free webspace  






FreeHostia

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
       
# Votes: 0 0 0 1 3 1 12 27 54 238
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  9.50 / 10

Total Votes: 336




185 User Testimonials/Reviews of FreeHostia


151 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-11-27   -   (IP: 84.251.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
When I first started to use Freehostia after my earlier host, Freewebs, ruined my site with a huge, unremovable banner, I was very happy to find out the amazingly quick response to my help-request, and the possibility to upload up to 5 files simultaneously. However now I feel disappointed, as it seems that I am completely unable to update my site. Every time I try to save new code to existing page I receive an error message, and every time I try to upload a file from my computer, I receive an error message. I have contacted the technical support, but none of their suggestions has worked. Pretty frustrating.

[The HTML editor and FTP work fine for me.]


Reviewed on: 2007-11-24   -   (IP: 216.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have used this webhost for over a year. Lately I have experienced down time and loss of files. I would work all night on a site and wake up to it back to square 1. It was my newb mistake -- I should have backed up all my files! Other than that, the experience has been excellent with their ad-free web space hosting, although I would like to have the email client and larger files.

Reviewed on: 2007-11-21   -   (IP: 89.136.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This web hosting service is the best! It has everything! The support is great, and the control panel is easy to use. Try it!

Reviewed on: 2007-11-08   -   (IP: 65.102.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Of all the webhosts with the word "free" in the name, FreeHostia is definitely the best. Though there is the occasional bout of downtime, they always explain what it is about and try to fix it immediately, and often do. Downtime does not usually last more than an hour or two, and you can tell they take their business very seriously. They are one of the best webhosts I have ever used, and I would recommend them to anyone looking for a new host.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-28   -   (IP: 212.123.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
All looked fine, setup and registration was fast, so I was happy to see my web site online within a hour. However email did not work to setup, and also I could not figure out to get cgi-scripts to work. An admin said they were having a "global" server problem and that it will be solved ASAP, but I am still waiting. I know I should not complain since it is freewebhosting and most freehosts do not even offer such services, but I wish these advertised features would get fixed soon.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-24   -   (IP: 220.245.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
THIS IS THE BEST FREE HOSTING WEBSITE! Their ticket system is the best! They respond in less than 7 MINUTES! Best for me so far! Highly recommended! You will not regret it! TRY IT... you will be amazed!

Reviewed on: 2007-10-21   -   (IP: 202.7.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very good host. The SQL database has been having problems lately, but they seem to have been fixed. The servers are fast, and the customer service is brilliant. The control panel is one of the best I have seen, and FTP works a treat. Definitely the best free host I have come across. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-10-18   -   (IP: 64.81.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I use both their paid and free services for hosting different websites that I run or administer. For the most part, the service is very good. Their tech support is phenomenal, often answering my questions in person (no automated reply here!) in less than 10 minutes. Unfortunately, they have a serious issue with downtime. On a nearly daily basis my websites (both paid and free) are completely inaccessible, sometimes for more than two hours! They have been saying on their support forum that they are upgrading their servers, but they have been saying that since I started using them two months ago. :-( Altogether, Freehostia provides an excellent service with all the tools one would expect from an expensive, paid host including PHP4/5, MySQL databases (only 1 DB in free accounts), e-mail addresses, FTP access, subdomains, etc. But if they can not fix the downtime issue, I will likely be moving to another free web space host.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-18   -   (IP: 65.40.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I just setup a new site with this host a few days ago and had my site online for 1 day when all my files disappeared from the files area. I went to access the site online and got a "page not found" error. I sent an email to support and got a response right away that the server was doing a maintenance and it would not be completed for another 10 hours. For support I rate this host a 10, but for just starting out with this web host it is not looking too promising so far. I do hope it works out because I have heard some good things about this hosting company.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-15   -   (IP: 78.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I tried other hosts and I think this is the best free host. One problem is that it does not have Cpanel control panel, but they are the only freehosters I know that have PHP with DOMXML extension available. The support is fast, and they seem very interested to solve your problem. They are the best. The real rating is 15 out of 10. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-10-14   -   (IP: 72.24.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great site! Yes the occasional downtime is annoying, but there is a fix to that: if you switch it from php5 back down to php4, downtime is almost non-existent then, except for when they redo the servers. I have already recommended this web site to quite a few people, and they are happy with it. After the PHP fix, the servers are fast, especially with the php. The platinum heavy theme I use, along with streaming music, loads extremely quickly, but as stated above, the webhosting downtime can be annoying unless you switch it. That changed the downtime from about 50% to 90%.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-07   -   (IP: 156.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Amazing. This is without a doubt the best free hosting service I have ever used and seen in my long career of website designing and web mastering.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-03   -   (IP: 66.225.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Best webhost ever. I have used them for 3 months, and have had no problems. I can not believe I used those other cheap hosts. I am only paying $12.44/yr (not their free hosting plan) and have over 12,000 files and pages. It is an amazing host.

Reviewed on: 2007-09-28   -   (IP: 62.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I have been using this service for more than 6 months now, and I must say it is not bad at all, but lately there has been some downtimes, and MySQL is not always working properly. I think it is time for looking for a better free hosting site.

Reviewed on: 2007-09-19   -   (IP: 59.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I have shifted from 50webs.com (best) to freehostia.com because I was in need of php support for my web site. After seeing the rating I got impressed, as it was ranked 3rd. But I was a little disappointed by the downtimes they have, sometimes up to an hour, and daily. But I strongly believe that their paid plan will not have these problems. Other than the downtimes, it is the best free PHP host for hosting dynamic content. Currently awardspace has a higher rank than freehostia, but I believe that will cross them soon. Their forum support is good and fast. They have elephante script install which makes installation of web wares very easy and handy. This is the best free web-host if you are not considering something big (because of the downtimes), else go for the paid plan because it is difficult to find anything better than them without paying. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-09-12   -   (IP: 217.116.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This free host is incredible! I am a bit newbie in some questions, like dns configuration, and they have solved my questions in 2 minutes (really!). They have a non-banner freehost where you can use mysql, php, easy wordpress installations, and many others services! Their control panel is really complete and easy to use. I have been luckily to find them. Their prices for paid hosting are also really good if you want to use anything more complex.

Reviewed on: 2007-09-12   -   (IP: 82.84.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I tried MANY freehosting companies before reaching this one. All the features they give you are enough to keep up and running a community such as a game forum. Joomla, PHPraid, eqdkp, phpBB, and everything fits into their database and diskspace perfectly, and the bandwidth they offer you (with the free subscription even) is as well over any need of any gaming community out there. Your website has no ads put on it, and this means no code breaking or dirty spots within your webpages. It has a GREAT support team answering any question you may have regarding your account or technical issues, within few time, kindly and satisfying. For anyone looking for a free but very strong hosting service: do not search further! Thumb up, and thinking about stepping up to the more featured paying account.

Reviewed on: 2007-09-11   -   (IP: 84.79.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I cannot find any negative aspect in FreeHostia. Of course, I recommend this free hosting web site that I am using since two years ago. It is absolutely reliable. I never had a problem that could not be solved in some minutes. The speed is fine, maybe because I do not know the fastest servers, but it is more than enough for me. And the support is alright. I am writing this review after solving a little problem with its support team. Good luck with your choice.

Reviewed on: 2007-09-01   -   (IP: 222.127.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They're great - like a paid hosting server but costing nothing!

Reviewed on: 2007-08-29   -   (IP: 172.167.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very nice. The ftp started messing up for me though. It has so much bandwidth, way more than my current host. I've seen pretty many sites hosted off this. It is barely ever down. Features are jam packed! I would totally recommend this to anyone who wants easy, hassle-free hosting. I was using it for 3 years until I decided, Time's up. I just quit website building and got back into it. They have fast servers, and they support tons of features that I use. I even got stuff like phpbb forums to work on it, along with Aardvark topsite scripts, shoutboxes, java chats etc. Great host. There's nothing else to say about it. It is just great, so do it. Those of you reading this review, good luck webmastering!

Reviewed on: 2007-08-28   -   (IP: 203.111.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Their support ticket system is very fast and very good. :-) But the only thing that disappoints me is their MYSQL database - it always experiences problems. That is why sometimes I try to find a free database hosting just to keep my data safe and keep my forums running.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-27   -   (IP: 84.235.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I have gone through the details and specs of many free web hosting services but I have to say that I found freehostia to be the best. For one thing, Freehostia uses CGI as the PHP server API, which provides more tighter security and control to the website admin. The only caveat I found was the 10 MB limited MySQL space, and it would be nice if Freehostia guys raise their space from 250 MB to gigs. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-08-25   -   (IP: 41.208.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I moved a site from 110mb (because of PHP memory limits) to FreeHostia to see if it would work there. It did - but there was a PEAR extension I needed that they did not have loaded. So I opened a support ticket, and an hour later the extension was loaded! The interface menu is also one of the most comprehensive I have seen. So far, downtime is zero. They offer PHP4 OR PHP5, and also free DNS and webmail for hosted sites (free sites can only receive email).

