free webspace  






IllusionFxNet

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 57 4 3 3 5 3 4 5 14 117
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.94 / 10

Total Votes: 215




213 User Testimonials/Reviews of IllusionFxNet

Reviewed on: 2005-04-19   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
"Free Hosting Applications are closed, sorry."

Reviewed on: 2005-04-17   -   (IP: 85.84.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-15   -   (IP: 219.154.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-14   -   (IP: 212.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-11   -   (IP: 202.58.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-04-11   -   (IP: 62.142.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Filled form thoroughly -> hitted submit -> result: error.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-31   -   (IP: 222.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host has been, and will probably always be one of the worst. If they ever think saying "You Need To Provide a more Discriptive Description" when you've just typed a 250 word review and waited a few weeks for them to view it is ok, then you need your head looked at. Don't bother with this, I typed a 500 word description once and guess what? It wasn't accepted! And try activating your email! Their script doesn't work!

Reviewed on: 2005-03-30   -   (IP: 71.240.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
1.) This webspace provider doesn't accept Credit Card payment, as they only do paypal or check. 2.)THEY HAVE NO PHONE NUMBER for contact... a big glaring DON'T TRUST THEM, fly-by-night operation sign. 3.) They can't, or don't know how to transfer domain names... they want you to do that yourself manually. All of this spells: business who might not be around tomorrow.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-29   -   (IP: 193.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-26   -   (IP: 68.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've been with IFX for about 8 months now, and I must say that their service is excellent. Their $25/year paid deal is probably one of the best on the internet. cPanel, 10 MySQL databases, and a ton of other features. The only drawback with IFX is that they only give forum and email support. The forum support can be slow at times, but when they do reply, they are always helpful.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-25   -   (IP: 196.192.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-23   -   (IP: 202.123.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-21   -   (IP: 62.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-18   -   (IP: 202.123.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-15   -   (IP: 209.13.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I filled all that 250 stupid description about my site and when I got the confirmation e-mail with THEIR URL to activate it, it said "Error: Incorrect User Data".

Reviewed on: 2005-03-15   -   (IP: 195.175.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-13   -   (IP: 81.7.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-09   -   (IP: 157.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-03-09   -   (IP: 209.143.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This site is the worst! It requires that you write a 255 character description, and I can't think up that much for my small web site!

Reviewed on: 2005-03-06   -   (IP: 24.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This 'Free Web Host' is a Illusion itself. You have to wait two weeks till you hear from them that they are not interested in the site you were planning to create.  This is their comment (reason why they refuse you): poor description (??). I say: poor Web Host. Keep away.

Reviewed on: 2005-03-06   -   (IP: 192.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-02-28   -   (IP: 83.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-02-26   -   (IP: 81.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Seriously good web hosting. Okay, well it took a little while to get accepted but it was well worth it. Even though they are currently experiencing technical issues with applications, they are promising an amazing version 5. They are currently finishing the next version of site which I cant wait for!

Reviewed on: 2005-02-24   -   (IP: 68.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is the best I have ever seen. There is rarely any server issues, but it's impossible to find a host that doesn't. As for the staff being inexperienced, even though the staff are younger, I have found that they are even more experienced than a lot of hosts with staff over 20.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-22   -   (IP: 202.123.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Since I was there they always have problems with their servers. I guess it because the owner let untrained persons (His staffs are aged between 13-16 years old and have no experience about hosting servers) get access to the server. Well now I have found another host which is better than IllusionFXnet.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-15   -   (IP: 83.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-02-08   -   (IP: 159.148.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Yes, I have received e-mail, but it links to invalid page, there is invalid application ID - no id at all!

Reviewed on: 2005-02-07   -   (IP: 195.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
The link in the activation mail forwarded to an error page, indicating incorrect user data. All data submitted was OK.

Reviewed on: 2005-02-01   -   (IP: 195.85.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-01-23   -   (IP: 69.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I sent in this for my application and I got rejected:

SMSource stands for StepMania Source and will be a site for current and future StepMania players. StepMania is a game where a song plays in the background, and arrows are on the screen. When they touch the arrow icons at the top of the screen, the player presses the arrow button on the keyboard and they get points. The site SMSource will host songs (all original submissions) as well as guides to help and the actual program itself. I'm choosing IllusionFXNet because you guys are offering ideal space, bandwidth, and features.  If accepted, I will recommend others to use your service and will provide a link on the site.

They also took forever. The guy said he rejected because my description wasnt clear enough, and to even activate it to put into review, you have to join the forums and post it there. Very horrible, not recommended.


Reviewed on: 2005-01-23   -   (IP: 193.170.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-01-20   -   (IP: 201.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-01-04   -   (IP: 202.133.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It is all junk. You need to write 250 words and they even don't read what have you write. plz don't waste your time here.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-30   -   (IP: 203.200.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-12-21   -   (IP: 12.4.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Why do you need to write a huge business-like description for a personalized site? Since when did free-hosting become a job interview?

Reviewed on: 2004-12-14   -   (IP: 4.60.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-11-27   -   (IP: 83.131.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
This host was good before 6-7 months, after that they are only degrading their free hosting, server has a big load, they enabled PHP, but disabled GD libary, they are testing everything on free hosting (like php5 without warning, so many sites crashed), there are problems with MySQL & Apache from time to time also... Not like before at all.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-27   -   (IP: 82.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-11-23   -   (IP: 24.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I havn't even been accepted yet and I'm giving this site a 10. A lot of people are angry because they don't get accepted; well people, free web space is a gift from IllusionFXNet to you, not a right. They can deny anyone they want to! I offered to advertise IllusionFXNet on my site and although I havn't yet been accepted, I believe I will--I run a clean site, provided a good description, and offered them a reason to accept me--advertising.

Not to mention their features--If you search for a site with htaccess, pop3 email, MySQL, no ads, over 100MB space, and custom error pages, you will get only two hosts--IllusionFXNet and 000k. In 000k not only are the features not as good as IllusionFX, but it takes forever to get to the application page, and it wouldn't accept my e-mail! MY E-MAIL WORKS FINE AND THEY WOULDNT ACCEPT! whereas IllusionFXNet does. Clearly the best free host around.


Reviewed on: 2004-11-15   -   (IP: 213.234.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Whatever I put as a password, I get the message:
"Unknown column 'password' in 'field list'"


Reviewed on: 2004-11-10   -   (IP: 68.249.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This hosting is very good. The server is extremely fast, and the support is faster. They are picky about who they accept, but if you take time with your application and FULLY describe your site you shouldn't have any problems. So far I have not noticed any downtime. Best host I have had so far!

Reviewed on: 2004-11-10   -   (IP: 222.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-11-07   -   (IP: 67.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Positives:  They responded within 24 hours.

