free webspace  






HostDepartment

( "2IP", "FreeWebServices", "Host Department" )

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
   
# Votes: 23 15 3 5 1 0 1 5 7 12
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  4.40 / 10

Total Votes: 72




68 User Testimonials/Reviews of HostDepartment


4 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-09-13   -   (IP: 24.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
They have changed URL's again... the FreeWebServices.net homepage now redirects to 2ip.com.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-06   -   (IP: 66.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I have been using their web hosting services for four years now, and the quality has really digressed by the week. Their customer service skills are non-existent, other than the "liveperson chat", and that is obviously staffed by an outside source. They have to rebuild their web server hard drives about every six weeks (they say "sorry, our sysadmin is working on that"), but your website and domain are down during this time. HostDepartment should be shut down by some form of Internet Better Business group. It has slow transfer speeds, much down time, and poor support. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE USING THEIR SERVICES.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-08   -   (IP: 122.49.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Every host I found was bad big time. I will not name them because they are still going, but of course I would use it for about a day or so, and give up. Most did not have FTP, PHP, JavaScript etc., so when I saw this one I thought it sounds okay, so give it a go. I started web design in 2002 and did not like any host I found. They cost heaps, and had no decent services/features, etc. Well here I am seven months after saying this looks ok. Now it looks brilliant. Sometimes it is down, but I can forgive that, and you can hotlink to PHP forms and ASP.NET and that other stuff, so I am happy. Only 1000 files are allowed, but that is OK too, and they usually respond in a day or two. Freewebservices.net, you seriously rock. And 1GB of storage space is coming soon, so that will be even better.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-13   -   (IP: 124.81.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Cheap, affordable hosting! That is what I can say about Host Department. Not only is it cheap (or free), it also provides the friendliest service. Everyone in the support team is polite and patient. They treat you as someone that they know and a friend rather than just another customer. What is more to ask of a web hosting company that provides great service? I am just happy I found this company.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-18   -   (IP: 216.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been using Host Department‚??s service for sometime now, and what can I say... their service is great, especially their customer and technical support team. They are there for you 24/7 everyday, and they will entertain all of your enquiries, no matter how minor or major it can be. What impresses me most is the fact that they *fixed* the problems you are encountering. Many web hosts just entertain your call for help only to abandon you halfway down, but not Host Department. They will follow through with all problems encountered in a timely manner. If they cannot solve it in time, they have the guts to tell us about it, and once it is done, they will again inform us. Horray for Host Department! If you are looking for a host, this is one I can vouch for!

Reviewed on: 2006-10-05   -   (IP: 24.57.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
First of all, they advertise "unlimited bandwidth", which is impossible. My experience was negative. These folks had no support at all. I requested a refund, and so far I have not seen my money back.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-04   -   (IP: 216.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I have no problem in recommending Host Department. Their service and support has always been tops, and their prices and features are definitely number one. The extra mile they go to give personalized attention has been a breath of fresh air in a time where customer service seems to be forgotten about by most organizations. Our experience with this webhosting service has been more than #1 in my books, and they are highly recommended by our organization.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-06   -   (IP: 216.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
For free hosting provider that provides free modules for their user, Host Department is AWESOME! I have tried their module, and it is COOL! And HostDepartment provides free email account for my web hosting. Just try it! There is a company banner at the bottom of the page, but it does not disturb the view.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-19   -   (IP: 216.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Host Department and FreeWebServices.Net are COOL! I have tested it, and it is great. We can use the module, such as site studio, gallery, shout box, guest book, rss, blog, stat counter, forum (coming soon), cv generator (coming soon). And it is all FREE. Also we can use ftp to upload files, file manager, and they give free email address too. Join the FreeWebServices.Net and get your COOL free site and have fun with it.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-12   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
All free hosting accounts hosted as subdomains on hostdepartment.com were deleted!!! :-(

An email from FreeWebServices.net (HostDepartment) says,

"We would like to inform you that we have successfully migrated our current free hosting web server to the NEW Free Hosting Server. Please be informed that the new web hosting service is using a totally different system from the previous one. It did not allow us to move the previous web server files to this new free hosting environment. Therefore we do encourage you to sign up and upload your files again to this NEW Free Web Hosting Service. The NEW Free Web Hosting System will bring you to THE NEXT GENERATION of free website services. It is equipped with many advance features such as Stat Counter, Forum Board, CV Generator, Guest Book, Message Board and Photo Album."

