free webspace  






Geocities Yahoo

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 17 7 5 4 7 6 9 5 7 16
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  5.53 / 10

Total Votes: 83




64 User Testimonials/Reviews of Geocities Yahoo


19 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-11-07   -   (IP: 212.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Awful, truly awful. If anything goes wrong, you are stuffed, as their customer services seem as slow as tectonic plates at responding to anything and have almost no IT knowledge. Three times in the last month my site has been knocked offline, each time because they did something wrong on their end. They said, "We are sorry to inform you that whilst upgrading PHP/mySQL some errors were made... We hope to have your site back online within a week."... a week! That was the last straw; I changed hosts and never looked back.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-21   -   (IP: 69.203.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This was my first website host, and it seemed really good at first. Later they banned my web site because the Terms of Service did not allow the space to be used as storage space of files. :-( I could not even use the site to host my programs! Another reason they deleted my site could have been that I linked to my Wordpress blog, which they must have thought I was using to cheat for more space. I do not recommend this site at all.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-05   -   (IP: 210.4.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
So, let's start with the positives - They are free web page hosting server, good for starters, and yes, you get Yahoo! Mail which is now UNLIMITED for FREE; you get this nifty upload page, and that is about it. Now with the negatives - the URL system ("/you" thingy) is very bad, they put ads, very annoying ads! They allow no scripting stuff no other databases, etc. For starters who are just learning HTML and want to share it to their family, relatives, friends and obviously, the whole world, I would recommend Geocities, but do not even dare to ask a single question about the how the ads show up that "you did not code". I have used this freehost for a week. Why such a short period of time? It is because I was looking for a bannerless and reliable yet free web hosting provider, and Geocities is not that reliable, and obviously it is not bannerless. So I did not care much about the downtime because I took it down after that. They are so incredibly slow! Back then I was coding with tables and then using FrontPage, and my site loaded very much slower! I never bothered to contact their support because I figure they do not care since they are so big.

Reviewed on: 2007-07-26   -   (IP: 199.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I have created 2 free websites for home owners associations, one that has been running for a few years now and another one about 3 months ago. Geocities keeps canceling the new one for TOS violations. The only linking on it is to another page in my website area. So I guess you can have only a 1 page website??! The older site has been updated and not locked yet, but it is probably only a matter of time.

Reviewed on: 2007-07-25   -   (IP: 71.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
They put a horrible ad-box on your free homepage. For those who have not tried it, the ad-box destroys much of your webpage with unrelated advertising, which made me think twice before adding another page.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-29   -   (IP: 71.189.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
An ad box filled up 1/3 of the page full of unrelated content! Horrible.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-04   -   (IP: 75.32.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It was great at first, with no downtime of course, until I received an e-mail saying they had canceled my account because it was recently identified to be in violation of the GeoCities Terms of Service, which says that you can not use your free web pages as storage space for remote loading or as a door page or signpost to another homepage, whether inside or beyond Yahoo GeoCities website. Seemingly you cannot even link to other web sites. Very bad! :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-05-25   -   (IP: 82.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I like the fact that you get your own personal email to sign up, and also to host cool stuff like video playlists. That is what I came here searching for, but I am sure I will find many other uses for their free webpage hosting!

Reviewed on: 2007-04-10   -   (IP: 80.47.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I no longer have a url on geocities, because they have locked me out of my freewebhosting account for the last time. Oh, of course they say it is my computer, and that it must be too much activity on my server, or I have this or that. My husband has an account with Yahoo Geocities, and he can access his account on my computer. Therefore the problem is with yahoo geocities. The truth is geocities used to be great until years ago when they made the fatal mistake of merging with yahoo. It has gone downhill ever since. They are constantly causing all sorts of technical difficulties with your account that never get resolved. Their answer is to purchase their premium account, and all your troubles will go away. LOL. If the free account has this many problems, then why would I ever want to pay for it?! Take my advice and stear clear of yahoo geocities. It is a real nightmare. Believe me when I tell you that there are loads of free web hosting providers that never give you problem just because you have one of their free accounts!

