free webspace  






FateBack

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 9 9 9 5 6 10 12 43 39 156
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  8.40 / 10

Total Votes: 298




168 User Testimonials/Reviews of FateBack


130 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-05-20   -   (IP: 200.75.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
FateBack worked well for me for about a month, until (for an as yet unexplained reason) their server apparently crashed or otherwise malfunctioned, in mid May of 2007, and so my site has simply disappeared and their home page (fateback.com) is unavailable as well. It has been OVER A WEEK since that happened, and absolutely NO explanation has been forthcoming from FateBack. This makes them an unreliable partner so, I am sorry to say, I have decided to move my website elsewhere.

[
The IP filtering system for FateBack and FreeHostia is not working correctly, and so is blocking several huge class-A IP blocks. They know of the problem and are working to fix it. Their website and the free websites hosted by them are up, but unfortunately blocked by a large number of people, temporarily.]
]


Reviewed on: 2007-04-28   -   (IP: 212.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
If you are looking for a freewebs server, try FateBack and you will not regret. It is the best.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-17   -   (IP: 86.143.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The best free web site host ever, easy FTP upload, great to use, absolutely no problems with this freehost server. forget all the lousy webhosts. Keep the good work up, and don't turn bad please! HIGHLY RECOMENDED.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-26   -   (IP: 84.204.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
My free web site is hosted almost 4 years with them. The web hosting runs smoothly, and the website never was down for more than a very short period. Connectivity is good, and FTP access is working OK. The advertisment banners are nice and are not annoying at all - no hateful pop-up windows, as with many other free hosting services. There is an associated POP3 account. It worked OK till March 2006, but was overfilled with spam - a few dozen spam letters daily. The POP3 seems to have been blocked or disabled now: only occasional spam rarely forces its way to my postbox, but my or others' test messages are bounced back as well. Then, a POP3 account is not such a neccesity.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-16   -   (IP: 208.51.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Fateback has been a great free host company for me since I signed up, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in finding a reliable freehost service. I have been using Fateback for about six months now, and there has never been any server down time that I have noticed, plus, Fateback loads reasonably fast. The support is excellent, except that Fateback supports only html text, which means that one cannot upload files like .php or .asp. However, I am in love with Fateback for the other reasons above.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-15   -   (IP: 216.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've used FateBack for several years now, and even though I mainly use a budget host called IX Hosting (which I'm also very, very impressed with), I still host a lot of webpages with FateBack because it has hung in there with me when many other hosts where going belly-up every day. And through all those years I never saw them go down even once. I've moved websites more times than I can count, and regardless of whatever limitations a free hosting plan might have, in my opinion speed, reliability and longevity are the 3 most valuable assets any web hosting company can have. FateBack definitely has these 3 qualities. As far as comments here about the file manager being inadequate, FateBack allows FTP, and no browser interface can come close to the wonderful world of SELECT ALL/ Drag and drop. The top banner made me a little sad when they stuck it in there, but it's narrow and sleek, fits in well with just a couple BR tags between it and your title, and it doesn't trigger my epilepsy with flashing lights like some banners. The 200K file cap is disappointing and you may have to compress a few images, but anything over 200K slows down your web page loading anyway. And for Fateback, it keeps their servers running good by keeping download traffic to a minimum. Besides, it's good manners not to store files on free hosts. I don't know about their customer support, since I've never needed to use it, but the reviews posted here seem favorable. Anyway, just wanted to throw my 2 cents in because this free web hosting company should not be overlooked. If you don't need a lot of bells and whistles and just want top-notch dependability and good bandwidth, then you should check out fateback.com. They've consistently maintained the quality of their service for 5 years, and hopefully they'll be around for a long time.

Reviewed on: 2005-12-29   -   (IP: 195.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I am being hosted here since more than three years, although now i am going to move away (maybe to paid host). it is just because of the lack of scripting support. During this three years i experienced great uptime - truly neither me or anybody else could catch this host being not functional so far. The speed is also great; everything loads fine in reasonable time. Although they have a top ad, it is not that bad like at other hosts. It can fit well in any theme - although it is true that it makes framed sites impossible (but this apply to any other host having forced banners). The 200Kb limit can be bad. Although for typical sites - like mine - it was perfectly sufficient. i only needed to cut an archive in multiple pieces because of this once. HTML files and images can fit in this well. By the way the old file manager comes from that it was preserved from the first FateBack site which had completely different - i think more unique - theme. Use FTP instead! (It is a good point too that it has FTP support). So in overall this is a very good stable and reliable free host. If you sign up, sure you can rely on them - the package was not changed ever since FateBack was born - only the top banners were added (Although they mentioned that they will add banners from the very beginning; maybe it just needed some time - at about a year - to make their scripts relating to this working).

Reviewed on: 2005-07-26   -   (IP: 70.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
First time webhosting and found this to be pretty simple to use. I had no problems uploading files but the file size is way too small. I have emailed customer service several times with questions and they all answered quickly and were able to solve my problems. The file manager is a little old looking but for someone who doesn't need all the bells and whistles I am happy so far. I have been able to access my site now for about a week.

Didn't like that there was no site builder/html editor on site. However I have one I use on my computer so it just took me a little to get use to not being able to look at one on site. If you don't have an HTML editor you need one to make your pages.

I would definitely recommend this site! Fast service, good customer support, basic upload are all worth being free.


Reviewed on: 2005-06-14   -   (IP: 207.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I don't understand why anyone would rate this host as good as ATSPACE.COM which essentially offers the exact same service (and probably uses the same server software) but does not force ads. FateBack may have been in the race longer but they are certainly no longer the lead dog.

