free webspace  






FreeSpaces

( "Free Spaces" )

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
     
# Votes: 5 5 4 3 0 0 2 2 3 22
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.87 / 10

Total Votes: 46




29 User Testimonials/Reviews of FreeSpaces


17 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-11-26   -   (IP: 72.232.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
This service was actually pretty good except for the fact that they had a habit of deleting my websites without warning, even when I was paying for the service. Yeah, it was pretty affordable, and you get what you pay for - but not even Yahoo Geocities is that deletion-happy, and they generally tend to warn their customers before they do it. I would not recommend Free Spaces hosting to anyone.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-04   -   (IP: 66.52.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
FreeSpaces has weak actual offerings compared to its advertised offerings. It offers a moderate bandwidth allowance, and their servers crash every few months. Today ALL of its webservers have crashed [but are back up now].

Reviewed on: 2007-06-02   -   (IP: 81.179.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
The server is often slow and drops out completely at times. The support is non existent...and do not be fooled into thinking that if you go "premium" it will improve because it is just the same. I had a problem with ftp, and despite numerous emails to support, I got no replies or solution at all, so in the end I asked for my money back. I would not recommend at all.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-04   -   (IP: 35.10.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Its forced ads consist of text ad + banner ad + occasional pop-up ads, which ruin your free web site pages. :-(

Reviewed on: 2006-12-29   -   (IP: 82.37.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I went onto the site thinking it offered unlimited storage spaces (which they claim on their home page). I signed up, and it then told me I am limited to 50mb free space. What is up with that?! "Unlimited" disk space to 50mb limit. This site just lies. I tried contacting them, but of course no replies. :-(

Reviewed on: 2006-10-26   -   (IP: 74.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I created a FreeSpaces account a week ago, and it has been great so far. There is a banner but no popups on your free web pages, and the banner is closeable. My web page loads fast, and I have not had any problems.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-08   -   (IP: 75.22.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This free web site started out great, but then flooded my web page with pop-ups and ads. They said I could have the ads removed for $3.95/month. After all the work I put into the web site, I was pretty much held hostage. So I upgraded to the premium service five days ago. I have not received a single premium member benefit yet. The ads are still there, and the file type limitations are still there. I have sent an e-mail to all three contact e-mails and have had no reply. If I could sue for $3.85, I sure would.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-04   -   (IP: 212.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Complete disaster: they have canceled my free web space hosting account without telling why! I just got small info that service is no longer available in my area. Everyone from Poland, do not even try to use this host. :-( I noticed most of the free web sites listed in their list of hosted sites are not real websites at all, but just the default homepage.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-01   -   (IP: 59.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Free spaces MAIN PAGE claims "Unlimited Disk Space" and unlimited bandwidth ("Unlimited Hits"). But below is news seen in file manager saying that there will be limitation of SPACE, AND BANNERS WILL APPEAR (EVEN THOUGH THEY SAY UNLIMITED SPACE, IT NEVER HAPPENS):
2006-04-26 15:12:36 - FreeSpaces Advertising
In an effort to defray the costs of operating our free service, we have begun placing banner advertising on free accounts. These banners take the form of a 468x60 format advertisement located at the top center of the first page of each site. These ads do not modify the existing page, and instead "float" on top of it. In addition, it is possible to close the ad with an X box above it. Users wishing to remove the ad altogether may upgrade to our Premium Service using the menu option to the left. In addition to removing the ads, the Premium Service allows you to access to FTP service, no file type or size restrictions, and the ability to host your site with your own domain name.
2005-12-19 17:25:13 - Storage increases suspended
Due to our high level of growth, it is now necessary for us to temporarily suspend giving additional storage space to free accounts to make sure all of our users get quality service. This does not effect bandwidth requests or storage for Premium Services members. We have ordered additional storage systems to alleviate the problem, and will reopen storage upgrades once these are in place.
2005-01-18 12:47:37 - Account Space/Bandwidth
In order to maintain our quality of service and prevent abuse, all accounts are created with a starting limit of 50MB of space and 5000MB of transfer. Please contact us if you need more and we'll take care of it.