The free subdomains available through HostDepartment and FreeWebServices signup pages are the same domain name choices, just sorted in different random orders (you have to check the "Show all CC-TLD" box on their signup form to see the full list):

about.tc
aboutus.ms
aboutus.tc
aboutus.vg
about.vg
biografi.biz
biografi.info
biografi.org
biografi.us
datadiri.biz
datadiri.cc
datadiri.com
datadiri.info
datadiri.net
datadiri.org
datadiri.tv
datadiri.us
ecv.ms
ecv.tc
ecv.vg
eprofile.us
go2net.ws
hits.io
hostingweb.us
hub.io
indo.bz
indo.cc
indo.ms
indo.tc
indo.vg
infinitehosting.net
infinites.net
lan.io
max.io
mycv.bz
mycv.nu
mycv.tv
myweb.io
ourprofile.biz
ourprofile.info
ourprofile.net
ourprofile.org
ourprofile.us
profil.bz
profil.cc
profil.cn
profil.in
profil.ms
profil.tc
profil.tv
profil.vg
wan.io
web-cam.ws
webs.io
zip.io


Reviewed on: 2006-06-01   -   (IP: 70.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I was attracted by this web site's offer of banner-free hosting and password-protected files supported. However, after creating a freehosting account I was unable to upload a simple .css file which was vital to the look of the website. The Live Chat Support guys kept telling me that they were working on it and to "try again later." This continued for more than 2 weeks. I gave up. These guys don't live up to their offer.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-31   -   (IP: 66.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Host Department has been hosting 2 of my websites for over 4 years now, and I am very impressed with the web hosting uptime. I recommend Host Department to anyone. no matter what your budget is, there is a plan for everyone and every website.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-18   -   (IP: 70.157.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Absolute horrible experience. No backups, no recovery, no service. My accounts were deleted with no prior warning (I was on a unix system, not a windows - apparently the rules were different for unix) and the only way I was able to get anyone to acknowledge anything was wrong was by going through their sales department, who were worthless anyway. Please, if anyone is thinking about using this site, run away as fast as you can. The absolute worst. Find someone hosting through their DSL connection before you use them -- you'll have better service.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-17   -   (IP: 64.89.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I wish to thank Host Deparment and their support team for the excellent service. As usual, the quick and accurate response has been more than helpful, and I will state again that you guys are the best!

Reviewed on: 2006-05-16   -   (IP: 217.119.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I have owned two single domain accounts with two different places and never have I been treated with the utmost respect, or been handed so many resources on a golden platter than hostdepartment.com. My experience here has been absolutely superb. Everyday has been so exciting for me - and I don't even have my service site finished, but every time I start working on it, I smile the biggest smile knowing I am going to soon be making sales to customers and starting my own online empire.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-14   -   (IP: 65.32.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I was on this service for a little over a month and had nothing but problems. They state lightning fast speeds -- forget it; I was getting timeout errors and refused conntection most of the day every day since I signed up with them. They state 100% uptime I had about 10%. They have 24/7 live chat but after reading reviews they said the same thing to about 20 other users in the same exact words from months ago. They have REAL bad service. BEWARE!

Reviewed on: 2006-05-07   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
The free hosting registration link gives "500 Internal Server Error" now.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-18   -   (IP: 68.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They are a great host with great prices on plans with all the features and great support. But I finally got my own server so I moved to it. I would recommend them though. they are great.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-04   -   (IP: 68.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I wish to thank Host Deparment and their support team for the excellent service. As usual, the quick and accurate response has been more than helpful, and I will state again that you guys are the best!

