free webspace  






FreeWebTown

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 21 2 5 4 5 4 2 5 13 25
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.12 / 10

Total Votes: 86




64 User Testimonials/Reviews of FreeWebTown


22 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-11-17   -   (IP: 99.248.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Extremely bad service - really annoying. After 3 months I am trying to retrieve my lost password. I try to send emails and use their automated system, but they are simply NOT ready to provide help for free web space users. I WILL NEVER HOST there again.

Reviewed on: 2007-09-27   -   (IP: 202.91.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
FreeWeb Town is great for free file hosting. I have hosted some big files at other webhosting services and then they were deleted, but not here.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-21   -   (IP: 85.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I have used webtown since 2006. When I joined there was no PHP, but the site was bannerless hosting. However now they have added a stupid banner to free web pages. :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-05-01   -   (IP: 64.114.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
It WAS great - fast hosting server, with good uptime, good file support, and no forced ads. However one day they put a top banner ad on my page (it is kind of a navigation bar for their site), and you can not get rid of it. So much for free bannerless hosting.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-25   -   (IP: 84.251.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
They claim to support FTP and Frontpage server extensions, but after five hours of trying to publish my web page, I simply gave up. It is a great site to use as a free file deposit, but not recommendable for hosting your pages.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-17   -   (IP: 71.70.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
All of these bad reviews of FreeWebTown are pathetic, I am sorry to say. FreeWebTown is awesome, and I am one of those people who SEARCH for new hosts for the fun of it. They have GREAT service, and awesome benefits. My eyes are bugging out at all of the stuff you are allowed to use. For people who do not like it, move on. Newbies, come on and visit. It is AWESOME. The only reason I gave it a 9 rating was because I could not figure out how to edit the layout. Later, complainers! :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-09-10   -   (IP: 141.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is one of the best free home page hosts I have used!

Reviewed on: 2006-05-19   -   (IP: 218.102.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
After you register it, you must wait for 1 day. Then it will send e-mail to you. In that email they give you the ftp address; enter and type your ID and password.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-18   -   (IP: 218.7.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I can register it. I received the e-mail after several hours, but how can I use ftp?

Reviewed on: 2006-05-16   -   (IP: 203.167.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I provided them my email address, and they gave me nothing. :-(  But that's okay, because the web server of this hosting is SLOW. The graphics on other people's websites are slow on upload even with a basic design (and I'm just using dial-up!). I wouldn't recommend this service.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-15   -   (IP: 61.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I gave my email to signup, and it won't let me do anything :-(

Reviewed on: 2006-05-14   -   (IP: 65.7.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
i tried to sign up, and they blocked my ip address for not typing in the right username.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-10   -   (IP: 151.213.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This site is way more than free hosting. I like this web site, because I can upload my mp3s and store them. Also, create playlists and play or share my favorite songs. FWT also lets you upload video files, play them or convert them to the right format to play on your iPod or Sony PSP. A lot of features for free.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-08   -   (IP: 68.161.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They've got my e-mail address, and I've got no web site. Great :-(

Reviewed on: 2006-05-03   -   (IP: 154.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Lots of ads on the actual site. You have to activate its features, which isn't a huge hassle. There isn't a file size limit. You can access ftp. It's pretty fast server.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-16   -   (IP: 84.192.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is an AWESOME host. 1GB Space, 2GB Bandwidth. I recommend this to everyone.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-10   -   (IP: 219.73.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It didn't even let me sign up.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-05   -   (IP: 63.247.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
When I tried registering, I didn't get an error, but it mysteriously just forwarded me to their home page. I never got my login information. I tried a second time - still nothing. What's going on?