Reviewed on: 2007-08-21   -   (IP: 192.100.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The best support service I ever seen. I not found any better hosting than this one yet.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-19   -   (IP: 41.208.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Really good site. Everything works exactly as they say - no nasty surprises about having to put buttons on your web pages, etc., like some other sites have. It has a very slick interface, and not arbitrary limits on PHP memory! MySQL is on a different host, which is promising with respect to performance.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-07   -   (IP: 84.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been with FreeHostia for about 2 months, and it is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! There is no need to say any more; it is just awesome! The support staff are nice, polite and quick; the maximum bandwidth cap is huge; it can handle loads of traffic; it has cool scripts; and I could go on for years! Definitely the best free host out there!

Reviewed on: 2007-08-03   -   (IP: 86.5.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The support on the site is excellent; without a doubt it is one of the best, if not the best free hosting services I have ever used. With that said, the downtime happens a lot. I am sure they only take it down when it is really needed, but it does happen a lot more than I would like. If you need to have a very stable site, then this is not for you. However if you do not mind your site being down for an hour or so each day, then this is an awesome site for you to use.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-03   -   (IP: 195.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
For me it is a good service. There are only 2 problems: the PHP mail is not working (disabled to prevent spammers from spamming), and there is not phpMyadmin on the server!

[phpMyadmin is installed (currently version 2.6.4-pl2). Click on "MySQL databases" in the control panel, create a database (if you have not already), and click on the database name link to manage it in phpmyadmin.]


Reviewed on: 2007-08-02   -   (IP: 67.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I love freehostia, and it is the only free hosting service for me. I have only seen them down once in the last two years, and it was only for a few hours. Great for hosting personal web sites free.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-01   -   (IP: 86.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
If I was writing this review three years ago when I started with free hostia, I would be most please to give them a 10 rating and even more. It is a fantastic webhost for your free website. More services are added to the hosting plan, depending on the plan. I loved it when I upgraded. But I must say the striving for freehostia to satisfy all its customers leaves it with a lot of bad points. The first and most appalling is the downtime, even with the paid hosting plan which I now have two of. You could be working on your web site and just a second after a refresh it is off, for ten minutes and then back again, and they did not inform us of the downtimes. For over six months there has been an undiscussed problem in this server. I must say even though it is still one of the best free hosting servers, their elefante script installer has had countless number of bugs. This was to happen only with me on the paid hosting accounts, but not when I had the freehosting account. I am just returning from installing a script which is installed somewhere on the server by this installer (but I do not know where). Although there is an installer, be prepared for some time of FTPing and get yourself a client on standby. I have got numerous FTP clients, and watching the "discussion" between the free host server and my client, it is strangely different from other servers. I am a website freak and php developer, and I have searched the web for countless number of free hosts, and I have ftpied on other hosts, but I enjoy the freehostia FTP more than any other. However if you experience a time-out, you will probably have to wait for about twenty minutes before attempting a reconnect; if not, your server returns the 530 error - only one such user at a time. I hate this bit. Another limitation to freehostia, both paid and unpaid, is the absence of cron jobs. Now I have already emphasized somewhere of the difficulties they had over some time with their php send mail functionality. Some php applications (scripts) are not optimized for SMTP, and the only way you can send emails is by php mail. Some of them require you to setup some basic cron jobs. The absence of these on the server makes it pretty annoying sometimes. There are very few free hosting sites which allow cronjobs. Like I said, Freehostia is striving to be satisfactory to its customers, although it is impossible to please everyone -- some people would complain if you gave them a dedicated server. I like writing reviews from my retro point of view, as I have done on many other hosts, and if you place these points against other freehosts you will realize freehostia is ideal, but not entirely perfect!

Reviewed on: 2007-07-30   -   (IP: 62.178.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This is definitely a great freehoster, but does not deserve a score of 10. I uploaded my website (a clan site with lots of mysql usage) about 1 week ago, and I experience lots of timeouts, downtimes, and so on. I rate it 2 thumbs up for usability and comfort, but the missing SMTP feature and the performance-troubles speak against a higher score than 8. People who just need static or minimalistic dynamic content and for whom 80% availability is enough will be really happy with FreeHostia.

Reviewed on: 2007-07-28   -   (IP: 24.152.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Great host, but for some reason it would not let my upload Zip, Rar, or video files even if they are under 2mb [the maximum file size limit is 500KB]. I have not tried with music filetypes yet. The setup was quick and easy though, and it is a very fast server. I am still looking for a new host though.

Reviewed on: 2007-07-28   -   (IP: 87.220.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I moved my site to freehostia because my previous hosting service (awardspace) did not allow me to have the words amazon, store, or ebay (among others) anywhere on my site. Freehostia does, and I was able to host my eStore with them. Their interface is easy to use, as are the FTP and the databases. The support team answers quickly too. I gave it a 7 rating because of two major flaws: They have blocked entire regions/subnets (for example, no one with an IP address starting with 201 will ever see your website), and they have too much downtime; my website is down almost every day for about an hour, or two-three times a day for some 20 minutes. It is not usual to go through the entire day without seeing some downtime. I am currently looking for another free hosting service. :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-07-25   -   (IP: 76.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been a user of freehostia for several months now. Their ticket system for tracking problems is the BEST I have ever seen, anywhere. I would give the ticket system a 20 rating if it were possible. They have answered my questions within 5-20 minutes. Amazing, stunning even. They give you a lot for free. If you pay (I have done so through paypal), you can very easily upgrade your site yourself, add a database or two, and give yourself some more space, and it is inexpensive. I am very pleased with that!

Drawbacks:

1) Sometimes they block IP ranges without warning. My sister-in-law could not access the site through AOL 7.0, getting the message 502 ERROR. But within a few hours she tried again, and it worked. So maybe one time users may be turned off by odd messages like that but they are extremely quick to fix. Still I wish those errors did not happen at all. Quantcast has been unable to see my site. I am currently working with their tech support, telling them about little tricks (like setting your DNS to other IP addresses instead of your ISPs in order to "catch" more websites), so I am sure with a few changes on their end, they will be able to see my site (plus hosts of others they are probably having trouble with). So, short version: not everybody may be able to see your site all of the time. It is irritating, but again, for the price, it is worth it.

2) MySQL sometimes times out, a lot. Granted, I tend to tax the server as I grab news from all over the place once an hour, and updating my sql databases takes time. A lot of this may have to do with my chosen CMS (YACS, which installs quite well on freehostia, so long as you know how to change permissions through an hand-rolled FTP script, which everybody should learn how to do if they are using a CMS). Short version; MySQL is sometimes too slow, and the webpages will not show up (or come up with 500 INTERNAL SERVER ERROR). That can be discouraging at times. But again, the free hosting is still worth it, and still worth the money.

3) PHP 4 can be odd if you want to use newer packages. It did not affect me much -- the author of YACS did have to make some changes to the base software to allow for PHP4 for me (which helps him as well), but other than that, I did not run into any other problems with having PHP4 rather than PHP5.

4) My site seems to be slow or down for a couple of hours between 7am-9am, and then it speeds up again. That is a tad disturbing, and ALMOST makes this a 9 rating, but I suspect it is a temporary problem.

A 10 is the right number for me. If it could be 9.75, it would be what I rate it. If they can fix the odd server things it would be rated a solid 10. :-)


Reviewed on: 2007-07-21   -   (IP: 86.149.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I love this host. It has great hosting plans, and the servers are very quick! For me, it has been very reliable, and I have not experienced any problems at all so far. Support are excellent to. I recommend this host! 10/10.

Reviewed on: 2007-07-02   -   (IP: 38.117.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
They have blocked several countries, seemingly several entire continents! Keep in mind that if you can access the website, you are lucky. I have used it for about 4 months and had a lot or problems due to the IP address blocking! It WAS good!

[
The admin says they will move freehostia websites to their DDoS protected dedicated server network in Fremont, CA in about a week, and then after that the problems with many IP address ranges should be fixed. They have had some serious DDoS attacks from the same IP range as yours and have had to use this method to stop them from making the web sites unavailable to everyone. The current webhosting servers in Houston, TX are not are not DDoS-protected, and this is why only the rude filtering is used until the websites are moved.
]


Reviewed on: 2007-06-28   -   (IP: 66.55.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I like this hoster, which places no advertising on your webpages and gives amazing support. I have been experiencing some downtime lately, but they have explained to me that this is because they are simply making updates. I plan on upgrading to the next webhosting plan up, seeing as it would only be around 35 dollars for a whole year (cheap hosting).