Reviewed on: 2006-04-04   -   (IP: 68.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
fast and simple web hosting. Your web site makes domain registration and set up for webhosting fast and simple. Your efficient control panel offers many options and applications that are simple to install and easy to use. Your service department is quick to respond.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-03   -   (IP: 68.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Satisfying is the perfect word to describe host department. Host Department is the best place that I have had web sites hosted, and I have used at least 10 web hosts before them. I have used them for shared hosting and a reseller account, and I am extremely happy with both. The tech support is extremely quick and very helpful.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-23   -   (IP: 200.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Host Deparment has been a pleasure to work with. They have gone out of their way to help a person who does not know much about web sites.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-20   -   (IP: 68.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I have only been with them for six months. So far, great customer service, quick activation, no downtime and even moved my web site for me. Great value for the money!

Reviewed on: 2006-03-12   -   (IP: 216.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've been with this web hosting company through its ups and downs, and there has been a lot of improvements over the years. I've had problems with it, of course (who doesn't with any webhosting companies?), but compare to what I get with the price I've paid; Host Department is truly the best.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-11   -   (IP: 216.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've had my website hosted with this company, and I have nothing to complain about. I simply love their livechat support. They are knowledgeable and friendly and always willing to help.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-08   -   (IP: 172.175.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Vertical ads down the middle (yes, the middle!) of the web page. I signed up on February 25 and posted a test webpage. March 6, I cannot login, no email, just a 404. stay away.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-07   -   (IP: 202.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Nice service. when I registered the premium hosting account, one of their support contacted me and explained all about the service, contact person, touch point, user documentation, etc. Is that great?

Reviewed on: 2006-03-06   -   (IP: 68.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They rave about themselves as "awesome" and "awesome" site building tools. Instead they are AWFUL; nothing works, especially ftp, and they have total control of your web pages with their ads. I got cancelled after about a week, no explanation or warning--just locked out for who knows what.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-19   -   (IP: 131.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
stable provider over 3 years, some downtime, however regularly unavailable control panel. originally promised and delivered no ads; but then these suddenly crept in unannounced, each change becoming more obtrusive. good web space and bandwidth. long urls. many of the features and control panel simply do not work, and support is inconsistent.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-14   -   (IP: 67.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Horrible service, hardly answers emails. Servers always down. I'm just telling you. Don't waste your money!

Reviewed on: 2006-02-03   -   (IP: 128.147.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
very poor access to the server. web page loads slow. Had this site going for years with another company and never had these problems with very intermittent server access. stay away!

Reviewed on: 2005-12-18   -   (IP: 24.148.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Hostdepartment.com is the worst company I have ever delt with. Three times in the last year they have had outages that cost me more than 2-3 days downtime each! NO EMAIL - NO MYSQL - NO HELP. STAY AWAY!

Reviewed on: 2005-10-27   -   (IP: 65.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Worst web hosting ever; their SQL server was down all the time. I was with them for only 2 weeks and lost a lot of my customers because of their sql server downtime. Their support and management is bad. There was not even a single DAY that my hosted website was not down. They did not even try to address my issue, and their support told me that there is not a single server on the internet that is up all the time. Their sql server used to be up once in a while for a change. [transcripts of chat and email communication with their support edited out]

Reviewed on: 2005-09-26   -   (IP: 84.182.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I found this Host 3 years ago, with no knowledge about Web Hosts. And after 3 years i find my free web page at google, and think: "That was a great Web Host". They didnt delete me after 3 years! Without doing anything at the webpage.