Negatives:  Everything else.  Their form is a pain to complete ... they don't tell you there are a minimum number of characters/words for some fields until you've submitted; then the field is cleared and you have to start over.  Then you get an e-mail the next day saying you've been declined, and the reason is below ... below it says that this is an automatic e-mail and cannot give the reason.

Wasted my time.


Reviewed on: 2004-10-28   -   (IP: 172.202.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-10-18   -   (IP: 208.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is an awesome host. I've been around them for almost a year now, and it has been amazing. They have great free AND paid plans, for whatever suits your needs best. Not every site is accepted, but they have to realize that if you do get accepted, it makes it even better for you. I'd recommend them to everyone.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-07   -   (IP: 81.83.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-10-05   -   (IP: 203.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-10-03   -   (IP: 68.71.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I sent in a app. thanx to all you people. i understand on what this host requires to accept your app.

- more then 255 words
- no spelling and grammer errors
- make your description sound professional (use terms such as big company names)
- also in your descrition put something in there about research, even if your site has nothing to do with it
- run you descrption through microsoft word, it should pick out the little stuff and give you some good ideas.

those tips should work


Reviewed on: 2004-10-03   -   (IP: 211.75.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-10-03   -   (IP: 172.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
AdamX (The one who rated this) gave this reason:
"This complaint was sent out based on our mass complaint feature. We cannot give specific reasons because of this."

It seems that everyone gets an email like this from these guys. If you are going to reject my site, then give a reason. Be professional about it, or I will hire a professional, and you should know what that means...


Reviewed on: 2004-09-30   -   (IP: 68.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Illusionfxnet is a great host. They have high server uptime and lots of features. The free server is a bit overloaded, but is still enough. The only catch about them is that you must write a description of the site in your application, and it must be accepted for you to get hosting. If you have any problems, there is a large member base willing to help you. The administrators respond quickly if there is something you need them to do.  It may seem like a lot to write the description, but it is well worth it and I have not been able to find a better host! To the reviewers who complain about being denied: If you look in their forums, there is lots of help available for writing applications. Just, when you write a description, make sure it actually describes your web site well.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-30   -   (IP: 213.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I applied and received instant responses.  Nice to see that real people are still behind these sites and take the time to read (I hope they do...  Read them, that is...) the applications. So that bit is fine. 

Only- I was rejected ("denied") and the list of possible grounds given at the start of the email included bad spelling and incorrect grammar as well as the more common ones of Breach of TOS. 

Well considering the email was misspelled and grammatically incorrect and had missing reasons (the "rejector" failed to list HIS reasons for rejecting my application completely!) I am more than a little peeved.

"He who casts the first stone and all that."  ;-)

So- I have NO idea (and evidently no recourse) why my site was rejected.  Which is unhelpful in helping me find an alternative as I have no idea what I am doing "wrong".

Nice for those who managed to be accepted.  Bad for those of us who were treated in a rather poor fashion by people who OUGHT really to be professional enough to use a spell-check and ensure they list their advertised reasons before hitting "Send".

Having had positive expectations about dealing with real people I am disappointed.


Reviewed on: 2004-09-23   -   (IP: 210.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
people who rate it 10, stop complaining that were complaining about that our accounts not being accepted and also, you are very lucky to get what you want out of this. They actually ban you if you reguest a lot and keep on getting denied like they done to me :-( .I have actually spent hours writing a description about my site, and they still don't accept it! And people, don't rate it before you get accepted, otherwise you are just making them look good. They also take weeks just to reply to your application. So people, don't bother and go somewhere else. Also, they are too strict on rules. I would rate it -10 if I could.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-22   -   (IP: 69.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is all positive, no negative.  I definately recommend them.  They're fast, have 99.9% uptime, and the support is awesome.  They are always kind, and answer your questions quickly.  The only reason this host has bad reviews is because people expect their spam applications like "gfbgkljafg" to be accepted.  That won't cut it.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-22   -   (IP: 207.157.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-13   -   (IP: 68.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I gave this miserable host a 1... 0 wasnt an option so i had to put one.  They don't like anime at IllusionFxNet so they refuse to host anime sites.  This host makes me so angry. Vague and Rude Replies from the staff... I will not post anymore information on how they are just a bad host.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-12   -   (IP: 151.200.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a wonderful host. I've been with them since Version 4, so I've seen all the improvements. Sure, it is difficult to get accepted if you don't pay, but once you get accepted, the hosting is all it says it is.

The hosting machines are top-of-the line machines with fast Internet connections, so your site will load quickly. The support forums are crawling with administrators that are just waiting for someone to help. If you have any problem at all, most members are friendly enough to help you out. Sometimes, contests are even held for the winning of domains, better hosting plans, etc. I would also recommend their non-free and reseller options. The amount of bandwidth given is quite a lot for the price. Even the paid plans are incredibly cheap.  I have had previous bad experiences with other hosts, but other than the occasional downtime once in a while (way back when this was just starting out; after the updates, I haven't had any downtime, even when my account was moved to another computer), I haven't had any problems with this host at all. I recommend this host to anybody, whether or not you choose the paid or the free plan.


Reviewed on: 2004-09-10   -   (IP: 68.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Its miserable... Why?  Not telling...

They gave me a vague rejection e-mail, so I'll give them a vague "1". Want an explaination? How about I get a REAL detailed rejection letter as to why I wasn't accepted. Dont get me wrong, I'm not bitter or anything. I just think they contradict themselves. I provided a well-written, detailed site description and I get a message saying: "Definition of This Status: This status means that your application was denied. Possible reasons include poor grammar, not enough detail about your website, violation of out TOS, or a number of others. The full
reason is listed below.

JonM. (The one who updated the app) gave this reason:

"This email was sent out based on our mass mail feature. We cannot give specific reasons because of this.
Thanks
Illusionfxnet.com Staff"

I should apply again in the slot of 'Site Description' saying: "This application sent out based on your mass application feature. We cannot give specific reasons because of this." lol! Oh? Won't accept it? Well, niether will I accept this garbage I get after I take the time out to actually follow what you want on an app.

Utter trash. This host is another future-dead site. It wont live to see 2005-2006.