Reviewed on: 2006-03-25   -   (IP: 203.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I thought this site was too good to be true but after all the attempts to sign up (a real pain when it doesn't work the first time) I finally spent a couple of days converting and moving my former fan/website over to Freewebtown.  After one week the entire site was deleted, no explanation, no reason, no violation of their TOS. I'm not happy with this host.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-20   -   (IP: 64.201.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Although I agree with some others that their interface is somewhat cluttered by an obsessesion with textlinks, it is still perfectly functional, especially once you are used to it. They provide an amazing amount of bandwidth and storage space, along with many other features. This is not a service to be overlooked.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-14   -   (IP: 70.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
wow, I just started my new web site and this free server is very nice, and the speed as well.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-07   -   (IP: 71.29.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I am listening to my streaming audio playlist on my free website at FreeWebTown as I write this. I love this feature, because there aren't limits to the number of playlists I create. Go there and listen to my favorites (just getting started!). Also, if you have videos you have recorded, there is a feature that automatically converts them so you can download them to your Video iPod or Sony PSP. I love seeing my friends and family on my iPod. Everything is free.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-05   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Recently increased max file storage space to 2 GB, and monthly bandwidth limit to 2 GB. Currently they have over 375,000 users hosted. Features include a photo album, free video streaming, MP3 streaming, weblog, free web page builder, and several scripts such as chat ad site statistics. Click the site tour link on their front page for more info.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-30   -   (IP: 82.36.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Recently they have upgraded their bandwidth and web space from 250mb/month bandwidth and web space to 2gb bandwidth and webspace! Their FTP is a bit slow but this is the best free web hosting site i have ever seen. I used to be with them but they changed their bandwidth but now they've put it back up. it is a brilliant free web host service.

Reviewed on: 2005-12-24   -   (IP: 24.98.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best host. They've just upgraded bandwidth to 2Gb! I see more and more features almost every week. Looks like these guys know what they are doing although it takes some time for them to work out bugs for all the new features.

Reviewed on: 2005-11-08   -   (IP: 82.171.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It's still the best host, the only bad point is the downgraded bandwidth limit, especially when you got 100mb of downloads on a single page and somebody uses DownTHEMall to download the whole thing. That's why i have several accounts at this host. Downtime really decreased now, but both web space and bandwidth are now 250mb. Space is NOT 100mb, watch your disk space meter (that add-on). Space is still 250mb. So it's still a good host, but the bandwidth limit is really low; it should be 500mb or so, at least.

Reviewed on: 2005-09-05   -   (IP: 24.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I just re-read the Terms and Conditions. The free web space is now just 100MB with monthly transfer limits of 250MB. It seems the alloted free space is getting smaller and smaller (it was 1000MB when I first joined, then was downgraded to 250MB).

[Their main page says it is 250MB still.  I see they have copied several of the 10 reviews from this site without permission or giving credit to where they came from.]


Reviewed on: 2005-08-06   -   (IP: 82.36.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
this was a good host but then they changed the bandwidth limit so now its pretty rubbish.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-29   -   (IP: 66.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Their current bandwidth is 250 Mb. You can buy additional bandwidth for $1.00 per 1 Gb, which is reasonable, but this is supposed to be a free service?? ftp access is hit and miss, lately it's been more miss than hit. On the plus side, at least I can access my site.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-26   -   (IP: 62.238.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
A good host, only the bandwith stinks now. It's not 1000 mb anymore, but 250. And that's far too little for a big website.  Their home page says, "We have temporarily reduced our free bandwidth allowances to 250 MB."

Reviewed on: 2005-06-17   -   (IP: 81.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
i cant even sign up!

Reviewed on: 2005-06-17   -   (IP: 60.225.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I hate the free web hosts pages when they have advertisements all over them. they look very unprofessional. not enough bandwidth for the web space that they give you.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-03   -   (IP: 80.208.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is awsome! It took me about 10 minutes to establish my homepage. Very easy. I've experienced zero problems.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-01   -   (IP: 212.19.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I have had a site on here for ages and it kept going for weeks till the bandwidth struck its limit (that was in April) and it still said bandwidth limit met on the 1st of May!

Reviewed on: 2005-05-31   -   (IP: 216.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This free web host is great. This free web host is fast even for my downloads. You even get FrontPage Support. Your username is your dir name. One downside is the disk usuage is all in bytes, hard to read if you know what I mean but you could look at the millions to see how much MB your using. I would recommend this free web host to anyone that doesn't need any scripting, needs alot of free web space, or wants a free web host that doesn't have forced ads on their pages.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-26   -   (IP: 81.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
The service is pretty good but they do not give out 1.0 GB of bandwidth per month as advertised, I have contacted them and they confirmed that they "temporarily" lowered the free monthly bandwith to 250 MB, which is VERY VERY low. I don't know how temporary this is but I am forced to start looking someplace else for web hosting.

Reviewed on: 2005-05-14   -   (IP: 63.16.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I have not been able to access the FWT server for 3 days now. NO. It is not due to bandwidth. I have increased mine to 3.2 gigs. The overall concept is great if you can access the site randomly. I have had my site with then for a number of months and have had probs with their server the entire time. I would really be upset if i were using it for any type of business. As it stands. i cannot open the site today. I have tried and tried from every portal. Just won't open. So, I will consider this to be a new server issue. I will continue to use them, however will not add or update any pages on my site.
[Your website loaded okay.]