[
Reply by FateBack:
"The users are rating the service offered by FateBack.com, because they probably like it... The ORIGINAL software was developed by FateBack.com team during 1999-2001 period. The same software with some minor and insignificant changes is running on AtSpace free service. So, WE ARE PROUD that our products are rated so high and it seems that THEY ARE QUITE USEFUL for many webmasters around the world!
Nikolay Blaskov (Vice President)"
]


Reviewed on: 2005-06-02   -   (IP: 24.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Make that a 10+. Fateback is my personal favorite in free hosting, out of all others I've tried. In all the time I've used it, I've never had problems of any sort. I've always preferred the YourName.SiteName.com format, and Fateback's option to create multiple Vhosts is a great help in page maintenance. I know  I'll be using Fateback for a long time into the future.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-26   -   (IP: 202.133.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I like this free webhost because i find out that their services are reliable. Their systems works fast and good. I've used this free webhost just in a few weeks. but i have already published my free web site. I did that for only a few days because they serves fast. They support/features good, but the only thing i want to recommend is to enable the directory indexing...:) hope this will be granteed.
Thank you for your free service. i think you best all those who give free webhosts. your web host is very good. But also i find difficult about the ads. i also recomend that the ads will be pop up only and open new browser and not to be attach in the page. But still you gave a reliable service to your costumer. Once again, thank you. You're really the best free web hosting.


Reviewed on: 2005-03-09   -   (IP: 69.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very decent free hosting. The best and most amazing thing about them is their customer support -- it's actually there for you! You get fast responses, polite and willing to help. Not every paid service has such a great customer service. There's nothing to complain about: they do provide what they promise to and it does perfectly work. The only reason I'm not giving them 10 is too primitive control panel. Yes, there are other webhostings out there who provide more; but if you just judge this web hosting (not comparing it to others), it's very good and reliable.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-07   -   (IP: 144.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have used Fateback's free web hosting for over a year now and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone else. It's easy to use and there are no pop up ads, just a small banner ad at the top of the page. I also like the File Manager, which makes uploading pages very easy for a novice such as myself. The service has been reliable and as far as I know there hasn't been any downtime at all in the time I've used it. Loading time is satisfactory considering I'm on dialup. TechSupport is excellent and not only did I receive a quick and very courteous reply to my email asking for help, I got the requested help. The only negative thing I could find to comment on would be the restriction on file size which might be a drawback for some people but is no big deal to me as I mainly only want to upload image files and the allowed size is plenty big enough for jpgs or gifs.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-01   -   (IP: 24.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I cannot say anything bad about fateback. Their customer support is very quick. I have used fateback for one month now and they have been very reliable. My free subdomain is very quick. With the free subdomain, you have 60mb. You can only upload in 200kb chunks. FTP access is great. Very small ad-bar at the top of the screen. Not intrusive and loads quickly.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-10   -   (IP: 69.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Free Web Hosting (FateBack)IS THE BEST yet on the net - FAST, EASY TO USE. I recommend this free hosting service. Thank you for giving me the chance to start my buisness the aesy way.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-10   -   (IP: 202.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
a good free web hosting service so far. i'm new with this service but i like it. the banner is small, nice. honestly, it is still slow. i like to recomend this free hosting service.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-05   -   (IP: 80.228.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Webspace is good, except that it does not allow PHP. But except that i would recommend it. It is fast and good. I like, that i got the webspace really fast, but i dont like it that i cannot use php on it. I just wanted to test teh free web space out. It loads the website fast, that is also good. But now i want to cancel teh free web hosting.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-03   -   (IP: 65.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Defeinitly the best free host I have ever used.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-31   -   (IP: 69.154.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Banners are in everyframe, and style doesn't go with my current website. it throws off the whole design of my website, well (it did).

Reviewed on: 2004-12-31   -   (IP: 83.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Good support in case of problems

Reviewed on: 2004-12-29   -   (IP: 80.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
That's very good free hosting service.
60 MB Free Web Hosting
Free Domain Name Hosting
Free Sub-Domain Hosting
Free FTP Hosting/Account
Free Unlimited Bandwidth
Free POP3 Email Account
Free Account Set up
Free Host of Your Pictures
Free Host of Your WebSite
Free Host of Your Files
Free Web Page Hosting
Free Domain Name Server
Host Unlimited Web Sites
Web Based File Manager
Advanced Control Panel
Fast Linux Servers
24/7 Network Monitoring
Reliable Data Center
Ultra Fast Network
Small Banners - 20 Pixels
Stable Hosting Software
99.5% Uptime Guarantee
Service Online Since 2001


Reviewed on: 2004-12-23   -   (IP: 172.169.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Overall, Fateback is a very good host. It's only downsides are the 200k file size limit and its ads. At first the ads weren't too bad, but then they got bigger and bigger and doubled the length of my pages. It's also got many subdomains to choose from. For some reason, a parental control won't let a child onto Fateback. There could be some sort of spamming and/or tracking going on because there is no visible content that is inappropriate for children to see. I do not know if this is true for sure, though.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-23   -   (IP: 68.15.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
The tools are really hard to use and there is no way for me to work on my site. Everything is unefficient and low-quality. I don't think I'll ever be coming back.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-18   -   (IP: 202.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best free hosting service that i've known.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-15   -   (IP: 213.222.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
simply the best

Reviewed on: 2004-12-10   -   (IP: 211.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I would like to have a better upload system.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-07   -   (IP: 209.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I have recommended fateback.com.  The FREE service is great. Even though I can't use scripts, it still does the job for simple web pages.  That's okay because if you don't know what you're scripts can be a pain to maintain. I especially like the no hassle advertisement. it is neat at the top of the page with no popups.  My page comes us with no problem. They don't email you begging and forcing ads down your throat.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-06   -   (IP: 193.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a greate webhost site. the greatest maybe! congrats!

Reviewed on: 2004-12-06   -   (IP: 68.32.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I like this host a lot, because it almost never has downtime. In fact about the only problems I have with it are the 200k filesize limit and the fact that they put banners on the top of every page now. When I started over at fateback, they didn't have the banners, and I had to completely redesign my page recently just to accommodate the banners that suddenly showed up one day. But they give you lots of space, and uploading your site is really easy, and they are never, ever down. It's quick and easy to set up your website, especially for those of us who don't need online web editors and make websites offline via NotePad or some other HTML editors. I've been using fateback for over a year now and I wouldn't go with any other free host if given a chance.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-05   -   (IP: 81.240.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
1Mb Upload would be nice instead of 200kb

Reviewed on: 2004-12-03   -   (IP: 68.225.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Wow! Thanks so much. This is the best web space ever.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-29   -   (IP: 213.55.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I am using the free web host. It may lack some advantages which can be got by webhosts that are not for free. But as a free web host it is very very good but I can't say it best but very very good.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-27   -   (IP: 210.55.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Its great really good. best thing is the ftp and the 60mb you get.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-26   -   (IP: 24.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Wonderful customer support!!!

