free webspace  






HostUltra

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 15 4 2 3 4 2 5 6 3 20
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  5.98 / 10

Total Votes: 64




41 User Testimonials/Reviews of HostUltra


23 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2004-10-28   -   (IP: 217.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I was looking for a decent web host with a lot of a space, then I came across Host Ultra. They said they offered Unlimited Space and Bandwidth, which sounds good to be. WRONG :-( . First of all, they stick loads of popups on your pages, but I have a pop up blocker (Google Toolbar) so I never saw them but I am going along believing the adult pop up's due to other people mentioning them in our reviews and yes the dreaded EXE file is in my windows folder. Plus 1Mb FILE LIMIT! and virtually every file type is banned apart from you bog standard picture and html/htm files but midi and swf files are allowed. Go to Free Web Town if you are looking for a good host. 1gb of space (not kidding), Unlimited bandwith, Any file type/file size upload and do not waste your time with this useless host. Point made.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-02   -   (IP: 81.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
This host was good when i had a free account, but since i started paying for my web hosting.. its quality has gone down. E.g. right now i am in the middle of making my website but i cant continue because the server is currently down? this happens very requally and is annoying because i am constantly having to stop and wait till the next day till i can continue. I queryed this through them, and they just replied: Please don't worry we are working on this! Rude or what that was about 4 months ago and nothing has been done!

Reviewed on: 2004-08-09   -   (IP: 69.170.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Wow. This is the best free host that I've tried. It has unlimited Bandwidth and Web Space. I have no pop-ups or banner ads (If they really bother you just get a browser with a popup blocker. Mine works fine). Their unlimited space and bandwidth were what drew me in, but they have a lot of other great things too. I definatly recommend this free hosting!

Reviewed on: 2004-07-29   -   (IP: 68.209.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
great had no probs with them so far they have been better than 741, freewebs, freeservers. i like there site no problems with it so far.  oh and by the way, freewebs stinks.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-25   -   (IP: 65.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
ok, at first, i really liked it. but a few months later, after posting my link on a forum, someone said there were a lot of popups/unders. so, i did some searching around on the FAQs and asked in the forums, and unfortunately found out that there are popup/under ads. but it didn't say anything about banner ads. so, right now, i'm working to get a new host. i found one that seems a whole lot better.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-26   -   (IP: 216.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Don't pay for this site.  I had random down time and they suckered me out of $150 (for $50 service) as I need to keep re-registering just to keep the site up. My subscription was cancelled by paypal and they deactivated my service then I needed to pay the full amount again after only getting 4 months of service.  And they keep quoting no refunds... (even for an overpayment).

Reviewed on: 2004-05-20   -   (IP: 24.157.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I've been on this site for about 2 years. MAJOR popups with each page loaded. Some "adult" popups and redirects. For a while about 1 in every 5 times you were connected to an "adult" ad saying that my page was not available even though it was there. Hitting refresh would bring it up. NO SUPPORT. Every time I have tried to log onto the forums for support it says I'm not a registered user. I'm looking for a new host.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-14   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Host Ultra is only accepting signups from the following countries:
Antigua and Barbuda / Australia / Bahamas / Barbados / Belize / Bermuda / Canada / Dominica / Grenada / Guyana / Ireland / Jamaica / New Zealand / Saint Lucia / Saint Vincent and the Grenadines / South Africa / Trinidad and Tobago / United Kingdom / United States

All sites must be written entirely in English.

The following file types are not allowed:
audio or video files of any type this includes but is not limited to .wma .wmv .wav .mp3 .avi .mpg .asf .mov (however flash and midi files are allowed);
spanned archives such as such as .z01 .rar .ace;
any binary files that are not linked to an html page on the Site.


Reviewed on: 2004-03-17   -   (IP: 172.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Decent host, the best feature is unlimited storage and bandwidth. Sites are pretty fast, and support is through forums that aren't that great. Quite a few banner ads, but the 'adult' pix isn't there any more and for some reason they don't show up on my site, at least for me.  But look out, they don't allow ZIP files or any of tons of other file formats.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-08   -   (IP: 67.169.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
terrible hosting... half of my images don't show even though they've been uploaded. they have quite a bit of downtime.... don't use this one!!!!!!!