Reviewed on: 2005-05-05   -   (IP: 61.94.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
that site sooo worst. just 1 GB for a bandwidth? Soooo strict, my site only for a week was overload again and wait one month. 1 GB storage is big, but the bandwidth minimum 9 GB - Unlimited!

Reviewed on: 2005-04-08   -   (IP: 24.136.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They lied to me and I did all this work promoting my site even using PPC Engines and wasting work and money. And the next day my page was gone because my bandwidth was gone.
I have a good familyfriendly SpywareFree And VirusFree site and I got treated like that. I got negative because of what FreeWebTown did. I really don't reccomend this Host. I reccomend that you need to have your own server. I noticed the server goes down a lot. I don't like FreeWebTown because I can't pay money when I give away freeware I devoloped.


Reviewed on: 2005-04-08   -   (IP: 4.4.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is a bad host. yes, it has fast FTP, but they lie about how much data transfer you can use, at first they said 1Gb, but then they shut down my site and asked for donations from visitors. when I logged in and checked it, it said I had only used 250mb, then when I checked it again the next day, it said I had used 450mb, but that the limit was 300! This website tries to cheat you!

Reviewed on: 2005-04-07   -   (IP: 82.36.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Good host but DONT upload too much in 1 month. theres a special download limit which is about 100mb but other than that and sometimes the severs down its a great webhost specially if you got a proffesianal site and domain (.co.uk.com etc) because its got very fast ftp and it is very reliable web hosting.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-07   -   (IP: 62.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They had good promises -and like you could guess, too good to be true. This host tries to get people pay for their service with disabling sites randomly. Couple days ago my site was not working -then i checked its bandwidth, and it was not used at all (i have not promoted it much). Still they claim that its 1GB limit is full! Then i checked it again before i was mailing to my friend and told him about my bad luck -and site was working again. Today i checked it again few minutes ago, and it didn't work anymore and it was redirected to site where was told that bandwidht is full. I logged freewebtown site and checked my bandwidht counter, it wasn't full, or does this look like full to you?

"Bandwidth Usage Period: Apr 01, 2005 through May 01, 2005
Total Active Days: 7 days
Total Bandwidth Used: 20,635 Kbytes, (6.56% of 0.3 GB Limit)".
And now there is told that bandwidht is 0.3GB instead of 1GB.  0.3 is so little that i wouldn't even signed in with that. And i really don't need a site which is working just occasionally.


Reviewed on: 2005-04-07   -   (IP: 24.136.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Bandwidth limit is too low.  They said that all of my bandwidth was gone and My site is gone for the rest of the MONTH:
"We regret to inform you...
This website has exceeded the allowed monthly data transfer limit! (1.0 GB per month is the standard allowed free data transfer limit)."


Reviewed on: 2005-04-06   -   (IP: 213.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Most of the time my website wouldn't load (completely), the server is often down. and it's sometimes slow. but The sign up wasn't really that difficult and it works really great with FTP. (if the server isn't dead). 1000MB is a lot, but if your page wouldn't load, that stinks.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-04   -   (IP: 80.42.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
GREAT web host free!

