free webspace  






GigaHive

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
         
# Votes: 2 0 2 0 1 0 0 1 5 3
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.86 / 10

Total Votes: 14




12 User Testimonials/Reviews of GigaHive


2 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-11-25   -   (IP: 90.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Sorry, but I logged on to their control panel and it does not make any sense to me at all. After putting my login details to view different options (and it asks you to login again every for every feature/page), you can not even upload html pages. I am sure you will appreciate that the majority of the people still use basic HTML. I will be happy if you could please delete my account after reading this, as I will not be using your free web hosting service again. This is just way too limited for hosting any decent web site.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-01   -   (IP: 206.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Good web hosting free - no complaints. I really like the free web site templates, and everything is easy to use and figure out. I will never run out of web storage space either.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-16   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I signed up again (after they deleted my account), and the free host has COMPLETELY changed since my first review below. It went from pretty good to completely worthless. There is a limit of 5000 web pages and 5000 links, and you can only upload images (not even html files)! The website editor and interface are very confusing and un-userfriendly. In fact, copy and pasting is disabled, and the function to insert links did not work, so all you can do is enter some text. The home page says it supports php, cgi, and mysql database, but it doesn't even support basic html. Your URLs now look like http://www.gigahive.com/sites/username/index.php?pid=1 where the last number is the page number. Totally worthless.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-15   -   (IP: 152.13.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I'm quite pleased with gigahive. After dealing with geocities for over a year I decided to try a new free hosting service. Gigahive isn't perfect (I wish I could upload more than image files), but their web templates and extra features are pretty nice. page loading times are good, and it is nice not having that annoying pop-up ad!

Reviewed on: 2006-06-15   -   (IP: 4.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is not a web host at all when you can't even upload an html file. What kind of garbage is that?

Reviewed on: 2006-06-13   -   (IP: 202.155.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
No banner or pop-up ads on free web pages -- recomended free web page hosting site.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-13   -   (IP: 211.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The free webspace limit was raised from 500 MB to 1001MB. Cool! Massive free file storage space! Also the owner said they just added an extra dedicated server to support the extra load.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-11   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I signed up 6 days ago, created my free website, and left the first review below (rating 9). Now I go to login, and the login URL is error 404. So I find the new URL on their homepage, and I find my account no longer exists after just 6 days. The signup process is different also now, and the home page link to their forum is also error404. I guess this new free web hosting company are still working the bugs out.

[
GigaHive owner replied:
"I noticed that you put a 100mb bandwidth limit in your description of our service {see the review below also}. This is not accurate. The control panel software does not automatically update to reflect how much bandwidth we actually give our customers - as a default it says 100mb, but it is actually 10 gigabytes. We are working on getting this updated on the control panel - we know our customers are confused by it. Our bandwidth limit is 10 gb, and not 100mb. Also, we recently had to upgrade our dedicated server, and regretfully some accounts were lost; however most of them made it through the transition.
]


Reviewed on: 2006-06-10   -   (IP: 71.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I signed up for this free host, and after I got to the user panel it showed I was allowed only 100MB data transfer.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-06   -   (IP: 65.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
So far so good with this free web host. You really can't beat the free disk space and bandwidth offered. And you can have cgi and php scripts, but you have to create the files (basically just put the name in and click the button) and then copy and paste your script code into the file. Kind of a pain, but at least it is supported. And even though I won't need it, the mysql offer is quite nice. My webpage loads quickly, so I'm happy. They do have an image upload program, but not directly within the webhost control panel. Would recommend to others, bottom line.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-05   -   (IP: 207.224.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Free hosting with no ads whatsoever, which is great! 500 Megabytes of web space storage, which is plenty to host an active working website. Great for begginers, yet advanced enough for web masters. Got my confirmation e-mail very fast. Very fast free server - loads in a blink. It has about a hundred users. They offer free blog and PHPbb forum hosting as well. Powered by KASL WebHost version 5.3 (a freeware script by Kris Law that allows users to create and manage free web sites on a server).

Reviewed on: 2006-06-05   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
The "Giga Hive" registration form only asks for email address, and to choose a username and password. The email with account details was sent instantly (auto activation). You can upload only one file at a time via browserupload, but the hosting web server was incredibly fast, so the upload page reloaded almost instantly. I was surprised to see that SSI worked. The control panel is a nice clean interface and easy to use, even for beginning webmasters. You get 500MB free web space and a generous 10 GB monthly bandwidth allowance, and no ads are put on hosted web pages (the HTML source code was unaltered). Allowed/valid file extensions are: html, htm, shtml, pdf, gif, jpg, png, doc, xls, sxw, jsp, css, mdb, txt, zip, tgz. The website claims "PHP and CGI are both fully supported", but there is obviously a mistake somewhere, since such files cannot even be uploaded at this time. Maybe they will add those filetypes soon. The FAQ also says "we will personally setup a MySQL database if you request one". There is a members list, showing only about 60 users have signed up so far. The free host also offers free blog hosting and free forum hosting (each with separate signup), and free image hosting services (2 MB maximum upload filesize limit; no registration required). Good free hosting server for newbies. Your free URL looks like http://my.gigahive.com/username/

 

Copyright © 2002-2019 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 13, 2019 -