Reviewed on: 2003-12-28   -   (IP: 69.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Horrible, don't use them. try thefreeserver.com, which is much better!!!

Reviewed on: 2003-12-13   -   (IP: 162.40.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Yes, these reviews were written 5 years ago, the host wasn't even in existence, but we were still reviewing it.

This site is ok if you don't mind a few pop ups and a potentially dangerous ad. File limits are extreme and only html and related files are allowed. No media content of any kind. Message Board is populated by cultlike members who kiss the owners behind...ALOT. If you can stomach that, then this is the host for you!


Reviewed on: 2003-10-25   -   (IP: 131.128.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Recently, I read all the reviews, and nothing happened to me so far ( no ads, pop-ups, etc...)  Were these reviews written 5 years ago?  Anyway, they give you unlimited space and bandwidth and php.  I suggest you take a test run with this thing.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-18   -   (IP: 203.51.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Not a bad web host. I haven't had any problems with p0rn ads or .exes installing themselves. You just have to keep all your links working so you don't get those offensive 404 errors. Also, for some reason, the pop-up ads aren't very frequent for me *shrug*.

Reviewed on: 2003-09-10   -   (IP: 81.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I cannot believe this host. I was very, very happy with them, until they started putting adult popups and redirecting users to very adult sites, and installing adult stuff on their computers. VERY POOR.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-30   -   (IP: 61.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Actually I haven't tried this host but my friends who live abroad tried and said it was good (I live in india) This site doesn't allow signups from India. I don't know why and their interface is weird. They don't allow mutiple signups coz I think they log your I.P. address. I wouldn't recommend this host. there are better alts, like exaltedhosting and distanthost.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-19   -   (IP: 24.100.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Unlimited space :D, free and no banners, very fast, very reliable, however, if you email the link to ppl, it might re-direct to pr0n sites.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-13   -   (IP: 216.209.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent host... Unlimited space, unlimited bandwidth, very fast, 99.9% uptime, very reliable, great staff and support, fast responses and no banners, only 1 pop-under.  I've used this host since the day it opened. 
Highly Recommended!
+++++++++++++++++++++


Reviewed on: 2003-07-03   -   (IP: 12.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
You people call this bad??????????????????? How stupid!!!
Well... The only thing bad is the 1mb file size limit

fast, supports audio, video all files!! I tried it.

i dont have any  popups!!!!!!!!! I don't know why!!!

Amazing!


Reviewed on: 2003-06-13   -   (IP: 212.85.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Hostultra is da best i've tried (and i've tried a lot). No problems with bandwidth or web space as there both unlimited. the url has been shortened to a subdomain (e.g yourname.jkft.com, yourname.nipz.com, yourname.saiyan.ws...) and they have a referal program which means if someone signs up to hostultra from a link in your site, you get points that you can spend on Ad removal, Free Domains and Free MySQL.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-08   -   (IP: 65.116.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Horrible. It was seemingly slower than my existing host, then them stupid popups! Spyware all over it! They don't allow a ton of filetypes and you can't go above 1MB! This isn't the worst host I came across, but near it.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-01   -   (IP: 159.134.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They are getting better all the time.
They had a rough start but they seem to have cleaned up their act.
I would reccomend this host to anyone!
Very reliable, always fast and no downtime in the last few months.
Support forum is very helpful.


Reviewed on: 2003-03-28   -   (IP: 211.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Wow, this host changes their ads a lot... Now the ads are a pop-under placed every 6 minutes. The exit-popup doesn't exist anymore.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-27   -   (IP: 198.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I haven't met a free host I disliked so much in quite some time. I signed up with HostUltra a while ago, built up my website in one day, the very next day it was completely wiped out because of their 10 unique hits a week policy, I barely had time to spread word about my site. What was even worse was that their 404 pages contain pop-ups to some very unpleasant websites, not fit for minors. Also we have all heard of the .exe file implanted in your computer from them. My suggestion, unless you get alot of traffic to your site, and are confident it will get a minimum of 10 hits a week in it's first week. Go for this host. Otherwise, don't bother.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-23   -   (IP: 216.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Good hosting, Fast respond support and friendly. You can also choose from various hosting packages and upgrade your account whenever you want. The cheapest hosting I have ever seen among the other hosting services.
:-)


Reviewed on: 2003-03-08   -   (IP: 213.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They don't acept sites from my country.