Reviewed on: 2007-01-23   -   (IP: 201.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I do not know why Yahoo Geocities free web page hosting has such low rating. I know this is not the best free host ever, and if you want to host some site with PHP or or Mysql for example, you can not use it, but for a simple HTML site that does not have that much visits it is great. There is just a little ad. let's get serious here. non-ads free web hosts are strange; believe me. they are not just good persons that came to this world to help us poor mortals to have a web-hosting free of charge, AND free of any ads. This host works fine for me. My web site only stayed 1 or 2 times offline in all these years I have used this host. It is acceptable at least. great host, I say!

Reviewed on: 2006-12-28   -   (IP: 161.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
My personal web site was up for 3 or 4 months, and then suddenly they cancelled my account with no notice. All emails to yahoo are ignored.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-18   -   (IP: 192.31.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Yahoo Geocities free home page hosting does not allow enough room (web space) for my portfolio, although I did have a small portfolio web site there for a short time that ran quickly and reliably.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-30   -   (IP: 207.102.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I had a free personal website with Geocities for six years. My free website account was cancelled without warning. They sent me a form-letter, claiming breach of Terms of Service. I still do not know what went wrong since I have not altered the content of my website from day one. So if you value your time and want to keep some self-respect, never ever use geocities page builder. Build your website at home using simple HTML editor like Arachnophilia. That way you will have a working copy of your web site when they kick you out for no particular reason.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-31   -   (IP: 12.32.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This was my first free website host. It was simple to create webpages using a template for my baby to share info with my relatives. I added a link to point to yahoo photos to show the baby pics.  After a month, with no warning, my freehosting account was shutdown. Requests for information were met with form letter saying I violated their terms. With all the garbage sites out there, I can't believe they had a problem with a simple web site that that points to another yahoo site. Save your time and pick a different freewebhosting site to create your free web page.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-31   -   (IP: 24.42.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Yahoo GeoCities claims that it allows 3GB/month, but it is not true, because there's a 4MB hourly data transfer limit. You have to keep the website traffic as 4MB/hour ALL THE TIME in a whole month to reach 3GB/month, and it is just impossible. The worst thing is: if your web page has picture/MP3 files up to 4MB, then it can be viewed only ONCE per hour. Every time when it is viewed, your website will be deactivated for one hour. Basically it is not usable. I don't mind if they have a monthly limit on the web traffic, but how could they apply an hourly limit? It's ridiculous! I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-10   -   (IP: 72.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
It's okay, but it got annoying when that bar came up. For these features and CLOSABLE ads, try something similar, Geocities Canada. http://ca.geocities.com/

Reviewed on: 2006-05-08   -   (IP: 4.253.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Okay if you have a small personal site that's not looking for hits, then geocities is for you. Even with their pay services they don't offer enough bandwith to accomodate a growing web site. Their paid hosting plans are expensive too compared to other paid hosting companies online. So if you want to be respected by other webmasters and be able to have a web site with whatever you want on it, find a another host. Their new side frame ads also stink and it seems geo cities doesn't know how to write its script without errors yet.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-24   -   (IP: 86.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
It didn't even give me any code of conduct or terms and conditions for my free hosting, and then they decided to send me an email saying my web site was breaking the terms of service by having a link to an external site. It then banned my site without warning! I tried to get in touch with the customer support but I only got automated replies which were of no help at all. The only plus I would say is the free web page builder for people that need a helping hand. Oh and by the way, I didn't even have a link to an external site, so I don't know what they were talking about.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-14   -   (IP: 69.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I was a dedicated geocities user for many many years. I finally upgraded to my own domain name and paid for a pro site. After two weeks of emails, and 4 customer service calls, all promising to have my hosted web site up and running in a matter of hours, but it was never resolved, and I finally terminated my service with Yahoo geocities, I will never use them again. Bad customer support.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-04   -   (IP: 64.114.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
GeoCities' ad box appeared in unpredictable locations on my site, ruining the layout of my webpages, and preventing some thumbnail-based search engines from even crawling it. Their help system is outdated, too, and the autoreplies from support are ridiculous. I would never use the service again.

Reviewed on: 2005-11-12   -   (IP: 172.128.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Not bad...except for a tiny ad-box at the top-right corner on every single web page. They insert some weird javascripts in your page automatically too. But they load fast, no other ads, and is pretty flexible. But their counters don't work.

