free webspace  






EcwHost

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
   
# Votes: 6 1 0 1 1 3 1 1 4 45
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  8.51 / 10

Total Votes: 63




44 User Testimonials/Reviews of EcwHost


19 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2005-03-11   -   (IP: 84.64.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The free signups have now sadly closed. This is because they can't cope with anymore free websites. Their pages all have MySQL error displaying also.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-10   -   (IP: 83.103.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Hosts only english websites :-(

Reviewed on: 2005-03-09   -   (IP: 84.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best freehoster ever! I'd give it an 11 if I could. The staff are kind, and quick. I did get rejected, but paid for the Sapphire Package. Also, there are some good perks you get when you sign up :-)

Reviewed on: 2005-03-08   -   (IP: 81.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have only recently been a member of ECW Host but the service has been brilliant. They provide you with an ad free service with loads of features. They are very generous, it's like having your own server. Take a look for yourself. They have very little downtime from my knowledge. There has been some problems with the registration involving the validation code but the admin has said he has now fixed these problems.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-06   -   (IP: 62.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Nice host, full of features, fast and stable. I've only used for 3 days but I could already feel it is great. The downside seems to be the registration. It keeps telling you you entered the wrong validation code even though you entered it properly. JUST KEEP TRYING, it will eventually work. Finally, nice work ECWHOST, keep it up.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-05   -   (IP: 217.154.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Tried to sign up in the allocated times as this host is getting such good reviews and all it says is validation code invalid. It will not go on form here. Tried several times during the time and still the same, even had somone else enter the validation code, incase it was me but still the same.

[
See:
http://ecwhost.com/forum/showthread.php?t=122
]


Reviewed on: 2005-03-04   -   (IP: 62.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Offers very much, good speed. Installing software like PHPNuke and phpBB goes very fast. Best free host I've ever seen!

Reviewed on: 2005-03-04   -   (IP: 66.38.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I am writing this review with only two days of experience with this host. It was a quite smooth transition from another free host which has stopped its service. I have read someone saying that short signup time is a problem. But I personally liked it and waited till the time. I signed up there and got my server login information within about an hour. The interesting thing is you have to write the reasons for your hosting on this server. I liked it.

The cpanel works pretty good. 5 ftp accounts which is more than enough for me. They are giving 3 SQL and 3 Post-SQL databases which is really a bonus. Above all, 100 MB disk with 2000MB transfer a month with all the nice features is really appreciable. Server is also fast. So, give it a try. I am sure your site will be up within one and a half hour!


Reviewed on: 2005-03-02   -   (IP: 131.155.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
fast, easy with FP extensions, no downtime, no banners. Where do you get 100M like this? If you have a problem with the very narrow registration window, I suggest you go elsewhere.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-02   -   (IP: 213.202.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
As soon as I signed up with ecwhost free accoutn I knew this is one of the best hosts around, as soon as my old paid host finished up I know where I'm sending my business to!

Reviewed on: 2005-02-28   -   (IP: 68.62.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Ecwhost.com is packed with features and they give you the freedom to use them all. I manage two retail websites with another service and pay over $200 a year and I get less features and control over my account with them. When my time is up with that host, I'm switching them over to a paid Ecwhost account. Ecwhost has great reviews from their users on thier forums too. I guess the only downside is the time window to setup a free account, but it is well worth the wait. If you want a great host with tons of features, then this is the place for you.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-28   -   (IP: 81.136.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I came here after Post2Host 'died'. Apart from the signup time limit I love it.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-24   -   (IP: 24.222.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I tried several other "free" hosts before getting this one, and I had problems with the others, either ads or lack of service. This host is the greatest - as a newbie I had lots of questions and got all the support I asked for - a personal reply within minutes, usually. There are absolutely no ads, but all kinds of features. It's worth waiting for Thursday's sign-up - everything proceeds very quickly after that. I haven't been around long enough to comment on reliability but I wouild definitely recommend this free web host.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-21   -   (IP: 80.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Ignore what the 2 and 1 reviews are saying: they're not getting the full picture here. Ecwhost is a very reliable, very fast and very free service which I love immmmensely. If you catch it on the signup window, you'll be set within hours, guaranteed. If you can't be bothered to wait for the signup window, then that's clearly your loss.