Reviewed on: 2003-02-12   -   (IP: 24.103.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I'm currently on this site and I'm looking for a new host. They use a 3rd party to host 404 pages. Those pages advertise porn, among other things. Popups have gone WAY overboard and they place a files called regsvc32.exe in your windows/system directory. That file connects to the internet randomly and causes popup advertising. If you have cable and are always connected you'll get popups even when nobody's on the computer. NOTE: to delete regsvc32.exe you have to restart in dos mode, and delete in the subdirectory. Oh, and if you criticize the popups in the forum (the only way to contact them) your access to the forums gets cancelled so you can't voice any more complaints or opinions, or even ask any questions. And posts to the forums they feel criticized them are deleted, along with any follow ups. I think this site is being run by a couple of 13 year olds.

Reviewed on: 2003-01-31   -   (IP: 210.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I'm changing my review (Last time I voted 8, now is 1, which makes average of around 4 or 5)

Anyways, the host WAS good, until they started bombarding all their free websites with ads - now its like 2 pop up ads per page, plus there is the exit popup (which your site only mentions). Oh well...


Reviewed on: 2003-01-20   -   (IP: 172.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Okay except the *beep* sites that sporattically popup. I'm not kiding either. i was making sure all my links worked then a came the popup attack. Great host if you only have a couple pages tho.

Reviewed on: 2003-01-19   -   (IP: 63.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
IT's the best out of the best, the banners have recently been cancelled, yahoo!

Reviewed on: 2003-01-16   -   (IP: 68.9.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
My website on this server was deleted with no warning whatsoever.  Not exactly sure how I violated their TOS (it's now at http://ixijimixi.bearhosting.com if you want to see the website).  Also, their exit popup is from 404.com, which asks a person to download an .exe file, and has false-triggered the virus protection of some of my visitors.  Bandwidth limited.

Reviewed on: 2003-01-02   -   (IP: 206.159.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Very good! But my URL address was a bit long.

Reviewed on: 2002-12-29   -   (IP: 62.238.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They don't even accept applications from the Netherlands. So it's hard for me to comment on this.

Reviewed on: 2002-12-18   -   (IP: 203.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It's a very good free webhost, with unlimited space. I haven't used this webhost for very long, but it's currently working fine for me. I recommend this webhost.

Reviewed on: 2002-12-16   -   (IP: 172.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
How to signup?????!!!!!!

Reviewed on: 2002-11-28   -   (IP: 67.251.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
this host is notorious for using evil popups and force exe files within those popups.
if they got rid of that and use a static banner it wouldn't be bad.


Reviewed on: 2002-11-26   -   (IP: 216.170.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Signup process was a snap. Quick servers and no banner ads on my pages are a plus! Highly reccomended!

Reviewed on: 2002-11-07   -   (IP: 217.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I've had my site hosted with them for a couple of months now and haven't experienced any problems.  FTP works fine and is quite quick, no problems whatsoever.  I also like the fact that there are no ads on the site, only a popup on exit.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-02   -   (IP: 66.21.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I tried signing up with this host and also received a service unavailable error.  I live in the United States and got the follow error:  We are sorry, we are not accepting applications from your country at this time. We only want major English speaking countries.  OK? First time I heard the USA was NOT a major English speaking country.  Maybe they are just collecting email addresses to send spam??  I know of other places who do this, websites offering free space, and websites offering free email.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-15   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Looks like a good host, but I couldn't sign up - the signup page said:

"Service Unavailable
Sorry, We are not accepting applications from your region at this time."

File types not allowed:
audio or video files of any type.  This includes but is not limited to .wma .wmv .wav .mp3 .avi .mpg .asf .mov (however flash and midi files are allowed);
spanned archives such as such as .z01 .rar .ace;
any binary files that are not linked to an html page on the Site;
sites which contain only (or mostly) downloadable files;
download sites of any kind, including but not limited to, shareware, freeware, trialware, demos, warez, appz, gamez, iso, cracks;
photo albums or TGPs.


Reviewed on: 2002-08-31   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Currently cant display any kinds of images .jpg or others.
FTP upload is good and working.
no ads on page but few exit popups


 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 22, 2017 -