Reviewed on: 2004-11-26   -   (IP: 203.177.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It's my first website! I am thankful I found this free webhosting site. Haven't seen any problems yet. It's fast,
small banner, easy & fast file uploading, no pop-ups...
I highly recommend it. It's like 'the search is over' for finding the right hosting services!


Reviewed on: 2004-11-25   -   (IP: 80.108.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
You are doing a great job!! Continue like that!

Reviewed on: 2004-11-18   -   (IP: 202.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
this site is good for amateurs like me and professional webmasters like you!

Reviewed on: 2004-11-15   -   (IP: 200.206.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very GOOD! FTP always ON, fast servers and all the pages OK. I recommend it!

Reviewed on: 2004-11-14   -   (IP: 200.40.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This hosting service is excelent! Thanks.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-07   -   (IP: 82.39.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Absolutly AMAZING! Website was setup as soon as i signed up, and my domain was all hosted within 24hours.A+++ HOST!

Reviewed on: 2004-11-03   -   (IP: 24.29.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Fateback is the best; I've been webhosting my site on their servers for over two months now and it has never given me any problems. Thanks!

Reviewed on: 2004-10-26   -   (IP: 66.52.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I would give you a 10, if only you gave free accounts php support, OR front page extentsion, OR Mysql support. But I do appreciate the Amount of space and bandwidth I get, and your servers are very stable, and for that, I send my greatest thanks.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-23   -   (IP: 12.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
very good but you need to add free program or website for membar to make thier sites from your help.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-21   -   (IP: 68.80.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I found Fateback by accident and am very pleased with their service. They respond quickly to emails and the upload for the free account is very easy to use. As my business grows I plan on going from a free account to a paid one. Thank you for providing such a good service.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-19   -   (IP: 128.125.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
While the price is great...i have waited over 2 days for support to answer my basic question and have not recieved a reply.  It's also relativly slow load up.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-17   -   (IP: 143.52.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great hosting service. Quick,easy and fast to use. Recommend Fateback to anyone who needs a free hosting service. Used Fateback for 5 months and found it very reliable. Site never been down as long as i've used it. Thanks for a feature packed service.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-14   -   (IP: 81.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very fast and cool.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-12   -   (IP: 172.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It looks good but i was trying to find a host that allows mutiple accounts. When i look at the TOS it said it doesn't allow multiple accounts.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-12   -   (IP: 24.73.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
overall I think Fateback is pretty good, but maybe needs a little more tweaking, like supporting .asp, but overall, it's good, easy to upload, easy name to remember. The way I see it, I think that a business might have to pay for a website, but if a person/people are going to use it for gaming, should be free, just what I think.  I've had my website on Fateback for about 6 months now. It's working out here I think.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-12   -   (IP: 203.166.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Really glad to of found FateBack. its a great site and really easy to upload files etc. Its also really quick to upload files as well which is really handy when trying to test the page! Good job Fateback. keep up the good work.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-11   -   (IP: 217.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
The only negative thing is that files have to be smaller than 200 kb.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-10   -   (IP: 68.222.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
your web hosting is really fast.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-10   -   (IP: 219.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
i am delighted that FateBack provides me with ads-free webhosting service with 60mb storage area. Moreover it provides ftp hosting which provides a convenient way of uploading files. Some add-on features like pop3 email accounts even strengthen the service. However the 200kb-file-size limit had obstructed me to upload some photos for my web page.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-09   -   (IP: 62.253.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I think this is a very good server because its very fast and gives me lots of space for storage. One word: Great!

Reviewed on: 2004-10-08   -   (IP: 68.97.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Fast service. Look forward to testing all the server features and get on with the pay service.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-08   -   (IP: 210.55.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
i think the filemanager is a bit confusing.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-07   -   (IP: 166.121.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Well, I have to praise Fateback for it's performance in keeping webpages 99% uptime.

But there's a place the group could look into and that is the uploading of files. There has been several occasions where I tried uploading some files and messages appeared, stating that I do not have the necessary permission to upload files into my root directory. Why is this so?

At the same time, please brush up the response time for the customer support group...

The overall performance is commendable. Keep it up!


Reviewed on: 2004-10-01   -   (IP: 200.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
fateback is very good. absolutely recomended by anyone who wants good service.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-28   -   (IP: 203.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Not only do I like what I found so far, I'm wrapped in the responce to a small problem I was having you answered quickly and it worked. I thank you for this and your free site as a disabled pensioner for a service second to none.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-27   -   (IP: 200.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
FateBack is the best free web hosting, by far. It'd be nice to be able to upload larger files but everything else is just great: it's reliable, fast, you have FTP, 60Mb and no annoying ads... plus, you can host unlimited sites. Everything works fine. I've been using it for months and I absolutely recommend it.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-26   -   (IP: 24.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I think that all web hosting sites should at least make the minimum file size a couple MB.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-23   -   (IP: 201.10.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Fateback is simply the best free host! I was looking for a free home for my websites (I have sixteen personal sites) and now I found my home in the net: Fateb@ck! Thank you so much!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-22   -   (IP: 69.148.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great service I am very much so satisfied...wow!!! I am on the free service for now and it is amazing what you get for FREE!!! Keep up the great offer!!! I am eternally grateful.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-22   -   (IP: 82.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
no wysiwyg or web mail pop3 ect

