free webspace  






FortuneCity

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
         
# Votes: 6 0 2 0 1 3 0 1 0 1
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  3.79 / 10

Total Votes: 14




10 User Testimonials/Reviews of FortuneCity


4 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-02-06   -   (IP: 61.119.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I joined Fortunecity back when it was still 100 Mb storage space, and so that is what I have. I use either an ftp to upload or their online server, depending on the moment. For a free web hosting service, the ads have not been a problem for me. No one has reported trouble with them either. My web pages are pretty simple in general, so perhaps that is why I do not have problems with anything not functioning.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-07   -   (IP: 4.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Fortune City must be having a war against Free member sites....pick some out and you will find that in 30% of the case your computer will not load the first time or will not load in other cases.  I think they are doing this to TRY to get members to start paying for their servives.

Reviewed on: 2005-12-02   -   (IP: 209.192.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Fortune city used to be a good hosting service. what happened? customer service is slow and pathetic. They just zapped my account and lost all my web work because they didnt charge my card. it was on file. stay far away.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-11   -   (IP: 67.105.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
My V3 account just got transfered over to FortuneCity. Now no email forwards. Tech support is ridiculously bad - they just send form replies. I have been on hold with them for hours with no one answering. FortuneCity absolutely stinks. Avoid them at all costs. They dont even have a link on their homepage to the webmail. And I have no idea what it is, so I cant get to my e-mail. I will transfer my domain name to someone new by the end of this day.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-08   -   (IP: 216.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I couldn't even get registered with them even after signing up with them, then sending them an email asking what the status of the website was, and finally calling them...and when i called, they were all so rude on the phone...i don't want to be calling them for customer service in the future.  It turns out that my credit card was denied because I gave them a wrong phone number (?!?)

Reviewed on: 2004-11-30   -   (IP: 209.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I have been using Fortune City hosting now for two years and I am absolutely fed up. They started out not bad years ago with minimal ads but now it has gone over the top to the point of absurd. There are so many banners, pop ups, flashing adverts and other nonsense that no one in their right mind would ever visit your site. It gets worse, many of their ads and popups are tricks and scams such as reversed buttons (no = yes)or all buttons on the popup = yes. There are many other lies and tricks. They virtually attack your visitors. All the things you find repulsive about the internet are all rolled up in one with Fortune City.

Fortune City has absolutely no redeeming qualities, its useless and a waste of time. I'm here on this site because I'm looking for a responsible new host and will jump for joy when I find one.


Reviewed on: 2003-11-17   -   (IP: 193.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
terrible html editor!...no back button, absurd errors while uploading or deleting...stay away! what if I can't take advantage of 25 mb!

Reviewed on: 2003-05-23   -   (IP: 144.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Not bad at all this one
25 megs, user friendlier than others. Browser and FTP upload
The banner adds are not too bandwidth hungry.

A good site for beginner and modest sized sites.


Reviewed on: 2002-09-19   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This service has changed a lot since I first saw them (they have been around a long time).  There are several contradictions on their pages of what they offer - seemingly several pages still list what they used to offer, which was more than present.  Some pages say they still offer 100 MB, but they initially only give you 25 MB (maybe there is a way to request more I overlooked).  The file manager pages are a bit disorganized, and allow 10 uploads at once.  There is currently a popup on pages as well as a button ad for their site, and under that a small text link: "Free Web Hosting by FortuneCity".  You can upload .asp and .shtml files, but ASP and SSI do not work.  In fact, I was prompted for a file download when testing an ASP page.

Quotes from their site:

"Your page should be active - that is, it is either receiving 'hits' or is being updated/posted to.  Sites that either receive no hits or are not updated over a period of 60 days will be considered 'inactive' and may be removed by FortuneCity to make room for other users;"

"The following list of file types are the only file types permitted on FortuneCity members sites.  All other file types are not permitted:
hqx, lha, lzh, exe, class, gtar, js, swf, sit, tar, zip, au, snd, mid, midi, kar, ram, rm, brpm, ra, wav, bmp, gif, jpeg, jpg, jpe, wrl, vrml, css, html, htm, asc, txt, rtf, sgml, sgm, wml, wmls, xml, c, ccp, wmz, waw, jar, bas, flr, wll, cpp, p, cab, ttf, java, shtml, dat, inf, map, png, art, cur, psd, tab, ico, pas, arj, asp, fon, gz, crd, wsz, url, and doc;
Any other files located by FortuneCity will be automatically deleted."

"The maximum upload file size is 3MB.  The limit for jpegs is 1 MB, for gifs is 1MB and for HTML or Text files is 0.5MB."


Reviewed on: 2002-09-17   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
"quote from their page"
Up to 25 MB of Disk Space
0.5 GB File Transfer per month
Supports many popular file types
Advertising-Supported
FTP Uploads

According to this its only 25mb they provide, in their ads they offer 100mb. really confusing.
And thesedays photogalleries or multiple .jpg or .gif pics arent allowed in same .html. see my page in this host.


 

Copyright © 2002-2019 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- January 20, 2019 -