Reviewed on: 2005-11-04   -   (IP: 71.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Why in the world do people choose something with so little space, no ftp, and lots of ads? The site is comparibaly fast but it's not my recommendation.

Reviewed on: 2005-10-19   -   (IP: 132.206.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I have had a site on the free Geocities for several months. It mostly works ok. I have had no problems with missing files, renamed files, etc. The ads that are inserted on your free webpages are not too intrusive. The Geocities site seems to be quite stable. I have one complaint about the File Manager upload: The upload process for .txt and .htm files often introduces typo errors into the files, which I later have to correct via Edit in File Manager. All of the errors I have seen so far are a character inserted in column 44 of some lines, duplicating the character in column 43. Seems to occur randomly, but is quite annoying. This is very strange. Some of my larger text files had a dozen or more such errors. I have reported this bug to Yahoo, but no acceptable response yet. In any case, Geocities is quite good for a free hosting service.

Reviewed on: 2005-10-16   -   (IP: 71.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
It's a nice host but that ad box or more like ad whole right half is just not that good. My favorite webhost still is atspace.

Reviewed on: 2005-10-03   -   (IP: 203.199.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
All I have to say is THIS is by far the best webhost I have come across. Again and again I have browsed the so-called better hosts with more bandwidth & more web space. I have found none & am thankful to have geocities to rely upon.

The plus points:

1) Very user friendly interface:
If you know html, css or use programs like flash, dreamweaver,( and you really don't need/want to use scripting like php, perl and consider them redundant) you can build the best free web site possible.

2) Best thing: No inactivity limit.
You have built your free website on a very fancy website host which promises 5 GB bandwidth and 100 mb space etc etc. Then suppose you go on a holiday or somewhere and don't find time to log in to your account and them the socalled great web hosts deletes your free web hosting account.

3) You can have multiple accounts!

4) No popup ads or annoying top, bottom banners. Just click the >> near the ad which appears and it will go away.

5) Great free web page editor!

Negative points (many of which can be overcome)

1) 15 MB webspace (too less)

2) 4 Mb/ hour bandwidth

I say, you can simply overcome these by hosting your large files on a filehosting server.

But I didn't even need to do it. I just made a website in flash, uploaded it to my geocities accounts. the site consists of my family photos, some wallpapers I'd designed and some flash applications (each less than 5 mb). I rarely got the "please check after 1 hour message".

Only my fiends and family visit this site or some occasional outsiders whom I give the URL. Geocities is still prefered by many people. You may hate it, love it, but can't ignore it.

Much better than 100webspace and adakist. You'll be happy with them and one fine day your freehosting account will be deleted and you'll be given a lame excuse. Geocities never does that. Its loyal like a good friend.


Reviewed on: 2005-09-27   -   (IP: 82.32.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
First, the good points. Yahoo Pagebuilder is excellent and easy to use, with enough features to get a website up and running quickly with a minimum of fuss. The downside is the limited disk space (15MB), the lack of FTP and the advertising banner on the right hand side of the pages. This is a completely free service which will suit beginners, but if you want something more sophisticated you will have to put your hands into your pocket and pay for the privilege here.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-12   -   (IP: 65.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
they would not let me use much bandwidth every hour. They would shut down my free website lots and I had no web space to work with. It would be nice if they would make it more accessable using ftp for free hosting accounts.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-28   -   (IP: 72.29.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Geocities used to be good but now with their new advertising scheme they have used it as an excuse to cut bandwidth substantially for free sites to push their users into switching to their paid hosting services.

Geocities Yahoo falsely advertises freebandwidth at 3000Mb per month calculated hourly, which when divided by an average of 30 days a month and then by 24 hours a day, should work out to 4.17 Megabytes per hour. Doing calculations on two friends' sites on geocities who since early March have been repeatedly getting overbandwidth messages the real permitted bandwidth is more like 0.5 Megabytes per hour or about 360Mb per month, nowhere near their claimed 3000Mb. This includes adding all the text and graphics file sizes for the accessed pages in these calculations. How they can publicly make their false claims of 3000Mb per month I don't know.