Reviewed on: 2004-09-21   -   (IP: 203.115.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
yes... ive been through a lot of free web hosting, and i am happy to say that i feel great with your fateback compare to others.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-20   -   (IP: 64.63.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Thanks for making a really good host site. I like the ease of setting up an account, and I really appreciate the small banners and that you donā??t slam the visitors with pop upā??s. I would and have recommended your site to my friends. My only criticism would have to be itā??s a little difficult for the novice to set up a FTP to upload to the server. Once I figured it out itā??s been great, but it took me several tries. It might be nice to make a sample page that shows all the info and goes into a bit more depth in the explanation, but overall you guys are great!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-19   -   (IP: 68.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I was astounded at just how amazing fateback.com's free service was.  The offered absolutely everything in a free service that I could have asked for in a paid situation, and in some cases, more. Customer support got back to me promptly with answers to my questions, and I must say that I was extremely impressed. I recommend this service VERY highly.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-16   -   (IP: 207.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I have to say simply this host is one of the best. You get 60 mb of space, FREE DOMAIN HOSTING (which I had not found before unless I paid to transfer it over with a $20 fee), free unlimited bandwith, free subdomain hosting, and the banners are only 20 pixels at the top! I am happy because the banners are very cool looking like macromedia templates which makes them fit in your site very well too! The only down side is that the uploading is limited to 200k per file. If that was upgraded to more than 5mb then this would be the best free webspace in the universe!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-15   -   (IP: 81.155.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host is bad! The file size limit is too low, it does not run well, has lots of errors!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-13   -   (IP: 200.103.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It's very simple: It's the BEST Web Site Hosting. So clear, funcional and the Fastest!!! And other important point: the owner's attention with us.. Nowadays, my tip: GO WWW.FATEBACK.COM and join us!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-12   -   (IP: 80.201.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I find it quite dumb that i can't find any free host that supports cgi/perl, php and asp(.net). A other dumb thing is that everything needs to go with ftp, and u don't have a own (little) editor. What is good about the host is the storage bandwith and pop3 email. thats why you guys get a 6.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-09   -   (IP: 195.166.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Am just a new user of your service, so far its wonderful thats why am rating it best. but only time will tell if what i have seen and experienced is worthwhile and excitement. Nonetheless, i commend u for this rare and wonderful service provided.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-08   -   (IP: 203.97.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I had this host... and at the time it suited my needs but no longer does... I had a lot of problems with them, I found that I often couldn't log into the members area.  When I uploaded pages, I found that they would somehow keep re-hashing old cookies even after setting my browser to not cache... I ended up just using it as a re-direction page only because I disliked having the banners on every page of my site and kept my important files there.  After uploading a new site there I found that if I went to a sub page on my website and clicked a link to go to another web page within the same site that it will prompt you to download a file (probably harmless but I'm not about to find out)... before allowing the linked page to load (I assume)... If you don't agree to the download you don't get the page.... NOT GOOD FORM GUYS.  If you don't mind the banners or that you cannot have a multi-level site then this host is ok... but I don't like banners and I definitely don't like them stopping pages of my site from being loaded.. so I don't recommend them... but hey at least I don't consider them the worst :D

Reviewed on: 2004-09-06   -   (IP: 212.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I've changed so many free web hosts in the past. All of them had so many strings attached and so many limitations that rendered them useless for any serious work. Since I cannot afford a paid host, but still need a decent arangement, FateBack.com is the ONLY reasonable solution.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-04   -   (IP: 211.31.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
VERY GOOD INDEED!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-04   -   (IP: 66.61.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I have not been using Fateback.com for web hosting for very long, but so far I do like It.  I find that the interface is easy to use and self explanatory.  The instructions are very detailed and helpful.  Fateback offers alot of options, and a large amount of storage space. The banners on Fateback free are small, and do not take up a lot of room. However, I feel that a better explination of domains would be helpful. The upload size for files is a little small; 200 kb is hardly enough. I would rather see closer to 500 or 600 kb; that would allow for larger image files (like desktop backgrounds) to be uploaded and viewed by others.  But the biggest feature that I realy like is the virtualhost ability. I have the option to change my site's name - or make a new one - as I need, with out having to delete my current account or open a new one.  That is an excellent feature. Fateback is fast, easy, and reliable. In my oppinion, Fateback is a very good hosting service, and I definatly reccomend it to others.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-04   -   (IP: 141.168.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I cannot upload my html pages to your uploader. What is wrong with this webhosting? why does it's so hard just to upload things??? It says i don't have permission to upload files, what permission do i NEED?! This is my own website, created by ME! ME! I even keep on doing it on the same computer and upload it on the same computer as the one i used when registered to fateback. FIX THIS! before i moved to another much better webhost out there!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-02   -   (IP: 209.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I haven't been able to load any files with this "free" site! I've tried .html, .jpg, .tif, etc. Any suggestions???

Reviewed on: 2004-09-02   -   (IP: 63.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
very good website hosting

Reviewed on: 2004-09-01   -   (IP: 65.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
we cant upload files larger than 200kb.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-30   -   (IP: 200.126.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Really Great! Incredible!

Reviewed on: 2004-08-30   -   (IP: 202.143.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
i don't know what to do in this free webhosting. i don't know how to chmod file/folder in here, and to not use an advertising.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-30   -   (IP: 203.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
In my opinion, this site offers great services. It has big space for my site, it has FTP service. but one big down for me is this site don't offer a server side scripting at all. And that's all my opinion.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-29   -   (IP: 81.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
In my opinion Fateback delivers a really great product.
I recommended it to three other people so far and I will continue to do so!! I've been using this free webspace about 2 weeks. Very, very reliable so far and fast! It was a pleasant surprise to discover that the support is friendly, fast responding and to the point in their answers!! Fateback is really ok!! thx viktor!! I would have gave you a 10 if it wasn't for the uploading problem. I never can upload my files in the file manager. sometimes I get errors a whole day before I can upload which is pretty annoying. But other than that! Good Job Guys!


Reviewed on: 2004-08-29   -   (IP: 200.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I can tell you positive aspects: it has enough space for someone to make a cool web page, and with all tools it have and control pannel.. is the best and makes people happy :)
I would recomand this free hosting to all people from the world. I already registered and i already like it. It is fast.. and cool. Webhost's support is good... don't know how to say ... but i can tell you that this free web hosting is the best from all i have tried.. and i tell you that list with free web hosts i tried is a verry big one... but all are not good.