Reviewed on: 2007-06-22   -   (IP: 124.6.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I love being with this free hosting service! I had been with another host and paying a minimal fee before I moved to freehostia about 6 months ago. Aside from being costless, the benefits are much more than the last host I am with. My rating for freehostia is 9 because I wish they could add 1 more MYSQL database, but the rest of its features are all good to me. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-06-20   -   (IP: 74.51.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
All I can really say about FreeHostia is wow. I have put it through a lot of abuse - ridiculous website traffic to php scripts that do several read/writes per parse (it is a tech demo for a log system), installing phpBB3 (and FreeHostia lacks 2 of the required functions you need to use phpBB3, but I played with the PHP code for a while, and got it working anyway), a hit counter, a graphical menu system with massive logo, and I have had no trouble. These guys rock! My only problem was my website kept going offline for an hour or two a day for 3 days, where the server my site was on was having problems (said the support), and they fixed it in only 3 days. Compare that to BraveNet (which is horrible!).

Pros:
- Insanely large bandwidth limit
- With a little tweaking, it is phpBB3 compatible
- Almost any script type supported
- No safe mode or any junk like that on PHP
- 250 MB disc space for files!
- A 10 MB mySQL table size - good for phpBB3.
- Almost no down time
- A stellar benchmark of 37 ms (on the free PHP benchmark script that is downloadable from this site)
- The free websites can handle ridiculous amounts of web traffic at a time.

Cons:
- It goes down once in a while, though only for really serious problems.
- I have heard they ban foreign countries sometimes (mostly Asia, Africa, and South America).
- If you do not change your 404 page, the default error page is uber-annoying.

All in all, I rate this freehost a 9/10 (the best rating I have ever given ANY free host, or any host for that matter!)


Reviewed on: 2007-06-16   -   (IP: 61.6.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been using this for almost a year. I do get server SQL errors sometimes, but they fix it very fast, in less than 24 hours. I love this host and am willing to upgrade my account any time soon. The control panel works perfectly, and has a clean, simple interface. If you have a problem, you can open a support ticket, and they will solve your problems in less than a day. Seriously this HOST is GREAT! If you guys really like it, please upgrade to support them. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-06-12   -   (IP: 220.239.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This is an excellent site for beginner and other users. :-) The only downside is that it only has 250 MBs of space. Sob. :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-06-08   -   (IP: 222.127.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Being a web programmer and designer at heart, I am always skeptical of "free" web hosting hosts, and most of the time would not even touch them with a ten foot pole. But since working with a service provider myself, I could not bear having my personal site hosted with them for conflicts and so on, and tested Freehostia. For the past two days I have tweaked and setup my site. I have been very, very happy with the stock features they offer. The only wish I would probably want is probably 1 or 2 more databases instead of just one. But aside from that, I am already pushing my luck. More power, guys, and thanks!

Reviewed on: 2007-06-05   -   (IP: 91.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
My web site has been hosted almost a year with them, and I have no complaints at all. Excellent - one of the best free web page servers.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-31   -   (IP: 91.84.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This free webpage hosting site is fantastic. It has everything that a small company or personal website would need. Support is excellent. However I gave it a 9 rating because freehostia say they have support for Perl, and it does not work very well. There has been a few timeouts on the host, though this was not for long. Overall it is very good.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-31   -   (IP: 72.204.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have always had my personal sites hosted for free. I started with tripod, and have been on geocities, globalfreeweb, topcities and a few more here and there. Freehostia is by far the best free web space hosting I have ever found. It provides you with plenty of space, bandwidth, it is fast hosting server. I have yet to experience ANY downtime. You get a C-Panel, FTP, and NO ADS / BANNERS. It is an excellent service when issues arise, and there is no required forum posting. I could go on and on. This is the best free hosting service I have ever heard of. I would give Freehostia.com 5 stars. I have and will continue to recommend them to anyone I know looking for a new host, be it for freebie or paid hosting.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-30   -   (IP: 70.200.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
A very nice host with great uptime, and nice support! But beware of one thing - they use an old version of PHP (4.4.0). A lot of newer PHP software such as MediaWiki requires PHP 5 now, but FreeHostia still uses the old PHP 4, and they do not seem to have any plans to upgrade in the near future for some reason. But if you do not need PHP5 that badly, they are still a great host, and I recommend them!

Reviewed on: 2007-05-29   -   (IP: 75.80.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
A great web site hosting service. It has an easy control panel and easy set-up -- an amazing hosting service overall. It does include e-mail options, password for members options, ftp server, sql certificates, and much more. A great hosting service! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-05-24   -   (IP: 87.80.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I will start with the good side, and move on slowly downwards, I think. FreeHostia is a great place for me, as I do not really need anything in the way of mySQL or things like that; the free hosting plan only offers one database, which allows ONE blog / CMS over all your sites (unless the script installer allows adding a prefix to MySQL table names). If you are not a great user of those things, though, this is no problem. I have yet to have problems with web space storage limitations, bandwidth overload, or web hosting downtime. So far, my free web site has worked perfectly, only ceasing to work when I myself change a wrong setting. The file manager and FTP systems are extremely easy to use, once you have gotten the hang of it, and a seemingly unlimited number of files can be uploaded without FTP (though it is one at a time, sort of). The Elefante free scripts they offer you WILL install things like Wordpress and phpBB scripts, but it seems that they have not been updated in a while, and most of them are much earlier versions than they really should be. As mentioned before, though, if you are using pretty normal HTML / PHP stuff, you will be fine. You can have your own domain name, but you do have to pay for that one somewhere. ;-) Overall, I have yet to find a nicer host, and my BIGGEST issue with this one is that their free URLS (subdomains) all have .freehostia.com in them, something that makes it painfully obvious that you can not afford a real domain name. Other than that, it is all good! I would recommend it to someone who knew what they were doing, but not really to someone who is entirely new to the whole web hosting thing. Mind you, I do not know what their support is like, as I have never needed it.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-23   -   (IP: 74.224.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Free Hostia is the BEST host EVER! I recommend them to anyone who wants to create or maintain a great website! I cannot put into words how much I love this web host! I have used so many others that do not even come close to the quality of FreeHostia. You get so many great features and scripts, including, but not limited to: NO annoying Ad Banners, ever! You get PHP and FTP, no downtime, and a ton of free web space that you will probably never use half of! If you do happen to need more webspace though, it is extremely affordable to upgrade, with one of their paid hosting plans only costing $19.95 a year. That is $1.66 a month, and 5 cents per day! You could have paid hosting for a fraction of what it would cost you to buy lunch every day! If you have ever used the other/more famous "free" hosts, like GeoCities and are sick of all the problems, hidden info, and lack of customer support, then please switch to FreeHostia! I guarantee you will be glad you did! I will be upgrading my account very soon. They are simply top quality web hosting without the hassle for both free and pay account customers.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-22   -   (IP: 219.2.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I signed up for this webhost, and a few days after registration, they blocked my IP address because I live in Asia. I had to mask my IP and connect to the site to remove the content I uploaded. What a waste of time, not to mention slow ftp access times during peak hours. [They are still having problems with the IP filtering system, but are working on it.]

Reviewed on: 2007-05-18   -   (IP: 60.51.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Awesome site. Simply the best! No free hosting providers on earth are better than this one. It looks terrifically more professional than freeservers, geocities, tripod, and other junk. Try it out for your own luck!

Reviewed on: 2007-05-17   -   (IP: 70.173.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Good enough - fast servers, interesting scripts, and everything else makes me happy. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-05-15   -   (IP: 200.96.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Their service is great in general, for some areas, BUT they are excluding millions of consumers by banning IP address blocks covering many countries, in an effort to block a few supposed DDoS abusers. I made the effort of paying for a web hosting plan for 1 year, and my home page had a daily visitor count of about 1500 users, and was getting several sales, all from users in Brazil before it was blocked, and they began blocking my clients. They do not want to return the money that I paid for my hosting plan. Why do they not make it clearly known before signing up that they are blocking the users of Brazil and many other countries? Why do they not list the banned countries? Today it was Brazil... tomorrow maybe it will be France, Germany, Canada, or any other place. Do you want to pay to put up your business website on this host that can remove your target market any time without notice, and keep your money that you paid for hosting?

[
I enquired why I also was suddenly blocked in another country, and the FreeHostia owner said, "It appears that for some reason the IP range 200.*.*.* was banned on our server, and that is why you could not access the site. We removed all IP tables rules and put new rules which ban China, Japan, Vietnam, and Taiwan. These are the only 4 countries that are not allowed to open freehostia.com."
I can see their website again now.
]


Reviewed on: 2007-05-09   -   (IP: 86.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I chose this site after having a bad experience with freeservers .com, and I would never look for another free host again. This one is the best. The support service is amazing -- the longest I had to wait for a reply was 36 hours, which is not bad. I accidentaly deleted my directory, and the support team replaced it for me within hours. STOP LOOKING FOR FREE HOSTS AND CHOOSE THIS ONE!

Reviewed on: 2007-05-02   -   (IP: 194.83.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They give everything you could want from a free web host. I have not had any problems, and I have been with them for about 9 months. To note some of the plusses of the site, it is fast, it has no ads (I do want to know how they do that though), PHP, SQL, bandwidth, simple subdomain, easy to use, plenty of storage file space, lots of features... the list could go on! I would recommend this to everyone!