Reviewed on: 2005-03-12   -   (IP: 165.21.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Lousy, because of the stupid big ad they now have on the right side of the page. It blocks 1/3 of your contents and people have difficulty in accessing it, especially those with older browsers.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-25   -   (IP: 70.19.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
if you want the old geocitis ad square back, just put a frame breaking javascript that loads when your webpage loads. it may take geocities several hours to detect it before it will use the old ad square for your page. this works for me because i was trying to redirect out of geocities, but my new site was trapped in their frames, i had to use this script to break out of some kind of nested frame. i just wish geocities would allow .htaccess.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-13   -   (IP: 217.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Was great, but the new advertising on the right has wrecked my Frames pages! No problems before with a pop-up box floating in a separate Window, but the new advertising acts like a Frame on the right, and all my Frame naming and direction fails. Thanks Geo for wrecking my site. I think I shall rehost elsewhere.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-15   -   (IP: 217.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
page builder is second to none! you can have a cool page up in seconds! trouble is that the bandwidth is so low, you can only afford very few people to come and view it, forget having downloads and images, that will use up all your bandwidth and nobody will get on your site! bandwidth so low, you will use it up yourself just building your site! the only thing stopping me rating this host at 1 is the fantastic page builder!

Reviewed on: 2004-12-29   -   (IP: 12.177.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
geocities doesn't offer enough space and you can't uplaod any files over 5 megs. it is sufficient only if you plan to have a small site, pics, music, are out with that space. It is easy and there are nice features though.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-23   -   (IP: 172.169.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Geocities is a good free web hosting for starters, but only for starters. If you know a lot of advanced HTML, forget it. It offers a lot of bandwith for such a small amount of space. And it won't delete your account for any reason at all. You just have to log in once in a while to keep your free website active. But that's the only good things about it. Its ads weren't too bad to start with, but then they got annoying and looked bad. No FTP is also a downside. And 15 MG is nothing. It's only enough if you only plan to host a very small web site with small files.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-09   -   (IP: 159.37.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Limited web space, no ftp access, clunky interfaces. Can't use paid-for Yahoo briefcase space as extra storage for web site.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-08   -   (IP: 68.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I hate the pop up box. The webmail is perfect though. However, the website's bandwidth is horrible! You might as well ask people to only visit your page once a week or something.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-05   -   (IP: 80.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I began practicing at being a webmaster and building HTML pages on Geocities two and a half years ago, and as a starter for webhosting, they were pretty good. Plus, I got the combined e-mail account from Yahoo, which was even better than Hotmail, which I first used.

When the site I was building there began to outgrow the space, I since moved it to a bigger server, but I've continued so far to use my Geocities account for a smaller site with a different purpose from the first one.

Overall, I'd say they're worth it, certainly if you're beginning in the business of site-building. They rarely ever had any downtimes, and the site does load pretty well. And now, the ad box that appears at the side of the screen is even better than what appeared before, since you can click it off more quickly. So I'd say it's worth a go.


Reviewed on: 2004-11-13   -   (IP: 24.127.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Since November 1 though Yahoo Geocities continues to say they have 3Gb per month of bandwidth calculated hourly which works out to 4Mb per hour, but they have now cut that down to a ridiculously low 1Mb per hour, so most sites visitors don't get the site but a message that the user has exceeded the bandwidth limitations and have to come back next hour.

The site webmaster then gets a message saying they can purchase more bandwidth for $4.95, $8.95 or $11.95 a month.

They did not even give any advance warning to the webmasters! They just sprang it on us without warning.


Reviewed on: 2004-10-12   -   (IP: 65.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Slow load time, no bandwidth, no special features, lots of annoying ads. Bad web hosting.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-21   -   (IP: 220.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I don't really like this host because it doesn't have Cpanel and Mysql. It doesn't have a lot of scripts and no PHP. Only 20 MB.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-16   -   (IP: 65.60.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
My site is a gallery of fractal art, so it's full of large image files. I send out periodic updates to family, friends, and interested parties, causing a sudden mild run on my site... and it never fails! EVERY time I do that, the site goes down! There's just not enough bandwidth for a site like mine. Their WYSIWYG editor is very, very easy to use, and makes floating objects a dream; however, it runs slowly even on broadband internet, and the HTML it creates is a terror if you try to edit it. The adbox isn't too bad, especially since you can close it and ignore it--it's better than banners or pop-ups. In short, this is a host to start out with. They have decent features for the little guy, but if you want anything advanced, skip 'em.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-25   -   (IP: 202.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Nice thing about geocities free web hosting:
1. Easy registration they don't mislead user.
2. 15MB good for small and beginners website.
3. Fast uploading of your website with file manager.
4. Not so annoying type of pop-up or ads.
5. 95% dependable most of the time, no broken links.
6. Your website will stay there for years.