Reviewed on: 2004-08-29   -   (IP: 196.44.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I just get started with you for few days, I expereinced a problem with downloading files, when I download files, it never succeed. But I know I went to the proposed channel which is file manager. Further more I just created my address/virtualhost or a website. yesterday I was able to log on it easly but for today it is showing error 43/(domain doesnt exist). So I can not log on to my free web host any more! Other thing is I tried to download file through webpubliching wizard but I never make it because it said my ftp doesn't exist or the authentification information is wrong.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-28   -   (IP: 216.209.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
When I'm login into my member area, is there a clickable function to log out?  [I don't see one.]

Reviewed on: 2004-08-26   -   (IP: 67.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Absolutely GREAT. The members area was extremely easy to use. I had my site up in no time. Thanks for a GREAT and easy to use free hosting. I will definately recommend your service to others looking for free hosting.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-24   -   (IP: 210.23.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I thought unlimited bandwidth and a small ad would be good.  But then I started uploading frames and Fateback put ads on top of each page... not good.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-24   -   (IP: 82.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
A very good and above all reliable site! This works all the time and has no irritant snatches! Only the limitation in filesize could be set a bit higher.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-23   -   (IP: 208.44.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is by far the most excellent free web hosting service out there.  You get 60MB of space, which is plenty for the home user like myself.  The site is always up, the ad banner is miniscule, no annoying pop-ups like geocities or yahoo...wonderful, just wonderful!

Reviewed on: 2004-08-23   -   (IP: 80.200.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
the best free hosting i ever had.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-22   -   (IP: 80.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
>I love it, easy to use (but I gave it not 10 but 9 since me as a complete internet idiot have some troubles to know how to use all the things included in the hosting). If it was just a bit more "pedagogical" with my questions more easily found on the page I would rate it 10!
Like: how much space have I got left? Can I use a counter?

>I would definately recommend it and I have already!

> I have used it since mid July 2004. But I a friend who has used it for longer and I liked it then already.

> It has been 100% reliable for me, no downtime to my knowledge.

>I find it very fast and also the other fateback site i know of.

>That is my problem, I don't really know what I can do with my account except for loading pages and pics and stuff (but like I told you, I am an internet idiot just trying to keep a decent page...


Reviewed on: 2004-08-22   -   (IP: 217.44.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Very good but a little hard to get used to.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-20   -   (IP: 66.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
In order to be more consistent you need to put more information in the FAQ section regarding your free accounts; it would help people determine if your service is feasible for them (without all the hassle of signing up and experimenting, that's a TIME WASTER!). Some of the information that needs to be added is:

1. maximum file-size for a single uploaded file.

2. What types of files AREN'T allowed (i.e. .mp3, .zip, etc.).

In short PUT IT ALL UP FRONT, that way people can decide before registering!


Reviewed on: 2004-08-17   -   (IP: 66.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Thanks so much for the customer support! It was incredibly helpful. This site look so neat for building a website, and doesn't have that huge load of advertising that some other hosting servers have.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-15   -   (IP: 202.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
i think's fateback.com is most friendly web hosting, nice and easy to used.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-15   -   (IP: 193.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Everything on this site seems very professional, nice and tidy.. everything. Except that you fail to mention that max file size is 200kb!!! Then your service is useless to me, and I have wasted my time.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-15   -   (IP: 203.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Excellent. Was up and running in just 10 minute. Fast and easy to use.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-12   -   (IP: 64.24.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This has been a great service for the year or so that I have used it, but then the service went down hill when fateback decided that they had to insert useless banners on my site.  If they want to advertise try pop-ups, they won't destroy page formats.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-11   -   (IP: 24.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I think you free hosting is the best free hosting site i have ever used. The ads are small and don't mess up the sites layout. The site management is very easy!

Reviewed on: 2004-08-11   -   (IP: 68.239.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Fateback has been good for us. Though there are issues they offer a great service with minimal advertising at the best price - Free. I needed a free hosting service that offered DNS and had little or no advertising. Fateback solved all these needs. The tiny banner at the top of the page only advertises themselves only with no pictures or animations that would slow down the site. Since the banner is actually code inserted directly into the html of the page it will not interfere with search engine spiders the way the frames and redirectors other free hosts use do.

Down time seems to be minimal, in fact I have only noticed them down once in the 6 months that they have been hosting several of my sites. This down time was for only a few minutes. Speed could not be better. My sites are image intensive and load speeds are close to those of my paid hosting service for my commercial sites. 

My only complaints are minor. The minimal user interface, simple uploading only is cumbersome and inconvenient for making changes away from my work PC. If I have to copy the HTML from the site itself and remove the code they have inserted. I then make my changes and re-upload it to FateBack. If I forget to remove the code then they will insert another on top of the first leaving me with two banners on the site.

The lack of any real control panel also means that there are no templates, wizards or extras like counters or guest books. Not something I would need but others might and if you do then this is not the host for you.

One last thing. You will need to be fairly self sufficient. There is little or no customer support and the FAQs are minimal. The way I look at it that's a service that requires a persons full time and attention and one I should pay for. Since this is a free service I don't expect that kind of support and attention. A good understanding of HTML, DNS, if your going to use this service, and basic file transfer is required on the part of the webmaster.

To sum up. This host is not for the beginner web master. They offer a great hosting and DNS service without intrusive advertising but also without any of the bells and whistles.
If quality hosting and DNS with minimal advertising is what your looking for I would highly recommend Fateback Free Hosting.


Reviewed on: 2004-08-10   -   (IP: 4.167.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Everything is great. The only problem I really see is the limit of 200 kb on filesizes. I make graphic layouts, but some of them are around 250-300 kb and I cannot host them on your server, this is the ONLY reason I don't use your server as my main host. I am currenly using it now until I get my paid hosting. It's still really good tho. Keep up the good work.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-09   -   (IP: 65.24.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
60 MB, short and selectable domain name, FTP account, unlimited bandwidth, unlimited websites, a POP3 mail account, and a nice file manager, all for free! Sign up and start unloading your site instantly! That is the best service I've ever seen! Every one of your websites in your account will get a domain of (NAME HERE).(CHOOSE YOUR DOMAIN HERE).com! There's only 2 small problems: They don't allow hotlinking and they put a banner on the top of your pages, which might not match the style of your web site...