Reviewed on: 2007-04-27   -   (IP: 206.248.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent service. There are no ads put on your sites, and you can have 2 domains hosted for free (you still have to buy the domains somewhere unless you use their subdomain). You can use PHP scripts and use 1 MySql database. They have amazing support. I got a response within 30 dminutes, which is the best plus. There were some downtimes that lasted from 20 seconds to 30 minutes. I have had 100% uptime in the last 6 months. I have been with them for the last year, with no complaints. It is better than some paid web hosting services.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-23   -   (IP: 68.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This sums it well... I had a problem with a certain file extension I wanted for my website. They researched the issue and proposed a solution. But I did some research myself and discovered that they needed a MIME handler for the file extension. THEY ALTERED THEIR SERVER TO ACCOMMODATE MY FILE TYPE! The services loads a little slow, but after that personalized gesture, I can only be quite grateful and urge others to give them a try.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-23   -   (IP: 132.178.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I stand corrected on the lack of 404 error pages (see my previous review on 4-13). There is a way to set it in the subdomain manager. Otherwise you still can not use .htaccess (as far as I know). It is not true that I "never" used their support system, however. I used it on another issue, and was answered promptly. The question was about being occasionally unable to reach FH's servers at all for periods of a minute or two each time. They told me to take it up with my ISP. However the problem was not with my ISP, since I experienced this problem from several different locations and ISP's.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-16   -   (IP: 190.58.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I have to admit this is a well prepared hosting service site, but unfortunately, as mentioned underneath, it has some problems. They are always receiving DDoS attacks from somewhere, so their response is simply to deny access from those IP address blocks. Sure it was annoying, but they would last a week and then everything would be fine. Eventually I created another account for another site, and it worked great. When the first one was down, the second one wasn't. ODD, but okay. :-) Then a few weeks ago I could not access my site, and they said that my IP range was permanently blocked from their servers. Just like that - the cold hard truth. BUT THE ODD THING ISN'T THAT... the first site still continues to open perfectly! The good thing is their great response time for problems, although not very satisfying answers. :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-04-15   -   (IP: 86.7.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
FreeHostia is great! It is completely free web space hosting, and has no banners or adverts on your website! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-04-14   -   (IP: 82.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I am not able to register simply because of my zip code. I am not in the U.S. I live in France. I know my zip code is correct, but still it says, "error, invalid or missing zip code".

Reviewed on: 2007-04-13   -   (IP: 132.178.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
It is ok, but I get quite a few ftp timeouts. One thing I detest is the way it handles "not found" errors. If a user mistypes a URL in your domain, the error 404 page sends them off to either their own homepage or sub-page. It appears that you can not override this with an .htaccess file. There are quite a few lags in server time, too. MOST of the time it is fast, but frequently it is slow.

[
The host does offer custom 404 error page change, but not through an .htaccess file. In order to change the 404 page, the user has to go to "Subdomain Manager" in the web site control panel and either set the desired error page at setup, or if it is already set up, click on "Edit" beside the subdomain name and then set the URL where he wants his error 404 to redirect to. It is working for all free and paid hosting users (I just tested it on my freehosting account there). After the change, the control panel says, "The subdomain's settings have been modified! Please allow up to 10 minutes for web server update."

The admin replied shortly after the user's review above was added:
"Our user servers (where the web sites are hosted) are never slow. We had issues with our RAID and backup system on our MySQL server for several days (so MySQL queries could have been slower than usual). However this issue has been resolved yesterday. As for the 404 setup - it is described in our FAQ. If you have any questions about our service or if you wonder how some feature is working - simply read the FAQ or open a ticket and our support will help you. We put so much efforts in our support, and you do not use it at all, and you give us bad rating because you simply did not take the time to find out how some feature is working."
]


Reviewed on: 2007-04-13   -   (IP: 58.48.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
FreeHostia is a very good free web host! I registered nearly 2 years ago, although in the first year I never used it because its system does not support Chinese (I am Chinese). Now it no longer bans IPs from my country, and more importantly, it does provide almost anything a free host can offer. It has NO ADS, you can host a domain name free, autoinstall scripts, etc. However, to me as a free domain hosting user, the problem is that the e-mail forwarding and subdomains support do not work for me. It is really a little bit depressing. But anyway, it is good enough for a free website host!

Reviewed on: 2007-04-07   -   (IP: 71.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent web host. They have they easiest set up and the best conrol panel I have ever used. The support response is quick, informative, and pleasant. I can not say enough good things about these guys -- highly recommended, and I can not believe they do not charge for the web hosting service!

Reviewed on: 2007-04-07   -   (IP: 67.15.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I use it to run a bug tracker and provide other back-end services. The webserver speed/stability is very good, and the free webhosting control panel is neat. The best thing is no disturbing ads on your website. And I feel a little curious about how they can manage to provide such a good service without enforcing ads.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-04   -   (IP: 193.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Users from several EU countries are unable to sign up, as well as Asian and other countries due to frequent abuse from those places.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-26   -   (IP: 203.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
My website has been hosted free for more than a year, and I did not find a single problem with them. They have extremely reliable servers. The free hosting package is absolutely unmatchable. The PHP version they are using is a bit older, but works fine, and I do not really have any problem, and that does not affect its web hosting rank.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-26   -   (IP: 219.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Awesome hosting! I set up Joomla through them, and it has been nothing but smooth sailing from here. There are no ads put on my free web site, and the staff are extremely helpful and give plenty of support. I recommend them - and this is from someone who believes most free hosters are a joke. Go Freehostia! Seriously, if you want a good host, go here and forget the rest. The longest I ever had to wait for support was one hour! The quickest was only 2 minutes, 35 seconds.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-25   -   (IP: 65.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Great host! I was up in five minutes installing software.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-21   -   (IP: 62.31.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Since the beginning of the year I have had nothing but problems with them. E-mail forwarding is totally unreliable, and hosted sites are down 5 minutes out of every hour, and so far today their servers have been down for 6 hours. When you ask them why, they tell you there is no problem or else use 2 excuses:

1) We are balancing our servers.
2) we are suffering from a massive DDoS attack.

To be honest, I am sick to death of the excuses and have had nothing but problems, which they refuse to address and choose to say there is no problem when quite blatently there is. They promise the world but deliver little.

[Your domain name's website loaded fine for me. I think you are exaggerating. I have not even seen any downtime on my free web site there.]


Reviewed on: 2007-03-21   -   (IP: 87.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Awesome! I have not really tried other webhosts, but I think this one is actually the best one that can exist! They force no ads (and this is for real, not like others that claim it but put textlinks or banners). It has a super administration interface (somehow slow, but it does not matter). Everything works! The subdomains are free and real (you.freehostia.com). The activation is immediate (just a few minutes, and everything is ready). It works! I recommend to everyone this webhost!

Reviewed on: 2007-03-17   -   (IP: 217.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This free web hoster company is absolutely awesome. Of all the free hosts I have tried, this must be the best. I have been with them for five months now. I have a domain name (TLD) and one subdomain hosted here without any problems at all based completely with PHP and MySQL and totally ad-free. One of my friends also has a domain hosted here without problems. Free domain hosting is possible with either nameservers or an A record, for which the IP is provided in the contol panel. If you choose nameservers, then the MX record can be changed, for example to Google Apps. Downsides are the filesize limit of 500 kilobytes and the fact that MySQL database is limited to 10 MB size. I have also experienced problems with accessing EXE files stored on the server, but all these problems are negligible compared to the fantastic 99% uptime. CHMOD, FTP, and Front Page server extensions all work perfectly. This is the best free website hosting services ever.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-05   -   (IP: 72.24.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Overall it is good for free domain hosting, but just here lately there has been some downtime. :-(

[I thought my website there was down also, but I can see my website (and yours) in web-based proxies. They said they are blocking IP ranges that have done DDoS attacks (mostly from Brasilian networks), so seemingly my IP address is blocked from viewing the hosted free web sites directly, though I can still login to the control panel. They said they "blocked the whole Brasil, because otherwise the service will suffer, and all users will not be happy with it".]


Reviewed on: 2007-03-04   -   (IP: 82.173.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I would have rated a 10, but a few negative points make my rating a 9. Everything is super-fast, but the MySQL DB is on a remote server, and customer support will not help me with simply connecting to a database.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-04   -   (IP: 86.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have only been using this site for a short time, but I think it is the best one yet. Everything is set out perfectly, and it is just too easy, especially if you have Microsoft FrontPage web page editor. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-03-01   -   (IP: 212.100.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I think with all the features that this freehost provides, it is one of the best free hosts one can imagine on the internet. It is so flexible in its terms of usage and allows quite a lot of scripting languages. I like it.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-27   -   (IP: 24.177.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I would rate it a 10, but it is hard to work from dreamweaver. The helpdesk gets an 11 tating - super fast and helpful. The problem is that, unlike some other hosts, you can not just setup dreamweaver to a specified folder. I constantly have to toggle between dreamweaver and the filemanager to put the file in the proper folder in order to view it. The webhosting has decent speed, no downtime (I have had it for a week), and great support. I might come back to update this free web space review if I found out there is a way for me to do everything from dreamweaver, but I think it is a Frontpage only environment, or for just FTPing files from another HTML editor besides Dreamweaver.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-25   -   (IP: 74.97.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I had recently moved my site to FreeHostia from another freehost, and after uploading my pages and testing the links, I was stunned to see how fast the pages loaded. You get tons of great features, lots of space to work with, and best of all,  no forced ads! I highly recommend this host.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-23   -   (IP: 219.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent. You will not find a faster, more reliable host. FreeHostia has almost 100% uptime and is great. Plus they offer cool modules like wordpress and Joomla, and even PHP with 250 MB of file storage space, which is plenty for my web site. And the tech support was brilliant -- the longest wait was 35 minutes. If I had the money, I would buy them a new server. Cheers, FreeHostia, and let's hope you stay that way!

