free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  FreeWebs

( "Free Webs Hosting" )


Visit: FreeWebs
http://www.webs.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 40 MB.
Forced Ads: Banners Top+Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic, WYSIWYG.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Chat, Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum.
Your URL: /you.
Other Features:
  • Note: Limit of 100 files.
  • Bandwidth limit 500+ MB/month.
  • Password-protected files.
  • File size limit 1 MB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • FreeWebs.com is the same free webshosting company as Webs.com.
Date Added: November 10, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 28   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 50 15 9 8 21 15 23 22 34 161
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.23 / 10

Total Votes: 358

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  FreeWebs



212 User Testimonials/Reviews of FreeWebs


146 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2003-07-01   -   (IP: 205.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
My rating goes down further (used to be 7) when i spent the whole day designing a site and wham it wasn't at all right.
Let me back up a little. I wanted to use an easy builder and get a good amount of pages. Using the beginner user stage, i built 7 pages. As i went for the 8th, i was stopped by a pop up message claiming 7 pages per free account beginner user. So i go to Advanced User and of course you can make as many pages as you like (50 file limit) but you need to know HTML to link your pages together and the HTML builder is slow. I think it is an OK host but the HTML builder is confusing and i can't add any images! The easybuilder lets you merely copy and paste your images to the pages. Quite nice. But still 7 pages for the beginner, and 50 i guess for the advanced. The example page i made (http://www.freewebs.com/lizziemcguiretv/) used the Easy Builder and took only about 45 minutes.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-11   -   (IP: 67.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
What is there to say but the worst web host i have seen. i would never use them again nor would i tell anyone about them.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-08   -   (IP: 65.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
freewebs.com is the worst web host in the world that every one has seen no good speed no multi upload. it takes 1000 min for one upload no good space host no good nothing good !!! everything stinks. i put a lot of things and i saved and after i went in my site i saw that nothing changed. it didn't save it good .... man it really stinks and you want that we pay too!! HEH !! guess what you have to pay me for that i use it. not me. hahahhaaha ! :-))
every one say that "what your crazy. i'm not gonna use freewebs.com. it's the worst web hosting in world !!!


Reviewed on: 2003-06-07   -   (IP: 67.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I paid for the Premium service from free webs and they said i exceeded my bandwidth and then my site was deleted and no money came back to me. what a joke. i would never recommend freewebs for anything unless you like to give your money away and get nothing in return!!!

Reviewed on: 2003-06-01   -   (IP: 212.18.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host is full of garbage. 40 megs? Neat!? One file upload at a time (want more? pay for it!). Oh, I can upload zips. Neat. Max file size is 450 kb. I split my zip file into 10 smaller zips, and upload one at a time. I start unzipping... Only 50 files allowed. 50 files times 450 kb doesn't even add up to 25 megs. So you can't even fill the 40 megs they promise you!

Reviewed on: 2003-05-29   -   (IP: 202.8.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
only 7 pages...good for beginners..even though i am a beginer..but still..7 pages only.

Reviewed on: 2003-05-29   -   (IP: 68.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I dont know what you people are talking about.  FreeWebs is quite simply the best free web host on the net right now.  And it doesn't look like they are going out of business like the rest of the free hosts.

Reviewed on: 2003-05-01   -   (IP: 203.97.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This host has been around for a year or so now. It's good for a small, simple site. The one file upload is annoying, but you can submit a zip file, then unzip it on server.

Reviewed on: 2003-02-07   -   (IP: 206.148.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Folks, I don't know what is the problem with Freewebs but they do not reply to my questions for Help. Their tech support is either non-existent or is ignoring my messages on purpose. No Reply. zero. Very rude.

The problem I'm having is that the step-by-step instructions in the "Build your Site" Help file do not agree with the available options or buttons when I get to the Edit Page/Paragraph, so obviously I ask for some clarification, but no help or reply. To be fair,
I haven't noticed any problems with their servers, and the rest of the webpage builder is great for novices. Being a novice at webpage building, I expected a bit of help, but have received zero.

If any of you knows what is the trick or procedure to be able to take an uploaded .mp3 file and make it "downloadable" from the site, please help. Also, I am unable to delete an .mp3 file from the DOCS MANAGER, it simply won't delete, even though I have been able to delete any other type of file.

Because my site is small, requiring only 5 pages, I am
fine with the 50-file limit, 7-page limit, and other limitations such as slow-serving rates for downloads.
(well, if I could only get the .mp3 file to be available from the page). But the issue with techsupport has made me very unhappy so I rate this company at 2. 

I went as far as looking up their parent company,
UpIN60 Technologies Inc., to see if I could find an e-mail
or a telephone number to get some help. I found their
e-mail and wrote: no reply. I phoned and got an answer machine, left a message, no reply.

My messages to them have been courteous, so I don't think
it is an issue with me being abusive, I haven't been so.
I suspect it is the fact that I'm using the free service
as opposed to their Premium "service".


Reviewed on: 2003-02-02   -   (IP: 213.45.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
it's not true they have the limit of 50 files on the server! You can upload all your site by a zip file (with 50 files or more) and then unzip it on the server: it's not very comfortable but it works!



212 Customer Comments/Reviews of FreeWebs

Page:  20 of 22

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 25, 2017 -