Reviewed on: 2004-08-08   -   (IP: 82.166.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
thank u for the free hosting. It is eazy, fast and very very good.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-07   -   (IP: 65.96.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I can't upload my files.

[Try FTP -- The browser-upload didn't work for me either, but FTP did.]


Reviewed on: 2004-08-05   -   (IP: 161.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
As a poor web developer I have been on the search for free hosting.  I have tried geocites but found too many restrictions on file types and there advertisment space dosn't display correctly on non-msie browsers.  ICQ is slow and a can't login.  Freewebs is slow and nearly impossible to edit.  With Fateback the only problem I have encountered was that the small piece of advertising that comes with a free acount isn't HTML and as such while my HTML is valid the site technically isn't.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-03   -   (IP: 4.240.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I just moved both of my websites to Fateback and so far, I'm thrilled with it. I'm using one of my sites as an online portfolio of my work as a web site designer, and your skinny little banner is loads better than the popup ads and huge banners that used to clutter up my pages. Thanks a bunch!

Reviewed on: 2004-07-31   -   (IP: 62.220.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
really great unlimited bandwith , there is no better way to make it as cool as here... thank you.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-30   -   (IP: 211.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Ten out of Ten for product. A free webhoster with a very unobtrusive banner and ease of operation... The only real problems I've had are when the entire site text became centered when the banner was changed to light blue and having to upload through the the members area due to failure at logging on with my FTP program due to socket errors. otherwise TEN out of TEN for the whole thing. Congratulations on a fine product and service.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-29   -   (IP: 66.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I think this is very great how many features are offered for a free service; however, to complement such favorable hosting, you need a web builder to construct a site with Fateback itself.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-29   -   (IP: 68.51.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Fateback is good but still has a few problems. I've been trying a lot of free web hosting servers and I have to say there aren't many good ones out there. Fateback is the best one I've used so far. It's server is extremely responsive, unlike the many others I have come across. I also think that it is very generous of Fateback to offer 60 gigabytes of space for free. My problem is that no matter how many times I try to change my password, it never works. Another thing I would like Fateback to have is a user message board. Message boards always help when you come across a problem. One other problem I had was that when I was using it I couldn't log in using dreamweaver. The web interface could be more user friendly. If Fateback can fix some of these problems, there is no doubt in my mind that Fateback will become the best Free web hosting program out there.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-27   -   (IP: 128.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
it's free so that's why i use it.  i'd like to take advantage of the free space but my pictures are more than the 200K maximum so i can't use that.  all my pics are around 400-500k digitals. the domain space is GREAT.  i love having the free myname.fateback.com

Reviewed on: 2004-07-25   -   (IP: 68.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is an excellent host! Great features. Unlimited bandwidth is something you'd pay lots of $$$$ for. Downtime is miniscule. Very fast. Service is great as well. Fast responses to any questions or concerns you might have. I would recommend this host any time!

Reviewed on: 2004-07-23   -   (IP: 61.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I haven't been able to login to update the pages. FTP connection closes on connection. I can't login from the web interface eeither, to change the pages and redirect visitors to a new URL. Last of all Customer Support does not respond to emails.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-21   -   (IP: 213.202.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Fateback web hosting is amazing. 100 times better than my last web hoasters.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-21   -   (IP: 82.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Only 200 Kb file limit? I have a html who is 350 Kb. I can't use your service.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-20   -   (IP: 68.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
the unlimited bandwidth speaks for itself, and the 60 mb and 200 kb file limit is plenty of room for html files and picture files, although it would be nice to put some video clips on there. the http file uploader is nice since my last web host 0catch.com's ftp java program includes spyware.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-19   -   (IP: 82.38.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
easy to use, free and fast. good layouts everything is easy to do.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-17   -   (IP: 203.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
CON:
- No Logout button from "Member Account" area, thus insecure
- Support Emails not answered
- No maintenance downtime notification emails sent to members
- Some account area features not explained in FAQ
- Problems signing up for more than one account with same contact email adddress
- Ad Banner large (the 20 pixel is in height not width) and on-top of pages instead of bottom; which makes member sites look un-professional and possibly reduces signups
- No Scripting ability for Databases for commercial member sites.

PRO:
- Lots of disk space
- Multiple domain and subdomain hosting with associated email accounts under one account
- Unlimited Bandwith, useful for commercial/popular sites (and not offered with most hosting services)
- File Hosting
- FTP upload


Reviewed on: 2004-07-03   -   (IP: 172.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
great hosting, minimal downtime, quick upload considering i am on a dial up modem, max file size is 200 kb but i got over this, only flaw is you currently can't upgrade to a pro service but still excellent hosting all around!

Reviewed on: 2004-07-03   -   (IP: 212.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This site is exceptionally good. I found my perfect host after three months of searching. I dont know much about the customer support stuff because I haven't used it till now, but I can tell you that the administration tools are awesome. Great host if you want php or ssi and some decent amount of space.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-02   -   (IP: 200.204.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
fast and reliable.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-02   -   (IP: 81.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Sometimes I have to open the index.htm before I can upload a new or altered file. Your banner looks ok in IE but is completely distorted in Mozilla.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-28   -   (IP: 67.18.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I just created an account with atspace. Very fast service and the support seems to be helpful.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-27   -   (IP: 69.119.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The fateback service is one of the best i've seen.  The only thing i wish that was changed were some ad choices.  I know i would love to just put a banner on on each page, that i could put specifically where i wanted, because the fateback tag sometimes messes up the layout of my site.  If it was movable that would make the hosting perfect.  The size limit is understandable and fair, i haven't run into issues with my artwork because i can still keep them at a large size, but fit under the transfer limit.  The infinite bandwith is what i love about this free web hosting the most.  No other free hosting has that except Lycos.co.uk, but they have huge ads and a frame that take up too much of the pages.  This host is also the most reliable one i have ever seen.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-23   -   (IP: 67.181.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This is pretty close to one of the top free host out there. The only things holding it back are the following:

1.the ad @ the top of the page
(free.hostdepartment.com & 125mb.com don't use ads)

2.the user panel could be a little more user friendly.
(i.e. vitural host / domain may confuse some members)

3.also i felt the homepage to be a bit crowded. had a litte (but not really) hard time finding where i needed to go.