Reviewed on: 2004-09-09   -   (IP: 66.198.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-09   -   (IP: 193.198.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best free host ever... I have 2 websites here, & both are not running good, they run amazing! IFX rocks!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-08   -   (IP: 66.32.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
IFX is an amazing service! Though the application process can take months, it is well worth the wait! Definately the best free web hosting around!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-08   -   (IP: 218.73.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-07   -   (IP: 80.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Now, I really don't understand why some people around here give such a great host like IllusionFX a bad review just because they didn't got accepted. If you didn't get accepted then try again, writing a better description! If you give up after you got denied by 'no reason', then you're just too impatient. I applied, got denied because of their application overload, applied again with a good description and got accepted. I got a reply and my site was setup within 15 minutes. If I needed help, I went to their forums and I got helped out straight away. I don't know where you got the impression that the admins are rude, but I bet you just said that because you didn't get accepted. If you didn't get accepted, then that's YOUR fault, YOU didn't write a decent description or your site just looks like garbage. Now, to get accepted, there are a few things to think about:"

- Write a VERY detailed description. There are several examples at IllusionFX's forums. (!)
- Write the description in proper English and grammar. (!)
- Make sure your site has good quality.
- Do NOT be rude against the admins/reviewers, instead be friendly and do NOT go flame like an idiot because you didn't get accepted.
- Act like a professional. Like, end your description with: 'I hope to hear from you soon. Thanks for taking the time to review my site. -- [Name]'


Reviewed on: 2004-09-07   -   (IP: 81.240.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
One of the best (read: THE best) hosts out there!! fast loads, great extras, large diskspace,.... They will only accept your application for a free account after it is reviewed by an admin. (you will not have to wait long). If your application is approved/denied is will be based on your description.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-06   -   (IP: 217.236.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-06   -   (IP: 210.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Never replyed to my aplication even when it is activated and I had to get a new email address just so I could get it! I had tryed two other email accounts, fully active and didn't get the activation mail. Not to say that I have spent like ages writing a description. I don't care what there new plan offers, or new design there site might have, its what you get which counts. If you need good hosting with no ads, cpanel but can live with 300mb less, go with 000k.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-05   -   (IP: 195.82.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is The Best Free Hosting site...Very positive aspects!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-05   -   (IP: 12.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-04   -   (IP: 62.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
IFX is simply the best host around. I have tried others, but none are anywhere near as good. Not only are the features great, but the staff(and other members) are on hand to help with any problems you may have.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-04   -   (IP: 61.182.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-04   -   (IP: 62.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I went for the plan which was $10 just so i could get my site up and running. Although it was slightly better than the completely free plan I am sure that customers of that will have the same satisfaction as I have on a reliable host.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-04   -   (IP: 62.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is the best I have come accross. They offer loads of features for free and they are improving the service all the time.

* Would you recommend this free hosting? Yes
* How long have you used this free webspace host? 3 Months
* Has this free web hosting been reliable (approximate % downtime if known)? 2%
* Is the free web host fast or slow? Very Fast
* Is the free webhost's support/features good or bad? Good Why? Has loads of space and bandwidth and php, mysql etc all for free.


Reviewed on: 2004-09-04   -   (IP: 81.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
As you can see this host offers a lot more than other free hosts, and so its not a simple as cliking sign up and filling in a quick form and automatically getting hosting. If the host did that then they wouldnt be able to offer what they do! This is what many people don't understand. If you want your site hosted you have to write a GOOD description, and when I say that I really do mean it... I wrote an application that was 1350 words long and took a while to check all my speling and grammer was correct and I got accepted. (I had previosuly applied 3 times and got denied - I just kept improving my application) If you visit the forums there is some advice on writing applications and also in the forums you get free and quick responses to problems you have. This is by far the best Host I have ever had, and better than other sites cheap paid hosting. If you are serious about running a decent site and trying to make it a free project, then getting your site hosted on here is the most sensible option for you, just take your time writing your application that is what matters!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-04   -   (IP: 139.168.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Best free web host ever. Better than most paid hosts. Service is great, and they do well with administration, considering hundreds of people apply every week. Site is great. No downtime at all so far. Great people. You wont regret it. The people who are making negative comments have made bad website descriptions in their applications and are therefore dirty. But never fear, the true IFX is here! Try it! you will love it!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-04   -   (IP: 218.111.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[quote]
"Evan W. @ Sep 3 2004, 05:28 PM CDT
We're trying to get a better name out there for our services since the obvious slump of IFX during the months of July/Half of August... so if you haven't already, can you take a visit to Free-webhosts.com and put in a good word for us! Thanks a lot for your continued support."
[/quote]

Trying the same trick anyxhost used just to boost up the ranking, switching plan faster than any other web host has done before. They change their mind over a lot of thing faster then a website can load! They try to get into paid hosting but it appeared that no customer trust them to signup and so this new trick to boost up their ranking.


Reviewed on: 2004-09-03   -   (IP: 64.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
although i haven't got my site hosted with them, and the response time wasnt quick.  they are not very demanding.  the forums have great support with very quick responses.  one thing you should note is that they dont accept free domain names which is a downside but acceptable considering they offer more in the domain package  because you paid for something (you get the point).  i dont know how a bad word got out there about the host.  sure you might have to wait more than you expect but they are doing their best.  even if you get denied, dont be discouraged, just make a better description.  people overreact when they get denied.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-03   -   (IP: 198.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been searching for an excellent host for a long time and ever since I found IFX I have been extremeley pleased. IFX is a fast and great host.  They continously make the plans better and have addons such as fantistico and cpanel to make your web design experience even better. The forums are very useful and the IFX staff are always willing to help you out. I strongly suggest this host and I will continuously support the people at illusionfxnet.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-03   -   (IP: 202.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've never heard of any free hosting better than this. Even this free web hosting beats some of those paid webhosting by SOME companies. It may be quite difficult to get accepted - but just think of a good description for your site and it may be accepted! Simple as that! And the site admins are ready to lend a hand anytime. You must go and apply for one account, period.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-03   -   (IP: 12.75.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I must say that IllusionFXNet is the BEST hosting place available.  They constantly monitor any problems and get the resolved the fastest I have ever seen.  Even their paid hosting is incredible and cheaper than anywhere else.  They have excellant services and excellant support.  I highly recommend this hosting to everyone.  And trust me when I say that you CANT find better hosting ANYWHERE.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-03   -   (IP: 211.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
IFX is top stuff. I use it for my dot com that is rely on my site to be up and functional. Dont listen to all the junk going around, yes some of it did happen but now they've fixed all that and its now twice as great! The trick is if you want to get accepted first read the TOS and then write a description about what your site can offer and why you, should be given hosting.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-03   -   (IP: 66.191.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Best. Host. Ever.  Don't listen to anything people say about support being terrible and never being able to log in, that is all junk made up by people who aren't smart enough to write a decent description of their site and therefore got denied, I've been hosted for several months and never have I had a problem that wasn't quickly resolved by the admins.  IFX is wonderful.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-03   -   (IP: 65.6.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-09-03   -   (IP: 217.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Some things need to be cleared up: Reading some of the childish comments below, such as:

"They are not free anymore. You click on "Free Trials" and theres only one $10 package and the free one has been taken down. Don't worry, its a bad host and always has been."

...Makes me wonder where these wacky ideas come from. If the free one is down, it will be back later, hosting companies have ups and downs during their existence, you know.