Reviewed on: 2007-02-20   -   (IP: 84.13.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The best hosting. I have tried many free web hosting servers, but this one is the best. :-) I am happy that I moved to this service, The main reasons are:
99.9% Uptime!
Fast servers!
Excellent help service!
Excellent stats!
Excellent cPanel!
Instant free web space account setup!
If you want a free webhosting, I would recommend you use this service because there is no fear of your website being deleted or delayed at any time!


Reviewed on: 2007-02-11   -   (IP: 68.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Awesome free web host. :-) After using this free hosting directory site to try and look for a good web host, I finally came across Freehostia. I use Microsoft FrontPage with this, and it is a snap to upload my website. So far, I have my web site since November 2006, and I am still loving it. The only real down side is that sometimes hotlinking does not work, which is good to prevent bandwidth theft, but is not so good when I want to link to a certain file on my site. There are not any ads, so that is a plus. Another thing that I do not like, though, is the fact that there is a file size limit of 500 kb, but that is okay because if I have something that I need to upload that is bigger than that, I just use a free filehost. If you have FrontPage, definitely use this site. Thanks!

Reviewed on: 2007-02-06   -   (IP: 86.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Top class free hosting. The control panel is intuitive and complete. The support for browser file upload is excellent. Page load time is faster than any of the other free web site hosts I tried out (about 20 altogether). Registration is painless, and they do not require posting on their forum. I submitted one support ticket, and the ticket was addressed extremely quickly.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-03   -   (IP: 69.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great place with superb customer support. They offer ftp access, mysql, php, no ads of any sort except what you want to place yourself. I would recomend this service to any and everyone. I have been using this web hosting service for over a year, and every time I have had a problem and asked for customer service assistance, they have always replied in a matter of an hour. I have only ever had like 1 down time with this company, and that was only for a few minutes, for which they apologized. It is very fast hosting, and I have used quite a few services; I even have paid hosting services, and this is approximately as good as paid services.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-31   -   (IP: 88.105.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a really great services. After trying loads of others, this really is the best free web hosting service. After the first night of using it, I found a way of completly mucking up my account, so I went to open a support ticket, and within one evening everything was up and great again. The tech staff really are great and talk to you really casually, which makes things a lot easier! The reason for doing this review is just to kind of say a thank you for their great service they offer!

Reviewed on: 2007-01-29   -   (IP: 88.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent. It offers great free hosting services with 24-hour technical support. It is the best freehost I have ever had. I greatly reccomend it.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-27   -   (IP: 81.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I selected Freehostia because they advertised a banner-free service and a reasonable bandwidth amount. Freehostia have been, from the outset, nothing short of fantastic. They host my original website (a steam railway volunteer site) but now also host a few other web sites that I have created using their free host domains. The account was the easiest to set up, and although the "File Manager" will only allow five file uploads at a time, once uploaded, you can edit, move copy download, etc. The option of setting up a blog, forum, or other utility is very easy to use, and the hosting site allows use of php scripts. I have six "junkyard php" scripts running on my sites, and all work fine. I can't recommend this free site hosting service enough. I think that they are so good that I have upgraded my account with them, and this was still cheaper than the original domain name purchase from another company!

Reviewed on: 2007-01-26   -   (IP: 194.154.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Great hosting service. Their tech support helped me a lot when I had a trouble.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-25   -   (IP: 61.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It is the best free web site hosting with php and mysql databases.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-25   -   (IP: 70.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have had two problems with freehostia.com, and within ten minutes of submitting a support ticket, day or night, they have responded. They are great. Their features are fantastic, including a ton of free php scripts. Freehostia will be in my browser's bookmark bar for a long time.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-25   -   (IP: 58.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have seen and tried most of the free webhosting sites, but this is the only one that worked well for me. It has a fast connection. I am just hoping that freehostia.com gives me more bandwith and storage space. 250mb wepspace and 5gb bandwidth seems low for me. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-01-24   -   (IP: 201.22.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They have the best support I have seen in a free web site host! Thanks, FREE HOSTIA! You are the best hosters.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-23   -   (IP: 219.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
After trying several free hosts that went down FREQUENTLY or were slow, FreeHostia does not look half-bad. It offers a forum, which is great, free PHP apps for those of us who can not or do not know anything about them, and plenty of free webspace. The 30-day inactivity limit is okay (I update my web site weekly), and yeah, it is not half-bad. I will update my review if I like FH, but 7 is not bad (I gave the other free hosts I signed up with around 5 rating to start).

He addded this comment a short while later and changed rating to 10:
They answered my tech queries straight away...great!


Reviewed on: 2007-01-23   -   (IP: 81.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It is very good webhosting service, and very professional too. It also includes many features like the pretty fast ticket system (to get immediate help/ support). Of course, as it is a free hosting service, you have some restrictions like only one MySQL database of maximum 10 Mb. But if you use MSAccess, or do not use databases, it is is a very, very good professional web hosting service.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-10   -   (IP: 172.207.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is an excellent free webhost. I have never found a better one. They have no advertisements on your webpages, a fair amount of webspace, fast servers and email, including webmail. Also, because they provide paid webhosting services also, they have pratically no downtime at all, and have a file size limit of 5mb for the web-based file uploader (not 500 kb anymore), and there is no file size limit (other than the webspace amount) if you upload using FTP program. You can renew your webhosting for free, I currently have it set to expire in 2012. I cannot fault this free web hosting service. They have a clean, uncluttered control pannel that works much better than any other, including cpanel, which is slow. This webhost is definately the best! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-01-10   -   (IP: 82.170.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I was searching for a free website host where I just simply could host a nice PhpBB2 forum, and I tried 2 in the top 10 hosts, but they were pretty complicated. I saw all the good replies on this one, and thought I should try it. Freehostia is very easy to setup your messageboard website - after literally 3 mouse clicks, I had a PhpBB forum installed. :-)
I have not experienced downtimes yet, and it has been pretty fast all the time. I would really recommend this free hosting server to everyone, as it is great.


Reviewed on: 2007-01-08   -   (IP: 85.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I live in Turkey, and I was not allowed to sign-up because my IP range has been blocked "due to abuse".

Reviewed on: 2007-01-07   -   (IP: 71.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
They are the best so far that I have encountered of free hosts. The only issue is that hotlinking is turned off, and SMTP is as well. You do not get the free webbased mail till you add a domain name, and I suggest buying a domain name from 1and1.com (it is cheaper). The only problem I have with them is the no hotlinking enabled, no help with building your web site, and no upload script to allow my users to upload files. The max upload size I think is 5 MB, not 500 KB as stated above. Their home page says that the free webhosting package is set by default to expire after 1 year, but all customers can renew their free webhosting accounts for free.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-03   -   (IP: 201.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I was firstly mesmerized with freehostia. It was fast, it was good, and it sent me good information. But it has had some short server downtimes, making people not able to see my website for a while, and making me lose blog posts.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-31   -   (IP: 64.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I just discovered freehostia. It has fun tools and lots of educating stuff, and advanced control panel, as well as secure page ability. I rate it 10+.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-30   -   (IP: 222.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
They block my IP range (Jakarta, Indonesia)! They said someone from my IP range did some abuse, so they blocked it. I am not happy with that.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-29   -   (IP: 69.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Easy and fast signup. The webhosting works well and is easy to use. Lacks: It has small limit on file size, and you only get one MySQL data base. Other than that, it is the very best totally free webhost with no adds on your free homepage and no forum posts required. :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-12-26   -   (IP: 216.40.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Free hostia is an awesome hosting site. Loading pages is fast, and its free php applications are superb. :-) The only reason I did not rate a 10 is because I do not know how to put images on my website, and they did not help me :-(.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-24   -   (IP: 81.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
You could not ask for better free domain name hosting service, even if you were paying for it. Most free hosts offers give you less webspace, banner ads (you have no control over), and worse yet, a subdomain of theirs instead of a toplevel domain name like .com or .net. So if you have any sense, give freehostia.com a try. I guarantee after the first free year you will be with them forever on an upgraded web hhosting package. ;-)

