free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  FreeWebs

( "Free Webs Hosting" )


Visit: FreeWebs
http://www.webs.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 40 MB.
Forced Ads: Banners Top+Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic, WYSIWYG.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Chat, Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum.
Your URL: /you.
Other Features:
  • Note: Limit of 100 files.
  • Bandwidth limit 500+ MB/month.
  • Password-protected files.
  • File size limit 1 MB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • FreeWebs.com is the same free webshosting company as Webs.com.
Date Added: November 10, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 28   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 50 15 9 8 21 15 23 22 34 161
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.23 / 10

Total Votes: 358

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  FreeWebs



212 User Testimonials/Reviews of FreeWebs


146 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2004-01-11   -   (IP: 64.4.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It's pretty good. I've used it for I don't know...six months? I max out on bandwith a lot though so that is frustrating. Very fast, about three days downtime for no reason, not a whole lot to say about that.

I have a whole load of images (that's all I basically use it for) but sometimes they won't load. I can't say anything about the suppost features because I haven't run into any problems.

This site is intended for people with at least simple HTML skills. I haven't used it on Beginner but I haven't heard a lot of good for that. I reccomend this to people with a low traffic site or just to host a couple images.


Reviewed on: 2004-01-04   -   (IP: 68.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Well..when I first started using freewebs(about 3 months ago) I had no HTML knowlege so I used the begginer mode..I was blown away by the uploading speeds after using GeoCities..And no forced banner ads!..The only problems I had were the counters not showing for a while..I also loved the way you could copy and paste pictures...(not happy about the 7 page limit though) But besides that they make it really easy to get a simple web page going!

Now 3 months later I am an advanced user and loving it too. I like how you can use MS Frontpage instead of using thiers..And you can still copy and paste pictures using their design view..

Over all I have had no major problems with frewebs and will probably never change hosts..


Reviewed on: 2003-12-30   -   (IP: 151.204.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Very disappointed with this site. I use it strictly as a webalbum. I purchased the premium service but it is far from "premium". Until a month ago, it worked fine but slow. I deleted the pics and started over, replacing them with smaller versions. Now, the websalbum won't show any pics. When I go to the site manager site everything seems to be in order. But when I try to open the websalbum, nothing happens. Have sent two emails for help, but so far, these have gone ignored. Very frustrating!!!

Reviewed on: 2003-11-07   -   (IP: 208.32.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Although others have had problems with this host, I have had none. I wouldn't know about tech support, accordingly, but the site is very quick to load - and that counts for uploading, too. Being an advanced html user, I have over 7 pages, and my bandwith is doing fine.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-30   -   (IP: 63.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Ok, first of all, the seven page limit only applies in beginner mode. If you're in advanced mode, you can have up to fifty, as the pages count as files. Second of all, I think that these people should realize that freewebz is more intended for advanced users, knowledgable in html.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-27   -   (IP: 164.58.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I started using FreeWebs a couple months ago, and we got so many hits at first we went over the bandwidth in a week. Then, we couldn't get on the site. So my friend and i split the price for the premium service, like 20 bucks for six months, not much at all. Now I can't really find anything about it that i dislike. Stop complaining about limited service and just pay some pocket change and get premium.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-18   -   (IP: 216.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Ugh. This webhost kinda stinks. It limits the amounts of files you have, including number of pages. And you can only upload ONE file at a time! There's absolutely no tech support, and it's slow. It takes too long to upload big files, even when I'm not using dial-up. There's no FTP access (from what I know), and it dosen't even support PHP. The only thing even remotely good about it is the layouts. Other than that, everything else stinks.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-18   -   (IP: 68.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I love freewebs.com! It gives you an option of beginner(point-and-click) website or advanced (programming) website. It doesn't give you a domain name but freewebs.com is easy to remember. I have used this host for a few years and the only problem is that you can't use forms (buttons etc.), otherwise I think it has all I need. I have never seen it down except one time it was down an hour at most. Very fast too. I haven't needed any support so I'm not sure how that is.

Reviewed on: 2003-09-19   -   (IP: 216.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This site stinks. I wouldn't reccomend this host. 500 bandwidth is sooooo little.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-24   -   (IP: 217.155.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I have been using Freewebs for 5 months now. And I use four accounts for my two sites which I host on them. Freewebs would get a more favourable review if they had worked at all today.

The download speed is so slow that a 5MB file took me over an hour to download on broadband. The upload speed is slow, and the site is often down. Their help is useless, and I e-mailled them two weeks ago and haven't had a reply yet... I resolved the problem of not being able to open the File Manager: change the server in the address bar by changing the number (when it says members4.freewebs.com or whatever, change the number).

The best things about this host are probably that you can upload your own site, and edit it in HTML (although their site only works with later versions of Internet Explorer, and doesn't have any support for Macs.) And of course not having to have any pop ups or banner ads, that is the best thing.




212 Customer Comments/Reviews of FreeWebs

Page:  18 of 22

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 22, 2017 -