And 10mb is not the maximum bandwidth. Don't post false statements without knowing the facts. Look at the new figures. It is no longer 2gb, it's now 10gb! Much more than the average host. Even PAID hosting. The only effort you must make is to write a decent description. THAT IS ALL. It's not a big task! ;) The staff do not "delete pages without warning even if they don't break the TOS". What a silly statement. A LOT of those comments down there are actually a cause of the poster's errors, in no way errors of IFX.
-Supporter of IFX.


Reviewed on: 2004-09-03   -   (IP: 68.75.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is definetly the best. They come with everything a beginner or a professional web designer will ever need. They always come with new upgrades and better services. Of course there are bad times, but I can assure you that Illusionfxnet provides the best web hosting and it's paid hosting is even better!

Reviewed on: 2004-09-03   -   (IP: 172.189.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I only recently discovered IFX and am very impressed by the exceptional hosting packages offered to suit all needs and their forum support is by far the best I've ever seen.

I have applied for a free hosting package and am looking forward to hearing from them soon, if your initial application is denied, you have the opportunity to re-apply with an improved site description which usually guarantees a successful application. This service must be amongst the elite in hosting and will get my reccomendation everytime, long live IFX!


Reviewed on: 2004-09-02   -   (IP: 222.57.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-08-30   -   (IP: 68.75.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best host I've ever been to.  They got to my application in a few hours, and it was created immediately afterwards.  Their support is the best I've ever seen.  I have never experience any downtime while at this host.  I definately recommend this host.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-29   -   (IP: 210.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-08-28   -   (IP: 66.189.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great host, uptime is excellent (99.x%) for the month. The servers (yes 2) are both at ThePlanet datacenter. The staff is curteous, and nice answering my support requests on time. I recommend this host to anyone In need of a free quality host.

Reviewed on: 2004-08-28   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Now has new free hosting plan, new staff and new shared owner.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-11   -   (IP: 210.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They are not free anymore. You click on "Free Trials" and theres only one $10 package and the free one has been taken down. Don't worry, its a bad host and always has been.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-03   -   (IP: 68.112.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host used to be good.. But now theres a 2 gig transfer limit.  This host is now a Joke.  If you need support you not going to get it here.  The FTP downtime its Just Horrible.  I Got customer service once.. and it took 6 weeks just for a response.  You get reemed if you go with this service.  And if they dont like your page they suspend your account.  You dont even have to Violate thier TOS.  Even Geocities offers More Space and Bandwidth and Thats Telling you something.  cPanel never work.  Your forum questions never get answered.  I hosted my site for a week... Then I found out that it was a terrible host.  STAY AWAY FROM THIS ONE.  Its a fast Host at times but its very rare.  Any site i tryed going to in the IFX host my Internet Explorer would freeze and my computer would Crash.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-02   -   (IP: 68.46.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
IFX good things about them: they WERE a good host. Bad things: now they stink. 2 gig transfer a joke lol. no i would not reccomend this to anyone it would be a waste of my time and the persons time. i've been useing this host since christmas 2003 (when they were a good host). while i was here the host had server problems and such for months no access to cpanel or ftp was down it was one thing or another. the host isn't too slow but it could be better. support from this host LOL they dont have support. if you post on thier forums the admins tell you "this is in the wrong forum" ignore your question and move your post. the only way you get your problem solved is if a normal user is nice enough to help. just stay away from this host. it is a joke and i hope to see them regret this "change" in the near future. i am not even gonna use this host anymore and i reccomend all of you not to either.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-02   -   (IP: 67.36.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-07-02   -   (IP: 210.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host just got worse. Now there is only one free package and it has 10mb [index page says 2 GB] bandwidth, not unlimited, and 200mb, which was 250-500mb. They also say you will be accepted in a month, which I don't understand. Who would want hosting and have to wait for a month? The new design stinks too because it takes forever to load and it wasn't good in the first place. I don't know why people rated it ten, but it deserves a -1.

Reviewed on: 2004-07-02   -   (IP: 68.249.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-07-01   -   (IP: 67.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I'm just going to keep this simple. I have been hosted here for 9 months (I am in no means even near the oldest member), and have had no problems with this host. Yes the review process might not be as easy as you would all like, but if everyone got in, this host would be overloaded. Everyone here that is getting denied probably didn't even check out the TOS and FAQ.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-28   -   (IP: 62.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
i had a website on this host. It's a good host but you must have a decent website to get hosted. I got hosted very quick by them. Its a great site but if you don't support your account enough they'll kick you out. that's about the only minus i can think of.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-26   -   (IP: 211.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-06-25   -   (IP: 210.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
ok, I submitted a very good request to host one of my fan sites and had everything from pages to what the background was and do you know what? They did not accept me and gave no reason. Could they at least give a reason, I mean, I would like the hosting and would link to them, there just to garbage at reviewing people's requests. They are the worst host in the world, I am not ever going to recomend them. On the denied email, they say your request could of been denied because it was a personal/blog site, I mean come on, it says here that they do and mosts hosts do. I am very annoyed at this host, don't bother. If you need hosting, look at frandt and go with them. There 99999999 times better. Ok, they did reply to my request in under a day, but thats no reason to put up the rating.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-25   -   (IP: 68.105.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Alright, imagine if you were one of the application reviewers of IllusionFxNet. These are just 'some' of the applications that they receive (according to some staff members):

[Several examples of idiotic and nonsense descriptions edited out.]

As you can imagine, the application reviewers of IFX receive hundreds of garbage applications. It's all due because some people don't even 'TRY' writing a good application. I've been told that 90% of all applications received were written less than a minute! And at least 50% of them are total junk!

For those who are thinking of applying for IFX webhosting, you must understand something: You must compete with a large amount of people who also wants IFX hosting. Luckily, since MOST people don't even write a good description, your chances are very high (if you're dedicated enough to write one).

Suggestions when writing a description: Try NOT to post your OPINIONS about yourself or about the site. It's really useless when you try to write a whole paragraph about how your site will be so cool and so on. A good amount of details about the contents of your website is a great thing to write about.

Also notice, for those who think they don't give an explanation, they do. If a person looks like they tried hard enough, but the description wasn't good, the application reviewers would certainly write something like this:

"Your purpose is nice, but we would like to see more details on the contents. If you can, please re-apply with a more detailed description and we'll see if we can accept you"

And for the rest of the applications that were denied due to poor description, they receive this:

"Possible reasons why your application was denied:
- The description was poorly written.
- The purpose of the site is poorly described.
- The details of what is going to be on this site is poorly described.
- Your website is not in English.
- Your website would contain illegal content.
- Your website is an anime site.
- Your website is a personal site (blogs, etc).
- Your website is only for file storage.
- Your website is linked to 'adult' content.
- Your application is incomplete.

