free webspace  






4444mb

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
         
# Votes: 0 0 0 0 3 2 2 1 1 1
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.80 / 10

Total Votes: 10




10 User Testimonials/Reviews of 4444mb

Reviewed on: 2007-08-21   -   (IP: 196.35.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
At the time of writing, I have been using 4444mb for about four months.

Positives:

1. Signup/registration is easy.

2. The amount of free web space offered is generous for a free host (4.44GB)

3. The accounts/ login and file management is highly secure.

4. The CPanel works well and has an elegant interface.

5. They allow PHP pages.

6. They have a reasonable uptime.

That, unfortunately, is where the positives end and the negatives begin.

1. The server is incredibly slow. I can sometimes wait up to ten minutes for a web page to load.

2. They do not support PHP mail (same as most free PHP hosts).

3. They do not allow many file types (no .zip, .pdf, .7Z or .exe files).

4. The maximum size of files allowed is 5MB, which is too small for me.

5. They have a support center (via email), but nobody ever responds to questions or help topics.

6. Every now and again, they send emails telling me to upgrade, but the upgrade option (Hostgator affiliate link) is expensive.

7. They do not support pages with frames.

8. They place big, garish adverts on the top and bottom of every page (often having nothing to do with the content of your site).

9. Your username becomes the name of your subdomain, possibly forcing you to use an impracticable username if you cannot get a good unused one and you do not have a toplevel domain name like your-domain-dot-com.

All that said, I would recommend it to anyone who wants their own website, but who will not be using anything more than very small HTML pages.


Reviewed on: 2007-06-30   -   (IP: 62.84.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
It was good for a while, but now there are too many problems. And the CSS file is gone all the time when I try to edit the page.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-27   -   (IP: 122.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
It is quite a good host with php script ability, however I have been receiving spam from 4444mb. Every day they email their mailing list (all users) to "upgrade" their hosting by signing up with Hostgator using their affiliate link. I suspect the web hosting site will be for sale soon, and this is their last all-out effort to get commissions before they sell their website.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-09   -   (IP: 124.7.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
It has been down a lot! I was very happy with registration process and ftp access, but now it is really bad. I am looking for some other similar service providers. It was up a few hours back, but I could not login, and when I tried the "forgot password" help option, I did not get any mail even after trying for 5-6 times. I am looking for something else!
[It is up now, and the control panel login works for me.]


Reviewed on: 2007-04-04   -   (IP: 75.2.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This site has been down for 3 days. I was unable to access it. I did not even get 404 errors anymore. It was just GONE! What a disappointment.

[2007-04-07 - The website is up now. The owner/admin said 4444mb was down due to a server change. There are now Google ad-links at the top of free web pages, in addition to the footer link back to their freehost home page.]


Reviewed on: 2007-03-15   -   (IP: 24.205.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[Reply to the 8-rating on March 10 below:]

I am the owner of 4444mb. We forgot to change 8888mb to 4444mb on our description; since I am the original creator of 8888mb, I can copy my own work, can I not? We do not send spam. I reside in California where it is ILLEGAL to send spam. Also in order for us to even contact a user, you must click on the activation link through the email. So the spam is not from us (regarding the user's comments below). You may want to check your spam folder to see if the e-mail was sent there. If not, try signing up again. Thank you for everyone's interest in 4444mb.


Reviewed on: 2007-03-15   -   (IP: 60.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Fast registration process, fast speed (web pages load quickly), and great web hosting service.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-14   -   (IP: 201.208.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
If this hosting is in any way related to the previous free hosting site, 8888mb.com (which has been down since March 1), then DO NOT USE IT, because I have put a lot of hard work into building my website, and when I wanted support it never came! One day they stopped existing whithout even bothering notifying they would go down! And all the hours of ftp and adjustments were gone! Good thing I had a web site backup! Anyway that is not the professional way of making a business.

[
The admin relpied: I was the original creator of 8888mb, and it was the NEW owner's decision to shut down 8888mb, not mine. I did not have any control over that. So do not worry.
]


Reviewed on: 2007-03-10   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I signed up with a Yahoo email address, and the activation email was sent instantly. After filling out some more user info, the account details were also sent instantly. They seem to have copied the 8888mb.com site, as their homepage erroneously claims to give you a subdomain on the 8888mb domain (although your subdomain looks like username.4444mb.com). There is a red text link at the bottom of each free webpage that says "4444mb.com - FREE PHP & MYSQL HOSTING". PHP version 5.1.6 works, and the free web server is very fast. Error 404 pages go to the 4444mb.com error page, which is reasonable (not a page full of ads, like some free hosts). In the control panel is an icon for support tickets where you can contact them. In the file manager (which has an icon of a truck) there is an icon beside filenames that you can click to change the permissions (chmod), which I do not remember seeing that feature on other freehosts using the LayeredPanel.com web panel. The chmod feature is a bit limited, and probably confusing to beginning webmasters, as there are no instructions for it (experienced webmasters should easily figure it out though). Overall, it is pretty good free PHP5 hosting service, as long as this host does not become like the other sites this one has copied that rely on Hostgator affiliate commissions from so-called "upgrades" (most of the oldest ones like this have closed now, which should make it evident it is not a very profitable business model to follow).

Reviewed on: 2007-03-10   -   (IP: 58.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I signed up with a Gmail email address, but got no activation email. I verified my email server (gmail) is working by pop login and local web logon, and sending and recieving emails is 100% ok. I even checked the spam location where email might end up, but no sign at all. I checked over several hours, still no email from them. There is no contact to 4444mb.com, as there is no support forum, no "contact us" link, or any other webmaster link that I can see. And to top it off, there was a noticable increase in spam to my email account since attempting to join up! It might be coincidence, but who can tell?

[There are hundreds of subdomains on 4444mb.com already indexed in Google search engine (and I just signed up also), so the signup does work (I did not test with a gmail address though -- see next review).]


 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 20, 2017 -