Ecwhost don't con you like other free webhosts do: Ecwhost has no forced advertisements and doesn't play down its features with a convoluted menu system. You'll be equipped with cPanel right from the outset and you'll have all mail, cron, PHP, Perl and SQL tools at your fingertips.
Couple all this with more-than-generous space and bandwidth limits, and you've got a webhost you'd be hard pressed to have a problem with.

If you DO happen to come across any problems, contact the server admins through the Ecwhost Support Forums, or their IRC server and they will give you prompt, helpful and more importantly PERSONAL advice. (Nobody wants to talk to support robots, or hardly trained tech-support lackeys now, eh?). Full marks all round. Trust me, wait for Thursday.


Reviewed on: 2005-02-15   -   (IP: 81.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Fantastic web hosting, ultimate level of support. I would reccomend this host over all others. I have been using the web host for nearly 2 months. If there is ever any downtime you are alerted to the reason why by e-mail. EcwHost is very fast and the ULTIMATE WEB HOST.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-13   -   (IP: 139.168.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the BEST web hosting service i have found and they have easy addons like forums and gallerys. No ads as well. Brillient!

Reviewed on: 2005-02-05   -   (IP: 210.245.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is the best i've ever run into. The staffs and especially the admin, known as Nick, are very quick, kind and helpful. The host quality are excelent, the speed is amazing. I'd recommend this host to every friends of mine. Wishing you guys at EcwHost.com many success and thanks again EcwHost, for hosting my site.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-04   -   (IP: 69.208.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the complete BEST free webhost on earth. For one thing, they are upgrading features almost everyday. For example, when I found this web host on this site, it said that the bandwith was 350 meg and there was 70 meg space. But when I went to the site, It turned out that that the bandwith had been upgraded to 750 meg. Then, shortly after I signed up, Fantasico was added. And just recently the space was upgraded to 100 megs and the bandwith per month is now 2000 megs (as of 2/4/05, there's a chance its been upgraded even more by now). The speed is also great. Although there was some downtime when they recently upgraded there server (like I said, upgrading features everyday) I haven't noticed any downtime since then. And with 3 MySQL and 3 PostgreSQL I can install forums, blogs and all lot more stuff in Fantasico. It also includes FTP which is very nice (I use it with Dreamweaver). Just to tell you, you should check out there site for the features because there is a good chance that there features are better then what is says here. The bottom line: If you want a good, fast, reliable host with lots of features, Ecwhost is for you.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-29   -   (IP: 213.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Over the years I have tried many free hosts and after at least 5 years searching I have found what has got to be the best free host. Other reviewers have said about the signup page being only from 6-9pmGMT on a Thursday and quite frankly - so what? if you want a reliable, rock solid server then you shouldnt let a little thing like that put you off. I notice someone said the host cares more for paid host accounts, while everyone is happy for money in their pocket the support forum is thriving with activity and responses from Nick, if you have a problem he replies. I admit that in the time i've been using the host (several weeks) I have had problems (ftp cutting out, CPanel not working, Site not there), BUT at the time the host was in the middle of a server move, and now the new server is up all the problems I had have dissapeared :-) Recently there was some major downtime (2/3 days approx.) but not only did the site index eventually display a message informing us of the problem, but we also receieved emails when it was almost fixed and a full account of both what went wrong and the preventative measures were posted in full in the forum. Nothing is hidden from the hosted accounts is what i'm saying, you're informed of whats happening and thats a very good thing and not something most free hosts would (or seem) to contemplate. Since the downtime the host has been up and is as fast as it can be for a poor 56k user ;) The features are great and my only small niggle is that occasionally the CPanel will tell you that you have Unlimited Storage rather than the amount left out of your 100mb account. In short if you want a free host thats fast, reliable, full of features, low downtime and has a support service I wish some companies had then this is it. A friend of mine just signed up as well and he's as happy as can be with this host.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-29   -   (IP: 65.94.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very great web service. Best one i've been through!

Reviewed on: 2005-01-27   -   (IP: 84.112.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
There is a saying, doing business without advertisement...

And, now i say, you are not gonna like them b/c they dont allow you to. (Subscription is almost always diactivated -if there is any in the first place. Or else, you must do nothing else, and watch thier site every minute, in case they show up)


Reviewed on: 2005-01-27   -   (IP: 61.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great Stuff, Simply the best. Had no problems in signup and got phpwebsite workin ... Amazing!