FAQ: http://forums.illusionfxnet.com/index.php?showtopic=847
TOS: http://www.illusionfxnet.com/tos.php

Please Note: We receive hundreds of applications every week. Not all staff members have the time to personally address you on why your application has been denied.
If you have any questions about your application, feel free to post in this forum: http://www.forums.illusionfxnet.com/applications/ . You are allowed to re-apply as many times if you want if your last application was denied."

And lastly, for the junk applications, the application reviewers just deny the application and leave the reason blank.

If you don't like IFX's service, oh well. That's your opinion. But if you get all mad because you got denied, that's your problem. If you truly wanted to get hosted by IFX, you would've tried harder on your application instead of giving up and flaming IFX about it.

You should go check out their forums: http://forums.illusionfxnet.com - They would be pleased to help you on almost any subject. For applications, I suggest you goto their application forums.

Well, I hope this helps others on their views of IFX. I'm just trying to show you what they have to go through all the time. Man, they have lives just as you do, they don't even get paid! They're doing this out of their own will so you should all be thankful for their free web hosting and support.


Reviewed on: 2004-06-24   -   (IP: 24.10.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I have nothing to say about this site, it may not have taken them two weeks to review my application, but a few minutes, that's an upside but, if they don't give you a reason for denying your application then why even try.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-23   -   (IP: 24.45.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Very very very bad host. They denied web host to people for absolutly no reason. They also lie, and are very rude. a 0/10 is not low enough for that webhost. Of all the free web hosts i tried they are by FAR the worst one EVER! Do not use their woverprice host. Do not talk to their rude employees.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-22   -   (IP: 130.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
"...Denied
JonM. (The one who updated the app) gave this reason:
---
Possible reasons why your application was denied:
- The description was poorly written.
- The purpose of the site is poorly described.
- The details of what is going to be on this site is poorly described.
- Your website is not in English.
- Your website would contain illegal content.
- Your website is an anime site.
- Your website is a personal site (blogs, etc).
- Your website is only for file storage.
- Your website is linked to 'adult' content.
- Your application is incomplete."


Reviewed on: 2004-06-21   -   (IP: 24.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-06-19   -   (IP: 213.118.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Don't waste your time on this Illusion host, you get a sloppy reply in bad English.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-17   -   (IP: 12.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
After reading there forums I soon realized that the name sould be "Free web hosting for Harvard graduates only other's need not apply". It's bad when you have to post in forum and ask other people if this is good enough for the Description Of Website. Do not even put your URL in the sigh up page if you have one, they don't even look at it unless you have about a whole page of the Description Of Website filed in. I think seeing a site is worth more than anyone could ever type. How much can you say about why you would want to switch (that is why I am looking for another). I can not stress how bad it looks just from reading there announcements that they will deny you web hosting for not having proper content, sloppyness, proper english, spelling, or not readable just in the application.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-17   -   (IP: 213.73.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
this webhost is giving a reply after 3 months.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-16   -   (IP: 195.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Really sorry host. didn't even give me a reason why they denied my website. :-( try elsewhere!!

Reviewed on: 2004-06-13   -   (IP: 81.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
good host, I just read some of these reviews on this site, one person said that they wanted to host a game demo, and were told it wouldn't be acceptable, even though they were told it was unlimited, this is because they don't mind you using a lot of bandwidth, as long as each user only downloads a relatively small amount, game demos are one person downloading a huge file, instead of lots of people downloading small files e.g:
25mb = 1 game download
or
25mb = 1000 web page views you can use plenty of bandwidth, as long as it is shared between plenty of vistors.


Reviewed on: 2004-06-12   -   (IP: 62.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Best free host anywhere. After alot of searching, these are the people who finally gave me what I am looking for.
Friendly community + fast responses to questions.
Its well worth the wait.


Reviewed on: 2004-06-09   -   (IP: 138.88.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
it's still better than other free hosts like dymi closed, sferahost closed and lastly illusion is giving free hosting since year year 2002.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-08   -   (IP: 210.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
they haven't been allowing signups for weeks.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-08   -   (IP: 138.88.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Ok here are noobs/impatient or i don't know some stupid comments. I have been with illusion over 2 months now and it is true I waited 2 weeks to get my site accepted. But what will you do if recieve 100-400s people send hosting request in one day? Then the features illusion gives, anyone will want hosting and will e-mail for it. So, if you have self-respect you should respect their hard work. And server downtimes, hmm.. it is because Illusion faced some problems with it, then now Illusion bought a new server, which makes in the world of free hosting like sferahost, dymihost Illsion is using the most server and providing the best hosting/server/support and features. All I can say if you are really matured person who knows how this things works, you will understand it. Sorry if it offended anyone but you have no right to spread words which are not true.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-08   -   (IP: 69.76.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I don't really know where these good reviews come from.  These must be rigged reviews or something (okay, maybe thats not whats happening).  I requested to have a site here, and it took them 4 months to look at my application.  I said in my application that I wanted to make a sort of personal site.  I wanted to use IlusionFXNet because they offered lots of space and so I could post lots of images.  Then when they finally replied, they didn't tell me why I was rejected but gave me an automated message that listed reasons why I might have been rejected.  One of these reasons was, "The site was a personal website."  Wait a sec... First off, this site says its "personal" hosting and I believe it says so on their site to.  And if I'm not making a personal website, what would I be doing.  Lets see here....oh, business.  Why would you need a free host for a "business" website?  I really can't figure out whats going on with IllusionFXNet but the time it takes for getting your application reviewed should be enough to stray you away from this site and look elsewhere.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-04   -   (IP: 67.3.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host is terrible! They took over 5 months to get back to me and denied me because my site was not english, had links to "adult" content and because my site was a personal site (which is clearly states it hosts). If they are going to deny me they can at least make up something like believable instead of just saying my site is linked to "adult" content. it's just ridiculous.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-04   -   (IP: 82.161.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
that host STINKS!! it takes 4 weeks for a response, and after all they say my page is not ok, badley code, and more, but there page is some rip of shells24.com, so where do we talk about the host or the do not host.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-31   -   (IP: 210.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
looks great and I want it, but I have been waiting for over a month and had no reply. And yes, I did recive there two instant reply emails.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-30   -   (IP: 202.123.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It's now nearly 1 year that I'm host their! The host speed is very fast and the servers are rarely down! The support (forum) is very good and they response to your posts quickly! I highly recommend it and don't be afraid of the time they take to create your account because you will be happy afterwards!

Reviewed on: 2004-05-27   -   (IP: 4.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Positive Aspects: None, Friendly community and really responsive staff.

Negative Aspects: Less than 1% Acceptance rate, No-Reason Application Denial, 2 Month waiting period.