Reviewed on: 2005-04-02   -   (IP: 217.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Too slow and hangs for ages when accessing pages but it is a good offer. Just needs the ability to cope with lots of web traffic upgrading.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-19   -   (IP: 67.9.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I hunted around a lot for a free host with >50MB space, no ads, and FTP uploads before trying FreeWebTown. Very simple and instantaneous activation. I give it 9 instead of 10 only because FTP crashed on me twice uploading 70MB worth of files (not sure that was their fault). Of course, I've only had the site up for a few hours now, but so far it's everything I want.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-17   -   (IP: 70.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great hosting with lots of web space free.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-13   -   (IP: 66.205.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
In regards to the post below me: Its because of the way its setup. a. They want you to come back to thier site for advertising impressions. b. Its because the server is masked pretty much and its set to only allow you to upload and not edit. I assume they must of had problems with users in the past. For the most part, it is fairly stable. The big drag though is the faiilure of other script supports. For a free and no ad host, its not half bad.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-13   -   (IP: 65.196.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This site is quite good. It had a quite big limit size file upload. But, the ftp has problem. you can NOT open folder on FTP. they didn't fix for a long time.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-27   -   (IP: 68.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Awesome free web host site. They dont make you have ads on your site, and the web space you get to upload files goes unmatched. this is a little known site, but i recomend it for anyone who wants a free website.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-20   -   (IP: 193.61.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
It doesn't work. I've had reports of "slowness" on the first day i put it up, so i went to check it out and the entire site was down. Pathetic.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-12   -   (IP: 24.94.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
sometimes it breaks down and dont work. SO i have to wait for so so so long for it to work. But it is kool though.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-11   -   (IP: 80.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a great web hosting. My family wanted to build a website on which to host my sister's wedding videos, and luckily, FreeWebTown offers the best space and deal for hosting a family website on which video recordings can be hosted too. While AngelFire does have the possibility of hosting videos, FWT's got better web space for them and even better bandwidth. They've also got webbased email options, and with no ads on your pages, this makes it one of the best free hosts for a family website. I happily recommend FreeWebTown for everybody who wants to open a family website free.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-07   -   (IP: 70.49.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This website is great, I am able to upload things, make my own page.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-10   -   (IP: 154.6.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
For the folks saying this service is pathetic/terrible... THEY'RE the ones who are pathetic! Seriously, if you can't figure out that you can simply enter in any 5-digit number (instead of whining that it doesn't support UK or foreign Zip codes) is really beyond my ability to give you any sympathy whatsoever. Plus, it's a free service!

From what I've seen, it's pretty fast, and the fact that I don't have to run ads makes it worth putting up with some slow periods when and if they occur. The features are very numerous and although not all cutting edge, they are usable and I could see a lot of value in them for a novice user.

Remember... they don't require advertising!!! It's really amazing they could offer what they do and it's online more than most other free hosts I've run across... I think people who complain about sites that are so obviously better and more generous than the rest are out of touch with reality.

Freewebtown RULES!!! Keep up the good work!


Reviewed on: 2004-11-06   -   (IP: 212.85.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host DOES allow other Zip Codes other than US codes, i put e1 9hq, and country  - UK, it works...Try it out! it allows Hot Linking, up to 10 MB upload size limit. Enjoy.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-25   -   (IP: 220.248.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I love you, Free Web Town!

Reviewed on: 2004-10-23   -   (IP: 193.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
you can upload until 10MB. i have tried About 6MB and OK.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-23   -   (IP: 213.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
you have the option to live in any country you want...as long as you have a US zip code O_O  i am not amused. i'd tell you what the positive point were, if i could get to them. mucho stupid.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-22   -   (IP: 194.81.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host is pathetic. If you dont have US zip code, it wont let you sign up. This needs to be dealt with. I can't say anything good about this free hsot, because I was never able to get anything uploaded!
UK postal codes us the convention of either XXX-XXX, or XXXX-XXX
The 6 digit code simply wont work. Appaling!


Reviewed on: 2004-10-17   -   (IP: 80.58.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I really recommend this webhost. It's true as it has been said, there has been some problems with server (php errors). I think this host is still new but we have been patient and right now i have seen 0 errors. Right now (10/17/04) we can use ftp threw web and even program (conection is a bit slow to ftp). But there is also a web file manager on user area (also templates and other usefull things for who doesnt know about html-weblog-photo gallery-guestbook-forum-chat-'web page builder'...).
As i said, server seems to be new, right now there's no addon personal sites (but i guess there will be in future, i only hope they dont use frames to add a banner to our sites). About bandwith limit and MB hosted, i really have no idea. In fact it seems we are allowed 1gb, i didn't tried to know limit in mb of each file allowed (biggest i have is 1.66mb), and about bandwith right now i had no problem uploading or downloading when i wanted. I've joined freewebtown this summer, at beginning php errors have been seen, NOT ANYMORE.  Is it fast or not? i cant say, at beginning i really had the feeling it was really fast, but right now im not sure, ftp connection seems to be slow. About support, no idea. There are some forums, and i think hardware or web forum can also work as a support way... So, i really recommend to try this server. The only reason that could make me look for another server is that in future they add a frame to my site with adds (if it s pop-up it ll be ok).


Reviewed on: 2004-09-28   -   (IP: 217.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Sign up was not easy because they wanted to know a few things about you.  After signing up, I tried to login and the whole server went down.  Terrible.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-27   -   (IP: 82.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I thought "Great Host" - Multiple file upload 100mb, fast.
But once i uploaded a few songs the next day (or the one after) they are deleted , my html files stay but they are deleted everytime. Its a great host though.


 

Copyright © 2002-2018 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 18, 2018 -