Reviewed on: 2006-01-27   -   (IP: 68.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Fast loading server. uploading not too difficult (need to pay to get ftp access). There is only a very small text ad on the first web page accessed.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-08   -   (IP: 65.100.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
WOW. I was truly impressed, and I have no trouble to date with it. The small text ad doesn't really detract from the experience.

Reviewed on: 2005-12-28   -   (IP: 24.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Well I started uploading files for my site and now they have a limit problem so now I can't finish my site. I'm looking for another host for my site and will have to start all over. This site started out pretty good but now it is bad.

Reviewed on: 2005-11-20   -   (IP: 65.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
This host has great offers, but I had so many problems just signing up! Every single time I clicked "submit" there was ALWAYS a problem! And they said someone already had my e-mail address, so therefore I couldn't sign up! It's probably a good host, but if I can't even sign up without problems, it isn't for me!

Reviewed on: 2005-07-21   -   (IP: 200.62.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
good site, i have an account since oct 2004, and dont have problems.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-15   -   (IP: 170.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
It worked great for 2 days. Then for no reason, all my files were deleted and I could no longer upload anything. No questionable materials were on the site; just a silly poem and 1 picture. No response from an e-mail request either. I know its free, but I'll try another service.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-28   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
excellent free hosting service.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-21   -   (IP: 69.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
good service so far but i see no pre-scripts available.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-29   -   (IP: 24.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I finally found what I have been looking for! Amazing amount of storage, easy to work with and update. You're up and running within minutes! I'm in love with this website and I will recommend it to anyone I cross paths with.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-15   -   (IP: 71.32.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This was an awesome web host. I was able to figure things out easily, and the storage and bandwitdh, although not "unlimited" were plenty for my needs. The file size limit is larger than many places I've tried, and all in all, this site is really stellar. It's definitely got a faster server than Geocities, which is what I've been using. Although I've only been using this for a couple days, the many features really amazed me. Definitely an awesome free web host.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-03   -   (IP: 217.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Doesnt allow UK signups.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-03   -   (IP: 161.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
BAD, BAD, BAD, BAD... Some good... This provider would be the best IF and only if they wouldn't keep throwing ads on my site, and totally killing the site about once per month or so. They sometimes put up popups. Now they seem to be doing popups and google ads (I didn't put that google ad there on the top of my site). About once or twice per month I think they look around at all their member's sites and crash the server for a while, redirecting all sites to their various ads, some of which are "adult" related... BAD BAD BAD... I don't want folks looking for my website to be staring at that trash, especially as my site is now resume related!

Reviewed on: 2005-02-21   -   (IP: 201.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
NOT NOTHING! GRRR! When you upload your files and try the make the index.html the server erases all contents in your account. You cant get make a index, and worst they erase all your files. dont waste your time.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-16   -   (IP: 24.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
NOT unlimited. NOT adfree. NO ftp. it STINKS.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-02   -   (IP: 142.199.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've tried about 30 different hosts, and I can say without a doubt that there is no other free webhost that can offer the ease of construction/bandwidth freedom (more on request)/no popup ads or banners (just a small floating ad). I would vote this higher than 10 if I could. It's honestly a jewel.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-19   -   (IP: 209.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
finaly found what i was looking for!

Reviewed on: 2005-01-18   -   (IP: 144.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
This has NOT got UNLIMITED BANDWIDTH OR WEB SPACE [as they claim] and the address is /you
[
the address is BOTH a subdomain and /you - both work:
http://www.freespaces.com/yourname/
http://yourname.freespaces.com/
so you can use either or both URL formats
]


Reviewed on: 2005-01-18   -   (IP: 83.238.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
File Upload Limit - 8000 (kb)
Webspace Limit - 100000 (kb)
Bandwidth Limit - 1000000 (kb)


Reviewed on: 2005-01-13   -   (IP: 140.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Exceptional.  As soon as you read your varification email you can log in.  Nothing I have found has beat it.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-12   -   (IP: 217.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I signed up with them today.  Sign up process was easy.  However, I tried to sign up with a 3 character subdomain, but it was too short, so I had to choose a longer subdomain name.  They will send an automatic email for account activation.  All went well.  File Manager is good and easy.  The text link ads that they put on your site is a DHTML type, so the ads will always appear at the top of the browser.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 17, 2017 -