Recommend? No.

How long have I used it? Does waiting 2 months for a denied application count?

Downtimes/Reliability? Read their forums! Constantly!

Host Speed: Fast.
Features? Never got to try any of them.


Reviewed on: 2004-05-23   -   (IP: 65.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I've been hosted with IFX for about a year, and I must say that it is well worth the wait to have such great hosting and support. The servers are usually fast, the ftp is stable, and the tech support is top notch for a free company. No webhosting is perfect however, and I must admit that the free subdomain server is down quite a lot lately. This is frustrating, but it's never down for too long. The downtime is the only reason why I'm not giving this host a 10.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-20   -   (IP: 64.136.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
No Fantastico, but other than that, it's great. Unlimited b/w, and 500mb for domains. Though it is hard to get the hosting.
Would you recommend this free host? Yes.
Is the free web hosting fast or slow? Fast.
Is the host's support/features good or bad? Good.


Reviewed on: 2004-05-13   -   (IP: 217.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-11   -   (IP: 151.213.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I like the site. they came out straight out with there site and explained what they do. DOUBLE THUMPS UP!!!!

Reviewed on: 2004-05-10   -   (IP: 24.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-05-06   -   (IP: 67.249.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Great host, lots of options, great support. I think the review times could be faster, but if you need good options and are willing to wait 3 weeks, then apply....

Reviewed on: 2004-05-02   -   (IP: 80.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
still waiting for a response from them after 2 weeks...

Reviewed on: 2004-04-30   -   (IP: 208.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very Nice i have my own domain and i got doubled the space. 1 thing to remember the description does count!  so please remember its a good thing to take your time.  500 MG is a LOT!!!

Reviewed on: 2004-04-28   -   (IP: 144.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
They sent me two e-mails after I had applied, neither of which told me I was accepted or denied. I don't understand this. But when I did get them to work they were the best host I have ever had, not saying much.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-22   -   (IP: 193.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-04-19   -   (IP: 200.232.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-04-15   -   (IP: 203.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-04-14   -   (IP: 81.198.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-04-12   -   (IP: 24.15.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I don't know what some of morons below are talking about when they say they send you "adult" ads in your email. They probably aren't even hosted here.

Anyways it's hard to find a better free webhost than this. Sure they don't accept every site, but that's because they don't want trash sites. The community is really great and everyone helps each other and enjoy being there, even if the people at the forums aren't being webhosted here.

I've only been with them for 3 months but I'm not planning on finding a new host even when I get a domain. I'll just apply for the domain hosting since I just love the community here. You only get 250mb for a subdomain though, that above is a little inaccurate, 500mb is for the domains.

[If several free hosting plans are available for one host, it usually lists the free hosting plan with the most features.]


Reviewed on: 2004-04-11   -   (IP: 69.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I was always a big fan of this community when my website wasn't even hosted by them. I applied for free hosting more than 1 month ago. In the mean time I tried other free hosts and they were also good. But when I recieved that illusion approved my website i was happy like Something exciting. I really like the community forums and knowledgable and runs by real business mans, no 13 year old kid like most hosts. I got all the best benefits and the uptime is good, plus it's not that easy to review 200s of e-mails a day, so you have to wait for your number. Don't post and say i want a website for my personal pictures. And 1 line description. Give full description and point your goal with your website. Plz.. don't say something that is impossible and make them fall from their chairs laughing :D

Reviewed on: 2004-04-10   -   (IP: 212.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
great free web hosting!!!

Reviewed on: 2004-04-03   -   (IP: 68.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Some of these reviews contain inaccurate information:

"These people will collect your e-mail address for Pr0n spam. Luckly I setup an e-mail account specifically for use with this company. Now the e-mail account gets 25+ Pr0n SPAM messages a day, and not response from my application. Big double thumbs down!"

Illusion FX Net does not spam or sell/give your information for anything at all.

--------------------

"They didn't even bother to get back to me to tell me my site was rejected. Don't waste your time with them."

They do get back with you if your application is denied.

--------------------

"You need to have a good site up with a good reason to get accepted - I did. However, their SURPRISE account prunes are a REAL turn off... they don't notify you of them, one moment, your site is there, and the next moment, its gone! I had gotten my account, and was in the process of transferring my site... they should at least WARN people that account pruning will take place!

If you don't want to suddenly see your site disappear with little warning, I suggest you avoid them.. I was tempted to re-apply, but after that experience, I'm looking for other hosting alternatives.

I'd rather have reliability and communication than loads of space and bandwidth."

Illusion FX Net clearly states that account prunes occur at the end of the month.

--------------

These people are just mad because they were denied.  And for the people who have 500 word applications and still get denied, you probably didn't describe your site that well, and went off into non-related areas.  Illusion FX Net's services are the best I've seen; they're even better than paid hosting at some places, and the support is awesome.  A staff member, or a kind community member will get back to your question in an hour tops.  I have used this host for one year last month (March 2004).  I definately recommend Illusion FX Net.


Reviewed on: 2004-04-02   -   (IP: 63.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
These people will collect your e-mail address for Pr0n spam.
Luckly I setup an e-mail account specifically for use with this company. Now the e-mail account gets 25+ Pr0n SPAM messages a day, and not response from my application. Big double thumbs down!


Reviewed on: 2004-04-01   -   (IP: 203.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-03-03   -   (IP: 194.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
already CLOSED for 3 days...

Reviewed on: 2004-03-02   -   (IP: 193.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-27   -   (IP: 218.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-25   -   (IP: 82.47.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
They are currently helping OldDH get back on track :P

Reviewed on: 2004-02-25   -   (IP: 210.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
The worst Host ever!! Dont go with them. there are plenty of other hosts like www.2webh.com who are the best.  as others said, they didn't even bother to mail me back saying i wasn't accepted.. i applied many times but still no response.  and also remember many people say that they had a 25% downtime in jan 2004 so that's not good.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-22   -   (IP: 202.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-21   -   (IP: 210.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-17   -   (IP: 200.151.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-06   -   (IP: 219.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-29   -   (IP: 68.44.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-25   -   (IP: 213.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Looks great but how does it function :-)

Reviewed on: 2004-01-20   -   (IP: 65.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Although they did not criticize my English, I gave a very clear and concise description of my proposed site and was rejected with the explanation that my proposal was too vague. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-17   -   (IP: 81.136.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Brilliant!!!  Friendly, Generous people. I got accepted (ok, but it did take 4 weeks over christmas) and I am really having fun with all the services they provide. Compared with people like geocities or freeservers, they are brilliant. (at least you don't get the same email if you ask them for help. geocities just give you one which was written 2 years ago). Super, no ads, almost no limits...