Reviewed on: 2006-12-20   -   (IP: 216.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Just as advertised! :-) I have only been using the service a short while and I am a complete novice at building web sites, but I managed to get my website up and running within a day of signing up. I built it on my desktop and downloaded it with the simple File Manager utility in the control panel. It took a while, but I did not even have to open a FTP utility or HTML editor. The free hosting is totally free with no forced ads at all. My website is graphics-heavy and the web pages load in 25 seconds or less at 28.8 on dial-up. As with all of the free servers I have researched, you can not get forms containing user-entered info sent to you via email (SMTP is disabled), but if you read the Terms of Service for all these free webspace services, you already know that. However if you know PHP, you can use the MySQL database to create user-entered databases in several formats that you can then view, copy and paste to your desktop. It is probably not the best option for a high volume business, but it works for the little guys. If you really need SMTP enabled, paying a reasonable fee for it with Free Hostia is better than a service that forces adds that double or triple your download times. The ability to use their POP3 email aliases like contact @ yourdomain.com, forward it to your personal email and use their anti-spam and email filters as added protection between you and the bad guys is reassuring. The Help Center Ticket format is easy to use, and they responded in just a few minutes with polite, courteous help... even to a free user. If you are into self-help, the forum is full of info and useful links. Signing up and using this free web site host is simple and easy for a novice like me. Just read everything, and all will go smoothly. I recommend it highly so far. As a matter of fact, I will probably go with their pay hosting service soon.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-15   -   (IP: 4.245.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very nice host with great services, and very good server up time! :-) It has great MySQL servers and fast FTP, and regular file manager upload too! :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-12-12   -   (IP: 203.84.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I am all thumbs for this web host! I have hosted my web site (on a uni.cc domain name) on their free server for a few months now, and so far I have not encountered any real problems. Their forums are very helpful! I like this webhost a lot because I can host my site from uni.cc there. I can use a free domain name there! The only down side I see of this site is them disabling the SMTP to send email. The only way I can send e-mail using the email I registered there is by using gmail with it. But it still can not send SMTP on its own, thus crippling me from making my sparkles - the part of my blog where I display feeds from my friends' sites. Freehostia does not have crontabs support either. I still like this webhost a lot though! Great job, guys! Keep it up! :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-12-12   -   (IP: 80.238.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I just changed to FreeHostia, and was very surprised of the friendly, fast and free support from their helpsupport. So far I am very much suprised of what good free web site hosting it is.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-05   -   (IP: 72.196.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This freehoster works fine, better than some paid hostings. But the php mail function is purposely disabled for the free webhosting accounts. Therefore you can not use PHP forms to send you (the webmaster / author) any kind of feedback.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-29   -   (IP: 64.19.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Wow, great host, with fast tech support even for free web hosting members. I had a little down time several times, so I could not rate them 10 points, but I believe that the webhosting downtime was just from upgrading servers and such.
This is probably one of the best free hosts around. I hope they can keep it going. Make sure you use one of their banners on your free page somewhere (http://freehostia.com/linkus.html).


Reviewed on: 2006-11-29   -   (IP: 217.172.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I had a trouble with the my sql database during Joomla installation. I have a free web hosting subscription, and I opened a support request ticket, and in a couple of hours they fixed it and gave me feedback. The customer care service is amazing. The webserver hosting speed is not so fast (at least from my ISP), and this is the only reason why I do not give them a 10 rating.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-27   -   (IP: 58.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I tried a lot of free webhosting services offered by other free webhosting sites, but I was not really satisfied by their services. I recommend FreeHostia to those who want to build a website with CGI, PHP, SSI, Front Page Server Extensions, Perl scripts, no ads, allows FTP upload, MySQL database, and at no cost. Plus there is a collection of pre-installed Elefante scripts if you want to add a blog, photo gallery, message board, chatbox, form generator, put your own ads, and a lot more in their control panel! If you have a problem, just open a support ticket and they will assist you immediately. The only problem I had was the weird downtime of the cpanel. A lot of thanks to them for hosting me before!

Reviewed on: 2006-11-18   -   (IP: 85.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
You just can not get any better. I tried several free hosts, and most of them were either very slow or have adds which make it impossible for you to make a site exactly as you want it. At FreeHostia I found a fast ftp, the fastest free server I tried, with virtually no down time. When I needed support, I got an imediate response. Its only downside is the lack of easy to implement small applets and scripts, such as hit counters or simple menus. But that is not enough to lower my rating. :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-11-17   -   (IP: 84.71.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
FreeHostia is the best free webhost yet. their servers have only ever been down once (because they were updating it) in the 3 month period I have been using them, and it was not even down for 10 minutes. they have the best problem help system I have ever used before. It is very fast and reliable, with descent bandwidth, easy to use control pannel, 1 mysql db, support for a lot of different php functions, and so far I have found it ideal for running my text mmorpg website on. :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-11-15   -   (IP: 88.118.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It sometimes loses connection, but just for a while, for a few minutes. It is not fast server, but not very slow. Not many free web hosting providers offer so much and with such high quality as this one.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-14   -   (IP: 90.228.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Free Hostia provides good stable hosting, but does not work with all scripts I have tried, and it could have a nicer layout as well as a quicker FTP connection, but overall it is a really good free web space host, with no stupid word filters and no major things to be concerned about. This surely should be the highest rated free web host, but I aint giving it a ten rating becuase it is not perfect, and there are no tens from me unless it is perfect. Well I really have not more to say. they are great, give quick response to support tickets, and are polite and give an educated opinion on the matter. They have MySql support, Php 4 support, and more goodies -- nothing spectacular that can not be found anywhere else, but instead they do it better than all the rest. Strongly recommended - the best FREE host out there!

Reviewed on: 2006-11-14   -   (IP: 82.154.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Well, it is free web space, but I seem to get lots of downtimes and it was an huge pain to install the latest version of Joomla by uploading the files since it always gave some 404 error when I tried to install. In the end I gave up and used the provided elephant script installer to install an older version of Joomla (why are the Elefante scripts so outdated?) and then made the manual upgrade to the latest version. Bottom line: I could live with the annoyances in the Joomla script install process, but the fact that it is has so much webhosting downtime has sent me in search of a better free host. :-(

Reviewed on: 2006-11-11   -   (IP: 71.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This website is simply great because you get FTP as well as a free MySQL database. My only real complaint is the annoying downtimes it causes occasionally.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-11   -   (IP: 72.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This provides excellent hosting extras: free email, php, script installer, MySQL, FREE WEB STATS, etc. The customer service is excellent -- all questions I have asked have been responded to within about 2 hours. Very highly reccomended. I have tried a lot of free hosts (20+), and this is by far the best.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-11   -   (IP: 24.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Freehostia is really the best free domain hosting site! I have a successful website freehosted by them! I got my domain name hosted within 24 hours for DNS pointing! FreeHostia is the best place to be when it comes to hosting your domains. I have been a previous customer also. Their subdomains are really trustworthy! Ooh, and last but not least, their chance downtime of SQL servers and all are really low! I think they are the best web hosting service within the WWW for PHP, MySQL, and domain name hosting, and nothing can compare to that!

Reviewed on: 2006-11-11   -   (IP: 70.18.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been using this free hosting service (FreeHostia.com) for less than a month, but they offer excellent service. They provide speedy replies to inquiries or requests for help via help tickets, and they treat you as if you were paying for the service if not better. I would definitely refer them to others, without question. I have not experienced any real down time to mention as of yet. The control panel is excellent. They have support for Mysql, php, perl (cgi) scripts, etc. I would actually rate their service a 10 as things stand right now.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-31   -   (IP: 71.205.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
If not one for really annoying problem I have had that Freehostia has been unable to resolve for over 3 weeks now, I would rate them a 10. The problem is that they have been unable to turn on Apache access logging and error logging for my domain web site. As others have remarked, their trouble ticket response times are very good. I found this to be true both with the free web hosting service and the "value" package. Freehostia's features were pretty much what I needed. Their Elephante-installed scripts are a bit out of date, but that has not been a problem for me yet.