Bad things:
1. Support no advance features. Booh!!!
2. No frames allowed. "I almost fainted too"
3. No detailed statement of what features are supported "you have to try it 1st and it's for you to find out"
4. No remote linking. What kind of website could I build without "frames and remote linking"
5. This free webhosting is just a TEASER. And not really a free web hosting. A TEASER and not FREE. That's the truth.
6. What I hated the most "NO REMOTE LINKING AND NO FRAMES". This free hosting is a devil in disguise.
It's a wolf on a sheep mascot.
7. more...


Reviewed on: 2004-06-17   -   (IP: 24.94.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I have had a BIG problems with Yahoo Webhosting. Here it goes. It started out after I subscribed for payed webhosting. It was about a month or so after I started useing thier service, That I noticed, one day I could not sign on to my Yahoo account. I had ended up calling them to find out what was wrong and why my ID was no longer working. They went through the normal procedures of verifing me to my account then proceeded to tell me I was in violation of Yahoo's Terms Of Service, I then asked them what it was I did and they REFUSED to tell me. They said it was against thier policy to tell me (LOL What A Joke} Then I was told that my Yahoo services with that Yahoo ID have been cancled. Well to make a long story short, they kept charging my bank account for over a year and a half after calling them to cancel and stop the charges several times with a promise of a refund, (that I have NEVER seen and I am sure NEVER will.) So much for the little guy! Anyway if you hear of any others that have had this problem with over charging please send them my way. I am thinking about starting up a class action suit against them. And from the way they have been handling this situation with me on the phone I KNOW I am not the only one they are doing this too.
jandjmn2003@yahoo.com


Reviewed on: 2004-04-05   -   (IP: 68.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
very reliable service.  I have an incredibly old user name, so I have a 25 meg account( I think the new ones are 15 or somesuch).  Bandwidth constraints stink, especially if you have a big site with lots of files.  the lack of hotlinking stinks as well.  the ads are relitively unintrusive as well.  and the packaged web site designer is the best I have ever used (other than a text editor). I give this site 7/10 for being one of the most reliable hosts (as long as you don't go over your limit).

Reviewed on: 2004-04-01   -   (IP: 206.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
With a redirect URL like i have from http://www.cjb.net you will get no popup ads, banners, etc.. just your website. However if you use Internet Explorer you may get pop up webpage ads, but that's just Internet Explorer, if you use IE you're probably used to all the unrequested windows popping up, if you use Mozilla you don't get unrequested windows.

Reviewed on: 2004-03-13   -   (IP: 4.11.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Let's face it. Free hosts stink. If you want any truly good features, you have to pay. However, GeoCities is probably among the most dependable and reliable free hosts out there. The ads aren't terribly annoying (unless you use frames), you can upload up to 20 files at a time, and the support is wonderful. If you need a place to start, GeoCities is the place to go.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-17   -   (IP: 66.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
it's good for html-intensive sites, but can't do cgi.  it has ads that are really annoying if you've got a page with frames because there's an ad in every frame, but can be bypassed with a small adjustment to the html code.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-30   -   (IP: 24.21.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very good host if you use the "tips" on the first page, the .tk the using space from other countrys and so on.
the only bad thing would be the ammount of downtime, they are VERY rarely down, but when they are it is for hours and hours at a time. other than that it is a very good host if you know how to tweak it.


Reviewed on: 2003-12-11   -   (IP: 67.233.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
i lov this host! they quicky replied to my emails and helped me out, the buildiing software they have is cool as well.

GET RID OF THE BANNER WITH A DOT TK DOMAIN!!!! it really works!(for me at least)

compare:
type in
geocities.com/linkiboy_1

then type in
gamers-shrine.tk

see how dot tk gets rid of them?
so dot tk and geocities are a good combination for a site!