Oh and BUG+er off negative posters. Don't take it out on these guy's popularity just because you weren't accepted. GET A LIFE! Don't listen to them. Just make sure you describe your site well and put in a link if you have one already.


Reviewed on: 2004-01-16   -   (IP: 203.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-15   -   (IP: 68.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Everyone who complains are lame. IllusionFXNet rocks. They tell you they'll prune your account for lack of hits (You need a hundred. You can do that yourself!), or TOS violations, yet people still complain when their account is pruned.  We accept sites that aren't garbage AKA People who don't know anything an will just type in a text editor and upload it.  I've been at IFX since the beginning. There's barely any downtime, servers are fast, they rule!

Reviewed on: 2004-01-15   -   (IP: 210.212.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I have applied but I will not use the services if approved in view of other people getting insulted on rejection. Asking for free service does not empower providers with insulting rights. You provide it FREE for many commercial reasons, not as a public service. "Illusion FX" seems fitting name in their case. Sloppy English, you said ? Sloppy business ideas, we say. Stay away from touching people, guys. Putting it in very mild terms, we do not think we love you. Hope you understand someday what it means.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-14   -   (IP: 202.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They didn't even bother to get back to me to tell me my site was rejected. Don't waste your time with them.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-10   -   (IP: 165.21.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I find it an insult when this host rejected me with the comment that my site description was typed in "sloppy English".

This is what they said:
"This status means that your application was denied because of the content, sloppyness in the application, lack of proper english, lack of spelling or not readable. The full reason is listed below."
(The one who updated the app) gave this reason:
Poor site description

I understand why they are rejecting applications but they are not being very professional about it. If you want to find a better host, try Massinfluence (although at this point of time they are not accepting signups yet).


Reviewed on: 2004-01-05   -   (IP: 193.251.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-03   -   (IP: 24.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
all you people complaining that you didn't get accepted to the host should stop.  this site offers a lot of stuff for a free host compared to people like geocities and freeserver, and they can't accept everyone that wants to join.  it is a great host if you get accepted with freindly staff.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-03   -   (IP: 219.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-02   -   (IP: 64.228.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-02   -   (IP: 62.139.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-12-17   -   (IP: 209.202.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-12-15   -   (IP: 213.67.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-12-15   -   (IP: 61.240.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-12-12   -   (IP: 62.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
What a rubbish host. I wasn't accepted. I had a 500 word description of my site and they said to me "Poor english. Learn some decent language before hosting with us.". What a poor comment. I would rate these features good however, they're far too strict on site accepting. How do other people make there way onto it.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-07   -   (IP: 24.52.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
AT a glance IFX would seem to be a most desirable free web host, but, upon further inspection, they are a rather garbage host. I posed some questions about hosting large files along with my whole site on their "unlimited" space and "unlimited" bandwidth, and suddenly I was met with the real IFX--biased app reviewers and sloppy management. After being told my large file wouldn't be acceptable, I brought up the issue of their TOS's vagueness. It states that the IFX user can use as much bandwidth as (s)he wants for reasonable purposes. Well, my file in question was a demo of the game which my site is centered around. Reasonable? I believe most would concur when I say yes.
So, as their TOS was vague, sloppy, and outdated from their current low-bandwidth-site-accepting operation style, I promptly left the forums forever without waiting for my application to be reviewed.


Reviewed on: 2003-12-05   -   (IP: 204.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
At first, this site looked very promising. I went out of my way to join the forums and be social before they were even accepting sites. But then suddenly, they put "No anime sites allowed" in the TOS which is beyond overkill when it comes to limiting freedom. If I want a personal web page, I'd like the freedom to say my interests and even a picture or two. It wouldn't be a blog, but it would be made personal and professional as that's how I value my opinion. But that's now how they value my opinion it appears.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-05   -   (IP: 216.193.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I review apps at IFX, and all these people giving poor ratings are just making up lies because their sites were not accepted. Yes, IFX is pretty strict about who goes in. The % is very low because of so many people wanting personal, blog, illegal, or warez sites. If you have a good enough reason for hosting, you may get accepted. It helps to have a site already up. Think about what they give you. Then think about how much your site uses.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-26   -   (IP: 81.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Very bad host. i said it was so great but they denied me 4 times while i gave them a good description of my website . 2 days later i go to another free hosting provider and i'm accepted.
bad service, and they don't say anything to you. they reply for a question you have in 2 weeks. They say you must reply but that is very very garbage. replied 3 times and still not accepted. And i don't recommend this host because the most of the time they are too busy.
They have a stupid system, they must review it first.
why not do it in a forum? i can't believe i gave them a 10.


Reviewed on: 2003-11-24   -   (IP: 157.157.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-11-21   -   (IP: 193.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-11-18   -   (IP: 212.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-11-16   -   (IP: 202.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
You need to have a good site up with a good reason to get accepted - I did. However, their SURPRISE account prunes are a REAL turn off... they don't notify you of them, one moment, your site is there, and the next moment, its gone! I had gotten my account, and was in the process of transferring my site... they should at least WARN people that account pruning will take place!

If you don't want to suddenly see your site disappear with little warning, I suggest you avoid them.. I was tempted to re-apply, but after that experience, I'm looking for other hosting alternatives.

I'd rather have reliability and communication than loads of space and bandwidth.


Reviewed on: 2003-11-14   -   (IP: 68.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a great host. The people who don't like them are just mad because they don't accept personal sites. They own their own server, so you don't have to worry about money issues, ads are never on your page, they give cPanel, 500 MB, 250 MB for sub-domain, but best of all: it's fast! This is the best host ever.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-13   -   (IP: 219.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
They had 3 to 4 admins to check thru your application manually. One will send you an email said you are approved, The second one will said you are not approved. You ask why you are rejected the third one will said the second one press the long key on the keyboard so an email will be send to you soon. You wait and wait and there is no email or any news from them. This kind of site management is quite scarey if you are looking for a dependable host!! Look like we got another Hiyercorp, Breezeland and DH in the making.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-10   -   (IP: 221.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-11-09   -   (IP: 148.63.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
this stinks. frontpage won't even load. i give it a 1.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-08   -   (IP: 211.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-11-08   -   (IP: 172.159.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Well, as soon as I saw this host featured here a couple months ago, I ran and got an account. I was surprised that I got one so fast, later that day while other people waited over a month. I guess I got lucky.

Well, I'm pretty happy with this host, and only experienced a couple of downtimes in the 2 months I've had the account. (unfortunatly, it was when I needed to have my website graded for my class...bleh.)
them having a list of pruned names on the front page...COMMON! They give a great package for FREE, and they can't have people abuse that! Would you rather use garbage sites like Tripod and Freeservers? The maintainers and other members are very nice in the forums, and even though the server's down right now, I still give it a 9.


