAMES with this host, for one thing. Read through their support forums to find out what else you may not do before you sign up for any of their services.

Sometimes, the ads will load on top and bottom, but your content will not, which forces a reload. They usually have some sort of javascript error within their section of the add-ons.

Some of the banner ads on top are huge, and many are obnoxiously agitated, flashing, etc. The load time is slower than some free hosts.

On the positive side, their user interface for managing the account is adequate, and seems stable. I've used worse on other free hosts. They seem to answer e-mails requesting support (although not always well or without attitude) and also have a help forum where admins will appear and respond to comments and problems.

This host's free services are all right, but nothing to write home about. I was testing this host to see if I wanted a paid site with them, and my conclusion is that I will look elsewhere.


Reviewed on: 2004-02-23   -   (IP: 68.9.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
it's ok and useful.  However, the server is kinda slow, and not useful for hotlinking...

Reviewed on: 2003-12-30   -   (IP: 64.203.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
To balance this issue of blocked countries, we have asked members whether they would prefer to have hotlinking removed and allow all countries, or keep the blocked countries list.  They voted overwhelmingly to keep hotlinking.  We are simply following users wishes.  Please see this thread for more info:
http://www.250free.com/help/forum/viewtopic.php?t=903

Not many hosts allow hot-linking anymore.  We do.  But something has got to give regarding abuse or there would be *no* free hosting.

Thanks,

Brian Salisbury
The Big Cheese
250Free.com


Reviewed on: 2003-12-17   -   (IP: 62.38.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Though i can't find any link on their website leading to blocked.php, the page exists and is unacceptable. They stink!

Reviewed on: 2003-10-07   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Quote below is from
http://www.250free.com/blocked.php

Visitors to free accounts from these regions [below] will not be permitted to view your site's content.

The following countries may not sign-up for a free membership:

Afghanistan
Albania
Algeria
Andorra
Angola
Armenia
Azerbaijan
Bahrain
Bangladesh
Belarus
Belgium
Belize
Benin
Bhutan
Bolivia
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Botswana
Brunei
Bulgaria
Burkina Faso
Burundi
Cambodia
Cameroon
Central African
Republic
Chad
China
Comoros
Congo
Costa Rica
Cote d'Ivoire
Croatia
Cuba
Cyprus
CzechRepublic
Denmark
Djibouti
Ecuador
Egypt
El Salvador
Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea
Estonia
Ethiopia
French Guyana
French Polynesia
Gabon
Gambia
Georgia
Ghana
Gibraltar
Guatemala
Guernsey
Guinea
Guinea-Bissau
Guyana
Hong Kong
Hungary
India
Indonesia
East Timor
Iran
Iraq
Israel
Italy
Japan
Jordan
Kazakhstan
Kenya
Kiribati
North Korea
South Korea
Turkey
Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan
Laos
Latvia Lebanon
Lesotho
Liberia
Libya
Lithuania
Macao
Madagascar
Malawi
Malaysia
Maldives
Mali
Mexico
Micronesia
Moldova
Mongolia
Morocco
Mozambique
Myanmar
Namibia
Nauru
Nepal
Nicaragua
Niger
Nigeria
Niue
Norway
Oman
Pakistan
Palau
Palestinian
Paraguay
Philippines
Poland
Qatar
Romania
Russia
Rwanda
Western Sahara
Sao Tome and Principe
Saudi Arabia
Senegal
Seychelles
Sierra Leone
Singapore
Slovakia
Slovenia
Somalia
Sri Lanka
Sudan
Suriname
Swaziland
Sweden
Syria
Taiwan
Tajikistan
Thailand
Togo
Tonga
Tunisia
Turkey
Turkmenistan
Turks and Caicos
Islands
Tuvalu
Uganda
Ukraine
United Arab Emirates
Uruguay
Uzbekistan
Vanuatu
Vietnam
Western Sahara
Yemen
Yugoslavia
Zambia
Zimbabwe


Reviewed on: 2003-09-05   -   (IP: 66.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
easy to use lots of space, but it's all useless because of the 250mb bandwidth limit

Reviewed on: 2003-07-30   -   (IP: 61.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is the worst site I've come across
They deny registrations from hundreds of countries
including INDIA where I live. garbage site.
I absolutely hate this site.


 

Copyright © 2002-2019 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- January 20, 2019 -