Reviewed on: 2005-09-20   -   (IP: 203.120.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I started using this web host for my class webbie a few months ago. they started out fine with excellent ftp service, great support and as promised, no banner ads and only a small bar at the bottom of each page. However some weeks ago, banner ads started appearing on every page, casuing a problem with my site that uses frames, although on the front page, they still stated "NO BANNER ADS". Their ftp service doesnt seem to be working well as I could only log in and not see anything after that. Their live support doesnt seem to have anyone and always show the message "Out for a short break". Their multiple file uploader never seem to work either. Even emails sent to them regarding this matter wasn't replied even months later. It looks like nobody is controlling this host anymore.

Reviewed on: 2005-09-20   -   (IP: 202.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Evrything they offer is just great! Site studio is FREE and they give direct FTP uploads, and generous 100MB space. I signed up with their freehosting 2yrs ago, and no doubt will keep it forever. I'm even considering their speciality web hosting. At only $4.95/mo, u get 24/7 support and so much features! i'm not trying to advertise for them, but they're simply great! Sure, I've had occasional downtimes. But unlike most of the guys out there who whines and being a jerk, I understand them. You will find that the knowledge base is superb. Very-very comprehensive. I like doing my free hosting there :)

Reviewed on: 2005-09-05   -   (IP: 69.159.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Horrible, absolutly horrible. No longer just a Text-link. they put all kinds of ads and don't say anything. I am switching to t35.

Reviewed on: 2005-06-11   -   (IP: 65.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I'm a paid user of this web host and I've had my downs with them BUT for the most part, my sites are up and stay up. I use a notification service that calls and emails when a site goes down and I have to say that the uptime they state has been just about correct. The control panel has been down or slow a few times, but contact with LiveChat has gotten a resolution within a few hours. LiveChat is not very good, since it's obviously offshore and HostDepartment management should really make themselves aware that there's a language barrier and sometimes, there's no one available. Of roughly ten issues I've had, that is, how to use this or how to do that, they've had answers only twice BUT the second time, I was directed to the documentation which fully answered every other question I had. SiteStudio, which I normally wouldn't use as I have other tools available, works okay but has crashed a few times. Having said all that, THEY ARE VERY CHEAP and you get what you pay for. As far as free hosting: what do you really expect for free? All I can say is I get a comfort level of about 70% versus my last web host (for these sites), but my last webhosting (OLM) cost 5 times as much. Sure, the support was based in India instead of China or Russia or who knows where, but it's not worth paying 5 times as much for me, anyway. So, a reality check is in order. It costs so much and so much to provide a certain level of service - where do you expect the economy to come from? That's right - you've got it! If you need 100% uptime and perfect support, go to a major that will charge you $50 or more a month and you'll get it. But FREE or $10 a month: really, is it reasonable to expect more than you're getting? What would you do for $10 a month? So, I give them a 7 only because they could expend a little more effort in making a show of improving things even if the cost won't ultimately warrant it. And if you're a serious webmaster, obviously don't keep all your eggs in one basket. Thanks, and good luck!

Reviewed on: 2005-06-06   -   (IP: 70.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Free Host Department is the best host PERIOD. They offer you a VERY generous 100 megs of space and unlimited traffic. PLUS you get SiteStudio! Did you know that SiteStudio normally costs around $100 and you get it for free? I was with them for quite a while, but then I looked at their premium plans. Look at all the features! NO ONE beats that. So I upgraded. And I tell you, I will NEVER change. This free hosting is incredible!

Reviewed on: 2005-05-26   -   (IP: 211.28.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Hostdepartment started off great, but a few weeks into the service the page slowed down to an almost standstill and they placed banner ads all over my site! Service is slow and unreliable, some days there are almost no ads, some days sites are flooded with them. Never use this service, it is dishonest!

Reviewed on: 2005-05-09   -   (IP: 81.10.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
if there paid service stunk, what do you expect from the free one?