Reviewed on: 2003-11-08   -   (IP: 213.51.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-11-07   -   (IP: 81.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
they denied me. i have tried it twice, but don't host here,
first you must wait for a month, then you have to make a new account from them, and then you are denied. well, i had given it a 10.. now it's a 1 to me.


Reviewed on: 2003-11-07   -   (IP: 216.75.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Did the guy below get denied? I think so.

All of the people in that list below have till the end of the month to go past the 10meg or haven't updated their site in months or they have Violated the TOS.

I think the admin should delete the persons post below since is all garbage and take his rating off or make it a rating of 9-10.

I've been hosted with them for the 3 weeks now - it is fast and excellent.


Reviewed on: 2003-11-07   -   (IP: 68.116.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Well, being it would be the first time going to their site, this is a MAJOR turn off, and the reason I gave them a 1.  Basically, if you are going to host someone's site, you don't just delete the site for no reason, that is horrid.

Here is what is on their site:

"The following usernames were removed from our servers:

adamant
bkd
bottyz
cristin
daegon
digitexd
dwmedia
freeload
frozende
howard (TOS Violation)
iamp (Previous Warning)
initiala
lembreg (TOS Violation)
ludacris
m (TOS Violation)
magellan
modshq
motd
mstphns
nagypete
ncates
neorage
nysubway
phalanx
realarena
rsanders
ryan1976
sect
sheerdar
sibfa
snet
soldier
sysopdoc
tssmain (TOS Violation)

The following are being given a warning for lack of traffic:

ataris
attisb
blipsoft
bubbles
cgiguyjd
deciever
deridas
fluffy
glass55
gmvault
jconstab
jma2003
meltchee
mike
mm
moscrop
myst69
netspark
nismo
ozsport
pugsx
rapoz
rimasz
rmit
sexyted
spirit
sscentra
sternca
tagg
webhead
whitelin

Following accounts have been suspended and have until the next prune to contact an admin or their site will be lost:

dusky
"


Reviewed on: 2003-11-06   -   (IP: 81.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Certainly the best free hosting provider on the internet for the whole world!! they have cgi-bin, php, mysql, 250 mb free for you(very very very great), most sites are accepted, well, maybe a banner on a page(so what? why not a banner? the host is ver very great) and you get the best service when you have errors , or other things, who gave this site a bad rating? everyone loves this great host and soon( i'm not sure) they have reviewed me and then then i give this host another *10, so i gave it a rate: 10 * 10 = 100.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-06   -   (IP: 81.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have not a account yet on this host, but it is the best, and coolest free hosting provider on the whole internet!!!
mrkv2003


Reviewed on: 2003-10-29   -   (IP: 194.251.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-29   -   (IP: 213.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-28   -   (IP: 218.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-27   -   (IP: 81.204.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-27   -   (IP: 62.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great host! Truly a horrific good package. Cpanel X, Phpmyadmin and all that stuff truly make it easier. And 250 MB?!!!! that's insane much. It's fast, reliable, and huge. it's FANTASTIC!

Reviewed on: 2003-10-27   -   (IP: 61.55.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-27   -   (IP: 211.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-26   -   (IP: 172.147.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Truly the best free host out there.

Positive and Negative aspects:

positive- cpanel, php, 500mb space, unlimited mysql, subdomains, pop3 email accounts, mailing lists, fast ftp, support forums, frontpage extentions, almost everything

negative- only 4 people reviewing applications

reccomend- Yes, the only host I would reccomend

how long- middle of september

reliable- VERY reliable, only like 2 downtimes for 30 minutes

fast or slow- VERY fast

support- forum, support ticket, email, sometimes the admins will help you on AIM, MSN, or ICQ.

Make sure your application is very thorough.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-25   -   (IP: 203.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
yah its really a cool way

Reviewed on: 2003-10-24   -   (IP: 209.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
i'm lovin it. it rocks.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-23   -   (IP: 218.17.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-22   -   (IP: 68.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great. Unlimited bandwidth, e-mail, FTP accounts, mySQL databases, postgreSQL databases, mailing lists, PHP, cgi-bin, and anything you could ever want!

Reviewed on: 2003-10-19   -   (IP: 62.104.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-19   -   (IP: 211.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-16   -   (IP: 217.85.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-15   -   (IP: 213.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is great. it features free unlimited Mysql db and also a pile of features even password protecting. You have unlimited ftp accounts. It's the best so far!

Reviewed on: 2003-10-12   -   (IP: 216.75.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is great. It's fast and has tons of features.
Great people in the forums. This is the host to go with.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-10   -   (IP: 81.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is the BEST host I have EVER used. they offer EVERYTHING you need: 250MB for subdomain and 500MB for domain, unlimited bandwidth, FTP, CGI, PHP, MySQL, and GREAT support.
This host have some downtimes but they are not long and not too often.

I recomend this host to everyone who have a professional site.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-09   -   (IP: 212.42.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-10-08   -   (IP: 216.193.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
What are the host's positive and negative aspects? -Positive: Cpanel, unlimited MySQL, PHP, perl, CGI, mailing lists, script library, unlimited bandwidth
Negative: Not all sites accepted, LOTS of downtime

Would you recommend this free host?
Yes, if you have a professional website you want to get accepted.

How long have you used this free webhost?
-Since Oct 6, but I've been postin in their forums longer.

Has this host been reliable (approximate % downtime if known)?
Lots of downtime, about 50% uptime, I only got to my site once.

Is the host fast or slow?
Fast, like a 4/5.

Is the host's support/features good or bad? Why?
Good, but I feel bad because the support tickets and forums are mostly filled with people asking for an exception or an account.

Oh, and subdomain hosting is sometimes available. It's not always down. I have a subdomain account.

Note: They do not accept "free" domains like ath.cx, com.ru, and uni.cc. You have to have a "real" top-level domain like .com, .net, etc.


Reviewed on: 2003-09-23   -   (IP: 202.28.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-09-23   -   (IP: 212.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-09-22   -   (IP: 210.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
The sign up pages said "Hosting Application - No longer accepting Subdomain Applications" But did not said what they accept.
They do not allow ads on your site if you make a profits from it because they are a non-profit organization. Not for profit ads is allow you site will be deleted if you try to made money from your site hosted by them.


Reviewed on: 2003-09-22   -   (IP: 81.134.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Looks like a good web host. I've signed up.

Reviewed on: 2003-09-22   -   (IP: 81.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
this host supplies CPanel Cgi and good surport... make it your choice...

a fairly new host i guess with a 24-hr manual acception but all is good...

this must be the 2nd best i've fround... The best being
www.nameco.co.uk
[this is not a free web host ???]

(the offer they do there is outstounding...)


Reviewed on: 2003-09-22   -   (IP: 203.91.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-09-22   -   (IP: 203.82.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 17, 2017 -