free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  FreeWebs

( "Free Webs Hosting" )


Visit: FreeWebs
http://www.webs.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 40 MB.
Forced Ads: Banners Top+Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic, WYSIWYG.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Chat, Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum.
Your URL: /you.
Other Features:
  • Note: Limit of 100 files.
  • Bandwidth limit 500+ MB/month.
  • Password-protected files.
  • File size limit 1 MB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • FreeWebs.com is the same free webshosting company as Webs.com.
Date Added: November 10, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 28   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 50 15 9 8 21 15 23 22 34 161
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.23 / 10

Total Votes: 358

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  FreeWebs



357 User Testimonials/Reviews of FreeWebs

Reviewed on: 2007-11-12   -   (IP: 68.228.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Freewebs support is real slow. They do not want to fix my issues as promised. Also my usage meter does not work.

Reviewed on: 2007-11-10   -   (IP: 24.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It has terrible uptime, and is way too commercial, luring in a bunch of newbie who like the copy-and-paste style of coding web pages. Ugh. Notice there are NO professional sites who host on freewebs. Also there is no PHP, ASP, SSI, FTP, or mySQL databases.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-29   -   (IP: 68.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Freewebs is probably one of the worst of the many hosts I have used. Half the time my webpages never work, even with their ugly templates; all I get is a normal webpage but missing all of the paragraphs, and when I realized this, I have to set another webpage template. There is also this annoying downtime when I get a "This page cannot be displayed" error about every hour. What really bugged me though is that their tacky widgets which just make your site look like a 12 year old's MySpace work full and well, but their semi-useful scripts such as their blog would not work at all. The only thing that saves this from having a "1" rating is their decent forum script.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-25   -   (IP: 24.119.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I am a very sad to say after years of being with this host, they have been ATTEMPTING upgrades to the service and have failed terribly. At this point you cannot add or edit anything to your web site. This is not good at all when you are trying to build and run a prosperous business. It is time for me and a lot of other members to find a new host.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-23   -   (IP: 68.200.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Freewebs USED to be wonderful. A month ago, I would have given them a 10 rating. Over the last year, I worked to build a web site for myself and others in my field as a quick place to get information. This has been a year long project, and now I understand that my website could be GONE in a heartbeat.
1. There is NO possible way to save your website when in site builder mode [you could save it a webpage at a time in your browser, or use one of the many free website scraper utilities]. Thus if someone decides to hack your site, and hit the delete key [though very unlikely], too bad!
2. Since they started this new site builder mode, it has been horrible. My web pages look all messed up. Lots of times I can not get into my website. Lots of time I can not even view my website.
3. I create web pages, and before I have the chance to save them, they are gone!
If you loved freewebs before, you will not any longer.


Reviewed on: 2007-10-22   -   (IP: 24.208.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Freewebs recently renamed my website to www1.url.com for 3-4 weeks. Then they changed it back to www.url.com. Most of my website traffic came from organic search results. Now all the search engines have me indexed as www1.url.com that leads to a 404 error page that I have no control over due to freewebs not allowing .htaccess access. I have been constantly emailing their support (there is no phone support) and receiving a generic "your site works fine" reply three days later. I have been financially affected by this for more than the $100 a year cost of the hosting. In my opinion, stay clear of freewebs!

Reviewed on: 2007-10-21   -   (IP: 142.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
FreeWebs is a good site that I have been with for over 4 years. Unfortunately it is going through some difficult growing pains right now, so signing up may not be prudent until they have updated the service more. Still, they have added a lot of functionality to the site, with widgets giving you some added extras. Third party scripts can be added for enhancing your free web site pages.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-20   -   (IP: 90.203.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Having been a freewebs user for about 4 years now, I have seen a lot of improvement since when I first joined. For example, when I first joined, in effect you could only have 49 paragraphs per account (7 per page, and 7 pages per account). However, when they introduced the "Insert Paragraph", I found a glitch that allowed me to get more than 7 paragraphs per page ;-), but since then they have removed the paragraph and page limit. However, to work out how many ads there will be on a specific page (round up!), use the formula 1/7n-1=y where n is the number of paragraphs and y is the number of ads in that page. However, whilst I have advertised the improvements with the Site Builder that have been made during time, I would also like to talk about some new features. As mentioned in a previous review, Freewebs has a selection of games that can be added as "Widgets" (do not ask me why they named it that), including Tetris, Sonic, and some other game classics. They also have many other widgets, such as hit counters and countdown clocks. Their downtime record is unblemished as far as I know. From all my time in using Free Webs, I have seen their servers down 0% of the time. However, whilst so far I have shown FreeWebs in a positive light, no web hosting company is perfect, and one of the things that annoys me most is loading times. Combine that with a laptop that frequently drops the internet connection, and you have a recipe for disaster. Overall, this is a really good freehosting company with all it is features and functions, and I would recommend it hands down to most people, but if you need a website that loads quickly, you will have to turn away from FreeWebs.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-18   -   (IP: 207.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I thought it was a good free home pages hosting service until I found out that users get NO FTP ACCESS! Since my web sites are prebuilt, I had no need of their junky webpage templates. AVOID THIS! It is only for newbies and useless for real websites.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-12   -   (IP: 67.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Wow, this is an amazing host. I used freewebs for the host, and a free domain from another site. The WYSIWYG webpage editor is incredible. The web site templates to make webpages are amazing. There are some things that you cannot customize, but you can include some html in your website. It works fine for simple websites. Thank you.



357 Customer Comments/Reviews of FreeWebs

Page:  1 of 36

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 22, 2017 -