[
FreeHostia replied:
"We are working successfully on our new load balancing system, which is not 100% complete at the moment. All access and error logs will be available some time next week. At the moment we can firmly state that on the average we are able to host 30 to 50 times MORE clients (as a number per server!) at normal server load that does not exceed 50 to 60%. This is compared to other very popular hosting control panels like cPanel, mPanel, whatever-Panel, and other control panels. By combining the unique number of clients per server with the low server load of the server, we can achieve amazing results - we can archive up to 100+ higher and faster results in terms of users/server-load ratio. The expenses are minimized, and the offering of quality free hosting services is not a problem from a financial point of view. Additional information on the subject will be available on our website in 1-2 months at the latest."
]


Reviewed on: 2006-10-30   -   (IP: 81.79.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This free php webhosting site lacks ICONV and DOM XML modules in php. Otherwise it is a good free host as far as I can see, with fast ftp file transfers.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-29   -   (IP: 202.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I live in Malaysia, and after trying for many months to signup, I keep getting the message: "You are not allowed to sign-up. Your IP range has been blocked due to abuse." My IP is assigned by my current country of residence's foremost internet body, and it is absurd to think it would be categorized as abuse for such long period of time left unchecked. I would rate FreeHostia rock bottom in registration service, but cannot rate the free webhosting service since I could not register. They block many countries by IP addresses range.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-26   -   (IP: 81.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It has been great! Its web hosting servers are incredibly fast, and the MySQL database is incredibly useful for my purposes. The only problem is, I keep getting downtime. The entire "freehostia.com" was down, as well as my website and all others hosted on freehostia. Still, I believe this is only temporary [it is okay now]. In every other aspect it deserves 10/10 ratings, although it is a shame about the low, 500KB file size limit. :-(

[
FreeHostia replied:
"We had requested a hardware upgrade for our main admin server, but there were troubles with the raid rebuild of the new HDD, and we had to move the data base with the accounts to another web server. The webhosting downtime caused was approximately 5-6 hours max, and affected the following services: admin, sign up, support tickets, pop3, imap, smtp, and maybe a few other services. All user websites were online, and the ftp was also working properly."
]


Reviewed on: 2006-10-23   -   (IP: 68.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This webhost always answers my support tickets the next day or SOONER. They have the time and patience to help you with it and even silly questions you might have. You get the same amount of service whether you are paying nothing or something.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-21   -   (IP: 81.11.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I love this free webhoster very well! You get a lot of free things like a free mysql database up to 10mb, unlimited storage space, and 5gb bandwidth per month. The file size limit = 500kb, but you can still upload images, etc. Support is THE BEST I EVER HAD! I asked today a question, and only 3 minutes later there was an answer! Unbelievable!

Reviewed on: 2006-10-11   -   (IP: 86.128.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Freehostia is by far the BEST free web hosting service I have ever used, and I have used a lot of free hosts. What makes this so amazing is the fact that it has not even had any downtime so far, and I have been using it for nearly a month now, and also the loading times of a website hosted on there is super fast. another strong point with Freehostia is that its Technical Support staff is very friendly and helpful, plus they reply to your questions before you can even type them (that is how fast the reply is). hahaha. I have not found any weak points with it. the control panel is really easy to use and is visually pleasing. Well what more can I say? Freehostia, you are the KING of free hosting services :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-10-10   -   (IP: 84.52.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Free Hostia is very reliable free hosting service. I have been using it for couple of months, and I see a huge difference in comparison to other free hosting providers. The webserver is fast and has good support. I have hosted web sites on many so-called top hosting providers, but they just can not stand beside Free Hostia. It really is great free hosting, and I would recommend it.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-02   -   (IP: 172.143.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It is a speedy, reliable service. After trying out a few different free hosts, I have found that Freehostia is the best yet, and the one I will be sticking with. I had a problem with images not displaying properly, and submitted a support ticket, and within an hour I had a courteous reply and the staff fixed the problem for me. They offer a large selection of content management systems, galleries, and other scripts that you can install with one click and without the usual hassle of setting everything up yourself, which is ideal for beginners, though I would reccommend performing your own installations to make sure you have the latest versions. The file size limit is fairly low (500kb), and you cannot create emails with the free hosting option, but if these things do not matter to you and you just want a free website that actually works, with fast uploading and easy management, then I would definitely reccommend it.

NUTSHELL ADVANTAGES:
* Quick servers;
* Fast support via support tickets;
* Instant free hosting setup;
* One-click installations;
* Easy-to-use browser management panel.

NUTSHELL DISADVANTAGES:
* No email on freehosting plans;
* 500kb file size limit;
* Does not allow mpeg, video clips etc.


Reviewed on: 2006-10-01   -   (IP: 59.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent free host. My free site runs like a dream, and I am now going to upgrade to a paid account, and I have no reservations. It has PHP, CGI..., and everything works perfect.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-01   -   (IP: 212.233.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Thank you for hosting our websites for free. It helps the development of new web sites because many people can not afford to pay a host. This is my first time using this freewebspace host, and I am going to recommend it. Thanks!

Reviewed on: 2006-10-01   -   (IP: 217.216.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Great freehosting services with no banners at all, no scripts, and really quick assistance when needed. I have some problems with the statistics of my website, and the Elephante scripts are disabled in the free hosting accounts, but yet with all, I really recommend this hosting site.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-30   -   (IP: 70.174.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
If I could give freehostia.com a higher rating than 10, I would. It has fast servers, reliable uptime, ultra fast tech support, and lots of features. I have a paid hosting account, but even the free hosting accounts are awesome. It is well worth the $23.45 a year I spent.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-29   -   (IP: 24.45.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
FreeHostia deserves to be above AwardSpace in user ratings! It has great CP (control panel) and reliable server. I am setting my web site up RIGHT NOW, AND IT IS WORKING GREAT! Great free hosting provider! you will not regret signing up.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-27   -   (IP: 212.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
These are great hosts. The free hostingplan is unbeatable in my opinion. You get php, mysql, plenty of bandwidth, filespace, free domain hosting, subdomains. But best of all, they have great quality, fast customer service - both by email/trouble tickets and through their forums. The reason I did not give it a 10 rating is because the php mail function is disabled in the free hosting plan. Still an excellent freehost though!

Reviewed on: 2006-09-26   -   (IP: 220.237.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
After searching for a reliable and inexpensive web host, it came down to a choice between Awardspace and Freehostia. We used several criteria in selecting a web host, including the following:
1. Stable SQL server and connection.
2. Stable web servers with fast steady speed.
3. Must have fast help system 24/7.
4. Must be a Linux server.
We dropped Awardspace after we ran into several issues with our test website. Freehostia have been the more stable of the two hosts. Freehostia uses a Ticket system to provide help to webmasters. We have required help a couple of times and received an informed response within 30 minutes (well within the 1 hour they state on their website). Responses have been very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend Freehostia.com for free and paid web hosting as they provide both stable service and excellent customer support.


Reviewed on: 2006-09-22   -   (IP: 24.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Freehostia is absolutely the best free web hosting experience. I updated my DNS and signed up, and my website was instantly live. No joke. The control panel is excellent, and the service via the forum is fantastic. I can not say enough about freehostia.com. they are truly the best.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-15   -   (IP: 88.105.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
When I first saw this I thought, "oh look, another lousy freehosting site; I will just try it out on the off chance it is ok." When I logged in, my mind was on the turn, and looking around I realised "Oh, this isn't actually that bad." I managed to get my web site up, and everything was fine, but then I probably deleted something, or something, and I could not access my website, so I opened a Help ticket, and within half an hour everthing was fine and the service was great, with real people actually helping. Everything is great, although I still haven't grasped some of the features! I would suggest this freehost to anyone! You can take my word!

Reviewed on: 2006-09-15   -   (IP: 201.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I am a Brazilian girl who loves to search for news in the Net. I finally found a great free host service at freehostia! The scripts that they have are awesome! I am a beginner with wordpress, and through Freehostia I could install wordpress very easy! My rating is 10. It is simply the best free web space hosting service on the Net!

Reviewed on: 2006-09-13   -   (IP: 62.235.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I have been using the free space hosting services for about 4 months now. They have been upgrading their web servers a couple of times now. This did not affect the serving of my free webpages hosted there. I was not able to login to the management web pages once. After sending them a mail, I had a response within 10 minutes. 15 minutes (and two mails) later, everything was fixed. Two hours later, someone from FreeHostia called me at home (I left my phone number during registration) to check if everything was ok. That is some impressive support for a free web space hosting account!

Reviewed on: 2006-09-12   -   (IP: 208.57.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Okay, who cares if you can not hotlink your pics to other sites; you can easily embed stuff from other sites there, and I am cool with that. It provides PHP access, Emails, a control panel, no banners, no ads, and is pretty fast. Now, the only thing I do not like (and it is a minor problem completely) is the whole "Try to trick me into buying the service instead of the freebie", and actually they were not sneaky at that at all. My service ends up expiring in 2008, so maybe by that time they might try to say that I will have to pay, but for right now, I am perfectly cool with the hosting arrangement, and maybe later on down the road, I would actually buy my hosting from these guys. I already own a domain through Godaddy.com, so I just set up my forwarding to the account with masking, and BAM - good looking web site free with PHP scripting supported.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-04   -   (IP: 84.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
very well done. :-) This is the best free web hosting provider if you are looking for a php host! 10/10 rating.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-04   -   (IP: 84.239.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It is great free host web site, but the only minus is that you can not send email from it. :-( Unfortanately many free hosts do not allow sending email because of spammer abuse.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-01   -   (IP: 66.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best freewebhosting service. If you are looking for a free web host service that supports PHP scripting, this is the best one to use.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-24   -   (IP: 87.51.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
There is no sendmail working from scripts, so then it is almost useless for bigger web sites with users and userlogins etc. Otherwise excellent free web hosting service! Note that when you try to register for free hosting, the default settings in the registration form are for paid hosting services (advanced features), and will not show the correct price of $0 until you select the free hosting option with subdomain or use existing domain name.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-21   -   (IP: 201.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It is a very good site, excellent! really! It has good tools in design menu, scripts in php, and it is very fast webserver! but today I cannot see my files and upload files. they have an excellent support beacuse they answer me instantly! they are trying to fix it in 24 hrs. Very good! :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-08-16   -   (IP: 89.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Positive:
Free, no banners, and support on php, cgi, fp extensions, etc. The help and support is fast, and sometimes helps.