Reviewed on: 2005-03-22   -   (IP: 67.174.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
There are many days when I can't even get onto the site to edit my account. Some days, the only thing showing up on my site is their search bar, over and over and over again. Support was quick to reply, but only told me that it must be a "glitch". No real help at all.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-15   -   (IP: 4.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I thought this would be better than my current geocites website. I was so wrong. the downtime is the reason why I have to give it a 1. I had one site pretty much ready after a day of working on it. A day later, I couldn't access it for about a day. (Geocities never had it like this). Recently, it happend again and for a longer time, almost 3 days. That's when I said forget it, I'll stay with geocities until I can get something that won't have downtime like that. The only good thing is that it does upload fast and the text link is not intrusive like the banners on other free websites. But that's it. (Though it boasts that it has a five star rating from an idependent company, it only applies to their pay hosting).

Reviewed on: 2005-03-13   -   (IP: 218.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Horrible! I am going to change as soon as possible. The server has been down for 48 hours now, and it happens often. Stay away from it!

Reviewed on: 2005-02-13   -   (IP: 68.168.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
i dont know what these guys are talking about..i mean, they only put a text link on your page, and that is the biggest thing for me. i guess since i only need a small site with some image space its better for me, but since i have signed up i havent had problems. their wysiwyg editor never works and that stinks, but other than that im quite satisfied. oh and the long url is stupid but free always has its limits. maybe they had all these problems fixed since then i dunno. i like them though. i recommend them.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-16   -   (IP: 68.216.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Like all the other people I too, have had trouble on this host.
1.  Regular files and pages disapeared, gone, poof!
I thought it was HTML but I was wrong.  I have not used 1/100 of my web space yet and I cannot load any more on.

2. I emailed them over 1 1/2 months ago concerning my missing files and still have not gotten any reply.

Please, if you are a beginner with no time to fool around, this site is not for you.  I agree with all the other complainers out there and am glad I found this website to list my comments.


Reviewed on: 2005-01-12   -   (IP: 24.106.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Positive: Clean interface, namy different methods for website creation including FTP and Web upload, good site managmeent tools.
Negative: Response can be increbibly slow, no support
Recommend: No
Time used: two days
Reliablity: poor
Speed: slow


Reviewed on: 2004-12-15   -   (IP: 63.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is the worst webhost I have had in the last 3 years.  DO NOT USE HOSTDEPARTMENT for webhosting! 

Don't believe me- they changed their uptime guarantee 6 months ago.  Currently (12/15/04) it states that they guarantee 99.9% uptime guaranteed.  However, in the fine print it states that 99.9% uptime is guaranteed, but if you less than 89.9% uptime you qualify for a refund.  See

http://www.hostdepartment.com/guarantee.html#uptime

Huh?  Sounds to me like you have a 89.9% uptime guarantee, and I'd be shocked if they hit that number.  Forget about refunds.  Their control panel goes down constantly so you can't report an outage.  Then talk with their livechat tech support- over the last 5 months I've contacted them about 3 times a month- same answer every time "You site looks fine to me."  Funny, I can't see it, my co-workers also states they can't see it, and none of my customers can see it!!!

This is fraudulent business practice.  If I had the time I'd sue.  I've reported them to the better business bureau.  STAY AWAY FROM HOSTDEPARTMENT!


Reviewed on: 2004-10-28   -   (IP: 194.125.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Sorry but this ones not for me. Even if it was, the FTP support is a waste of time. On the possitive side, users can freely take their custom elsewhere.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-06   -   (IP: 144.136.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I will be moving off this host as soon as I can find another one that fits my needs.  Like others I have found that their ftp service is very poor when it works at all.  Using the point and click uploader often results in a "success" message with a zero byte file on the server.  The multiple file upload feature doesn't work due to a "server configuration problem".  It is a maintenance head ache just uploading content and fixing dead links that were working a few days previously.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-08   -   (IP: 202.131.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I agree with the last post. This host deletes my files after I uploaded them and give no reasons or notification at all. This means that there are mysterious dead links now in the website. Besides, the file type and size restrictions are harsh and mostly unknown. I tried to upload a pdf file (I believe pdf is a common and safe file type) but it was quickly deleted. Even bmp files of more than 400k are deleted and of course the host does not allow me to upload zipped images. bmp files are always large. If the host does not allow files of more than 400k, then why does it say it allows bmp files and what's the use of the 100MB capacity? Actually I have abandoned my site on this host!