Reviewed on: 2003-12-10   -   (IP: 131.128.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Good for beginners and testers. It also has email form capabilities, which most web hosts ban due to SPAM nukes.  Sign up for the free hassle-free tools.  IF you have an account at Yahoo!, then just sign in!

Reviewed on: 2003-12-03   -   (IP: 66.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
HaHa don't even bother. If it's your first website it will be the most annoying one you'll ever have. With all the banners and ads your page just turns out to be one big popup. If you are a novice, and want a web service similar to this with less ads go for angelfire or something.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-01   -   (IP: 62.248.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
i'm using Geocities since 2001. It's the best free hosting solution FOR EVERYONE!!!! WHY?
-Really RELIABLE
-No inactivity limit. Your account will never be closed if it contains legal documents
-Ads are usermate and does not dust your page (AND REMOVABLE!)
-Servers are fast enough
-You don't need FTP. File Manager is very very enough.

TIPS&TRICKS

HOW TO GET LOOSE ADS IN LEGAL WAYS?

0-Sign up a local Geocities
For example uk.geocities.com (RECOMMENDED!)

1-While you sign up DO NOT SELECT AN INTEREST CATEGORY

2-DO NOT CREATE OR UPLOAD index.html or index.htm file

3-Server will automatically create an index.html file DON'T DELETE OR EDIT IT!

4-Give a random name to your own homepage before upload it
Example:uk.geocities.com/yourname/abc.htm
"yourname" is you username "abc.htm" is the main page of your website
Take a look at my brother's website. He discovered it and using it with NO PROBLEM!
http://uk.geocities.com/kyocono/gecici.htm

5-USE A REDIRECT URL TO LOSE AD-FRAME

example:
Before redirection
http://uk.geocities.com/kyocono/gecici.htm
After redirection
http://tun.ca.tc/

(Please take a look at the website below for detailed info about redirection and redirect urls)
http://www.free-url-redirection.com.ru/

HOW TO GET LARGER SPACE WITH ONE ACCOUNT FOR FREE?
Visit the urls below
write your username and password
And log in it's such an easy!
You'll get 15 megs from every country
Your new url will be
countrytitle.geocities.com/yourname
example:
http://uk.geocities.com/kyocono

Geocities United Kingdom http://uk.geocities.com
Geocities Taiwan    (Eng)http://tw.geocities.yahoo.com
Geocities Singapore (Eng)http://sg.geocities.yahoo.com
Geocities Germany  (Ger)http://de.geocities.yahoo.com
Geocities Italy    (Ita)http://it.geocities.yahoo.com
Geocities Brazil        http://br.geocities.yahoo.com
Geocities France        http://fr.geocities.yahoo.com
Geocities Spain          http://es.geocities.com
Geocities Korea          http://kr.geocities.com
Geocities Hong Kong      http://hk.geocities.com

My favourite is United Kingdom. It has special features too:Webcam, WAP etc.


Reviewed on: 2003-09-15   -   (IP: 195.174.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Good for beginners, easy, fresh, clear file manager, can preview editing html files, good display speed.

Annoying yahoo ads on the right-top of the page, 15 mb space isn't enough for a large site composed of image files, sometimes speed problems while uploading files with browser, sometimes problems on your web site while trying to access one of your web pages.

Recommended for beginners and users who don't need more web space.


Reviewed on: 2003-08-14   -   (IP: 208.242.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I use geocities almost exclusively for file storage. I have a small front page (less than 1kb, although a ton of other stuff ends up loading as well) with a link to a files folder, where I store everything. No remote linking to files is allowed (you get a "page not found" error) but there is a trick to get it to work! Setting up a page isn't too hard, but I've had some problems uploading an html page to use as my main page. The good thing is that any yahoo login that you set up at any time is good for geocities, and yahoo registration only takes about a minute.

