free webspace  






Eccentrix

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
           
# Votes: 2 1 0 0 0 2 0 3 2 0
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  5.80 / 10

Total Votes: 10




9 User Testimonials/Reviews of Eccentrix


1 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-01-14   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Eccentrix offers free web site hosting service with 50 MB file storage space, banner at top of free webpages, zip upload, WYSIWYG editor, 900 MB/month bandwidth, website statistics, and scripts such as form mail, counter, guest book, and messageboard forum. But their eccentrix.com website (including all freesites) are Google-banned (PR0 and totally de-indexed), seemingly due to their hosting spammy web sites that blog spam other websites, as well as selling off-topic links on their own homepage; so this is not a good place to host a real website. On the other hand, if you want to put stuff on the Internet that Google will not index, then maybe this freehost is usable for that. Too bad, as it was one of the oldest free web hosting providers still  working.

Reviewed on: 2005-11-20   -   (IP: 68.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Personally it's a good start up on those coming into hosting web sites, and it's alot better then I've seen out there. The one major problem I have encountered is that when the website goes down, it goes down hard. I've been using it for about 2 months or so and it has gone down twice, which stinks, because I use it for a new on-line business and net to start out cheap before you go big. So this is the one major problem I've found with the web site; otherwise it's not bad.

Reviewed on: 2005-09-26   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
"Due to Abuse, new signups have been restricted temporarily"

Reviewed on: 2004-12-08   -   (IP: 66.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It is decent. There are actually no ads at all... but the bandwidth is too low.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-15   -   (IP: 217.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Quick and easy sign up.  You get pre-installed scripts.  One of the scripts is the wwwboard - and that is disgraceful.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-16   -   (IP: 195.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
i've used eccentrix for just about 3 weeks, but i'm absolutely satisfied. the ftp-upload makes it very easy to upload your website. you can also upload zipped folders or other urls. there is no adverstising yet and i hope, they're not going to put any on my site. the download site is average. once you've uploaded a file you can immediatly see it. i would recommend this host to everyone having a personal website.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-15   -   (IP: 128.195.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Possibly the best for different file extensions that make computing more productive.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-17   -   (IP: 209.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
There is a gross lack of documentation and help files. If you're new to the Internet, be prepared to figure things out on your own.

If you do decide to upgrade to a payed account, your free Eccentrix address becomes the pointer for your registered domain. The server configuration does not change at all.

If you do not use FTP software to upload files, good luck. Signing on from a browser command line rarely works.

Eccentrix was demolished by a cyberattack in the past which lost more than 70% of online accounts. The security response was to limit file extensions and all .zip files get unpacked in your target directory upon upload.

This is all happened on a payed account in good standing. I
do not recommend Eccentrix for anyone because sometimes cheap hosting can be more trouble than it's worth.


Reviewed on: 2002-10-02   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
It's been awhile since i used this hosts, so don't really remember too good about it. but all i can say it just got worse, FTP is no more in free accounts.  If you want FTP you need to pay for it $1 a month.  It's not much, but hey this was supposed to be free.  No idea how the browser upload works.  Instead of banner i get these popup ads. Could be nice host, but these changes don't really promise good.

Host could have earned 7 maybe even 8 but now its just these hosts that are 13 in a dozen, and browser upload.

Server in Dallas, Texas.


 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 18, 2017 -