free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  FreeWebs

( "Free Webs Hosting" )


Visit: FreeWebs
http://www.webs.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 40 MB.
Forced Ads: Banners Top+Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic, WYSIWYG.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Chat, Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum.
Your URL: /you.
Other Features:
  • Note: Limit of 100 files.
  • Bandwidth limit 500+ MB/month.
  • Password-protected files.
  • File size limit 1 MB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • FreeWebs.com is the same free webshosting company as Webs.com.
Date Added: November 10, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 28   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 50 15 9 8 21 15 23 22 34 161
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.23 / 10

Total Votes: 358

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  FreeWebs



212 User Testimonials/Reviews of FreeWebs


146 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2003-01-27   -   (IP: 210.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
pretty much what 'disappointed' said:
-after the server change, i was very happy with this site (even emailed them a compliment), UNTIL the 50-file limit thing kicked in >:( so photo/image galleries are pointless esp. if you use thumbnails.
so far the best host i've had, but it isn't the last one :(


Reviewed on: 2003-01-18   -   (IP: 205.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
OK. So i thought i'd found the host of my dreams.
I go to build a spacious, 10 page or more site, when i find- 7 page limit! Only 7 cruddy small pages! What a rip!

This is a good host for those who don't have a big site or need more than 7 pages. But 7 is the free acount limit no matter what you do.

Well, bottom line, good host BUT it really needs to let you have about 10-15 pages.

Well, that's all the bad stuff. Now for the good:

*Good site Builder
*Fast
*Service is good
*They make the Navigation menu for you-phew!
*No stupid HTML

And yet i'm turned off by only 7 pages!
Well the site i've made is pretty good, but still it's SEVEN pages. So, whatever.


Reviewed on: 2003-01-16   -   (IP: 132.216.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Freewebz [FreeWebs] looked ideal when I signed up a few months ago. I needed room to consolidate a lot of little web sites into one large one, and peace of mind to finish the whole thing.

First, when I signed up, they prompted me to choose the language of my web site. I did. Then when I started to build, the accents on the words were not showing up properly. I asked their techs for help. They said they don't support special character sets for languages other than English!  Well, then WHY at signup ask you which language your site will be if you don't support it.

Okay, I used HTML special characters, you know, etc., to fine-tune my layouts.  To my horror, the freewebz servers simply wiped out all special HTML characters. Their techs were never able to explain why, or fix it.

Then, I had to upload a lot of PDF files. Another surprise... there is no provision in the freewebz file manager for pdf files, i.e., you can't click on them inside the file manager to see them & you can't select to copy and paste, you just can't grab the address at all. The freewebz techs seemed surprised anyone would want to use PDF files, and suggested the only way to get at them was: type their paths into the location finder of my browser!  Wow, nice long way to work.  Then, when I had to finally access those files in order to clone them to another web site, I had a hard time getting at them. Even typing them into the location finder, they often would not come up. I lost some irreplaceable PDF files.

The upload of one file at a time was a hassle when I signed up, but for the 100 megs space, and another 200 megs later at a cheap price that the techs quoted me, with unlimited bandwidth, I thought I could live with it. For the first few months, it seemed every time I wanted to work on my web site, the freewebz server was either down or so slow it was a waste of my time. Their techs apologised and apologised, and finally said they were moving to faster servers. Great, that happened just around Christmas 2002.  Finally, the moment I had been waiting for, I could consolidate all my files from several smaller web sites and work to FINISH my nice big web site.  I had 30 megs of space left in freewebz, enough to last me till I could afford to pay for the next 200 megs.  I logged in and started to upload. Got the surprise of my life: no uploads allowed any more because I had over 50 files in my directories!  I had not yet used up the 100 megs of "free space" they had promised me, and now again my entire account was essentially frozen. I had waited months, very patiently, for these guys to get their act together, and after all that patience, I was rewarded with a rude slap in the face by finding my upload shut off without the simple courtesy that is so easy of sending an advance e-mail to your members to let them know you PLAN to shut off uploads after 50 files at such-and-such a date, REGARDLESS of the alleged 100 megs promised.

So much for the name "FREEwebz". It's more like "hijackwebs", once they get 80 or so megs of your files in their servers and hold a gun to your head to pay up or shut off your access.

I don't like dealing with people who can't keep their word, and who behave toward me as a member and customer in a way that makes me feel they do not care if I trust them or not.

I deleted my 80 megs of files one at a time in order to move them and start over again.

So much for "free" web hosts.


Reviewed on: 2003-01-02   -   (IP: 195.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
What are the host's positive and negative aspects?
Positive:
Reasonably fast now they are on new servers.
Negative: Claim no banners or advertising.  Instead you place a tracking code on your page.  Tracking code = advertising. 
Also had the problem with the 50 page limit.
Uploading pages one by one.

Would you recommend this free host?
To people who have few pages and images, this would be a perfect host.

How long have you used this free webhost?
4 months

Has this host been reliable (approximate % downtime if known)?
Yes.

Is the host fast or slow?
Reasonably fast.

Is the host's support/features good or bad?  Why?
Features are good, simple yet effective.


Reviewed on: 2003-01-02   -   (IP: 210.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I thought I had found my dream host. Free, no ads, easy to use, great features. When I signup, I find out that you are only able to upload a file at a time. I could deal with that small glitch. So now, when I'm in full swing, I find this out:
"Non-Premium FreeWebs Users can only have up to 50 files. To upload an unlimited number of files, please upgrade your account to Premium User status by signing up for any service from your Premium Services area."

Thanks for telling me earlier, Freewebs. Now I have to move all over again, to another server. Not a happy webmaster.


Reviewed on: 2002-11-28   -   (IP: 66.108.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This is cool... the only thing i don't like about it is that u could only upload 1 file at aa time.. u have to be a premium member to upload multiple files.. but it's cool.. uploading is fast.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-19   -   (IP: 68.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Wow, this is a really good and easy to use web host.  All web hosts should be this easy to sign-up and use.  The only downside is you have to pay to upload more than one file at once.  Good job, FreeWebs!

Reviewed on: 2002-11-12   -   (IP: 68.48.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great Service!!! Fast hosting and my pages load up in alot less time than the other sites i've used before! Never been down from what i know so 100% uptime!!!

Thanks for Gj!


Reviewed on: 2002-11-12   -   (IP: 207.172.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is amazing.  It is extremely fast and best of all it is FREE with NO ADS!!! I had been searching for something like this for years, and when i found it, i cherished it.  You can setup e-commerce, etc. all for FREE! It's the best!

Reviewed on: 2002-11-12   -   (IP: 131.118.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Freewebs is the greatest web service ever!!  There service is fast, easy to use, and comes with great tech support.  The site has almost no downtime and I would strongly recomend Freewebs to anyone considering making a webpage.  I changed hosts 3 times before finding Freewebs and it is great.



212 Customer Comments/Reviews of FreeWebs

Page:  21 of 22

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 21, 2017 -