Reviewed on: 2004-07-31   -   (IP: 68.21.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
1. slow
2. constantly changing rules, w/o any announcement ever. For example: their rules say .swf files are allowed. I upload some. In one hour the files disappear w/o any eplanation. It's just one example, in fact they come up with creative changes like this every day. Trying to reach their "support" - good luck:  "All operators are currently assisting others" for hours. Impossible to figure out how to work - they have different language in different places, and the reality is yet another story.

3. Lying. Big letters on their home page: "NO BANNER ADS". Not quite so: they put their own text banner on every page, though a very modest one; however, plus the following:

"What we had implemented is an exit exchange system. Whenever a unique visitor LEAVE your website (goes to another URL or closes the browser window which is used to view your website), a new browser window containing our network sponsors will appear.

IT IS VERY IMPORTANT for you to know, that while they are browsing your free web pages with us, no pop up window will appear. Your visitors WILL NOT be interrupted in any way! It will not be annoying and it is NOT a pop up window. This window will appear BENEATH your website window, and will only be triggered once your visitor LEAVES your page. Good luck with your website and thank you for joining our over 500,000 free hosting members!"

In other words, good luck with our pop-under, so your visitors hate you not WHILE but AFTER they visit your site.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-19   -   (IP: 203.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Bunch of liars and cheats. They have a policy that they dont accept calls; instead you need to use their live chat service, with their "true 24/7 support". liars liars, they have ripped me off. they dont speak english. I've recently heard the whole company is run out of some guy's house. Don't use this hosting.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-18   -   (IP: 168.253.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
All this week, the Site Studio Management which is the web based Text/View application to design and edit the web site,  has failed.  I thought the link used to have more
than just the IP address and port 8080 but now that's all it has so when you try to use Site Studio, it just stalls and goes to a Server not found error in the web browser.

I emailed Hostdepartment more than a week ago or so, and
no reply to date.  I am totally frustrated because Site Studio helps control the overall look and layout from a
set of templates, so trying to edit the html directly is
not such a good idea. We need the Site Studio link and/or
website to be fixed now!!!  Thanks for listening...
Here's the Broken Host Link on the hostdepartment site
main web management page:
http://66.98.178.21:8080/


Reviewed on: 2004-05-31   -   (IP: 67.125.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
They're okay, its fast and the ads aren't too bad.  For some reason I can't log into their ftp anymore and they still haven't fixed it, unless it's just me who can't login.  Anyone else have this problem?

Reviewed on: 2004-05-22   -   (IP: 210.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
they have a clam on there homepage that they have no banners, this is to trick people to think they have no ads. The text links are small but they really arn't a good host. Theres better free ad-free hosts out there and mind you, ones that support php and mysql.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-05   -   (IP: 4.5.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
At first glance this looks like a great host. I can't recommend though as the FTP support is diabolical. Files are missed and there are constant server time-outs. It's also very slow.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-14   -   (IP: 24.155.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
This host is ANNOYING!! Sure the 100 mb are really great and it is ok but the host goes down too much and it is usually down over a day and this is so aggravating! Unless you have a small blog site and not a big one like mine I wouldn't reccomend it.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-14   -   (IP: 24.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
TERRIBLE customer service!! I've been with this host since November 2003 and have probably experienced around 80% uptime and about 40% uptime for their control panel.
I have so many horror stories with this host that I don't know where to begin. I used their 'Live Chat' helpline because one of their server upgrades messed up my ASP Access database connector. The person on the other end was no help at all! He was telling me stuff like "...wait and try it again tomorrow and it should be working..." (it worked for 3 months up until the server upgrade...) I ended up recoding my connector to use a different method and it worked fine.
The recurring billing system is a joke too.  I submit my payment for the next month well in advance because our online business CANNOT afford any downtime.  After the month expired, my page went down because it said that I never paid... what a nightmare this turned out to be... I emailed them 3 times to check on my payment... no response.  I ended up sending another payment for 9.95 just to get the site back up.  I'm still fighting that battle and it's been over 14 days!!
I'm actually trying to cancel my account right now and after 3 days, still no reponse from customer support!
I would advise anyone looking for a host to steer clear from this place... I've had nothing but bad experiences from them. There are PLENTY of better hosts out there!!