Reviewed on: 2005-01-26   -   (IP: 24.236.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Has anybody noticed that PAID ACCOUNTS are not restricted to Thursdays? They care more about their paid users, just like the rest of them.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-26   -   (IP: 82.44.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best webhost i have ever seen.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-25   -   (IP: 212.98.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best webhosting site i ever saw, and the support is really great!

Reviewed on: 2005-01-25   -   (IP: 158.234.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a great host, the best I ever had. It is very fast, has enough space, support is better than best, Nick rules!
And bandwith is not 350mb/month but 2000 MB/month! Which is enough for me. Paid packages are also cheap!


Reviewed on: 2005-01-23   -   (IP: 81.131.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
My website hosting has been down.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-21   -   (IP: 141.149.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Great host, awesome features, low downtime, very fast, just what i wanted! definetly would reccomend it to anyone. they just have to make sure they get in the right timeframe (its especially hard when you dont live in the same timezone!).

Reviewed on: 2005-01-20   -   (IP: 81.245.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great host and very helpfull from the Ecwhost team. Thanks.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-20   -   (IP: 67.21.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Wow, this was a refreshing find.  An easy to navigate and understand website, that gave me a very quick response!  The services and features are plenty for me.  The control panel for me was extremely easy and self-explanitory.  Even though signups are only for a short time, it is worth the wait, and this would seem to discourage "junky" websites, which benefits you.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-17   -   (IP: 213.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The sign-ups are back.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-01   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
EcwHost.com is moving servers shortly, and free signups have been closed in the meantime, they will open again after we have moved, at some point in january.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-31   -   (IP: 203.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Outstanding service.  Personal and friendly staff.  I can't see myself ever needing another webhost.  10/10 great job guys.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-31   -   (IP: 217.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been with this host for a few weeks.  The experience is incredible.  Reliability is solid.  Server speed is fast.  Loads of features.  Cpanel is not restricted like many other free hosts.  You have to get an account to appreciate how good this free web host is.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-29   -   (IP: 68.149.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very good host. Would be a 10, but the cPanel (control Panel) is a little confusing until you get used to it, and learn how to use it. I use Ecwhost to run a forum for my High School, and when I first started out, I had no idea how to use cPanel, but the admin, (as we know only as "Nick", making him MORE omniscient) was as helpfull as can be, and now I can wiz through cPanel, no problem! Extremely glad I found Ecwhost. Personally, I use the "Free" package. Due to the fact that I'm under 18, and therefore cannot use Paypal :-(  (Should be a 9.7, but I just kinda rounded it, because theres no decimals.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-19   -   (IP: 68.52.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Constantly upgrading features. Not a fly-by-night host, great for developers. very impressive!

Reviewed on: 2004-12-15   -   (IP: 192.116.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Amazing free host! My website has been hosted with them for two weeks, but I didn't notice any downtime. cPanel, emails, statistics, support forum - everything work 100%. And signups only during 3 hours on Thursday? No problem at all! I signed up, after two hours I received my login information and after another ten minutes my website was running on the web. I put a small text link Hosted by EcwHost.com on the bottom of every page of my free website.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-10   -   (IP: 213.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I got my website when an admin had opened the sign-up for a few mins.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-04   -   (IP: 203.115.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
this host is great in terms of service, features and speed. all of this makes the limited signup window insignificant.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-19   -   (IP: 203.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
oh great, a copy of AS-Hosting (for those of you who don't know, AS-Hosting only had their signups open tuesdays/thursdays).

Reviewed on: 2004-11-09   -   (IP: 82.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great! Bandwidth has just been increased to 750MB, and signups are now open for 3 hours, instead of the one before according to the signup page. I got an account when an admin opened the free hosting for a few minutes yesterday, :D All worked perfectly so far!

Reviewed on: 2004-11-08   -   (IP: 66.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
This host has great features! Cpanel! But the bandwidth limit is a joke! 350mb? Plus, they only allow signups on Thursdays now, for one hour even! Whats up with that? Advoid this host.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-08   -   (IP: 67.49.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
"Free hosting signups are open at 6 PM GMT (GMT+1 during daylight saving) for one hour on a Thursday. Please visit back then to sign up."

Wow that's so not useful.


Reviewed on: 2004-11-08   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
PHP Version 4.3.9 and SSI tested okay.  Great features.  Only bad thing is the low bandwidth limit.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 24, 2017 -