Other than that you guys have done a great job! I would recomending checking out http://free.hostdepartment.com & http://www.125mb.com and take tips from them. in my oppinion they are the 2 best free hosts. But you guys got me started. thnx


Reviewed on: 2004-06-23   -   (IP: 194.125.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
The forced header advertising on each page is very very irritating.  Couldn't it be something similar to the pop-up layer used by Geocities?  Something which wouldn't destroy the overall look and style of the website?

Reviewed on: 2004-06-20   -   (IP: 212.228.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I was extremely pleased with fateback when I originally started using it. However, recently I have discovered that one of my main pages on the website is not working at all. I know that this is not my fault as a developer as this page was working absolutely fine for months but no longer does. I believe this happened when you've inputed your logo at the top and perhaps altered my coding in the process. I am exteremely disappointed that my website that was fully operational before is not not working (main.html - the page that is not working now) and on top of that you say that you do not offer support anymore for your free members because your system is without fault and if something is not working it's developer's fault. Well it's not - you've ruined my website somehow and I cannot change it back now!

Reviewed on: 2004-06-17   -   (IP: 66.178.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
well your service was one of the best i had ever seen, but after the banners came they ruined the site pretty good, i use a header in my site and the banner comes on the header and every other page inside making the banner visible on both sections of the page, now your services are free and i have no right to complain however it would be really better if you could at least put a banner on websites using a header once only in the header and remove the rest. that way you are satisfied and we the users would be greatfull.
thank you verr much for your time and I hope You keep the good work going on because this was the best service i had ever seen and i hope it'll remain that way.


Reviewed on: 2004-06-16   -   (IP: 4.60.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Need to talk with someone about using FTP. Use to load without problem, now I can't log in for whatever reason, and my web page is getting old. No personal help. If anyone reads this, please contact me with FTP advice
to mrgeee@msn.com
Thanks.


Reviewed on: 2004-06-15   -   (IP: 81.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very quick, very easy to sign up. File size limit 200kb is a downside, and PhP is not supported, but otherwise a very very good free host! File manager is good too.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-15   -   (IP: 196.44.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Great Host. I especially like the unlimited bandwidth. Only problem is there is no online html editor.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-13   -   (IP: 203.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Your service is excilent.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-12   -   (IP: 66.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Thanks! Your service was fast and easy and can't compare to other hosting services!

Reviewed on: 2004-06-11   -   (IP: 80.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
So far so good, i have had no bad experiences over the past six months, service has been excellent with no personal downtime, speed of host is very good, and i would recommend this service to anyone, the ability to "own" multiple hosts at any one time is a great bonus. My only gripe is with the file size of submission, 200k can sometimes be a bit restrictive, especially if any reasonable picture is required. Over-all first-class service, keep up the good work!!!

Reviewed on: 2004-06-10   -   (IP: 200.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
You have a great Service, even your own add is small and we are proud of show it in our website. Thanks for all.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-10   -   (IP: 194.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I find Fateback to be a really fantastic web hosting service. I have been using Fateback for the past 6 months and not once in this period have I had a problem. I have seen no downtime so 'Reliability' comes as standard I guess. FTP access is a big plus for those who prefer to upload/download multiple files at once and the HTML based file manager is really friendly to work with too. If there was only one thing I could mention in my rating it would have to be the almost total lack of advertisement banners. There is one but it is unobtrusive, sitting at the top of page, and a magnitude more acceptable than most other hosts.
Many thanks for a fine service Fateback. It is much appreciated. ;o)


Reviewed on: 2004-06-09   -   (IP: 210.10.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I like this host it gives me what i want for my site wth a very small add banner. Only downfall for advanced html ppl is no cgi or anything like that but i dont really need that so i am happy :)

Reviewed on: 2004-06-08   -   (IP: 65.83.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I Cannot access FTP through internet explorer, only on a FTP client.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-07   -   (IP: 202.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Hi Fateback, Thanks for the free webspace you have provided. I'm impressed with the banners/ads which is smaller and no popups such a nuisance found in Tripod.com. Keep up the good work and I hope you guys will stay long for life.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-06   -   (IP: 61.247.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Your site is very good. But the Only thing I'm suffering is, you're not allowing any Server side scripts such as ASP, PHP or database like MySQL or anything. Plese allow this and I'm sure that your site will popup above all others.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-05   -   (IP: 194.205.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
best host i ever had.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-04   -   (IP: 194.205.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
good free web hosting, but it will be excelent if supported php. i think it shall better support system.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-03   -   (IP: 141.152.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
60 megs is very generous, but I'd like to be able to either transfer a web site or upload a zip file for my whole site. I have a lot of files, and it isn't that fun to do so all at once.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-01   -   (IP: 66.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
pros: Decent speed, FTP upload.

cons:
text ads atop every page
NO .htaccess support
intercepted 404 error pages - loaded with ads and SLOW

hotlinking NOT supported
Options -indexes


Reviewed on: 2004-05-31   -   (IP: 68.10.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Well I like the fact that this site allows plenty of space but it is very hard to navigate around the site.  Maybe putting up some extra links at the bottom and top of each page would help users get around.  Also the upload limit is a little annoying if someone is trying to upload a big source file or index file.  Other than that it is a great site. Keep up the work!

Reviewed on: 2004-05-31   -   (IP: 200.108.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
It has not constant speed. Sometimes is fast, and sometimes is too slow. The add in the free hosting is not encouraging. I rather use geocities, wich speed is always the same, and the hosting is always available.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-27   -   (IP: 67.82.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
fateback.com is an awesome service.  They have some customer support as when I e-mailed them directly I got speedy service and my password restored quite quickly.  The file limit and new banner adds are quite annoying though.  As aforementioned, this site is incredible for new webmasters but with time, it's likely that you'll grow out of this service.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-25   -   (IP: 81.7.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Fateback has its good and bad points. The unlimited bandwidth and 60MB file space are undoubtedly good, but unfortunately I've found the bad points to outweight the good. For example, the maximum file size is 200KB, PHP is not supported, the banners placed at the top of each page mean anyone with a resolution of 640x480 (or anyone trying to make a frames/iframes layout) will get side-scrolling, as the banner does not work on a percentage width.