Reviewed on: 2004-03-20   -   (IP: 141.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I have been with this host since August 2003, it started out ok, but since November of 2003 there has been something down almost every day. Currently my domain and control panel has been down for 24hrs, and up and down for the past 72hrs.  They say it will be fixed in a few hours, but then nothing, STILL DOWN!!! This same scenario has been going on since January 2004.  Currently I'm a reseller with them and my reseller business is at stake, as well as my customer base!  Every few months it seems they are trying to upgrade their servers and end up changing their DNS.  I believe they are resellers and they resell through INTERLAND.COM.  This is the most downtime I've ever experienced with any host.  They don't even have the decency to offer adaquate compensation for the downtime.  This is no way to play with the business and livlihood of other people.  Some people make their living and conduct their business on the Internet and rely on excellent site uptime.  I could not recommend this host to anyone.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-20   -   (IP: 4.40.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I hate it.  The upload speed stinks.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-09   -   (IP: 24.73.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Today is Friday and even though my website is up their WebShell has been DOWN since Monday meaning I cannot do any changes to my website.  Everyday I contact them they claim it will be fixed later in the evening.

This is the last straw to constant problems with this host.  Even though I have three months left with them I'm searching for a new host.  Good Riddance!!!

I'm in a good mood which is why I rated them a 2.


Reviewed on: 2003-09-17   -   (IP: 68.18.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I'm paying hostdepartment.com to host my websites. They warned me about some server upgrades. And noted the servers that could be affected, but my web mail server was not on that list and has now been down for 6 days. I have emailed with them and had no reply. I was able to chat with tech support who was clueless, they said it would be up in 18 hours, which it wasn't. I've had numorus other times where different services have been down. I don't see how they can have a 99.9% uptime that they claim.

Reviewed on: 2003-09-16   -   (IP: 194.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Down now for 48 hours. This host is like a lighthouse in a bog, brilliant but useless !

Reviewed on: 2003-08-20   -   (IP: 213.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
In one month the service has been out of service 6 times (as far as I know, maybe more) this is like 4 whole days out of service!!! Right now it is not working (48 hours so far) nobody answers the e-mails, I've stayed 4 hours waiting for the live help announced in their pages, nobody answers. The worst site ever, never waste your time with hostdepartment.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-26   -   (IP: 218.13.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
The company over charges its customers and suspend the customers website without prior notice. It is a cheating company.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-12   -   (IP: 12.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
It started out great but then I started to get errors any time I tried to upload a file or even login. The site has been down several times with out any reason. I have looked for an email address for the web manager but can not find one. It works for me until I can find something better, which will be asap.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-14   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The browser interface allows uploading 5 or 10 files at once, and has lots of features, such as the ability to upload all your files at once in a zip file. A small JavaScript code at the bottom loads a textlink and button which aren't too bad. The text link is 2 lines separated by blank line:

"Powered by Host Department Web Hosting
Home of $5 Hosting and $14.95 Domains:.:Free pages at http://free.hostdepartment.com".

The 88x31 button points to http://www.thefreesite.com/ , an excellent freebies site - maybe you can even use it to get a link exchange to your site.


 

Copyright © 2002-2019 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- July 22, 2019 -