Tips & Tricks:
1) Multiple yahoo logins->multiple geocities accounts->more storage. The non-remote file linking issue still leads to problems though.
2) To share files, make a folder named "files" or something like that, and link people to that folder to get your files(make sure you tell them the filename first) and the downloads go off without a hitch (unless they're too dumb to find the right file)
3) But suppose you have an image that you want to use in a forum signature...the no-remote linking rule will result in a little red X in the place of where the picture should be. Unless you rename the extention of the file to .txt! The browser can see by the MIME type that it isn't a text file and displays the gif/jpg in the browser like any image would.
4) Want to host a file larger than 5MB? I'm still working on this, but in a few weeks I should have a file splitter/re-combiner ready, that will allow you to split large files into 'chunks' of any size and re-combine them if you have all the chunks. Like I said, not ready yet but will be in a few weeks. Keep checking www.geocities.com/xerol2 until there's an announcement there.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-18   -   (IP: 205.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Okay, but it is definitely a beginner place.
Pros: Easy to use, good builder.
Cons: So many ads it's unreal.
YOU CAN ONLY BUILD ONE PAGE! That was so shocking i nearly fainted. One page.
THE SIGNUP FORM IS LONG! You basically tell them everything about yourself and alot of info is needed.
>> All in all i recommend this place only to beginners.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-10   -   (IP: 203.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Reliability is good, site visitor statistics are useful but no access to CGI-BIN and limited bandwidth. I have used geocities for years without sites being removed. At times the service can be a little slow and sometimes inaccessible (but usually reliable).

Reviewed on: 2003-06-08   -   (IP: 65.116.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Probably the best host for beginners, that Java HTML Editor is sweet! Not so sure about other people, but I'd still reccomend it if you got a small site.

Reviewed on: 2003-05-29   -   (IP: 202.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I have been using it for more than 3 years but it isn't my 1st choice of free host due to the banner & the requirements of my websites.

It is easy to use. You can upload up to 20 files at a time. Both the upload & download speed are fast. There are free counters & other features, which are extremely useful for beginners.

However, the banner seems to widen the page, causing scrollbar to appear on the bottom of the page. This causes your page to appear ugly & visitors may wonder why do you place the scollbar at the bottom.

Sometimes when I upload many picture files at one go, a few of the uploaded files might be damaged. I haven't tried it for long though. Recently, I had tried to upload files like "lamer_001.html" (5 of them), but there was an error stating the "lamer_004.html" is a bad filename while others worked. I wonder why only the 4th file can't.

The uptime is good, except with 3gb of bandwidth, it's difficult to have your site up 24/7 completely. Advanced webmasters may find it difficult to expand their website due to the storage space(15mb) & bandwidth(3gb).

I would recommend this free host to beginners.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-23   -   (IP: 144.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
The ultimate beginners site. The popups and text boxes make it a little bandwidth hungry. But the browser upload and other bits make this a great starting place for all.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-19   -   (IP: 62.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
good old geocities... I have tryed many times to find another web hosting, but geocities is still the best. They have disabled FTP access a couple of years ago... But everything else is great! I use it since 1998! 5 years :)

Reviewed on: 2003-03-09   -   (IP: 66.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Pros: It's dependable 95 percent of the time.  Hardly no down time.  Good place for a first website.

Cons: Only 15MB of space, as your site grows it doesn't take long to get there.  NO TECH HELP!!  If you have a problem good luck in finding an answer.

My biggest complaint with them is that I have three Scouting sites there which I use Front Page 2000 to design and upload.  Without any notice to their free clients they changed their protocol and you can no longer use FrontPage to upload your files.  You can still use their file manager, but it takes much longer and more work.  For this reason and them not bothering to tell us of the change, I'm now looking for a new home for my sites.


Reviewed on: 2002-12-01   -   (IP: 141.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I think this is a good host to start with. Their PageBuilder is very easy to use, you don't have to know html at all. Cause this host is very popular, it's sometimes very slow. That's the main reason I got bored with it. The other reason is that I don't like their ads. Anyway, I highly recommend this host, especially if you're building your first site.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-07   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very good for basic small homepages free.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-05   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Probably the oldest free website provider, and very reliable.  I prefer their ad square to the banners and popups of most free webhosts.  You can upload up to 20 files at once (File names cannot contain spaces, and the total upload can be up to 5MB).  Yahoo Geocities used to have FTP, but no more.  Ther options on the upload page to automatically convert filenames to lowercase, and automatically change ".htm" extensions to ".html".  Seemingly no inactivity period - I have left this site for months at a time, and it is still there.  Not bad if you have a small site with low bandwidth and don't need features such as FTP, PHP, etc.

 

Copyright © 2002-2019 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- July 17, 2019 -