Those are minor points of irritation, however - the really big problem with Fateback is its utter lack of customer service. At one point the site went down for several weeks without warning or explanation. At another point, I was unable to access my account, and never received a reply to any of the emails I sent to customer service. Thankfully the problem cleared itself up, but if it hadn't I would have been messed up. If you have a problem, you're on your own. Some aspects of its security are laughable - for example, if you use their html upload system (as I occasionally do when updating from a non-home computer) instead of FTP, then click on a link to a page that contains a tracker while in the html upload system, the tracker will log the html upload page and allow anyone who looks at the tracker to access your account, whether they have your login name and password or not. Also, no one was notified that banners would be added - they just appeared there one day, and since no one was notified it really messed up everyone's site layouts.

I've stayed with Fateback despite the problems because I treasure that unlimited bandwidth on a free account. The way Fateback has been going, though, I have a feeling that won't last - and when it goes, I do too.


Reviewed on: 2004-05-24   -   (IP: 12.183.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I am using this webhost for a long time. I am personally very satisfied and happy with their service and highly recommend it. While other free web hosts are cheating their users with extra bandwith and disk space but restricting foreign languages, accidentally deleting user accounts; deleting the user accounts who criticize and complain about them, fateback only puts a very small text in your pages plus they have fast servers and you have more options to choose the extension of your pages.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-23   -   (IP: 151.200.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
For a free service this is great. I have been looking for a free web hosting service that offers DNS for a long time. Though there are many out there most of them have annoying popups or splatter your page with banner ads that can really destroy the feeling of the site you're trying to build.  FateBack has truly given us the best of free webhosting with DNS and no ads except for the very unobtrusive text ad at the top of the page for themselves. An insignificant price to pay for the great services they provide. With any free service there is always a down side. With FateBack it's the user interface.
You will have to be ready to do everything manually and a bit creative on your navigation techniques. The interface is clunky and hard to navigate. No back buttons or top or side navigation tools make for a difficult ride. But this is a free service and I suspect they put little time into the creature comforts that you may be used to with paid or ad based services.  I can only hope that the time saved will allow FateBack to continue doing business for some time to come. All in all this is certainly a free hosting service to highly consider. I have already moved all of my sites off the banner ridden host that formally housed them and begun setting them up on FateBack. Thank you all for the great service. Please, keep up the great work.


Reviewed on: 2004-05-22   -   (IP: 207.102.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
very good site... the only thing i don't like about it is the file size limit... some of my pictures are larger than that and i can't do anything about it... maybe a slightly larger allowance like 500kb or something would be better.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-21   -   (IP: 63.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I would tell you about the site if you all could help me out with the add domain feature. Due to the fact that you all [FateBack] do not provide support, how can the person get help??? That is VERY frustrating! Contact pagetesting@migente.com

Reviewed on: 2004-05-20   -   (IP: 217.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Excellent! Fast, clean. Remarkable FTP service! And the File Manager works fine! Everybody should say: All this for free?

Reviewed on: 2004-05-19   -   (IP: 4.60.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Can't get any help or advice if your page does not load properly, especially with FTP. In other words, no customer support. Either it works fine, or you're stuck!

Reviewed on: 2004-05-18   -   (IP: 63.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I adored Fateback when I first started using it, because I and my co-webmaster were just starting out in developing our site network. But now that we've advanced, it's painfully restricting. The file size limit (about 200KB), the irritating banners, (I would have no problem with them if they were pop-ups) and the inability to edit files is stifling. Suggested for newbs, but not for advanced users.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-18   -   (IP: 144.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I just signed up for an account a few weeks ago and have not had eny problems yet.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-16   -   (IP: 4.239.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It's great but when the ad's started showing up... Then it lost a point in the rating....

Reviewed on: 2004-05-14   -   (IP: 200.80.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
whitout banner was fine ... but now, your banner do ugly all my websites!!!

Reviewed on: 2004-05-09   -   (IP: 151.201.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
this webhost is bad. i try signing up, but it won't let me.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-30   -   (IP: 69.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I keep on signing up, but they never work.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-30   -   (IP: 164.100.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I was using fateback for a long time and never had any problems. Lately they have put a small banner on my site.
I had to upload and change a few files on the server but whenever I type www.fateback.com, I get the following message: "Forbidden. You don't have permission to access / on this server. Apache/1.3.26 Server at www.fateback.com Port 80".


Reviewed on: 2004-02-26   -   (IP: 208.31.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I gave them this low rate, because I'm having a lot of problems, trying to register a account with them. I tried to send my reg 3 times and with different login names and email accounts, but I never got answer from them.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-01   -   (IP: 202.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Very slow servers.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-31   -   (IP: 24.238.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
We have been using a fateback.com sub-domain for about 6 months now and there have been only a few problems.  I did notice today that fateback is now using a small banner ad at the top of the pages, but it small and unobtrusive for now.  Overall it is one of the better options for hosting free web sites.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-12   -   (IP: 4.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Have had a site here since July '03, no problems till last week. Uptime was good, everything worked very well..was very happy with it. It also had no advertising of any kind!!
Now, for unknown reason..can not upload nor get into member area so have no access to my files. Can not get any reply to emails sent. Their site says they are making changes and don't have resources to reply to emails. So..now, I am stuck!!!  Was great....now, is NOT!!!!  If any changes, I'll come back and repost!  Does anyone else know anything about Fateback????  Post here if you do!

[below added by reviwer on 2004-01-15]

I am back... and I want to update my earlier post on Fateback!  I have to apologize, the problem I was having was my own error!!!  I made a password/email address error, that was my mistake... Fateback's system is great!!!  So sorry, don't want to misrepresent their web hosting on my negligence.  Fateback is the BEST free web hosting I have found!  Thank you to Fateback, I am glad to be home!!!  :)


Reviewed on: 2003-12-21   -   (IP: 68.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Good site. easy to use.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- August 23, 2017 -