Negative:
Blocking Mail Form scripts.
Some problems with php scripts I have tried (which works PERFECTLY on another server) - and they don't give you any help with that.
The web server shuts down (I can't access the website) 3-4 times a week for 15 minutes (avarage).

Overview:
Very good free web server, and has everything you need, at no cost :-)


Reviewed on: 2006-08-11   -   (IP: 65.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
looks great on first sight: instant free hosting activation, and nice looking user CP, but it seems that no hotlinking and 500kb file size limit will be too big a loss on it.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-02   -   (IP: 81.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Amazing! The best free web space host ever! 250mb space, 5 gigs of bandwith montlhy, ad-free, FrontPage server extensions, WOW! Great control panel and amazing support. I would recommend this to everyone!

Reviewed on: 2006-07-27   -   (IP: 205.206.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
The best free host server that I know of with instant activation. The upload limitation might not be suitable for some people, but for me it works. Good server speed, free web space file storage amount, and bandwidth, plus lots of features.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-26   -   (IP: 201.14.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent free web hosting control panel. Good webspace amount avaiable for begining or testing web hostings. Depending on your php+mysql application, it could be very productive.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-25   -   (IP: 12.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
The host looked good, but they didn't allow .name domains hosted free. :-( They only host free subdomains, or these TLDs (top-level domains): .com, .net, .org, .info, .biz, .us domain name extensions.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-19   -   (IP: 218.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is one of the better free domain hosting sites. It allows a 10mb mysql database, PHP support, and best of all, allows remote connections from other programs, such as vb 2005.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-17   -   (IP: 67.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
it all looked great, until after I set everything up. I redirected the DNS and started uploading my files. these restrictions make me angry:

- File size limit 500 KB.
- 30-days Inactivity limit.

500kb file sizelimit is too low for me. It is no wonder they offer 250MB free web space storage amount, because there is no way you can fill up the free webspace quota with only 500kb or smaller files. If you plan to host large images, flash files, zip files or anything else, look for one of the third-party free imagehosts or filehosts (listed in free image hosting and free file hosting sections of this web site).


Reviewed on: 2006-06-30   -   (IP: 124.106.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Simply irresistable! Very good for a free hosting provider, having features that are for professional paid hosting. Nevermind the previous post. I don't care if it has the same IP address as 100webspace, even if they have the same operator. For as long as they have the good features, why not give them a chance? I highly recommend this bannerless free website hosting services!

Reviewed on: 2006-06-23   -   (IP: 80.38.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Hehe! Same IP as 100WebSpace - but (at the moment) without banners, and 150MB more free web space. But only 8 rating for having the same stupid and false calculated CPU-limit: 1.3% for free hosting accounts. It has same good and fast server as 100WebSpace - but also as bad as 100WebSpace.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-16   -   (IP: 86.83.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Sounds too good to be true, but it is true. Only remark until now is that you cannot choose your own username/password.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-10   -   (IP: 71.134.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I just signed up yesterday, and it was easy and fast! FTP upload works great and is super fast! A control panel loaded with webmaster tools and useful scripts. Excellent freehost service. I will upgrade to paid hosting so they can keep providing their awesome services.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-01   -   (IP: 62.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Very good service; it has a useful control panel and an efficient tech support. Recommended! ;-)

Reviewed on: 2006-05-24   -   (IP: 125.22.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent free domain name hosting service. Provides MYSQL database :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-05-20   -   (IP: 212.25.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I'm having problems with the server. All afternoon the server has been shut down and I can't do my things.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-14   -   (IP: 81.36.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
it's the best free domainname hosting company!

Reviewed on: 2006-05-11   -   (IP: 58.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
best free domain hosting service I've found.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-09   -   (IP: 195.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I got my account email fast and started uploading straight away. It is a simple service but I like it. It has a few restrictions but it does what it says!

Reviewed on: 2006-05-02   -   (IP: 80.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I found this host quite good, fast sign up, and decent uptime. Only problem is the file size limitation. it is ok to host my smaller web sites here.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-01   -   (IP: 202.44.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This website is fantastic as far as free hosting servers go. They give you everthing you need with the option to upgrade individual features or upgrade the entire web hosting plan completely. The only complaint I can make is it seems to have a few problems as far as domains and DNS is concerned. Although, with that being said, a simple emails to the tech support and all the problem I've had were fixed in no time. Overall, a very solid freehosting service.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-30   -   (IP: 68.4.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
They DO NOT provide SSL, for both free and paid users.
[Their home page claims it does.]


Reviewed on: 2006-04-29   -   (IP: 66.197.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Fantastic site!

Reviewed on: 2006-04-20   -   (IP: 81.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is awesome. I wish they had installed CPanel, but it's still better to have the other control panel, working just fine. The only thing I don't like is their old version of phpMyAdmin which lacks a lot of the features which the newer version has to offer. Anyways, I am really happy with them. They put no banner ads on your hosted web site; completely ad-free, bannerless hosting - FREE.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-19   -   (IP: 24.8.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This host has good intentions, but the free plan has some rather annoying limitations. The maximun file size is 500kb, and image hotlinking is not allowed. Of course, I learned this AFTER I registered since it is nowhere to be found on the website.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-18   -   (IP: 164.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
it's so nice. Excellent! But you can't sign up from some locations due to IP addresses blocked. :-(

Reviewed on: 2006-04-15   -   (IP: 83.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Good: It seems to work fine mostly, but access log appears not possible to enable for free account. It seems like PHP mail forms don't work - or it could be just me.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-14   -   (IP: 210.49.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
They would not host my .info domain name, although their home page says they host top-level domains (TLDs) of: .com, .net, .org, .info, .biz, .us.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-12   -   (IP: 81.79.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Brilliant, lots of free storage space room, easy to use, and the best place to start off a free website!

Reviewed on: 2006-04-07   -   (IP: 202.91.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is awesome. I wish they have had installed CPanel, but it's still better to have the other control panel, working just fine. The only thing I don't like is their old version of phpMyAdmin which lacks a lot of the features which the newer version has to offer. Anyways! I'm really happy with them. They put no banner ads on your web site; completely ad-free, bannerless hosting.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-07   -   (IP: 80.201.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
man, this free host rocks! It took a while to get my domain online, like 2 days, but the free webserver speed is very good! only con is that the phpmyadmin is a very old version. But the server speed wins from everything!

Reviewed on: 2006-04-05   -   (IP: 213.157.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
this is 100% free hosting service. believe me, this is best ever. It has all the freewebhosting features you need.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-03   -   (IP: 88.203.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
There are many helpful tutorials, and the support is excelent. Thank you guys for the best host.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-28   -   (IP: 172.202.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Best free hosting i've ever seen. 250 mb free web space with NO ADS forced on hosted webpages! free domain hosting - I've hosted my .be domain name there. mysql, php, cpanel... simply best free web hosting website ever.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-05   -   (IP: 64.89.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
this is fast server and they do not block china now. once they did. btw, there are forced fateback stats in footer. this remote stat scripts makes my site slow. why they do not use local stat scripts to check where active or not? so rating goes 9!

Reviewed on: 2005-12-23   -   (IP: 204.113.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
speed is good! there is only one small header ad only, but it would be better if they use some other control panel.

Reviewed on: 2005-12-11   -   (IP: 213.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
FreeHostia the best free host service!

Reviewed on: 2005-10-28   -   (IP: 212.199.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This host is just a big pain:
1. they place a top banner on every frame you have, thus eliminating the option to actually use frames in a website.
2. the cpanel features are unhelpful when dealing with site configurations, e-mail forwarding took me about 2 hours to find, and then the server actually game me incorrect smtp and pop3 address, thus making email function unreachable.
3. the host also bans people based on IP, thus making some people not get in. use a proxy ip if you want to get in.
4. the "help center" has about 20 topics covered, and it still doesn't help dealing with most cpanel subjects.
5. video tutorials are just plain stupid - for example: they show you a 5 minute movie of how to click a "mail" button and then clicking "OK" to get into the mail configuration dialog box.
and finally, after seeing that some PHP Functions don't even work on the server, like basic mail() (turned off to prevent spamming) - I hate it; move on.


Reviewed on: 2005-10-19   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Requires an existing domain name.  The signup form for free hosting also has several paid options (selected by default).  To get the free web hosting, you must select both "FREE domain hosting + PHP/MySQL" under "Choose your web hosting plan", and also "Use my existing domain" under "Pick up a domain name".  The free web hosting account expires in a year, at which time you can renew again.

Reviewed on: 2005-09-24   -   (IP: 84.9.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Free Hostia is fantastic! Setup was simple and instant. There are tutorial videos to walk you through each of the features. This free hosting is good both for beginners and experts.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 17, 2017 -